International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Laundry Chalet

Laundry Chalet at the Exhibition Paris 1867

At a time when architecture borrows its happiest inspirations from the art of building barracks and hospitals, we must be grateful to the people who, unable to rebuild the great and beautiful buildings of the past, nevertheless wanted to give their homes a form and appearance which, without aiming for the grandiose and majestic, could avoid monotony and achieve elegance. It was in Switzerland that the
Switzerland that the chalet originated, and it was from this curious and interesting country that our artists brought back the first models.

A good national taste preserved the first builders from those shapeless and ignoble thatched cottages of our mountains, which the most realistic painters themselves despair of poetising in their landscapes.

Switzerland has not retained a monopoly on chalets. Fashion has sown them in all the aristocratic resorts such as Saint-Germain, Ville-d'Avray, etc., and the road that joins Enghien to Montmorency is now a long exhibition of Swiss architecture.
The Champ de Mars has some very successful models. A few steps from the Rue d'Alsace, not far from the Pavillon des Cloches, you will see an elegant chalet bearing the modest sign of a laundry. A few steps separate the floor from the ground and protect it from humidity. The ground floor is of real interest only to those mortals who have to launder the clothes of their fellow men. But to get to the first floor, remember this is a cottage, you have to go out and take one of the outside stairs that lead up to the front door. The two staircases with their cut-out banisters lead to a gallery that runs around the house. It is on this gallery, whose banister is - I will not say it - cut and festooned, that the rooms of the flats on the first floor open out. The roof protects this gallery from the rain, and serves as a canopy for the inhabitants. If I had to give my opinion of these frail and pretty constructions, I would say that, charming in appearance, if they are a little hot in summer, in winter they make one dream of Spitz-berget Siberia.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chalet de la Blanchisserie

Chalet de la Blanchisserie à l'exposition de Paris 1867

A une époque où l’architecture emprunte ses plus heureuses inspirations à l’art d’élever des casernes et des hôpitaux, il faut savoir gré au peuple qui, ne pouvant réédifier les grandes et belles constructions du passé, a voulu néanmoins donner à ses habitations une forme et un aspect qui, sans viser au grandiose et au majestueux, pussent éviter la monotonie et atteindre à l’élégance. C’est en
Suisse que le chalet a pris naissance, et c’est de cette curieuse et intéressante contrée que nos artistes en rapportèrent les premiers modèles.

Un bon goût national a préservé les premiers constructeurs de ces informes et ignobles chaumières de nos montagnes, que les peintres les plus réalistes désespèrent eux-mêmes de poétiser dans leurs paysages.

Aussi la Suisse n’a pas conservé le monopole des chalets. La mode en a semé dans toutes les villégiatures aristocratiques comme Saint-Germain, Ville-d’Avray, etc., et la route qui rejoint Enghien à Montmorency n'est plus qu’une longue exposition de l’architecture suisse.
Le Champ de Mars a quelques modèles très-réussis. A quelques pas de la rue d’Alsace, non loin du pavillon des cloches, vous verrez un élégant chalet qui porte l’enseigne modeste d’une blanchisserie. Quelques marches séparent le plancher du sol et le préservent de l’humidité. Le rez-de-chaussée n’offre d’intérêt véritable qu’aux mortels chargés de blanchir le linge de leurs semblables. Mais, pour parvenir au premier étage, rappelez-vous que nous sommes dans un chalet, il faut sortir et prendre un des escaliers extérieurs qui viennent aboutir a la porte d’entrée. Les deux escaliers à rampe découpée conduisent à une galerie qui tourne autour de la maison. C’est sur cette galerie dont la rampe est, — je ne le dis pas, — découpée et festonnée, que s’ouvrent les chambres des appartements du premier étage. Le toit protège cette galerie contre les pluies, et sert de marquise aux habitants. S’il fallait cependant donner mon sentiment sur ces frêles et jolies, constructions, je dirais que, charmantes d’aspect, si elles sont un peu chaudes pendant l’été, l’hiver elles font rêver Spitz-berget Sibérie.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée