International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Norway

manque image

Sweden's twin sister. The fleet is complete, from the whaling ship to the herring ship. - It goes without saying that lighthouses and ships are models.

The land of Norway, granite and ice, could not feed the Norwegians, so they turned to the sea and became the most skilful fishermen on earth. What an interesting article could be written about this special and comprehensive exhibition; for our part, we shall point out a small model of a locomotive snow plough.

Norway seemed destined to be forever deprived of railways; its poor and rugged soil made it difficult to establish long lines. By building one-metre wide railways it has managed to fill this gap. These railways have the serious disadvantage of not being able to connect with those of the European network, including Sweden, which are uniformly one and a half metres wide; but they have the major advantage of being able to be built at the lowest cost.

The most northerly railway in the world now exists in Norway, extending to Drontheim on the edge of the Arctic Circle. Another difficulty is the snow that covers the ground for three quarters of the year. To get rid of it, the front of the locomotive is equipped with a double ploughshare which pushes the snow to the sides of the track. Last year the locomotive on display travelled 6,000 kilometres in similar conditions.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Norvège

manque image

La sœur jumelle de la Suède. La flottille est complète, depuis le navire qui chasse la baleine, jusqu’à celui qui pêche le hareng. — Il est bien entendu que phare et bateaux sont des modèles.

La terre de Norwége, granitique et glacée, n’a pu nourrir les Norwégiens, qui se sont alors tournés vers la mer et sont devenus les plus habiles pêcheurs du globe. Quel article intéressant on pourrait faire sur cette exposition spéciale et complète; pour nous, nous ferons remarquer un petit modèle de charrue à neige pour locomotive.

La Norwége semblait destinée à être toujours privée de chemins de fer; son sol pauvre et accidenté ne permettait guère d’y établir de longues lignes. En construisant des voies d’un mètre de large elle est parvenue à combler cette lacune. Ces railways ont l’inconvénient grave de ne pouvoir se raccorder avec ceux du réseau européen, y compris la Suède, qui ont uniformément un mètre et demi de large ; mais ils ont l’avantage capital de pouvoir être construits au plus bas prix.

C’est en Norwége qu’existe aujourd’hui le chemin de fer le plus septentrional du globe; il s’avance jusqu’à Drontheim sur les confins du cercle polaire. Il en résulte une autre difficulté, la neige qui couvre le sol pendant les trois quarts de l’année. Pour s’en débarrasser, on arme l’avant de la locomotive d’un double soc de charrue qui rejette la neige sur les côtés de la voie. L’an dernier la locomotive dont le modèle est exposé a parcouru 6000 kilomètres dans de semblables conditions.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée