International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Austria

manque image

M. de Castellane has published an absolutely complete article on the Austrian military exhibition, which singularly facilitates our task, because this exhibition is by far the most interesting part of the Austrian section, in this gallery that is. The arsenal even gave an unusual proof of confidence, by exhibiting not only the weapons it manufactures, but even the tools used to make them.

The Sigl company, from Vienna, exhibited, in addition to two locomotives which we will discuss again, a vertical steam engine, very elegant and worthy of note.

We cannot pass over in silence a copper dome, for a sugar factory, of three meters in diameter and of only one piece.

One model of dredger has this important feature, that all movements are dependent on the running of the bucket chain, so that the sinking of the buckets, the running of the ship lengthwise and widthwise, is always proportional to the work of the dredger.

We cannot leave Austria without admiring in the collection of natural products the marvellous rock salt crystals discovered in the Vielieza mine. Let us imagine an aggregation of enormous cubes of salt, the smallest of which is more than ten centimetres on a side, and which are to the small greyish cubes of our cooking salt what Regent and Ko-hi-Noor are to the diamond powder, of which these splendid crystals have the transparency and rarity.

What beautiful experiments our physicists would do with Danish Icelandic spar and Austrian rock salt!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Autriche

manque image

M. de Castellane a publié sur l’exposition militaire de l’Autriche, un article absolument complet, qui facilite singulièrement notre tâche, car cette exhibition est de beaucoup la partie la plus intéressante de la section autrichienne, dans cette galerie s’entend. L’arsenal a même donné une preuve de confiance peu commune, en exposant non-seulement les armes qu’il fabrique, mais même b. s outils qui servent à les fabriquer.

La maison Sigl, de Vienne, a exposé, outre deux locomotives dont nous reparlerons, une machine à vapeur, verticale, fort élégante et digne de remarque.

On ne peut, passer sous silence une coupole en cuivre, pour sucrerie, de trois mètres de diamètre et d’une seule pièce.

Un modèle de drague présente cette particularité importante, que tous les mouvements sont sous la dépendance de la marche de la chaîne à godets, de sorte que l'enfoncement de ceux-ci, la marche du navire dans le sens de la longueur et dans celui de la largeur, soit toujours proportionnels au travail de la drague.

Nous ne pouvons quitter l’Autriche sans aller admirer dans la collection des produits naturels, les merveilleux cristaux de sel gemme, découverts dans la mine de Vielieza. Que l’on se figure une agrégation d’énormes cubes de sel dont le plus petit a plus de dix centimètres de côté et qui sont aux petits cubes grisâtres de notre sel de cuisine, ce que sont à l’égrisée, poudre du diamant, le Régent et le Ko-hi-Noor, dont ces cristaux splendides ont la transparence et la rareté.

Quelle! belles expériences no3 physiciens feraient avec le spath d’Islande danois et le sel gemme autrichien!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée