International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Galvanoplasty round bump of Messrs Christofle et Cie

Galvanoplasty round bump of Messrs Christofle et Cie at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

We have had occasion to describe the vast exhibition of M. Christofle et Cie, and to follow in its unceasing progress the galvanic goldsmith's trade. Today we only wish to draw attention to one speciality of this great industry, the products of round-bump electroplating.

Gilding and silvering metals by means of the electric battery was the aim of Messrs Elkington and Ruolz, whose first patent was taken out in Birmingham on 28 March 1840. M. Charles Christofle introduced their processes into France and exploited them with such success that he did not at first seek to innovate. His successors, M. Paul Christofle, his son, and Henri Bouilhet, his nephew, have applied electro-chemistry to the casting of statues, vases, groups, busts, which they obtain, with much less expense, as pure, as solid as by founding them by the means admitted to be the only infallible ones up to now.

Let us not hesitate to say it, the vase of the Education of Achilles, the group of the Navigation, are worthy of being compared to the beautiful pieces of goldsmithery that the sixteenth century has bequeathed to us.

The vase is in silver, with a flat body; it was modelled by Messrs Mathurin Moreau and A. Madroux, ornamentalists of the Christofle company. It rests on a finely chased foot, whose delicate arabesques cannot be seen without involuntarily thinking of Benvenuto Cellini. A garland of foliage snakes through the oval frame of the central medallion. The centaur Chiron gallops on the flat body, leading his young pupil, the light-footed Achilles. The composition is lively; the relief, skilfully calculated, is sometimes accentuated with vigour, sometimes lost in the background; the nature and the colour of the metal highlight the modelling of the three figures.

Two geniuses stand on the lateral consoles; one, holding spurs, personifies Emulation; the other carries the brake that directs the race and moderates a too dangerous impetuosity. Both have palms in their left hands, which accompany the slender, chiselled neck.
The vase of the Education of Achilles was offered by the Emperor, in 1867, to the Skaters' Circle.

It was in the name of the Imperial Government that the Marquis de Chasseloup-Laubat, Minister of the Navy and Colonies, presented the Navigation group to Waller Farquharn Larkins, Esquire, member of the Board of Trade. A commemorative plaque, placed on the base, recalls that this token of esteem and consideration was granted to him, in the month of January 1866, in memory of the services he rendered for the universal adoption of the International Code of Signals, with the assistance of M. de Sallan-drouze de la Mornaix, Lieutenant of the Imperial Navy.

Everyone understands how important it is for navigators to have an international means of communicating with the lands they are approaching and the ships they encounter at sea. For half a century, several attempts have been made to adopt a universal code of signals; unfortunately, out of a misunderstood self-esteem, each one wanted to recognise as good only the code adopted in his own country, and stubbornly rejected those of others. A trial had been tried in France several years ago:] Reynold Chauvaney's system, adopted by the French government, had been accepted by some maritime powers, but its use had not become widespread. France and England have just published a Code drawn up in London by a special commission of which Messrs Farquharn and S. de la Mornaix were secretaries. This Code, submitted to the examination of all the maritime nations, has received their approval, and the various governments have signed conventions with France and England, by which they undertake to
to make the use of this Code obligatory on board their ships of war and merchant ships. Joint commissions are in charge of translating this useful and important work into all languages, which will then be delivered at the lowest possible price to sailors. Up to now, only the English and French Codes have appeared.

It was not easy to sum up this technical history in an allegory, to write it in sculpture. M. Aimé Millet has represented navigation under the figure of an elegant, short-clothed woman, whose dress with a thousand folds is wet by the waves and contorted by the winds. She is seated on the prow of a ship; her left hand rests on a sphere; her right hand raises a star to guide sailors and warn them of danger. Next to her is a small genie wielding an oar. The composition is elegant; Aimé Millet's divinity belongs to the family. Aimé Millet's divinity belongs to the family of nymphs by Jean Goujon and Germain Pilon.

After having applied electroplating to goldsmith's and silversmith's pieces, M. Christofle wanted to use it for works of the largest dimensions. Contemporary public buildings are often decorated with colossal statues. The Imperial Academy of Music, for example, has already received busts of famous composers in the niches of its façade; and at both ends of the crown, allegorical groups are to be placed. These groups will come from the workshops of the Christofle company. The copper of which they will be formed will be deposited in immense moulds of gutta-percha, lined internally with lead; under the powerful action of the pile, it will acquire more cohesion and resistance than if it had been melted, and, freed from its envelope, will emerge in gigantic works of art.

This is how the busts of Halévy and Rossini were executed for the façade of the Opéra. Eager to prove the full power of his processes, M. Christofle was not afraid to measure himself against the most enormous statues we know. He reproduced, by electroplating, Michelangelo's Penseroso and Puget's Milon. The Crotone athlete, caught, as if in a vice, in the cleft of the tree he had wanted to break, disarmed in front of the lion that tears his flesh, offers us a spectacle as moving as the one in the Louvre Museum, where the original is.

Electroplating has just been born, and this is what it does now. It has reproduced, with the most meticulous accuracy, the beautiful sculpted door of the sacristy of Saint Mark's in Venice. It can, by becoming widespread, accomplish a real regeneration, open up new avenues for industry, and contribute, in a large proportion, to the embellishment of our public monuments.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galvanoplastie ronde bosse de MM. Christofle et Cie

Galvanoplastie ronde bosse de MM. Christofle et Cie à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Nous avons eu occasion de décrire la vaste exposition de M. Christofle et Cie, et de suivre dans ses progrès incessants l’orfévrerie galvanique. Nous ne voulons aujourd’hui qu’appeler l’attention sur une spécialité de cette grande industrie, les produits de la galvanoplastie ronde bosse.

Dorer et argenter les métaux, au moyen de la pile électrique, tel était le but que se proposaient MM. Elkington et Ruolz, dont le premier brevet fut pris à Birmingham, le 28 mars 1840. M. Charles Christofle introduisit en France et exploita leurs procédés avec un tel succès, qu’il ne chercha pas tout d’abord à innover. Ses successeurs, M. Paul Christofle, son fils, et Henri Bouilhet, son neveu, ont appliqué l’électro-chimie au moulage de statues, de vases, de groupes, de bustes, qu’ils obtiennent, avec une dépense beaucoup moindre, aussi purs, aussi solides qu’en les fondant par les moyens admis comme seuls infaillibles jusqu’à ce jour.

N’hésitons pas à le dire, le vase de {'Éducation d'Achille, le groupe de la Navigation, sont dignes d’être comparés aux belles pièces d’orfèvrerie que nous a léguées le seizième siècle.

Le vase est en argent, à panse plate; il a a été modelé par MM. Mathurin Moreau et A. Madroux, ornemanistes de la maison Christofle. Il repose sur un pied finement ciselé, dont on ne saurait voir les délicates arabesques sans songer involontairement à Benvenuto Cellini. Une guirlande de feuillage serpente dans le cadre ovale du médaillon central. Sur la panse plate galope le centaure Chiron, entraînant son jeune élève, Achille aux pieds légers. La composition est mouvementée ; le relief, habilement calculé, tantôt s’accentue avec vigueur, tantôt se perd dans les fonds ; la nature et la couleur du métal font valoir le modelé de3 figures.

Deux génies se dressent sur les consoles latérales; l’un, qui tient des éperons, personnifie l'Émulation ; l’autre porte le frein qui dirige la course et modère une trop dangereuse impétuosité. Tous deux ont à la main gauche des palmes qui accompagnent très-heureusement le goulot élancé et chargé de ciselures.
Le vase de l’Éducation d’Achille a été offert par l’Empereur, en 1867, au Cercle des patineurs.

C’est au nom du gouvernement impérial, que M. le marquis de Chasseloup-Laubat, ministre delà marine et des colonies, a offert le groupe de la Navigation à Waller Farquharn Larkins, esquire, membre du Board of Trade. Une plaque commémorative, placée sur le soubassement, rappelle que ce témoignage d’estime et de considération lui a été accordé, au mois de ianvier 1866, en souvenir des services qu'il a rendus pour l’adoption universelle du Code international des signaux, avec le concours de M. de Sallan-drouze de la Mornaix, lieutenant de vaisseau de la marine impériale.

Chacun conçoit combien il est important pour les navigateurs de posséder un moyen international de communiquer avec les terres dont ils s’approchent et les navires qu’ils rencontrent à la mer. Depuis un demi-siècle, plusieurs tentatives ont été faites pour l’adoption d’un Code universel de signaux ; malheureusement, par un amour-propre mal entendu, chacun ne voulait reconnaître comme bon que le Code adopté dans son pays, et s’obstinait à rejeter ceux des autres. Un essai avait’ été tenté en France, il y a plusieurs années :] le système de Reynold Chauvaney, adopté par le gouvernement français, avait été accepté par quelques puissances maritimes, mais l’emploi ne s’en éta t pas généralisé. La France et l’Angleterre viennent de publier un Code rédigé à Londres par une commission spéciale, dont MM. Farquharn et S. de la Mornaix étaient secrétaires. Ce Code, soumis à l’examen de toutes les nations maritimes, a reçu leur approbation, et les différents gouvernements ont signé, avec la France et l’Angleterre, des conventions par lesquelles ils s’engagent à
rendre l’usage de ce Code obligatoire à bord de leurs bâtiments de guerre et de commerce. Des commissions mixtes s’occupent de traduire en toutes langues cet utile et important ouvrage, qui sera ensuite livré au prix le plus bas possible aux navigateurs. Jusqu’à ce jour le Code anglais et le Code français ont seuls paru.

Il n’était pas facile de résumer en une allégorie, d’écrire en sculpture, cette histoire technique, M. Aimé Millet a représenté la-navigation sous la figure d’une femme élégante, court-vêtue, dont la robe aux mille plis est mouillée par les lames et contournée par les vents. Elle est assise sur la proue d’un navire; sa main gauche s’appuie sur une sphère; sa main droite élève une étoile pour guider les marins et les prévenir du danger. Auprès d’elle, est un petit génie qui manie l’aviron. La composition est élégante; la divinité deM. Aimé Millet appartient à la famille des nymphes de Jean Goujon et de Germain Pilon.

Après avoir appliqué aux pièces d’orfèvrerie la galvanoplastie, M. Christofle a voulu l’employer pour des œuvres de la plus grande dimension. Les édifices publics contemporains sont souvent ornés de statues colossales. L’académie impériale de musique, par exemple, a déjà reçu, dans les niches de sa façade, des bustes de compositeurs célèbres; et aux deux extrémités du couronnement, doivent être placés des groupes allégoriques. Ces groupes sortiront des ateliers de la maison Christofle. Le cuivre dont ils seront formés, se déposera dans d’immenses moules de gutta-percha, doublés intérieurement de plomb ; sous l’action puissante de la pile, il acquerra plus de cohésion et de résistance que s’il avait été fondu, et, dégagé de son enveloppe, surgira en gigantesques œuvres d’art.

Ainsi ont été exécutés, pour la façade de l’Opéra, les bustes d’Halévy et de Rossini. Jaloux de prouver toute la puissance de ses procédés, M. Christofle n’a pas craint de se mesurer avec les plus énormes statues que nous connaissions. Il a reproduit, par la galvanoplastie, le Penseroso de Michel-Ange, et le Milon du Puget. L’athlète de Crotone, pris, comme dans un étau, dans la fente de l’arbre qu’il avait voulu briser, désarmé en face du lion qui lui déchire les chairs, nous offre un spectacle aussi émouvant qu’au musée du Louvre, où se trouve l’original.

La galvanoplastie ronde bosse vient de naître, et voilà ce qu’elle fait dès à présent. Elle a reproduit, avec la plus minutieuse exactitude, la belle porte sculptée de la sacristie de Saint-Marc, à Venise. Elle peut, en se généralisant, accomplir une véritable régénération, ouvrir des voies nouvelles à l’industrie, et contribuer, dans une large proportion, à l’embellissement de nos monuments publics.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée