International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

United States Annex

United States Annex at the Exhibition Paris 1867

The annex is not the least interesting part of the American exhibition. By a singular anomaly, it contains even the most important objects, and those most likely to call attention to the particular kind of this industrious people.

In the first place, I shall mention the great locomotive and its tender. At first sight, this immense machine produces a sort of amazement. One realises that one is in a country where everything is colossal, the tool as well as the tree, the works of industry as well as the works of nature.

The second impression is one of admiration. Mr. Grant, having given his locomotive imposing proportions, has adorned and enriched it with the most delicate care.
It is a monster and it is a beauty; it is a hell and it is a jewel. One can see oneself in its polished sides; one takes oneself to caress it, as one would do with one of these large African elephants, so terrible to see and yet so innocent.

Finally, one notices the perfect execution of its complicated details.
The four low wheels are pivoted and allow for a straightforward approach to curves. The counterweight of the gearshift lever is replaced by a double spring, enclosed in a copper box, and fixed on one side to the boiler.

There is a curious appendage in front. This is the snowplough. In those long solitudes through which a single railway track passes, open to all like an ordinary road, it frequently happens that cattle lie on the rails; they could derail the train; the plow grabs them, throws them aside, and the train passes. Sometimes the snow blocks the track; the snowplough takes charge of restoring it. Sometimes a tree falls; again, it is thanks to this ingenious mechanism that the tree is lifted and moved aside.

This big bell, which would almost be the envy of a cathedral, is used to warn the inhabitants when one is crossing a town. This enormous lantern produces a fire visible at an astonishing distance.

A very great improvement is the covering of the mechanics' room. Here in France, we leave these brave people, on whom the salvation of so many people depends, exposed to the rain, the wind, and all the bad weather of the seasons, so that they are perpetually burnt on one side and frozen on the other. In America, they are safe from the cold and dust. It is true that there the journeys are longer, and the changes in temperature more frequent.

In this room is a bell connected to the train by a rope that goes to the last car. This bell is used to warn the engineer of any accidents that may occur en route.

The tender is, like the locomotive, as strong as it is light. It is said that Mr. Grant wants to sell the whole thing for seventy-five thousand francs. 11 must have spent a hundred and fifty thousand, just to have the engine built. Who will be tempted by this piece of furniture?

The sight of this locomotive makes one regret that a series of American wagons was not displayed after it. In America, there is only one class of passenger. The carriage is much longer than in the United States, and holds fifty people. It is arranged in a very different way.

Only four people sit abreast; two on one side, two on the other. Between them is a fairly wide passage, which allows you to move from one end of the wagon to the other. Everyone is seated so as to move forward. The backs of the seats are movable, so that if there are four of you travelling together, all you have to do is push a spring, and you are facing each other.

On a long journey, these benches can form a bed. Mattresses and sheets are spread out on them, and you lie down very comfortably; tilting boards can also form another bed - this is the method used in the cabins of ships.

Many other comforts are part of American trains. For example, a platform connects the various carriages. Thanks to the corridor in the middle, one can walk through the whole train, choose one's place, change it, walk around, talk standing up, vary one's position, etc. There is a smoking car, so that once you have finished your cigar you do not have to endure a smoky atmosphere forever.

In all the trains there is a bookshop selling books and newspapers, a buffet selling cakes, and sometimes cold meat. You understand that when, as on the Californian railway, which is in the process of being built, you have to cross interminable solitudes, where what is called a town is a meeting of three huts, it is advisable to take with you a thousand things which you would not find anywhere else.

A stove heats each wagon in winter; not only is one comfortable, but one can approach the fire and meet and talk. This stove would be useful everywhere; for it is really incredible that people should be left to freeze because their purse is not well enough furnished; heating is not a luxury to be reserved for wealth; it is a necessity of life.

If space were not limited, I would also have much to say about the way in which the American railways are run. It will suffice for me to remark, that almost all of them have only one track. A people which alone possesses more miles of railways than the rest of the world could not have accomplished this gigantic task if it had been organised as in Europe. From distance to distance, there is simply a rallying or waiting track. There the mixed trains withdraw, to let the express trains pass.

- Near the Grant locomotive is a specimen of the rail omnibus. It is noticeable how much more ornate and comfortable the omnibuses of the United States are than ours. I am not speaking only of the paintwork, which of course is less than mediocre, but whose colour enlivens. These cars combine solidity with extreme lightness. They have a brake that stops short, and prevents accidents. This brake consists of a simple pedal under the driver's feet. Moreover, in these omnibuses one can get on more easily, one is better seated, and one is sheltered everywhere.

-C. Herring's safes are reminiscent of the great struggle that took place, and is still going on, between the English safes and the American safes. In our money age, this issue has a certain gravity.

The American safe obviously wins. It braves the most intense fire. It has been heated to red-hot without the papers in it being compromised. We will not dwell on this subject. Suffice it to say that several workmen, equipped with levers, hammers and all the most powerful instruments, toiled for four hours without being able to break into one of these chests. Let us judge what a thief could do.

- American ploughs also amaze our farmers. Their dimensions are unknown in Europe. Indeed, whereas here we only have to plough a soil that has been prepared for a long time, over there we have to tackle a virgin and resistant soil. Usually the settlers have to deal with either forests or dwarf hazel woods covering huge areas of grassland. The first step is usually to draw a boundary and clear the land; then, to move more quickly, they set fire to it. This is why one sees in its path, in all the western territories, so many charred trunks, which one did not bother to finish. Then they ploughed. It is easy to see that the tools must be in proportion to the difficulty.

-The same can be said of the axes. Some Frenchmen stopped in front of these disproportionate tools, wondering if steam was not used to employ them. The Americans, however, are getting used to handling them. When it is necessary to cut down enormous oaks, and contemporary with I don't know what the beginning of the world was, our lumberjacks' choppers would be completely inadequate.

In short, French farmers and mechanics will have had much to learn from the American annex. We would be astonished if some profit were not made from it, and if various objects of our industry were not subsequently perfected. With regard to the railways, I believe that the American wagon system could make it possible to abolish the third classes. In order to achieve this result, the second and third classes would be combined, leaving only the first classes for people who like solitude, a little more well-being, and who want to live apart. For we must not conceal from ourselves that if our nation has some egalitarian tendencies, it also has many aristocratic ones.

The appendix has given us, more than the interior, a true idea of the greatness and power of the States of the new world; greatness and industrial power above all. America cannot compete with Europe in the field of art, but she is in the lead in practical matters. Must it not found and create before it enjoys itself? We have before us the immensity of the dream and the ideal; she has before her the immensity of nature still untamed.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Annexe des Etats-Unis

Annexe des Etats-Unis à l'exposition de Paris 1867

L’annexe n’est pas la partie la moins intéressante de l’exposition américaine. Par une singulière anomalie, elle renferme même les objets les plus importants, et ceux qui sont le plus propres à appeler l’attention sur le genre particulier de ce peuple industrieux.

En premier lieu, je citerai la grande locomotive et son tender. A première vue, cette immense machine produit une sorte de stupéfaction. On s’aperçoit qu’on est dans un pays où tout est colossal, l’outil comme l’arbre, les œuvres de l’industrie aussi bien que les œuvres de la nature.

La seconde impression est l’admiration. M. Grant, après avoir donné à sa locomotive des proportions imposantes, l’a ornée et enrichie avec le soin le plus délicat.
C’est un monstre et c’est une beauté ; c’est un enfer et c’est un bijou. On se mire dans ses flancs polis; on se prend à la caresser, comme on ferait d’un de ces gros éléphants d’Afrique, si terribles à voir et pourtant si innocents.

Enfin on constate la parfaite exécution de ses détails compliqués.
Les quatre roues basses sont à pivots et permettent d’aborder franchement les courbes. Le contre-poids du levier de changement de marche est remplacé par un double ressort, renfermé dans une boîte en cuivre, et fixé d’un côté à la chaudière.

Une sorte d’appendice curieux est en avant. C’est le chasse-vaches ou chasse-neige. Dans ’ces longues solitudes que traverse une seule voie ferrée, ouverte à tous comme une route ordinaire, il arrive fréquemment que les bestiaux se couchent sur les rails; ils pourraient faire dérailler le train; le chasse-vaches les saisit, les jette de côté, et le train passe. Quelquefois la neige obstrue la voie; le chasse-neige se charge de la rétablir. Il arrive aussi qu’un arbre tombe ; c’est encore grâce à cet ingénieux mécanisme que l’arbre est soulevé et écarté.

Cette grosse cloche qu’envierait presque une cathédrale, sert à avertir les habitants, quand on traverse une ville. Cette énorme lanterne produit un feu visible à une distance étonnante.

Une amélioration très-grande, c’est la couverture de la chambre des mécaniciens. Ici, en France, nous laissons ces braves gens, sur lesquels repose le salut de tant de personnes, exposés à la pluie, au vent, à toutes les intempéries des saisons, si bien qu’ils sont perpétuellement grillés d’un côté et gelés de l’autre. En Amérique, ils sont à l’abri du froid et de la poussière. Il est vrai que là-bas, les voyages sont plus longs, et les changements de température plus fréquents.

Dans cette chambre est un timbre rallié au train par une corde qui va jusqu’au dernier wagon. Ce timbre sert à prévenir le mécanicien de tous les accidents qui peuvent arriver en route.

Le tender est, comme la locomotive, aussi fort que léger. On dit que M. Grant veut vendre le tout soixante-quinze mille francs. 11 a dû en dépenser cent cinquante mille, rien que pour faire construire la machine. Qui ce meuble tentera-t-il?

La vue de cette locomotive fait regretter que l’on n’ait pas exposé à sa suite une série de wagons américains. En Amérique, il n’y a qu’une classe de voyageurs. Le wagon est beaucoup plus long que chez nous, et contient cinquante personnes. Il est disposé d’une façon toute différente.

Quatre personnes seulement sont assises de front; deux d’un côté, deux de l’autre. Entre elles est un passage assez large, qui permet de circuler d’un bout à l’autre du wagon. Tout le monde est assis, de façon à aller en avant. Les dossiers des sièges sont mobiles, en sorte que si l’on est quatre à voyager ensemble, on n’a qu’à pousser un ressort, et l’on se trouve face à face.

Dans un long voyage, ces bancs peuvent former lit. On y étend des matelas, des draps, et on se couche fort à l’aise; des planches basculantes aussi peuvent constituer une autre couche, — c’est la méthode employée dans les cabines des navires.

Bien d’autres conforts font partie des trains américains. C’est ainsi qu’une plateforme unit entre eux les différents wagons. Grâce au couloir du milieu, on peut parcourir toute l’étendue du train, choisir sa place, en changer, se promener, causer debout, varier sa position, etc. Il y a un wagon-fumoir, en sorte que l’on n’est pas obligé, son cigare achevé, de subir éternellement une atmosphère enfumée.

Dans tous les trains, il y a un libraire qui vend des livres et des journaux, un buffet qui vend des gâteaux, et parfois de la viande froide. Vous comprenez bien, que, lorsqu’il s’agit, comme sur le chemin de fer californien, en voie de construction, de traverser d’interminables solitudes, où ce qu’on appelle ville est une- réunion de trois cabanes, il convient d’emporter avec soi mille choses qu’on ne trouverait nulle part.

Un poêle chauffe chaque wagon l’hiver; non-seulement on est à l’aise; mais encore on peut s’approcher du feu, et s’y réunir en causant. Ce poêle serait utile partout; car il est vraiment incroyable qu’on laisse se geler les gens, parce qu’ils n’ont pas la bourse assez bien garnie ; le chauffage n’est point une chose de luxe qu’on doive réserver à la fortune; c’est une nécessité de la vie.

Si l’espace ne m’était limité, j’aurais aussi beaucoup à dire de la façon dont s’exécutent les chemins de fer américains. Il me suffira de remarquer, que presque tous n’ont qu’une seule voie. Un peuple, qui, à lui seul, possède plus de kilomètres de chemins de fer que le reste du monde, n’aurait pu venir à bout de ce gigantesque travail, s’il lui avait fallu l’organiser comme en Europe. De distance en distance, on trouve simplement une voie de ralliement ou d’attente. Là, les trains mixtes se retirent, afin de laisser passer les express.

— Près de la locomotive Grant se trouve un spécimen de l’omnibus sur rails. On remarque combien les omnibus des États-Unis sont plus ornés et plus confortables que les nôtres. Je ne parle pas seulement des peintures, qui naturellement sont moins que médiocres, mais dont la couleur égaye. Ces voitures unissent la solidité à une extrême légèreté. Elles ont un frein qui arrête court, et prévient les accidents. Ce frein consiste en une simple pédale sous les pieds du cocher. De plus, dans ces omnibus on monte plus aisément, on est mieux assis, et on se trouve partout à l’abri.

—Les coffres-forts de C. Herring rappellent la grande lutte qui a eu lieu, et dure encore, entre les coffres-forts anglais et les coffres -forts américains. Dans notre âge d’argent, cette question offre une certaine gravité.

Le coffre-fort américain l’emporte évidemment. Il brave le feu le plus intense. On en a chauffé au rouge-blanc sans que les papiers qui s’y trouvaient aient été compromis. Nous ne nous appesantirons pas sur ce sujet. Qu’il nous suffise de dire que plusieurs ouvriers, munis de leviers, de marteaux et de tous les instruments les plus puissants, s’acharnèrent pendant quatre heures sans pouvoir forcer un de ces coffres. Qu’on juge de ce que pourrait un voleur.

— Les charrues américaines étonnent aussi nos agriculteurs. Leurs dimensions sont inconnues en Europe. En effet tandis qu’ici nous n’avons à labourer qu’un sol préparé depuis longtemps, là-bas il s’agit de s'attaquer à une terre vierge et résistante. Généralement les colons ont affaire, soit à des forêts, soit à des bois de noisetiers nains qui recouvrent d’immenses étendues de prairies. On commence généralement par tracer une limite, et par faire une éclaircie; puis, pour aller plus vite, on met le feu en le concentrant. C’est pourquoi on voit sur son passage, dans tous les territoires de l’Ouest, tant de troncs calcinés, qu’on ne s'est pas donné la peine d’achever. On laboure ensuite. On conçoit que les instruments doivent être en rapport avec la difficulté.

—Nous en dirons autant des haches. Quelques Français s’arrêtaient devant ces outils démesurés, se demandant si on n’utilisait pas la vapeur pour les employer. Les Américains s’habituent pourtant à les manier. Quand il faut abattre des chênes énormes, et contemporains de je ne sais quel commencement du monde, nos couperets de bûcherons seraient d’une complète insuffisance.

En résumé, les agriculteurs et les mécaniciens français auront eu beaucoup à apprendre en parcourant l’annexe américaine. Nous serions étonné si l’on n’en tirait pas quelque profit, et si l’on ne perfectionnait pas, par la suite, divers objets de notre industrie. Relativement aux chemins de fer, je crois que le système de wagons américains pourrait permettre de supprimer les troisièmes classes. On réunirait, pour atteindre ce résultat, les secondes et les troisièmes, conservant seulement des premières pour les gens qui aiment la solitude, un peu plus de bien-être, et qui tiennent à vivre à part. Car il ne faut pas se dissimuler que si notre nation a quelque tendance égalitaire, elle en a aussi beaucoup d’aristocratiques.

L’annexe nous a donné, plus que l’intérieur, une idée vraie de la grandeur et de la puissance des États du nouveau monde; grandeur et puissance industrielle avant tout. L’Amérique ne saurait lutter avec l’Europe pour les objets d’art, mais elle tient le premier rang pour les choses pratiques. Ne faut-il pas qu’elle fonde et qu’elle crée avant de jouir? Nous avons devant nous l’immensité du rêve et de l’idéal; elle a devant elle l’immensité de la nature encore indomptée.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée