International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Switzerland

manque image

Here we find ourselves in the midst of moving machines. A very complete collection of machine tools, intended for iron work, a whole series of machines used for cotton spinning, come out of the vast workshops of Mr. Rieter, established in Winterthur, the great industrial centre of Switzerland.

Mr. Honegger has invented a reel which automatically divides the raw silks, without the worker having to do anything about it, and classifies them by thread size. This is the pearl of the Swiss exhibition, in the sixth group.

Let us also note the beautiful engine of Messrs. Sulzer Brothers and, finally, the electric meteorograph, recorder, used in Bern. This apparatus is certainly less delicate than that of P. Secchi, but its price is relatively very moderate, which will enable a large number of stations to be equipped with it, and that is the essential point.

The machines in Switzerland, southern Germany and Austria are powered by the engines of Mr Farcot.

Germany has certainly done our country a great honour by asking a French manufacturer for the driving machines it needed.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suisse

manque image

Ici nous nous retrouvons au milieu des machines en mouvement. Une collection très-complète de machines-outils, destinées au travail du fer, toute une série de machines employées à la filature du coton, sortent des vastes ateliers de M. Rieter, établis à Winterthur, le grand centre industriel de la Suisse.

M. Honegger a inventé un dévidoir qui divise automatiquement les soies brutes, sans que l’ouvrier ait à s’en occuper en rien, et les classe par grosseur de fil. C’est la perle de l’exposition suisse, dans le sixième groupe.

Notons également le beau moteur de MM. Sulzer frères et, enfin, le météorographe électrique, enregistreur, employé à Berne. Cet appareil est assurément moins délicat que celui du P. Secchi, mais son prix est relativement très-modéré, ce qui permettra d’en doter un grand nombre de stations, et c’est là l’essentiel.

Les machines de la Suisse, de l’Allemagne du Sud et de l’Autriche, sont actionnées par les moteurs de M. Farcot.

L’Allemagne a assurément fait un grand honneur à notre pays, en demandant à un constructeur français les machines motrices dont elle avait besoin.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée