International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Forges de Châtillon et Commentry

Forges de Châtillon et Commentry at the Exhibition Paris 1867

The Compagnie des forges de Châtillon et de Commentry has built a special pavilion in the park, to the left of the main entrance to the Pont d'Iéna, where it has assembled samples of its many products. Nothing could be more interesting than this exhibition which introduces you to all the progress made in France by the metallurgical industry.

The back of the pavilion, leaning against the quay, is formed by a monumental assembly of the principal samples of sheet metal and profiled iron which reproduces exactly to half size the Medici fountain of the Luxembourg garden; two Florentine statuettes placed in the two lateral niches, two Medici vases placed on the corners of the pediment, complete the monument; two bas-reliefs in Commentry sheet metal embossed with a hammer by M. Bodard, represent one of the miners, and the other a forge with wood.

The four columns of the monument are ingeniously represented by the various types of rails, angles and small glazing bars. On the tympanum that surmounts the pediment is applied an embossed iron escutcheon with the names of the five provinces in which the Company's establishments are located. Finally, at the bottom of the large central niche, there is a very curious rocaille made up of coal, cokes, cast iron and irons, property of the Company.

Between two plans in relief representing the metamorphic site of the iron mines of Thostes and Beauregard and the coal mine of Benezet, an iron pedestal table has been placed, whose table is made of forged sheet metal, folded and corrugated all around, and covered with a stamp and vases of embossed sheet metal; And further on, near the entrance door, are two armours, one of which, unrolled, twenty centimetres thick and nearly five metres long, weighs seven thousand kilos; the other, fifteen centimetres thick, drilled and adjusted, has been subjected to the test of the gun.

To the right of the monument, the Company has set up showcases in which it has displayed collections of cold and hot breaks and tests, cast irons and irons, samples of all tin irons, bright irons, dull irons, and black irons, of thin sheets, leaded and zinc-coated, polished and buffed, of all numbers of wire and all varieties of puddled and forged points.

Near the entrance door is a frame containing ten sheets of black, extra-thin, polished iron, on which are inscribed the names of the Company's personnel.

In the corners of the panels and of the main face, four pyramids rise up, composed of bundles of wire rods, bundles of clear, annealed, galvanised and copper-plated wires, crowned with vases of embossed sheet metal, a base of corrugated sheet metal, bent into a semicircle, a base of a round iron rod, a base made of corrugated iron, curved in a semicircle, a base made of an iron circle, cold-wound on itself and over a collection of girated strips, and finally a base made of corrugated iron and a base made of two bundles of iron wire, over a specimen cable made of the Company's own iron wire and intended to operate in one of its mines.

There are few richer and more interesting exhibitions in the Park, so the pavilion of the Société de Châtillon et Commentry is filled every day not with curious people, but with intelligent visitors who marvel at the diversity and perfection of the products of this Company.

Its success in the huge competition held at the Champ de Mars was most striking: it obtained the first gold medal for its metallurgical products, another gold medal for its mining processes and equipment, and finally an honourable mention in the separate order of awards instituted in favour of establishments which have best maintained and developed good harmony between all those who cooperate in the same work, and ensured the material, moral and intellectual wellbeing of the workers, against any unfortunate eventuality.

The Compagnie des forges de Châtillon et Commentry owns the most important mining and metallurgical establishments in France.

It is divided into six departments which employ a total of nearly nine thousand workers in their mines, factories and workshops.

In all the places where the workers are concentrated, the Company has set up relief funds, ensured the education of boys by subsidising lay or religious teachers, and the sisters of Saint Vincent de Paul for the education of girls; finally, it has completed this set of charitable institutions by founding a medical service which is duly paid.

In addition to these first means of ensuring the material and moral well-being of its workers, the Company also provided them with a certain amount of free or reduced-price housing and gardens, wood or coal heating, and a very large number of bread ovens.

In addition, it has made itself the cashier of its workers: it receives their savings, pays them interest or adds a preferential interest to the capital every year.

The Company, always looking for new ways to improve the lot of the workers, hopes to do even more for them than it has done; also, workers and bosses consider themselves to be in solidarity, and the ever active and paternal benevolence of the one is paid for by the absolute devotion of the other.

The three awards obtained by the Company, which this brief report explains in abundance, are, in the eyes of all, nothing but an act of rigorous justice on the part of the Imperial Commission.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Forges de Châtillon et Commentry

Forges de Châtillon et Commentry à l'exposition de Paris 1867

La Compagnie des forges de Châtillon et de Commentry a fait construire dans le Parc, à gauche de la grande entrée du pont d'Iéna, un pavillon spécial, où elle a réuni des échantillons de ses nombreux produits. Rien de plus intéressant que cette exposition qui vous initie à tous les progrès faits en France par l’industrie métallurgique.

Le fond du pavillon, adossé au quai, est formé par un assemblage monumental des principaux échantillons de tôles et de fers profilés qui reproduit exactement à demi-grandeur la fontaine de Médicis du jardin du Luxembourg; deux statuettes florentines placées dans les deux niches latérales, deux vases Médicis posés sur les angles du fronton, complètent le monument; deux bas-reliefs en tôle de Commentry repoussée au marteau par M. Bodard, représentent l’un des mineurs, et l’autre une forge au bois.

Les quatre colonnes du monument sont ingénieusement figurées par les divers types de rails, de cornières et de petits fers de vitrage. Sur le tympan qui surmonte le fronton est appliqué un écusson en fer repoussé où sont inscrits les noms des cinq provinces dans lesquelles sont situés les établissements de la Compagnie. Enfin, au bas de la grande niche centrale, est une très-curieuse rocaille composée des houilles, des cokes, des fontes et des fers, propriété de la Société.

Entre deux plans en relief représentant le gite métamorphique des mines de fer de Thostes et de Beauregard et la mine de houille de Benezet, on a placé un guéridon en fer dont la table est formée d’une tôle forgée, plissée et ondulée sur tout son contour, et recouverte d’un timbre et de vases de tôle repoussée; et plus loin, près de la porte d’entrée, sont deux blindages dont l’un, brut de laminage, d’une épaisseur de vingt centimètres et d’une longueur de près de cinq mètres, pèse sept mille kilos ;l’autre de quinze centimètres d’épaisseur, percé et ajusté, a été soumis à l’épreuve du canon.

A la droite du monument, la Compagnie a établi des vitrines où elle a exposé des collections de cassures et d’essais à froid et à chaud, de fontes et de fers, des échantillons de tous les fers-blancs, fers brillants, fers ternes, et fers noirs, de tôles minces, plombées et zinguées, lustrées et polies, de tous les numéros de fils de fer et de toutes les variétés de pointes puddlées et forgées.

Près de la porte d’entrée est un cadre renfermant dix feuilles de fer noir, extra-mince, poli, sur lesquelles sont inscrits les noms du personnel de la Compagnie.

Dans les angles des panneaux et de la face principale, s’élèvent quatre pyramides, composées de pelotons de ronds de tréfilerie, de bottes de fils clairs, recuits, zingués et cuivrés, couronnés de vases en tôle repoussée, d’un soubassement en tôle ondulée, cintrée en demi-cercle, d’un socle en un rond de fer, enroulé sur lui-même à froid et par-dessus une collection de feuillards gironnés, enfin d’un soubassement en tôle ondulée et d’un socle composé de deux bottes de fils de fer, par-dessus un câble spécimen de produit ouvré avec des fils de fer de la Compagnie et destiné à fonctionner dans une de ses mines.

Il y a, dans le Parc, peu d’expositions plus riches et plus intéressantes, aussi le pavillon de la Société de Châtillon et Commentry est-il chaque jour rempli non pas de curieux, mais de visiteurs intelligents qu’émerveillent la diversité et la perfection des produits de cette Compagnie.

Son succès dans l’immense concours ouvert au Champ de Mars a été des plus éclatants : elle a obtenu la première médaille d’or pour ses produits métallurgiques, une autre médaille d’or pour les procédés et le matériel des mines, et enfin une mention honorable dans l’ordre distinct des récompenses institué en faveur des établissements qui ont su le mieux entretenir et développer la bonne harmonie entre tous ceux qui coopèrent aux mêmes travaux, et assuré aux ouvriers, contre toute fâcheuse éventualité, le bien-être matériel, moral et intellectuel.

La Compagnie des forges de Châtillon et Commentry possède les établissements miniers et métallurgiques les plus importants de France.

Elle se divise en six directions qui occupent dans leurs mines, leurs usines et leurs ateliers, un total de près de neuf mille ouvriers.

Sur tous les points où le personnel ouvrier présente une certaine agglomération, la Compagnie a institué des caisses de secours, assuré l’instruction des garçons, en subventionnant des instituteurs laïques ou religieux, et des sœurs de Saint-Vincent de Paul, pour l’éducation des filles; enfin elle a complété cet ensemble d’institutions de bienfaisance en fondant un service médical dignement rémunéré.

Indépendamment de ces premiers moyens d’assurer le bien-être matériel et moral de ses ouvriers, la Compagnie leur fournit encore gratuitement ou à prix réduit une certaine quantité de logements et de jardins, le chauffage au bois ou à la houille, et un très-grand nombre de fours à cuire le pain.

Elle s’est faite, en outre, la caissière de ses travailleurs : elle reçoit leurs épargnes, leur sert l’intérêt ou ajoute chaque année au capital un intérêt de faveur.

La Compagnie, toujours en quête de nouveaux moyens d’améliorer le sort des ouvriers, espère faire pour eux plus encore qu’elle n’a fait; aussi, ouvriers et patrons se considèrent comme solidaires, et la bienveillance toujours active et toute paternelle des uns est payée par le dévouement absolu des autres.

Les trois récompenses obtenues par la Compagnie, qu’explique surabondamment ce rapide compte rendu, ne sont, aux yeux de tous, de la part de la Commission impériale, qu’un acte de rigoureuse justice.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée