International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Chalet Kæffer

Chalet Kæffer at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

The Napoleonic Code has just received, at the Exhibition of 1867, an attack which was certainly very unexpected. It was at least unnecessary, until now, to have studied the origins of law, like the Demolombe, the Toullier, the Zachariæ, and to have commented on the Institutes of Justinian or the Reasons of Locré, in order to know that a house is an immovable, and our revered master, M. Rugnet, would never have asked this question to even the most naive student, 'Is a house immovable by nature or by destination? "

Well, here is a recent invention that has shaken the most well-founded convictions and formally refutes article 518, which states quite peremptorily: "Land and buildings are immovable by nature. "Indeed, a house is no longer, as it was for our fathers, a massive construction, held to the ground by powerful attachments, forming a body with it, and participating in its nature; it is a game of patience, to be assembled and disassembled at will, and which the whim of its owner transports, at his will, from the mountains to the plains as easily as trunks or boxes.

You have, at the Champ de Mars, a very pretty specimen of these portable constructions. It is the large chalet which almost touches the chalet of the Commission and in which musical instruments have been exhibited. M. Kaeffer, the builder of this elegant house, has endeavoured to meet the indispensable conditions of solidity and comfort. In addition, the many visitors who visited this pavilion were able to ensure that it was completely safe.

This problem has been solved. The house becomes a piece of furniture, like a folding chair or a stool. In the spring, you dismantle your house, put it on the railway, and install it on the banks of the lake of Enghien. At the first breezes of autumn, you pack up and take your building back to Paris. At the same time, you eliminate the problems of the neighbourhood, if you are stable, and the hotels and their accessories, if you travel. Everywhere you are at home.

It all sounds like a joke. Well, talk to Mr. Kaeffer. The honourable builder will tell you that for 25,000 francs, he will take care of bringing to your home and rebuilding the chalet that he exhibits at the Champ de Mars. This ingenious construction deserved, it seems, a reward. So the jury, composed probably of owners from whom this innovation can take away tenants, hastened to give Mr. Kæffer an honourable mention which this exhibitor hastened to refuse, for which I am far from blaming him.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chalet Kæffer

Chalet Kæffer à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Le Code Napoléon vient de recevoir, à l’Exposition de 1867, une attaque assurément fort inattendue. Il était au moins inutile, jusqu’à présent, d’avoir, comme les Demolombe,les Toullier, les Zachariæ , étudié les origines du droit, et commenté les Institutes de Justinien ou les Motifs de Locré , pour savoir qu’une maison est un immeuble, et notre vénéré maître, M. Rugnet n’eût jamais posé cette question à l’étudiant même le plus naïf, « Une maison est-elle immeuble par nature ou par destination? »

Eh bien, voilà qu’une invention récente vient ébranler les convictions les mieux fondées, et donner un démenti formel à l’article 518 qui dit très-péremptoirement : « Les fonds de terre et les bâtiments sont immeubles par nature. » En effet, une maison n’est plus, comme chez nos pères, une construction massive, tenant au sol par de puissantes attaches, faisant corps avec lui, et participant à sa nature, c’est un jeu de patience, se montant et se démontant à volonté, et que le caprice de son propriétaire transporte, à son gré, de la montagne à la plaine aussi facilement que des malles ou des caisses.

Vous avez, au Champ de Mars, un très-joli spécimen de ces constructions portatives. C’est le grand chalet qui touche presque au chalet de la Commission et dans lequel on a exposé des instruments de musique. M. Kaeffer, le constructeur de cette élégante maisonnette, s’est attaché à réunir les conditions indispensables de solidité et de confortable. Au surplus, les nombreux visiteurs qui ont parcouru ce pavillon ont pu s’assurer qu’on y était en toute sécurité.

Voilà donc un problème résolu. La maison devient un meuble, comme un pliant ou un tabouret. Au printemps, vous démontez votre maison, vous la mettez au chemin de fer, et vous l’installez sur les bords du lac d’Enghien. Aux premières bises d’automne, vous pliez bagage et vous rapportez votre immeuble à Paris. Vous supprimez du même coup les ennuis du voisinage, si vous êtes stable, les hôtels et leurs accessoires, si vous voyagez. Partout, vous êtes chez vous.

Tout cela semble une plaisanterie. Eh bien, adressez-vous à M. Kaeffer. L’honorable constructeur vous dira que pour 25000 francs, il se charge de porter chez vous et de reconstruire le chalet qu’il expose au Champ de Mars. Cette ingénieuse construction méritait, ce semble, une récompense. Aussi le jury, composé probablement de propriétaires à qui cette innovation peut enlever des locataires, s’est-il empressé d’accorder à M. Kæffer une mention honorable que cet exposant s’est empressé de refuser, ce dont je suis loin de le blâmer.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée