International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Sweden

manque image

This is the land of incomparable irons and rare minerals, the home of Erickson, inventor of the hot air machine.

Erickson's machine was not very practical, but in the last fifteen years the fruit has ripened, and today the American Rankine exhibits in the Park a hot-air machine which works as regularly as a steam engine and consumes ten times less coal.

The Swedish exhibition is small, but very honourable. A gas engine sets in motion some simple and well executed tools. Next to it is a very beautiful horizontal steam engine. Sweden being a mining country, the models of furnaces for the treatment of metals are numerous and sufficiently perfected to have been, almost all, judged worthy of reward. We wish we could demonstrate to our readers, by a description of these appliances, that the jury was only right; but, great God! we still have to make nearly three quarters of our circumnavigation.

Navigation may be said, for at every moment we find maritime objects. As in the waters of the Skager Rack, it is a metal lighthouse raised in the vicinity of Gothenburg, which we shall see last as we leave Sweden, before we find ourselves in the midst of the innumerable ships that signal us.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suède

manque image

Voici le pays des fers incomparables et des minéraux rares, la patrie d’Erickson, inventeur de la machine à air chaud.

L’appareil d’Erickson n’était point très-pratique, mais, depuis quinze ans, le fruit a mûri, et aujourd’hui l’Américain Rankine expose dans le Parc une machine à air chaud qui fonctionne aussi régulièrement qu’une machine à vapeur et consomme dix fois moins de charbon.

L’exposition suédoise est petite, mais très honorable. Un moteur à gaz met en mouvement quelques outils simples et bien exécutés. Auprès d’elle est une fort belle machine à vapeur horizontale. La Suède étant un pays minier, les modèles de fours pour le traitement des métaux sont nombreux et assez perfectionnés pour avoir été, presque tous, jugés dignes de récompense. Nous voudrons bien pouvoir démontrer à nos lecteurs, par uni description de ces appareils, que le jury n’a été que juste; mais, grand Dieu! il nous reste encore à faire près des trois quarts de notre voyage de circumnavigation.

Navigation peut se dire, car, à chaque instant, nous trouvons des objets maritimes. Comme dans les eaux du Skager Rack, c’est un phare métallique élevé dans les environs de Gothembourg, que nous verrons le dernier en quittant la Suède, avant de nous trouver au milieu des innombrables bateaux qui nous signalent.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée