International Exhibition of Colonial, Maritime and Flemish Art Antwerp 1930

Colonial, maritime and Flemish Art

April 26, 1930 - November 4, 1930


Back - List of Pavilions

Poland

Poland at the Exhibition Antwerp 1930

© Hersleven

Next to the Danzig pavilion, at the corner of the Avenue des Colonies and the Avenue des Peuples, is the Polish pavilion. A small staircase links these two pavilions, which were built by the same architect, Mr. R. Groseman, in a simple but elegant style. Groseman, in a simple but elegant style.

The Polish section is, of course, more extensive and presents a greater variety of articles than the Danish one, Poland being a whole country which, moreover, only regained its freedom after the war and is now in full development.

First of all, our attention is drawn to the magnificent carpets that cover the floor. Note the richness of the colours and their happy arrangement. Poland has great artists. It has had great poets, sculptors and painters known throughout the world, not to mention its composers. As for its craftsmen, it has nothing to envy to other countries.

The aim of an exhibition is, above all, to provide the most accurate documentation possible. This is why we find many graphs and statistics, mainly relating to the coast, which is only 1 kilometre long, with a surface area of 5,200 km2 . Despite this, the country has two very important ports, Gdynia and Gdanck. Exports through these ports account for 36% of total imports. Both ports have modern equipment, which allows for rapid unloading and loading of goods. The future looks bright for both ports.

Among the main exhibits is a large model of the new port of Gdynia:
models of ships from the Polish shipping company;
a panorama of Gdynia in 1920 and of the same city in 1930
an illuminated map, showing the progress of water transport in Polish ports; numerous photographs, showing the
numerous photographs, which testify to the importance of Poland from the point of view of navigation.

The busts of Ignatius Moscicki, President of the Polish Republic, and Joseph Pilsudski, Marshal of Poland, as well as numerous paintings, representing different regions of this country, complete in a very happy way this extremely interesting section.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pologne


Pologne à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Hersleven

A côté du pavillon de Dantzig, au coin de l'Avenue des Colonies et de l'Avenue des Peuples, se trouve celui de la Pologne. Un petit escalier relie entre eux ces deux pavillons, qui ont été construits par le même architecte, Monsieur R. Groseman, dans un style simple, mais élégant.

La section polonaise est, évidemment, plus étendue et présente une plus grande variété d'articles que la dantzikoise, la Pologne étant un pays entier qui, au surplus, n'a reconquis sa liberté qu'après la guerre et est maintenant en plein développement.

Tout d'abord, notre attention est attirée par les magnifiques tapis qui couvrent le sol. Remarquons la richesse des couleurs et leur heureuse disposition. La Pologne compte de grands artistes. Elle a eu de grands poètes, des sculpteurs et des peintres connus dans le monde entier, sans parler de ses compositeurs. Quant à ses artisans, elle n'a rien à envier aux autres pays.

Le but d'une exposition est, surtout, de donner une documentation aussi précise que possible. C'est pourquoi nous trouvons de nombreux graphiques et statistiques, se rapportant principalement à la côte, qui ne s'étend que sur 1 kilomètre, pour une superficie de 5200 Km2, Malgré cela, le pays possède deux ports très importants, soit Gdynia et Gdanck. L'exportation par ces ports atteint 36 p. c. du chiffre global de l'importation. Tous deux disposent d'un outillage moderne, permettant d'effectuer rapidement le déchargement et le chargement des marchandises. Un brillant avenir se dessine pour ces deux ports.

Parmi les principaux objets exposés se trouvent une grande maquette du nouveau port de Gdynia :
des modèles de navires des armement polonais;
un panorama de Gdynia en 1920 et de la même ville en 1930:
une carte illuminée, représentant les progrès réalisés par le transport par eau dans les ports polonais; de
nombreuses photographies, qui témoignent de l'importance de la Pologne au point de vue de la navigation.

Les bustes d'Ignace Moscicki, Président de la République Polonaise, et de Joseph Pilsudski, Maréchal de Pologne, ainsi que de nombreux tableaux, représentant différentes régions de ce pays, complètent d'Une façon très heureuse cette section extrêmement intéressante.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930