International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Germany

Germany at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

We will not make special chapters for these small Germanic states, which at the time of writing have little more than a diplomatic existence.

Bavaria has won, in the person of Messrs Koenig and Bauer, the gold medal for a press that prints simultaneously in two colours. Without leaving the same cylinder, the sheet passes successively over two mutually complementary forms, coated with different inks by two groups of rollers.
A second gold medal was awarded to the railway boat bridge built on the Rhine, not far from Carlsrube, which we believe is the first of its kind. Thirty-four boats, moored side by side, support the deck and rails over the swift river. Without seeming to touch it, the placid Germans were the first to dare to launch a locomotive over a bridge of boats, subject to all the vagaries of the floods. The model, which floats on real water, is extremely curious and well made.

In addition, many procedures are used to get convoys across the Rhine. In Kehl, Cologne, and Coblence, monumental bridges have been built; elsewhere the rails run right up to the bank, and the wagons are loaded onto immense steam ferries which pass them from one bank to the other.

The capital consignment from Württemberg is the wood-paper machine; this paper is coarse, but at last, in the midst of the rag shortage, it arrives like manna in the desert, and we regret that this vast apparatus is placed in the Park, outside the gallery which we must confine ourselves to describing.

Baden has woodworking machines worthy of examination, and Hesse has machine tools, executed with particular care in the numerous workshops in Darmstadt.

But the prize goes to Royal Saxony, the California of Europe, the land of inexhaustible mines from which all metals are extracted, from bismuth to gold, from silver to that rare indium now worth 36,000 francs a kilogram, of which Saxony has sent two ingots.

There are no larger factories in England than those of two Chemnitz industrialists, Richard Hartmann and J. Zimmermann. Both were awarded the gold medal; the former for his flax spinning machines, an honour he shared only with the Englishman Lawson, the latter for his machine tools.
Mr. Zimmermann and a few other manufacturers presented elliptical gear wheels, the more than difficult manufacture of which, nowadays carried out everywhere, testifies to recent progress in mechanics.

Certain instruments characterise the peoples who imagine them. Prussia exhibits a beer vat, but a vat which is to other vats what the fifty-thousand-kilo cannon is to vulgar artillery; it is a steam engine which brews the malt in this vat à la Bismark.

Messrs. Otto and Langen won the gold medal for their gas machine, and could not fail to get it, for their machine is one of the few completely new inventions revealed by the Exhibition. Experimentally, according to the tests, the results would be very brilliant, since the machine hardly consumes, at equal force, more than a third of the gas burned in the engines of Lenoir and Hugon. But, in practice, will the results be the same? The numerous and rather complicated gears will absorb all the more force as they will be less well maintained, and their repair will be difficult and costly. Moreover, the machine is intended for use in inhabited places, and the noise it makes would make it entirely unsuitable for this purpose. It is fair to add that the inventors claim that this serious defect is peculiar to the device on display.

In any case, the Otto engine is based both on the principle of single-acting vertical machines and on that of clockwork movements with weights; but the effort of the hand that pulls up the weight is replaced by that of the expansion of a mixture of air and gas ignited by a nozzle. The piston, which is very heavy, after having been raised by the explosion, descends by its own weight increased by the atmospheric pressure, and communicates the movement to the apparatus.

Finally, let us talk about the ring furnace which was awarded the grand prize. Invented by Mr. Hoffmann of Berlin, the ring kiln is intended for the continuous firing of bricks, pottery, lime, etc.

In order to obtain a continuous firing and un-firing, Mr. Hoffmann moves the fire and makes the hearth successively go around the whole circumference of the ring kiln. The current of air that feeds the fire enters through the doors used for loading and unloading, travels through the first half of the kiln taking away from the fired objects the heat they had retained, brings this heat back to the fire, crosses the second half heating the objects to be fired little by little by giving up the heat carried by it, and finally exits through the chimney close to its point of entry after having gone around the ring.
In this way the section where the big fire was the day before is still red, the one where it will be tomorrow is already red.

The heating and cooling is gradual and the pottery is well fired.

As the fire slowly goes around the ring, the repairs do not stop the work.

The fuel is poured into a very hot space and ignites immediately, regardless of its quality. The air being heated to the red temperature, burns all gases, and no smoke is produced. The caloric is so completely used that more than two thirds of the fuel used by other furnaces is saved.

We have not mentioned in its natural place, in the English section, the Siemens regenerated-heat gas furnace, which also won the grand prize, because it seemed more logical to us to relate it to the Hoffmann furnace, which has a more special use and a simpler construction, but which is also regenerated heat.

The gas of the Siemens furnace is produced by the decomposition of water in contact with the incandescent coal; it consists of hydrogen and carbon monoxide, i.e. of gases whose blue flame everyone has observed above the stoves. After combustion, the exhausted but hot gases deposit their heat in a brick regenerator. Later the hot gases are directed into another regenerator, which they heat up, and meanwhile the air and water gas are directed into the hot regenerator, remove their caloric content, and, being strongly heated, mix and burn under the most favourable conditions. All the advantages are combined: saving of fuel, absence of smoke, rise in temperature, pure and clear flame.

Today, moreover, and this is one of the great results of the Exhibition, we have completely mastered a difficulty that was once considered insurmountable; we know, in almost all cases, how to feed a furnace without producing sooty gas. The proverb has ceased to be true, smoke is no longer the inseparable companion of fire.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Allemagne

Allemagne à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Nous ne ferons point de chapitres spéciaux pour ces petits États germaniques, qui n’ont guère plus à l’heure où nous écrivons, qu’une existence diplomatique.

La Bavière a remporté, en la personne de MM. Kœnig et Bauer, la médaille d’or accordée à une presse imprimant simultanément en deux couleurs. Sans quitter le même cylindre, la feuille passe successivement sur deux formes se complétant mutuellement, enduites d’encres diverses par deux groupes de rouleaux.
Une seconde médaille d’or a été accordée au pont de bateaux pour chemin de fer, construit sur le Rhin, non loin de Carlsrube, qui est, croyons-nous, le premier de cette espèce. Trente-quatre bateaux, amarrés côte à côte, soutiennent le tablier et les rails au dessus du fleuve rapide. Sans avoir l’air d’y toucher, les placides Allemands ont, les premiers, osé lancer une locomotive sur un pont de bateaux, soumis à tous les caprices des crues. Le modèle, qui flotte sur de l’eau véritable, est excessivement curieux et bien fait.

Du reste, bien des procédés sont employés pour faire franchir le Rhin aux convois. A Kehl, à Cologne, à Coblence, des ponts monumentaux ont été construits; ailleurs les rails s’avancent jusqu’à la rive, et les wagons sont chargés sur d’immenses bacs à vapeur qui les passent d’une rive à l’autre.

L’envoi capital du Wurtemberg est la machine à faire le papier de bois ; ce papier est grossier, mais enfin, au milieu de la disette de chiffons, il arrive comme la manne dans le désert, et nous regrettons que ce vaste appareil soit plaèé dans le Parc, en dehors de la galerie que nous devons nous borner à décrire.

Bade a des machines à travailler le bois dignes d’examen, et la Hesse des machines-outils, exécutées avec un soin particulier dans les nombreux ateliers de Darmstadt.

Mais la palme revient à la Saxe Royale, la Californie de l’Europe, le pays des mines inépuisables d’où l’on extrait tous les métaux, depuis le bismuth jusqu’à l’or, depuis l’argent jusqu’à ce rarissime indium valant actuellement 36000 francs le kilogramme et dont la Saxe a envoyé deux lingots.

Il n’y a pas en Angleterre de plus vastes usines que celles de deux industriels de Chemnitz, MM. Richard Hartmann et J. Zimmermann. Tous deux ont eu la médaille d’or; le premier pour ses machines à filer le lin, honneur qu’il n’a partagé qu’avec l’Anglais Lawson, le second pour ses machines-outils.
M. Zimmermann et quelques autres constructeurs ont présenté des engrenages à roues dentées elliptiques dont la fabrication plus que difficile, aujourd’hui réalisée partout, témoigne des récents progrès de la mécanique.

Certains instruments caractérisent les peuples qui les imaginent. La Prusse expose une cuve à bière, mais une cuve qui est aux autres cuves ce que le canon de cinquante mille kilos est à la vulgaire artillerie, c’est une machine à vapeur qui brasse le malt dans cette cuve à la Bismark.

MM. Otto et Langen ont obtenu la médaille d’or pour leur machine à gaz, et ne pouvaient pas ne pas l’avoir, car leur machine est une des rares inventions complètement nouvelles révélées par l’Exposition. Expérimentalement, en s’en rapportant aux essais, les résultats seraient très-brillants, puisque la machine ne consomme guère, à force égale, que le tiers du gaz brûlé dans les moteurs de Lenoir et de Hugon. Mais, dans la pratique, les résultats seront-ils les mêmes? Les rouages nombreux et assez compliqués absorberont d’autant plus de force qu’ils seront moins bien entretenus, et leur réparation sera difficile et coûteuse. En outre, la machine est destinée à être employée dans les lieux habités, et le bruit qu’elle fait la rendrait entièrement impropre à cet usage. Il est juste d’ajouter que les inventeurs affirment que ce défaut grave est particulier à l’appareil exposé.

Quoi qu’il en soit, le moteur Otto est basé tout à la fois sur le principe des machines verticales à simple effet et sur celui des mouvements d’horlogerie à poids; mais l’effort de la main qui remonte le poids est remplacé par celui de la dilatation d’un mélange d’air et de gaz enflammé par un bec. Le piston, qui est très-lourd, après avoir été soulevé par l’explosion, redescend par son propre poids augmenté de la pression atmosphérique, et communique le mouvement à l’appareil.

Parlons enfin du four annulaire auquel a été décerné le grand prix. Inventé par M. Hoffmann de Berlin, le four annulaire est destiné à la cuisson continue des briques, des poteries, de la chaux, etc.

Pour obtenir un enfournement et défourne-ment continus, M. Hoffmann déplace le feu et fait parcourir au foyer successivement toute la circonférence du four annulaire. Le courant d’air qui alimente le feu pénètre par les portes servant à l’enfournement et au détournement, parcourt la première moitié du four en enlevant aux objets cuits la chaleur qu’ils avaient conservée, ramène au feu cette chaleur, traverse la seconde moitié en chauffant peu à peu les objets à cuire par l’abandon de la chaleur entraînée par lui ; et sort enfin par la cheminée près de son point d’entrée après avoir fait le tour de l’anneau.
De cette façon la section où le grand feu se trouvait la veille est rouge encore, celle où il sera demain est rouge déjà.

L’échauffement et le refroidissement étant graduels, la poterie est bien cuite.

Le foyer faisant lentement le tour de l’anneau, les réparations n’arrêtent pas le travail.

Le combustible étant versé dans un espace très-chaud, s’enflamme aussitôt, quelle que que soit sa qualité. L’air étant échauffé à la température rouge, brûle tous les gaz, et il ne se produit pas de fumée. Le calorique est si complètement utilisé que l’on économise plus des deux tiers du combustible employé par les autres fours.

Nous n'avons point parlé à sa place naturelle, dans la section anglaise, du four à gaz et à chaleur régénérée de Siemens qui a également obtenu le grand prix, parce qu’il nous a semblé plus logique de le rapprocher du four d’Hoffmann, dont l’usage est plus spécial et la construction plus simple, mais qui est également à chaleur régénérée.

Le gaz du four de Siemens est produit par la décomposition de l’eau au contact du charbon incandescent; il se compose d’hydrogène et d’oxyde de carbone, c’est-à-dire de gaz dont tout le monde a observé la flamme bleue au-dessus des réchauds. Après la combustion, les gaz épuisés mais chauds déposent leur chaleur dans un régénérateur de brique. Plus tard les gaz chauds sont dirigés dans un autre régénérateur qu’ils réchauffent, et pendant ce temps l’air et le gaz à l’eau sont dirigés dans le régénérateur chaud, lui enlèvent son calorique, et, étant fortement échauffés, se mêlent et brûlent dans les conditions les plus favorables. Économie de combustible, absence de fumée, élévation de température, flamme pure et claire, tous les avantages sont réunis.

Aujourd’hui, d’ailleurs, c’est là un des grands résultats constatés par l’Exposition, on est complètement maître d’une difficulté réputée insurmontable; on sait, dans presque tous les cas, alimenter une fournaise sans produire de gaz fuligineux. Le proverbe a cessé d’être vrai, la fumée n’est plus l’inséparable compagne du feu.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée