International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Post and Telegraph

Post and Telegraph at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Wherever a group of men is formed, the post office does what the Roman municipi did in the past with an army in the field; it settles down and forms the city.

On the Champ de Mars, the post office and its younger brother, the telegraph, naturally leaned against the building where the Exhibition staff met, long before the Exhibition opened.

One of the ministerial immunities enjoyed by the Exhibition staff was to be able to send letters and dispatches free of charge, first to the members of the admission committees, then to the international jurors and even to the exhibitors. And no one, you may imagine, has refrained from taking advantage of this immunity. There is something particularly pleasant about sending and receiving a letter free of charge; and Mr. Vandal's diligent and practised army has had time to get acquainted with our names and writings, principals or addressees.

The Champ de Mars post office has sent out many more letters than it has received: and this is easily explained. The Champ de Mars" is not a home for anyone. Everyone passes through it; no one stays there. It is like an exhaust machine; everything comes out of it, nothing goes into it
I am mistaken: complaints rain down on it from outside and inside; and through what channel do they pass, if not through that impassive and irresponsible intermediary known as a postman? When one does not know the address of a notable man, where else can one write to him but at the Champ de Mars? The honourable civil servant who runs this office can alone gauge the importance of a man involved in the Exhibition: it is by the number of letters transmitted.

The post office of the Imperial Commission, although it did not bring in much to the administration in the rue Jean-Jacques-Rousseau, was therefore no picnic; I have just said why. So I pay my most sincere compliments to the employees who ran this department. I don't think anyone had to complain about it. Everything was done with admirable order and regularity.

It would be a case of comparing the postal administration with the administration of the Imperial Commission. But we must not hurt anyone's feelings.

I prefer to note that the telegraph, installed in the same premises as the post office, has lived, this time, in good harmony with its elder sister, although they do not have the same guardian: but this will come, I hope, before the time of the majority.

I don't know who may have received a telegraphic message at the Champ de Mars, unless it was at the remaining office. But if they did not receive any, they sent a lot, if only to call a car. For, as you know, the first necessity of the telegraph at the Champ de Mars was revealed by the absence of vehicles. For 25 centimes, one was quickly convinced that there were no cars available in the vicinity.

Shall I tell you about (the Morse, Caselli and other devices, about the installation of the telegraph service on the Champ de Mars? The pretext would not be sufficient; and I would rather leave to one of my collaborators the more opportune opportunity of telling you about the various telegraphic systems exhibited in the great machine hall.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Poste et Télégraphe

Poste et Télégraphe à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Partout où se forme une agglomération d’hommes, la poste fait ce que faisaient autrefois les municipes romains au sein d’une armée en campagne; elle s’installe, et forme la cité.

Au Champ de Mars, la poste et son frère puîné le télégraphe, se sont naturellement adossés contre le bâtiment où se réunissait l’état-major de l’Exposition, et bien avant que l’Exposition fût ouverte.

Une des immunités ministérielles dont a joui l’état-major de l’Exposition, c’est de pouvoir expédier en franchise lettres et dépêches aux membres des comités d’admission d’abord, aux jurés internationaux et même aux exposants, ensuite. Et personne, vous le pensez bien, ne s’est abstenu de profiter de cette immunité. Il y a quelque chose de particulièrement agréable à expédier et à recevoir une lettre en franchise; et l’armée diligente et exercée de M. Vandal a eu le temps défaire connaissance avec nos noms et nos écritures, mandants ou destinataires.

La poste du Champ de Mars a expédié beaucoup plus de lettres qu’elle n’en a reçu : et cela s’explique facilement. Le Champ de Mars" n’est un domicile pour personne. Tout le monde y passe; nul n’y demeure. C’est comme une machine à échappement; tout en sort, rien n’y rentre
Je me trompe : les réclamations y pleuvent du dehors et du dedans; et par quel canal les faire passer, sinon par cet intermédiaire impassible et irresponsable qu’on nomme un facteur delà poste? Lorsqu’on ne connaît pas l’adresse d’un homme notable, où peut-on lui écrire sinon au Champ de Mars? L’honorable fonctionnaire qui dirige ce bureau peut seul jauger l’importance d'un homme mêlé à l’Exposition : c’est par le nombre de lettres transmises.

Le bureau de poste delà Commission impériale, quoiqu’il n’ait pas rapporté grand’chose à l’administration de la rue Jean-Jacques-Rousseau, n’a donc pas été une sinécure; je viens de dire pourquoi. Aussi fais-je mon très-sincère compliment aux employés qui Ont dirigé ce service. Je ne pense pas que personne ait eu à s’en plaindre. Tout s’est fait avec un ordre et une régularité admirables.

Ce serait le cas de comparer l’administration des postes avec l’administration de la Commission impériale. Mais il ne faut blesser personne.

J’aime mieux constater que le télégraphe installé dans le même local que la poste, a vécu, cette fois, en bonne intelligence avec sa sœur aînée, quoiqu’ils n’aient pas le même tuteur : mais cela viendra, j’espère, avant l’époque de la majorité.

Je ne sais pas qui a pu recevoir une dé pêche télégraphique au Champ de Mars, à moins que ce ne fût à bureau restant. Mais si l’on n’en a pas reçu, on en a expédié beaucoup, ne fût-ce que pour appeler une voiture. Car, vous n’ignorez pas que la première nécessité du télégraphe au Champ de Mars s’est révéléé à propos de l’absence des véhicules. Pour 25 centimes, on avait bien vite acquis la conviction qu’il n’y avait pas de voitures disponibles aux alentours.

Vous parlerai-je (des appareils Morse, Caselli et autres, à propos de l'installation du service télégraphique au Champ de Mars? Le prétexte ne serait pas suffisant; et j’aime bien mieux laisser à un de mes collaborateurs l’occasion plus opportune de vous parler des divers systèmes télégraphiques exposés sous la grande nef des machines.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée