International Exhibition of Colonial, Maritime and Flemish Art Antwerp 1930

Colonial, maritime and Flemish Art

April 26, 1930 - November 4, 1930


Back - List of Pavilions

Hamburg-Breme

Hamburg-Breme at the Exhibition Expo Antwerp 1930

© Hersleven

Modernists visiting the Exhibition are especially interested in the Hamburg and Bremen Pavilions and the Dutch Pavilion. There is no debate as to which one is the most beautiful. Each of the pavilions has its own characteristics, which is the first requirement for being modern.

The main entrance to the pavilion is formed by three formidable buttresses connected by red stained glass windows. The whole building gives an impression of strength. Only the geraniums in front of the entrance provide a little sentimental poetry.

One enters a large hall, with red carpets well suited to the diffused light that reigns there. Between the red and white striped flags on the walls we can see the armour of the free cities (Hamburg, Bremen and Lubeck) and the inscription: "Vrijheid, Do ik ju openbaar".

In the next hall on the left we find the stands of Bremen and Lubeck. Large panoramas, flowers and models show us the expansion and activity of these ports.

We see, under glass, models of the great steamers sailing the seas. We see how these modern giants, with their modern halls and even swimming pools, meet all the requirements of our time in terms of comfort.

Further on, large machines and huge engines have a special attraction for the technicians.

A special stand is devoted to relations with the Colonies. Equipment, weapons, and even rattlesnakes attract a lot of attention.

Hamburg sits in the hall on the right. Here we find a faithful reproduction of the port. And then there are a number of statistics and panoramas whose numbers, lines and figures would eventually tire the eye.

Returning to the central hall, where an atmosphere of calm and contemplation reigns, we find in a small, elegant cupboard the stamps of the free cities and former potentates. Along the walls are arranged the images of the patron saints of various cities. In the semi-darkness they embody an atmosphere of calm and rest that contrasts sharply with the marvels produced by human genius and the hectic, busy life in the surrounding halls.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Hambourg-Breme


Hambourg-Breme à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Hersleven

Les modernistes visitant l'Exposition s'arrêtent surtout devant les Pavillons de Hambourg et Brème et celui des Pays-Bas. L'on ne discute pas la question de savoir lequel est le plus beau. Chacun des pavillons a ses caractéristiques, ce qui est une première condition pour être moderne.

L'entrée principale du pavillon est formée par trois formidables contre-forts reliés par des vitraux rouges. Tout le bâtiment donne une impression de force. Seul les géraniums devant l'entrée apportent un peu de poésie sentimentale.

On pénètre dans un grand hall, muni de .tapis rouges bien appropriés à la lumière diffuse qui y règne. Entre les oriflammes rayées blanc et rouge qui ornent les murs, nous distinguons les armures des villes libres (Hambourg, Brème et Lubeck) et l'inscription : « Vrijheid, Do ik ju openbaar ».

Dans le hall suivant à gauche nous trouvons les stands de Brème et de Lubeck. De grands panoramas, des fleurs et des maquettes nous montrent l'extension et l'activité de ces ports.

Nous voyons, sous verre, les maquettes des grands steamers sillonnant les mers. Nous nous rendons compte comment ces géants modernes, munis de halls modernes et même de bassins de natation satisfont à toutes les exigences de notre temps au point de vue du confort.

Plus loin de grandes machines et d'énormes moteurs exercent une attraction toute spéciale sur les techniciens.

Un stand spécial est consacré aux relations avec les Colonies. Des équipements, des armes, et même des serpents à sonnette attirent bien des regards.

Hambourg siège dans le hall à droite. Nous y trouvons une reproduction fidèle du port. Et puis bon nombre de statistiques et de panoramas dont les chiffres, les lignes et les figures finiraient bien par fatiguer les yeux.

En revenant au hall central où règne une atmosphère de calme et de recueillement, nous y trouvons dans une petite armoire fort élégante les cachets des villes libres et des anciens potentats. Le long des murs sont rangé les images des Saints-Patrons de différentes villes. Dans la demi-obscurité ils incarnent une atmosphère de calme et de repos qui contraste bien fortement avec ce que les halls environnants exhibent comme merveilles produites par le génie humain et comme vie affairée et trépidante.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930