Back - List of Pavilions

Austria -

Missing picture

The official participation of the Austrian Federal Government in the Flemish Art Exhibition in Antwerp is of such importance that I am pleased to underline this courteous and frankly friendly gesture of the Government that I have the honour of representing towards Belgium.

Indeed, the National Museums of Vienna, as well as its private collections, are sending us more than 80 masterpieces: paintings, tapestries, sculptures, original drawings and engravings (some of the most important works have been insured for more than 15 million francs) which will undoubtedly constitute a superb ensemble of inestimable value and will give visitors an idea of the splendour of our ancient art.

Austria, together with Italy, is undoubtedly in the lead in terms of participation in retrospective art, and will thus make a major contribution to the success of the Flemish Art Exhibition, which promises to surpass in capital works and treasures all that has been assembled to date.

On this occasion, grateful to my Government for this tangible proof of real courtesy, I will take the liberty of translating my thoughts on Austria into what the French statesman Monsieur Edouard Herriot wrote last December in a letter addressed to the Director of the journal "L'Art Vivant" in Paris, a letter which I am pleased to reproduce verbatim:
"Monsieur le Directeur,
You inform me that "L'Art Vivant" proposes to "devote a special issue to Austria, and you would like to ask me to present this
to present this general review of Austrian activity to the public. I am happy to do so.
In the artistic order, the one in which you place yourself, "Austria, by its past, by the so precious qualities

of its population and its elite, by its culture, occupies "a place of first rank. Music, theatre, painting

and letters, all these provinces of the intellect are fruitfully cultivated by one of the most spiritually rich nations of Europe. And in an environment where tradition "shows itself so sumptuously, a place is reserved for free research, for efforts towards the future.

You were therefore right to bring together the elements" of this synthesis. And I congratulate you, since I am one of those who follow with care and sympathy the life of Austria and its brilliant capital.
Edouard Herriot".

In addition to this impressive participation in the Exhibition of Old Flemish Art, the Ministry of Trade in Vienna sent us a small tourist pavilion.

This tourist pavilion is made of polished walnut and is an original example of Austrian Arts and Crafts. In the windows of this stand, Austrian products are beautifully displayed in a way that shows them to their best advantage. At the back of the stand is a map giving an overview of the main road, rail, bus and air connections. Information is also provided on the 10 new suspension railways, which provide access to the mountain resorts in just a few minutes, and which will be of particular interest to tourists.

The map also shows the spas, bathing establishments and winter sports centres that make Austria so special.

Another map shows Austria as the tourist centre of Europe. The natural beauty of the country, its imposing buildings and monuments are reproduced in original showcases by a series of watercolours. The interpreter will distribute brochures about Austria in different languages, relating to the country's tourist and other facilities. Maps, guidebooks and travel programmes are available to the public.

A number of trade stands round off this interesting exhibition.

Adjacent to the International Hall, a small pavilion has been built and fitted out, called the "Austrian Pavilion", thanks to the private initiative of the undersigned and representing a Tyrolean house of fresh originality. The mass of visitors to the Antwerp Worlds Fair will come here to familiarise themselves with this tourist country par excellence and will undoubtedly be interested in the Viennese items on display. They will have the best possible memories of this attractive ensemble.

I would like to pay tribute to Count Adrien van der Burch, Commissioner General of the Belgian Government, to the President of the Executive Committee of the Exhibition, Mr. Martougin, to Baron Holvoet, Governor of the Province of Antwerp, and above all to the very sympathetic Mayor of Antwerp, Mr. F. Van Cauwelaert, for his support and assistance. Van Cauwelaert, for the precious help and efficient support they have kindly lent to H. E. Dr. Duffek, Austrian Minister for Belgium, to the undersigned and to our distinguished Belgian Minister in Vienna, Mr. Leghait, in order to obtain from the Federal Government such a superb and important participation in the Flemish Art Exhibition.

What Austria thinks of Belgium, the "Neue Freie Presse" of Vienna wrote in one of its last issues when it said: "Belgium is justly proud of the battles she fought a century ago to secure her freedom and which produced such a great moral impression on attentive peoples. It is not with less reason that she now looks back with satisfaction on the work accomplished during the last hundred years.

It is true that internal worries were not spared: the disputes between Walloons and Flemings, between Catholics and Liberals were not always free of friction; but the quarrels between parties could not prevent the constructive work from continuing, both from the cultural point of view and from the point of view of economic development. It is true that the Great War caused cruel wounds and terrible devastation to the country, but all traces of destruction have already been erased; the cities have been rebuilt and the Belgian provinces, so favoured by nature, are once again enjoying the prosperity of yesteryear.

Therefore, the Belgians can now, with a high forehead, prepare themselves for the realization of the rich programme of national celebrations which, begun in the last few days, must continue until September.

This opinion is that of the entire Austrian people, it is the faithful expression of Austria's feelings of admiration for Belgium, it is the sincere admission of a frank sympathy.

In my capacity as a Belgian and as Austrian Consul General in Brussels, Commissioner General of the International Exhibitions of Antwerp and Liege, I hope that this grandiose event, the Antwerp Exhibition, will contribute to the reconciliation of peoples.

May our flags of red and white, the Antwerp and Austrian colours, fly side by side; may they be the emblem of the pacifying role rightly attributed to international exhibitions, and may they be the prelude to a lasting understanding between our two peoples.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Autriche



La participation officielle du Gouvernement Fédéral de l'Autriche à l'Exposition d'Art Flamand à Anvers, est d'une importance telle qu'il me plait de souligner ce geste courtois et franchement amical du Gouvernement que j'ai l'honneur de représenter vis-à-vis de la Belgique.

En effet, les Musées Nationaux de Vienne, ainsi que ses collections privées, nous envoient plus de 80 chefs-d'oeuvres: tableaux, tapisseries, sculptures, dessins originaux et gravures (certaines œuvres capitales ont été assurées pour plus de 15 millions de francs) qui constitueront sans doute un ensemble superbe d'une valeur inestimable et donneront aux visiteurs une idée de la splendeur de notre art ancien.

Sans doute l'Autriche, en même temps que l'Italie, se classe-t-elle en tête par rapport à la participation à l'art rétrospectif et contribuera ainsi largement au succès de l'Exposition de l'Art Flamand qui promet de dépasser en œuvres capitales et en trésors tout ce que l'on a pu grouper jusqu'à ce jour.

A cette occasion, reconnaissant envers mon Gouvernement, de cette preuve tangible de réelle courtoisie, je me permettrai de traduire ma pensée sur l'Autriche par ce qu'écrivait l'homme d'Etat Français Monsieur Edouard Herriot dans une lettre adressée en décembre dernier au Directeur du journal « l'Art Vivant » à Paris, lettre qu'il me plait de reproduire textuellement:
« Monsieur le Directeur,
Vous m'informez que « l'Art Vivant » se propose de » consacrer à l'Autriche un numéro spécial, et vous voulez
bien me demander de présenter au public cette revue générale de l'activité autrichienne. Je le fais volontiers.
Dans l'ordre artistique, celui où vous vous placez, » l'Autriche, par son passé, par les qualités si précieuses

de sa population et de son élite, par sa culture, occupe » une place de premier rang. Musique, théâtre, peinture

et lettres, toutes ces provinces de l'intelligence sont cultivées avec fruit par une des nations de l'Europe les plus riches en esprit. Et, dans un milieu où la tradition » se montre si somptueuse, une place est réservée aux libres recherches, aux efforts vers l'avenir.

Vous avez donc eu raison de rassembler les éléments » de cette synthèse. Et je vous en félicite, puisque je suis de ceux qui suivent avec soin et avec sympathie la vie de l'Autriche et de son éclatante capitale.
Edouard Herriot ».

A côté de cette participation imposante à l'Exposition d'Art Flamand Ancien, le Ministère du Commerce à Vienne, nous a envoyé un petit pavillon touristique.

Ce pavillon touristique est construit en noyer poli et représente un exemple original des Arts et Métiers Autrichiens. Dans les vitrines de ce stand sont admirablement exposés les produits autrichiens, de façon qu'ils soient mis en valeur. Au fond de ce stand se trouve une carte donnant un aperçu général des communications principales par routes, chemins de fer, autocars et aériennes. Les 10 nouveaux chemins de fers suspendus (aériens) donnant accès en quelques minutes aux stations établies sur les montagnes, sont également renseignés, ce qui attirera spécialement les touristes.

Y sont indiquées également les stations thermales, établissements de bains et centres de sports d'hivers par lesquels l'Autriche se distingue spécialement.

Une autre carte représente l'Autriche, centre touristique d'Europe. La beauté naturelle du pays, ses constructions et monuments imposants sont reproduits dans des vitrines originales par une série d'aquarelles. L'interprète distribuera des brochures sur l'Autriche, rédigées en différentes langues, se rapportant aux moyens touristiques et autres du pays. Des cartes, guides et programmes de voyages touristiques sont à la disposition du public.

Quelques stands de maisons de commerce complètent cette exposition d'ailleurs fort intéressante.

Contigu au Hall International, il a été construit et aménagé un petit pavillon qui a été dénommé « Pavillon d'Autriche » dû à l'initiative privée du soussigné et représentant une maisonnette tyrolienne d'une fraîche originalité. La masse des visiteurs de la Worlds fair anversoise y viendront se familiariser avec ce pays touristique par excellence et s'intéresseront sans doute aux articles viennois qui y sont exposés. Ils garderont de cet ensemble coquet le meilleur souvenir.

Il me plait ici de rendre hommage au Comte Adrien van der Burch, Commissaire Général du Gouvernement Belge, au Président du Comité Exécutif de l'Exposition Monsieur Martougin, au Baron Holvoet, Gouverneur de la Province d'Anvers et principalement au très sympathique Bourgmestre de la Ville d'Anvers, Monsieur F. Van Cauwelaert, pour l'aide précieuse et l'appui efficace qu'ils ont bien voulu prêter à S. E. le Dr. Duffek, Ministre d'Autriche pour la Belgique, au soussigné ainsi qu'à notre distingué Ministre de Belgique à Vienne, Monsieur Leghait, en vue d'obtenir du Gouvernement Fédéral une aussi superbe et importante participation à l'Exposition d'Art Flamand.

Ce que pense l'Autriche de la Belgique, la «Neue Freie Presse » de Vienne l'écrivait dans un de ses derniers numéros lorsqu'elle disait: «La Belgique est fière à juste » titre des batailles qu'elle livra il y a un siècle pour assu-» rer sa liberté et qui produisirent sur les peuples attentifs une si grande impression morale. Ce n'est pas avec » moins de raison qu'elle considère aujourd'hui avec satisfaction le travail accompli pendant ces cent dernières années.

Certes, les soucis d'ordre intérieur ne lui furent pas » épargnés: les démêlés entre Wallons et Flamands, entre catholiques et libéraux n'ont pas toujours été exempts de quelques frictions; mais les querelles entre partis n'ont pu empêcher l'œuvre constructive de se poursuivre, tant au point de vue cultural qu'au point de vue du développement économique. Certes, la grande guerre a causé au pays de cruelles plaies et de terribles dévastations; mais toute trace de destruction est déjà effacée; les villes ont été reconstruites et les provinces belges, si favorisées par la nature, connaissent de nouveau la prospérité de jadis.

C'est pourquoi les Belges, peuvent maintenant, le front haut, se préparer à la réalisation du riche programme des fêtes nationales qui, commencées ces jours derniers, doivent continuer jusqu'en septembre.

Cette opinion est celle du peuple Autrichien tout entier, c'est l'expression fidèle des sentiments d'admiration de l'Autriche pour la Belgique, c'est l'aveu sincère d'une franche sympathie.

En ma qualité de Belge et de Consul Général d'Autriche à Bruxelles, Commissaire Général près des Expositions Internationales d'Anvers et de Liège, je souhaite que cette manifestation grandiose qu'est l'Exposition d'Anvers contribue à la réconciliation des peuples.

Que nos drapeaux de rouge et blanc, couleurs anversoises et autrichiennes, flottent côte à côte; qu'elles soient l'emblème du rôle pacificateur attribué avec raison aux expositions internationales, et qu'elles soient le prélude d'une entente durable entre nos deux peuples.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930