International Exhibition of Colonial, Maritime and Flemish Art Antwerp 1930

Colonial, maritime and Flemish Art

April 26, 1930 - November 4, 1930


Back - List of Pavilions

Latvia

Latvia at the Exhibition Antwerp 1930

© Exposition d'Anvers 1930

In the Latvian pavilion we see an exhibition of the effort made and some of the results achieved during ten years of systematic reconstruction. The Maritime Department exhibits diagrams, plans of the ports and a model of a modern and powerful icebreaker which ensures navigation in the waters of Riga during the winter months. The various departments of the Ministry of Agriculture exhibit the main export items: timber and flax. Powerful cooperative societies seek to make known Latvian products still unknown in Belgium - butter and lard - and the State Statistical Office produces synoptic tables giving a general overview of Latvia's entire economic life. Private firms exhibit manufactured products, showing what foreign raw materials and colonial articles Latvia needs for its young and already interesting industry.

Finally, by exhibiting her projects for the use of the energy of the waterfalls, which only anticipate future plans for the junction of the Baltic Sea with the Black Sea through the Duna basin, Latvia will show that she is opening up a vast field of action for High Finance, and in this connection it is worth recalling that Belgian savings have provided a large part of the capital invested in the Riga tramways.

The Latvian Government hopes, through this varied exhibition, to give the visitors to its Pavilion an idea of the activity which the Authorities and the Nation have deployed since the proclamation of independence and of the resources available for the development of the economic life of Latvia.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Lettonie


Lettonie à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Exposition d'Anvers 1930

Dans le pavillon de Lettonie nous voyons une exposition de l'effort accompli et de quelques-uns des résultats obtenus pendant dix années de reconstruction systématique. Le Département Maritime expose des diagrammes, les plans des ports et le modèle d'un brise-glace moderne et puissant qui assure la navigation dans les eaux de Riga pendant les mois d'hiver. Les divers services du ministère de l'Agriculture exposent les principaux articles d'exportation : les bois et le lin. De puissantes sociétés coopératives cherchent à faire connaître des produits Lettons encore inconnus en Belgique — le beurre et le lard et le Bureau des Statistiques d'Etat produit des tableaux synoptiques donnant un aperçu général de toute la vie économique de la Lettonie. Des firmes privées exposent des produits fabriqués, montrant quelles sont les matières premières étrangères et les articles coloniaux dont la Lettonie a besoin pour sa jeune et déjà intéressante industrie.

Enfin, par l'exposition de ses projets d'utilisation de l'énergie des chutes d'eau qui ne font qu'anticiper les plans futurs pour la jonction de la Mer Baltique avec la Mer Noire par le bassin de Duna, la Lettonie montrera qu'elle ouvre un vaste champ d'action pour la Haute Finance, et à ce sujet il n'est pas inutile de rappeler que l'épargne belge a fourni une large part des capitaux investis dans les tramways de Riga.

Le gouvernement Letton espère par cette exposition variée, donner aux visiteurs de son Pavillon une idée de l'activité que les Autorités et la Nation ont déployée depuis la proclamation de l'indépendance et des ressources disponibles pour le développement de la vie économique de la Lettonie.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930