Back - List of Pavilions

Italy -

Italy at the Exhibition Expo Antwerp 1930
© Hersleven

The Italian Pavilion covers an area of 7,500 square metres.

The artistic stucco decoration is the work of the firm Cav. MUSSO Carlo of Turin and was directed by? Professor CLEMENTE.

In the middle of the hall is the large Salon d'Honneur - which has two small booths next to it - and around which are grouped the halls for the Colonial Maritime, Automobile, Aviation and Industrial Exhibitions in general.

The main entrance to the Salon d'Honneur is on the Avenue de la Colonie and is located in the middle of the building's façade.

A wide Carrara marble staircase gives access to the peristyle.

On the architrave, supported by classical columns, are two statues by the sculptor MUSSO Emilio of Turin. The pavement is in coloured sandstone with marine motifs by CHINI of Florence (St. Lorenzo's furnaces) surrounded by gilded marble by Peverelli.

Three doors, a magnificent work of cabinet making, donated by the House of Flli. Ferraria of Turin, surmounted by gilded iron rostrums donated by the House of Bonetto, also of Turin, give access to the Hall of Honour and two side vestibules. The coloured marble paving stones of these halls were donated by the Soc. Nord Carrara (Milan). Next to this entrance there are niches with luminous ceramic fountains with azure and gold reflections, supplied by the Chini firm.

On either side of the central body there are lower constructions that connect it to the entrances of the Colonial and Industrial Exhibitions. The facades are decorated with ceramic medallions of the Chini of Florence, and everywhere different attributions (industry, navy, aviation, etc.) with lines dictated by H. E. the ex-Minister Paolo BOSELLI.

The entrance to the Colonial Exhibition, to the left of this main facade, is built of Chini ceramics (St. Lorenzo's furnaces) with two side panels measuring 6 metres x 2.50 metres decorated with stylised palms in high relief. The interior of the Dome is decorated by Professor Tito Chini of Florence, with palms and colonial motifs.

The facade of the Italian Pavilion, which faces the English Palace, has two higher forebodies with large windows, connected by a porch with columns and a staircase that allows access to the Pavilion. The two forebodies are surmounted by allegorical statues and by grandiose gilded iron banners with attributions of the navy (the sail) and the air force (the wings), the work of the Chini firm of Florence, and decorated with large ceramic panels by the same firm.

The main hall is 20 metres high and measures 500 square metres. It consists of a central nave with a plain ceiling supported by large arches. On the sides there are two lower aisles that take light from two small kiosks - while the wide central aisle is illuminated by 12 large stained glass windows by the Chini House of Florence, with motifs reminiscent of ancient nautical instruments.

The picturesque decoration of this room is due to Professor Cisterna of Rome with the collaboration of Professor Parachini of Turin.

The decorative subject matter is inspired by ancient Italian colonial and maritime glories. Two large lunettes at either end of the room recall the confines of the Roman Empire and the grandeur of Urbania.

Three large decorative panels representing geographical maps inspired by those well known in the Vatican, reproduce the colonial possessions of Venice, Genoa and Pisa, while a fourth panel represents the itineraries of the great Italian travellers. (Christopher Columbus, Vespuce, etc.).

Above the above-mentioned large windows there is an ornamentation representing ancient Italian ships (Roman triremes, Venetian galleys, Genoese, Amalfi, Pisan) and the caravels of Christopher Columbus.

On the transom of the large arches that support the ceiling, statues of the great Italian travellers, navigators and conquerors (Marco Polo, Christopher Columbus, Morosini, etc.), moulded by the Turin Museum, are displayed on consoles shaped like the prow of a ship.

The only ornaments in this hall of honour are the busts of His Majesty the King and His Excellency Mussolini, a large model of the Bucentaurus from the Venetian arsenal museum, and the flags of the glorious Italian maritime cities. The chandeliers are by Pretto of Turin.

The external façades are illuminated with projectors and indirect light bars by the engineer Felice Goffi of Turin.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italie


Italie à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Hersleven

Le Pavillon de l'Italie couvre une superficie de 7 500 mètres carrés.

La décoration en stucs artistiques est l'œuvre de la Firme Cav. MUSSO Carlo de Turin et a été dirigée par le? Professeur CLEMENTE.

Au milieu se trouve le grand Salon d'honneur — oui tient a ses côtés deux petits kiosques — et autour duquel se groupent les salons destinés aux Expositions Coloniale Maritime, Automobilistique, de l'Aviation et de l'Industrie en général.

L'entrée principale au Salon d'honneur donne sur l Avenue de la Colonie et se trouve au milieu de la façade de 1'édifice.

Un large escalier en marbre de Carrara donne accès au péristyle.

Sur l'architrave, soutenue par des colonnes classiques, se trouvent deux statues du sculpteur MUSSO Emilio de Turin. Le pavement est en grès colorié à motifs marins du CHINI de Florence (fournaises St. Lorenzo) entouré de marbres dorés de la Maison Peverelli.

Trois portes, œuvre magnifique d'ébénisterie, offertes par la Maison Flli. Ferraria de Turin, surmontées par des rostres en fer doré offertes par la Maison Bonetto, aussi de Turin, donnent accès au Salon d'honneur et à deux vestibules latéraux. Les pavés de ces vestibules, de marbres coloriés ont été offerts par la Soc. Nord Carrara (Milan). A côté de cette entrée il y a des niches avec des fontaines lumineuses en céramique à reflets azura et dorés, fournis par la Firme Chini.

D'un côté et de l'autre du corps central il y a des constructions plus basses qui le relient aux entrées des Expositions Coloniale et de l'Industrie. Les façades sont décorées avec des médaillons en céramique du Chini de Florence, et partout différentes attributions (industrie, marine, aviation, etc.) avec de traits dictés par S. E. l'ex-Ministre Paolo BOSELLI.

L'entrée de l'Exposition des Colonies, à gauche de cette façade principale, est construite par des céramiques du Chini (fournaises St. Lorenzo) avec deux panneaux latéraux mesurant 6 mètres x 2.50 garni de palmes stylisées à haut relief. L'intérieur de la Coupole est décoré par le Professeur Tito Chini de Florence, avec palmes et motifs coloniaux.

La façade du Pavillon Italien qui donne vers le Palais de l'Angleterre présente deux avant-corps plus hauts, avec des grands vitrages, reliés entr'eux par un porche à colonnes et un escalier qui permet l'accès au Pavillon. Les deux avant-corps sont surmontés par des statues allégoriques et par des grandioses banderoles en fer doré avec attributions de la marine (la voile) et de l'aviation (les ailes) œuvre de la Maison Chini de Florence et décorés avec des grands panneaux en céramique de la même firme.

Le Salon d'honneur qui est d'une hauteur de 20 mètres — mesure 500 mètres carrés — est formé par une nef centrale avec plafond uni supporté par des grandes arcades. Latéralement il y a deux nefs plus basses qui prennent la lumière de deux petits kiosques — tandis que l'ample nef centrale est illuminée de 12 grandes fenêtres en vitraux de la Maison Chini de Florence, avec des motifs rappelant des anciens instruments nautiques.

La décoration pittoresque de ce salon est due au Professeur Cisterna de Rome avec la collaboration du Professeur Parachini de Turin.

Le sujet décoratif est inspiré aux anciennes gloires coloniales et maritimes italiennes. Deux grandes lunettes aux deux extrémités de la salle rappellent les confins de l'empire romain et la grandeur de l'Urbe.

Trois grands panneaux décoratifs représentant des cartes géographiques inspirées à celles bien connues du Vatican, reproduisent les possessions coloniales de Venise, Gènes, Pise, tandis qu'un quatrième panneau représente les itinéraires des anciens grands voyageurs Italiens. (Christophe Colomb, Vespuce, etc.).

Au dessus des grandes fenêtres susmentionnées se trouve une ornementation représentant les anciens navires Italiens (trirèmes romaines galères vénitiennes, gèneoises, amalfitaines, pisanes) et les caravelles de Christophe Colomb.

A l'imposte des grandes arcades qui soutiennent le plafond sont disposées sur des consolles façonnées en proue de navire des statues moulées par le musée de Turin des grands voyageurs, navigateurs et conquérants Italiens (Marco Polo, Christophe Colomb, Morosini, etc.).

Les seules ornementations de cette salle d'honneur sont les bustes de S. M. le Roi et de S. E. Mussolini, un grand modèle du Bucentaure provenant du musée de l'arsenal de Venise, et les étendards des glorieuses villes maritimes Italiennes. Les lustres sont de la maison Pretto de Turin.

Les façades extérieures sont illuminées avec des projecteurs et rampes à lumière indirecte oeuvre de l'ingénieur Felice Goffi de Turin.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930