International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Italy

Italy at the Exhibition Paris 1867

The country is not rich; not a single machine is in motion, almost all the builders are content to send models whose transport is less costly than that of the apparatus. Moreover, these artists, musicians, inspired sculptors and skilful painters are a little frightened by the rough machines; used to marble, they disdain iron. The mechanical exhibitors are called Cuppy or Westermann, these are strange Italians. The English have everywhere become engineers: the Cokerills in Belgium, the Scott and Powels in Rouen, the Westermanns in Genoa, etc.

There is, however, one exception; the Italians have a real blacksmith: Ansaldo, whose gigantic workshops deliver 900 horsepower machines. This proves that Italy will later be able to manufacture its own machines as well as France. For the moment it is inventing them. We have noticed a steam engine without a dead centre, a horizontal machine by Woolf, and above all Bonnelli's electric loom, so unjustly forgotten in the list of awards.

We shall not finish without saying a word about the boric acid operations which earned a special prize for the Count of Larderel; for this is certainly the only industry in which man has yet dared to bring into play the Plutonian forces, and has dug artesian wells to collect the emanations of volcanoes.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italie

Italie à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Le pays n’est pas riche ; pas une seule machine n’est en mouvement, presque tous les constructeurs se sont contentés d’envoyer des modèles dont le transport est moins coûteux que celui des appareils. D’ailleurs ces artistes, ces musiciens, ces sculpteur? inspirés, ces peintres habiles sont un peu effrayés par les rudes machines ; habitués au marbre, ils dédaignent le fer. Les exposant mécaniciens s’appellent Cuppy ou Westermann, voila d’étranges Italiens. Les Anglais ont partout fait souche d’ingénieurs: ce sont, les Cokerill en Belgique, les Scott et les Powel à Rouen, les Westermann à Gênes, etc.

Il y a cependant une exception; les Italiens ont un véritable forgeron: Ansaldo, dont les ateliers gigantesques livrent des machines de 900 chevaux. Ceci prouve que l’Italie pourra plus tard, aussi bien que la France, fabriquer ses machines elle-même. Pour le moment elle en invente. Nous avons remarqué une machine à vapeur sans point mort, une machine de Woolf, horizontale, et surtout le métier électrique de Bonnelli, si injustement oublié dans la liste des récompenses.

Nous ne terminerons pas sans dire un mot des exploitations d’acide borique qui ont valu un prix spécial au comte de Larderel; car c’est assurément la seule industrie où l’homme ait encore osé mettre en jeu les forces plutoniennes, était creusé des puits artésiens pour aller chercher les émanations des volcans.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée