Back - List of Pavilions

Farcot machines and generators - Expo Paris 1867

Farcot machines and generators at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

As the Exposition draws to a close, it is fitting to take the opportunity afforded by this article on the most magnificent of steam engines, to take a general look at the motive power service.

The motive power required for the Exhibition Palace alone amounts to a total of 687 horsepower, of which 582 horsepower are used to set the machines in motion and 105 to ventilate the Palace. The necessary steam is produced outside the palace in nine buildings, placed around the building at a distance of about 45 metres, in conjunction with nine chimneys 30 metres high. In addition, there are two sheds housing locomobiles for ventilation.

The first house contains Mr. Powell's boiler, which supplies steam to their two gemel machines that set the spinning and weaving looms in motion.

The second pavilion contains two boilers, that of Mr. Meunier which supplies steam to the machine of Mr. Le Gavrian, and that of Messrs. Laurens and Thomas which gives power to the machine of Mr. Lecouteux. These two engines drive the presses and machines used for dyeing, printing, spinning and rope-making.

In the third pavilion we find the two boilers of Mr. Chevalier, setting in motion the machine of Mr. Duvergier, which transmits the power to the agricultural devices.

A Farcot locomobile driving two Perrigault double fans, used for the aeration of the Palace, is next to this third pavilion.

The fourth contains a boiler by M. Quillacq, connected to an engine of this manufacturer giving movement to machines used for the preparation of ores, etc., and a generator by Messrs Tenbrinck and Bonnet which powers the machine of the Graffenstaden factory, responsible for animating the machine tools.

Other machine tools, woodworking machines, and various appliances receive life from two engines, exhibited by Mr. Boyer and Mrs. V' de Coster, borrowing steam from their respective boilers housed in the fifth pavilion.

The sixth pavilion is occupied by the two generators of the Prussian-Belgian company üemeuse and Houget, Houget and Teston, whose two machines serve North Germany and Belgium. In addition, these generators provide the steam for a machine that challenges three Gargan exhausters used for ventilation.

The seventh pavilion is occupied by the two boilers of Mr. Farcot, supplying steam to three of his machines, the first of which sets in motion two large double Perrigault ventilators and the machines of South Germany; the second, the machines of Austria, and the third those of Switzerland.

The penultimate pavilion contains Mr. Flaud's generator, in connection with this manufacturer's machine, which sets in motion the entire American sector.

We then find a very strong locomobile acting on two of Mr. Philipon's machines which complete the ventilation service, and we finally arrive at the English boilers housed in the ninth pavilion.

- Mr Facot's first machine is his locomobile moving two Perrigault double fans, also built by Mr Farcot.

The double fan consists of two coupled fans, the first of which blows into the second which, acting on already compressed air, increases the compression and speed of the jet; as a result, the current leaves the double fan with a speed of more than one hundred metres per second.

It is known that according to the system of M. Piarron de Mondésir, Lehaitre and Julienne, who have just been awarded the gold medal for the ventilation of the Palace, the jets of the insufflation apparatus are directed into the sixteen radiating galleries under the streets of the Palace; these jets of compressed air carry a huge mass of air which penetrates into the underground galleries through sixteen air shafts of three metres in diameter dug in the Park twenty metres from the covered walkway The entrained air escapes from the underground galleries through the wooden grilles which, from distance to distance, connect the underground channels with the interior of the Palace; the stale air, expelled by the fresh air which is constantly flowing in, exits through the louvers placed at the top of the roof. Seven hundred thousand cubic metres of air are pumped into the immense building every hour and, thanks to this ventilation, there has always been a delightful temperature equally distant from heat and cold.

The Farcot locomobile is condensing and has a movable tubular beam for cleaning, like their large boilers, of which we shall speak; its power is fifteen horsepower.

All boiler builders seek above all to use all the heat that the fuel can give off, and therefore to burn it completely, which implies the suppression of black smoke. This result has now been completely achieved, the furnaces of large machines consume not more than one or two kilograms of coal per hour per horse, which is one-fifth of the former consumption, and the fireplaces of several manufacturers produce no smoke at all.

The English boilers have shone in the forefront in this respect, but most of our nations, led by Mr. Powel, have achieved results almost as conclusive. The 3 boilers of Messrs Farcot leave little to be desired in this respect. The Farcot generators consist of two superimposed cylinders joined by two large tubes; the lower cylinder, the larger one, contains the furnace followed by the bundle of tubes through which the flame passes and which the water surrounds on all sides.

As the water evaporates, it deposits incrusting matter which is a source of despair to mechanics. It is often necessary to clean the generators. For this purpose, Mr. Farcot fixes the furnace and the adjoining tubes to the two sides of the cylinder by means of two easily removable joints. When the boiler is clogged, the tubular furnace can be easily removed for cleaning. The upper cylinder serves as a water and steam tank. The boiler and the tank are enclosed in a large double-walled sheet metal jacket with an insulating substance between them. The hot gases, after passing through the tubes, circulate between the cylinders and the jacket before going to the chimney. The result of this arrangement is that twelve or fourteen hours after the furnace has been extinguished, the steam inside the boiler is still at two atmospheres, and the temperature is 120°.

The steam from these boilers goes to the three 17, 20 and 40 horsepower machines employed by Mr. Farcot to set in motion two double fans and the machines of the three countries that have entrusted them with their mechanical service. These machines are horizontal, with steam jacket, condensation and variable expansion by the action of the regulator. The system of expansion and that of the regulator are the invention of Mr. Farcot, like that of his famous boilers. The regulator is with rods and crossed arms, it acts instantaneously with enough energy to bring the machine back to its normal speed, even if one stops suddenly opposing any resistance to it.

In addition to these moving machines, Mr Farcot exhibited two horizontal machines, coupled on the same shaft, with a total force of 160 horsepower. This double engine is, perhaps, the most perfect of the Exhibition, and no one was surprised to see the jury confirm its vote of 1855 by giving the grand prize to the Farcot company, as it had awarded the grand medal of honour at the previous universal competition.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Machines Farcot et générateurs

Machines Farcot et générateurs à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Au moment de la fin de l’Exposition, il convient de profiter de l’occasion que nous offre cet article sur les plus magnifiques des machines à vapeur, pour jeter un coup d’œil général sur le service de la force motrice.

La force motrice nécessaire au Palais de l’Exposition, au palais seul, s’élève au total à687 chevaux-vapeur, dont 582 chevaux sont employés à mettre les machines en mouvement et 105 à ventiler le Palais. La vapeur nécessaire est produite en dehors du palais dans neuf bâtiments, placés autour de l’édifice à 45 mètres de distance environ, en reaction avec neuf cheminées de 30 mètres de hauteur. Il y a en outre deux hangars abritant des locomobiles destinées à la ventilation.

Le premier pavillon contient la chaudière de MM. Powell, elle fournit la vapeur à leurs deux machines gémellées qui mettent en mouvement les métiers à filer et à tisser.

Le second pavillon contient deux chaudières, celle de M. Meunier qui alimente de vapeur la machine de M. Le Gavrian, et celle de MM. Laurens et Thomas qui donne la force à la machine de M. Lecouteux. Ces deux moteurs actionnent les presses et les machines servant à la teinture, à l’impression, au filage et à la corderie.

Dans le troisième pavillon nous trouvons les deux chaudières de M. Chevalier, mettant en mouvement la machine de M. Duvergier qui transmet la force aux appareils agricoles.

Une locomobile Farcot mettant en mouvement deux ventilateurs doubles Perrigault, employés à l’aération du Palais, est voisine de ce troisième pavillon.

Le quatrième contient une chaudière de M. Quillacq, en relation avec un moteur de ce constructeur donnant le mouvement aux machines qui servent à la préparation des minerais, etc., et un générateur de MM. Tenbrinck et Bonnet qui alimente la machine de l’usine de Graffenstaden, chargée d’animer les machines-outils.

D’autres machines-outils, des machines à travailler le bois, des appareils divers, reçoivent la vie de deux moteurs, exposés par M. Boyer et Mme V' de Coster, empruntant la vapeur à leurs chaudières respectives logées dans le cinquième pavillon.

Le sixième est occupé par les deux générateurs delà maison prusso-belge üemeuse et Houget, Houget et Teston, dont les deux machines desservent l’Allemagne du Nord et la Belgique. En outre, ces générateurs donnent la vapeur nécessaire à une machine qui met enjeu trois exhausteurs Gargan employés à la ventilation.

Le septième pavillon est occupé par les deux chaudières de M. Farcot, fournissant la vapeur à trois de ses machines dont la première met en mouvement deux grands ventilateurs doubles Perrigault et les machines de l’Allemagne du Sud ; la seconde, les machines de l’Autriche, et la troisième celles de la Suisse.

L’avant-dernier pavillon contient le générateur de M. Flaud, en relation avec la machine de ce constructeur, laquelle met en mouvement tout le secteur américain.

Nous trouvons ensuite une très-forte locomobile agissant sur deux machines sou filantes de M. Philipon qui complètent le service de la ventilation, et nous arrivons enfin aux chaudières anglaises logées dans le neuvième pavillon.

— La première machine de M. Facot est sa locomobile mettant en mouvement deux ventilateurs doubles Perrigault, également construits parM. Farcot.

Le ventilateur double se compose de deux ventilateurs accouplés dont le premier souffle dans le second qui, agissant sur de l’air déjà comprimé, augmente la compression et la vitesse du jet; il en résulte que le courant sort du ventilateur double avec une vitesse de plus de cent mètres par seconde.

On sait que d’après le système de M. Piarron de Mondésir, Lehaitre et Julienne qui viennent d’obtenir la médaille d’or pour la ventilation du Palais, les jets des appareils d’insufflation sont dirigés dans les seize galeries rayonnantes ménagées sous les rues du Palais; ces jets d’air comprimé entraînent une masse d’air énorme qui pénètre dans les galeries souterraines par seize puits d’aérage de trois mètres de diamètre creusés dans le Parc à vingt mètres du promenoir couvert; le Raide entraîné s’échappe des galeries souterraines par les grilles de bois qui, de distance en distance, mettent les canaux du sous-sol en communication avec l'intérieur du Palais; l’air vicié, expulsé par l’air frais qui afflue incessamment, sort par les persiennes disposées au sommet de la toiture. Sept cent mille mètres cubes d’air sont refoulés par heure dans l’immense édifice et, grâce à cette ventilation, il y a toujours régné une température délicieuse également éloignée de la chaleur et du froid.

J^a locomobile Farcot est à condensation et à faisceau tubulaire mobile pour le nettoiement, comme leurs grandes chaudières dont nous allons parler ; sa force est de quinze chevaux.

Tous les constructeurs de chaudières cherchent avant tout à, utiliser toute la chaleur que le combustible peut rendre et, partant, à le brûler intégralement, ce qui implique la suppression de la fumée noire. Ce résultat aujourd’hui est complètement atteint, les fournaises des grandes machines ne consomment pas plus de un à deux kilogrammes de charbon par heure et par cheval, ce qui est la cinquième partie de la consommation ancienne, et les foyers de plusieurs constructeurs ne produisent pas du tout de fumée.

Les chaudières anglaises ont brillé au premier rang sous ce rapport, mais la plupart de nos nation aux, MM. Powel en tête, ont obtenu des résultats presque aussi concluants. Le3 chaudières de MM. Farcot ne laissent guère plus à désirer sous ce rapport . Les générateurs Farcot se composent de deux cylindres superposés réunis par deux large3 tubes; le cylindre inférieur, le plus gros, contient le foyer suivi du faisceau de tubes que traverse l'a flamme et que l’eau entoure de tous côtés.

L’eau dépose, en s’évaporant, des matières incrustantes qui font le désespoir des mécaniciens. Il est souvent nécessaire de nettoyer les générateurs. Dans ce but, M. Farcot fixe aux deux faces du cylindre, par deux joints facilement démontables, le foyer et les tubes attenants, quand la chaudière est encrassée,, on en peut aisément retirer le foyer tubulaire pour le nettoyer. Le cylindre supérieur sert de réservoir d’eau et de vapeur. La chaudière et le réservoir sont enveloppés dans une vaste chemise en tôle à doubles parois renfermant entre elles une substance isolante. Les gaz chauds, après avoir traversé les tubes, circulent entre les cylindres et la chemise avant de se rendre à la cheminée. Il résulte de cette disposition que douze ou quatorze heures après avoir éteint la fournaise, la vapeur est encore, dans l’intérieur de la chaudière, à deux atmosphères, et qu’il y règne une température de 120°.

La vapeur de ces chaudières se rend aux trois machines de 17, 20 et 40 chevaux employées par M. Farcot pour la mise en mouvement de deux ventilateurs doubles et des machines des trois pays qui leur ont confié leur service mécanique. Ces machines sont horizontales, à enveloppe de vapeur, à condensation et à détente variable par l’action du régulateur. Le système de la détente et celui du régulateur sont de l’invention de M. Farcot, comme celui de ses fameuses chaudières. Le régulateur est à bielles et à bras croisés, il agit instantanément avec assez d’énergie pour ramener la machine à sa vitesse normale, même si on cesse brusquement de lui opposer toute résistance.

Outre ces machines en mouvement, MM. Farcot ont exposé deux machines horizontales, accouplées sur le même arbre, d’une force totale de 160 chevaux. Ce double moteur est, peut-être, le plus parfait de l’Exposition, Aussi, personne ne s’est-il étonné de voir, cette année, le jury confirmer son vote de 1855 en donnant le grand prix à la maison Farcot, comme au concours universel précédent il lui avait décerné la grande médaille d’honneur.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée