Back - List of Pavilions

France -

France at the Exhibition Expo Antwerp 1930
© Hersleven

Location: The three wings of the French section, which actually form three separate but connected pavilions, were built around a small fort, now out of use, from which they completely hide the view. The main entrance is in the left-hand pavilion, just opposite the entrance to the Exhibition, on the Kiel side.

The French section covers an area of 17,000 square metres, of which 7,000 are occupied by the gardens surrounding the pavilions, which will be used for the participation of French horticulturists in international flower competitions. The built-up area, which, as mentioned above, includes three pavilions, therefore covers 10,000 m2.
From the main entrance of the Exhibition (Avenue Van Ryswyck), the French section is reached by the path that leads to the British section, on the right, and which continues along the pond. This path is the most direct route between the Van Ryswyck Avenue entrance and the Kiel entrance.

The general plan of the French section forms a hemicycle, which encircles the decommissioned fort and is therefore invisible. Two vast halls form the wings of a smaller central pavilion, which is that of the City of Paris.

Entering through the main entrance, from the first pavilion, which is the left wing of the complex, we come to a large square reception room. In the middle of this room, we notice a beautiful fountain, around which are arranged beautiful display cases containing the precious products of the French luxury industries: the decorative arts, Parisian haute couture, etc. In addition, there is a section devoted to tourism and shipping.

As far as shipping is concerned, we see the very important participation of private companies, which exhibit beautiful models of some of the largest transatlantic ships. The Ministries of the Navy and Public Works also play a very important role in this part of the section. There are models of all sizes, representing the sea bed in different places, maritime cartography, lighting and signalling services, health services, etc. France's major maritime works, ports, etc. are also represented in a comprehensive and highly documentary manner.

In front of the main entrance of this first pavilion and in the middle of a square, stands a 10 m. high bronze statue, a masterpiece by Bourdelle. It is a symbolic representation of France, which, due to its size and weight, could not be exhibited recently at the exhibition of the artist's works in Brussels.

The pavilion in the right wing houses the colonial section.

All the colonial possessions of the French Republic are represented here. This section is very interesting, especially from the point of view of agriculture. The building has a Moorish façade. In the immediate vicinity there are some North African "souks", where Algerian and other craftsmen ply their trade, as in the streets of the indigenous districts of their country.

Finally, the third pavilion, situated between the first two, and which is that of the City of Paris, exhibits models of the main domes of the French capital, namely that of the invalids, the Val-de-Grâce, the Pantheon, etc.

The old fort, around which the buildings of the section are grouped, has been very usefully employed as a wine cellar, where visitors can taste the best of French wine production. At the same time it serves as offices for the French Government Commissariat.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

France


France à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Hersleven

Emplacement: Les trois ailes de la section française qui, à vrai dire, forment trois pavillons distincts mais reliés entre eux, ont été construites autour d'un petit fortin, actuellement hors d'usage, dont elles cachent complètement la vue. L'entrée principale se trouve dans le pavillon de gauche, juste en face de l'entrée de l'Exposition, du côté du Kiel.

Superficie: La section française s'étend sur une superficie de 17,000 M2, dont 7,000 sont occupés par les. jardins -qui entourent les pavillons et serviront à la participation des horticulteurs français aux concours internationaux d'e fleurs. La superficie bâtie qui, comme dit plus haut, comprend trois pavillons, couvrent, par conséquent, 10000 M2.
En partant de l'entrée principale de l'Exposition (Avenue Van Ryswyck), l'on arrive à la section française par le chemin qui conduit à la section britannique, à droite, et qui continue le long de l'étang. Ce chemin est à la fois la voie de communication la plus directe entre l'entrée de l'avenue Van Ryswyck et celle du Kiel.

Le plan général de la section française forme un hémicycle, qui enlace le fortin déclassé et rendu invisible, de ce fait. Deux vastes halls forment les ailes d'un pavillon central, plus petit, qui est celui de la Ville de Paris.

En entrant par l'entrée principale, d'ans le premier pavillon soit l'aile gauche de l'ensemble, nous arrivons dans une grande salle de réception carrée. Au milieu de cette salle, nous remarquons une jolie fontaine, autour de laquelle se rangent de belles vitrines contenant les produits précieux des industries françaises de luxe: les arts décoratifs, la haute couture parisienne, etc. En outre, une partie est consacrée au tourisme et à la navigation.

En ce qui concerne la navigation, nous voyons les très importantes participations des entreprises privées, qui exposent de beaux modèles de quelques uns des plus grands transatlantiques. Les Ministères de la Marine et des Travaux Publics occupent également une place très importante dans cette partie de la section. L'on y voit des modèles de toutes dimensions, représentant le fond de la mer à différents endroits, la cartographie maritime, les services d'éclairage et de signalisation, les services de santé, etc. Les grands travaux maritimes de la France, les ports, etc. y sont également représentés d'une façon complète et hautement documentaire.

Devant l'entrée principale de ce premier pavillon et au milieu d'un square, se dresse une statue en bronze, haute de 10 m., chef-d'œuvre de Bourdelle. C'est une représentation symbolique de la France, qui, en raison de ses dimensions et de son poids, n'a pu être exposée dernièrement à l'exposition des œuvres de cet artiste, à Bruxelles.

Le pavillon de l'aile droite abrite la section coloniale.

Toutes les possessions coloniales de la République Française y sont représentées. Cette partie est très intéressante, surtout au point de vue de l'agriculture. La construction a une façade en style mauresque. A proximité immédiate il y a quelques « souks » de l'Afrique du Nord, oiï des artisans algériens et autres exercent leur métier, somme dans les rues fies quartiers indigènes de leur pays.

Enfin, le troisième pavillon, situé entre les deux premiers, et qui est celui de la Ville de Paris, expose des modèles des principaux dômes de la capitale française, soit celui des invalides, du Val-de-Grâce, du Panthéon, etc.

Le vieux fortin, autour duquel sont groupés les bâtiments de la section, a été très utilement employé comme cave à vin, où les visiteurs peuvent déguster les meilleurs-crus de la production vinicole française. En même temps-il sert de bureaux au Commissariat du Gouvernement Français.

© Guide Officiel - Anvers 1930