International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Lace and Guipure

Lace and Guipure at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Laces and guipures are important industries, of which Paris is the centre of operation; but these products have two special centres of manufacture in localities whose names have been given to them. Alençon is famous for its magnificent stitches, known throughout the world as the stitches of France or Alençon. The splendid black silk laces of large dimensions, which Bayeux and Chantilly have brought to the last degree of perfection, are sought after everywhere. Bailleul is today famous for the speciality of lace known under the name of Valenciennes. Caen manufactures successfully, like Bayeux and Chantilly, laces for dresses, ruffles, shawls and veils. Mirecourt, renowned for the originality of its creations, satisfies all the whims of fashion. Its products have the honour of being almost universally imitated; but foreign competition excites its emulation without arousing its fears.

The Exhibition of 1867 demonstrates, beyond the obvious, that France today holds the first rank in this rich industry and that she has no rivalry to fear.

From one end of the year to the other, 200,000 lace-makers are constantly at work; they all work at home, in the countryside and in the towns; they only leave their bobbins to attend to the care of the household or to engage in harvest work.

French laces are sought after on all markets, in Germany, England, Italy, Russia, the United States, Brazil and even in India; but Paris is the most important centre of consumption for this industry, whose annual production is estimated at over 100 million francs.

The laces of Chantilly, Bayeux and Caen, the most beautiful of all black laces, are woven with bobbins, made in strips, joined together by hangers; the laces of Cambray, imitations of those of Chantilly, of which they do not have the finesse, are made on the loom; the Valenciennes of Bailleul are made with bobbins, like the point of Alençon, which is the lightest, the finest and the richest of all white laces.

When one contemplates this marvellous stitch, one's heart bleeds if one comes to think that it is made by the most poorly paid and therefore the most miserable working population.

The lace-guipures, black and white, have made such progress in France that they no longer fear serious competition. Mirecourt is the most renowned manufacturing centre for white guipures and Le Puy is without rival for black ones; both are admired for the variety of stitches, designs and style.

Belgium, which holds the second rank for the manufacture of lace in the order of awards, has, so to speak, placed this industry under the tutelage or the patronage of the greatest houses of Paris: Messrs Verdé-Delisle frères, for example, have an important factory in Brussels, where everything is executed according to their dispositions and on their designs; also the masterpieces produced there, reveal to all, by their richness and their exquisite elegance, their very Parisian origin. The lace exhibited by the town of Ypres obtained the gold medal, those of Mr. Van der Smissen-Van den Bossche, the silver medal; but it is by pure accident that the Cheuvreux-Aubertot company did not take for its account this double exhibition which, before the opening, was its property, since all the pieces were ordered by it and executed according to its most precise instructions, and on its drawings sent from Paris. This proves that in this, as in many other things, everything is always better over there when the direction or impulse comes from here.

Didn't Messrs Normand and Chaudon, by being admitted as Belgian manufacturers and by obtaining a gold medal, credited to Brussels, want to prove, in addition, to Belgium the advantages of the annexation?

Among our exhibitors, Mr. Lefebure had the honour of the first gold medal. His beautiful workmanship could not fail to be noticed and rewarded by the jury; everyone applauded the justice done to him.
We can explain less well, after the most attentive and conscientious examination of the exhibition of MM. Aubry frères, that the second gold medal was awarded to them; their shawl and their dress in Venice stitch, their shawl and their Chantilly ruffle, are very rich; but we looked for, but did not find, what distinguished them from the similar products of the current manufacture. What undoubtedly contributed to making them favourable to the jury was their banner in Mirecourt guipure, intended for the Empress. It is difficult to ignore such attention.

How can one explain, with the cross of honour that was awarded to him, that M. Verdé-Delisle only obtained the third gold medal? All the rival exhibitions pale beside his, and all his colleagues unanimously awarded him first place. The efforts and enormous sacrifices made by this company to bring the lace industry to its highest point of perfection, in the four factories it has founded in Bayeux, Caen, Alençon and Brussels, deserved, in our opinion, better and more than the gold medal: the jury would have awarded it the grand prize and everyone would have applauded.

Mr. Normand and Mr. Chaudon received the gold medal for their laces made in Belgium: their large flat skirt woven in one piece, is a tour de force which cost, according to the exhibitors, 1050 days of workers; it is in truth much too much time and money spent for the execution of a product which seems to us to be of the most difficult placement.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Dentelles et Guipures

Dentelles et Guipures à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Les dentelles et les guipures sont des industries importantes, dont Paris est le centre d’exploitation; mais ces produits ont deux centres de fabrication spéciale dans des localités dont on leur a donné le nom. Alençon est célèbre par ces points magnifiques, désignés dans le monde entier sous le nom de points de France ou d'Alençon. On recherche partout les splendides dentelles de soie noire de grande dimension, que Bayeux et Chantilly ont portées au dernier degré de perfection. Bailleul est aujourd’hui célèbre pour la spécialité de dentelles connues sous le nom de Valenciennes. Caen fabrique avec succès, comme Bayeux et Chantilly, des dentelles pour robes, volants, châles et voiles. Mirecourt, renommé pour l’originalité de ses créations, satisfait à tous les caprices de la mode. Ses produits ont l’honneur d’une imitation à peu près générale; mais la concurrence étrangère excite son émulation sans éveiller ses craintes.

L’Exposition de 1867 démontre, par delà l’évidence, que la France tient aujourd’hui le premier rang dans cette riche industrie et qu’elle n’a aucune rivalité à redouter.

D'un bout de l’année à l’autre, 200 000 dentellières sont constamment à l’œuvre; toutes travaillent à domicile, dans les campagnes et dans les villes; elles n’abandonnent leurs fuseaux que pour vaquer aux soins du ménage ou pour se livrer aux travaux de la moisson.

Les dentelles françaises sont recherchées sur tous les marchés, en Allemagne, en Angleterre, en Italie, en Russie, aux États-Unis, au Brésil et jusque dans les Indes ; mais Paris est le centre le plus important de consommation pour cette industrie, dont on évalue la production annuelle à plus de 100 millions de francs.

Les dentelles de Chantilly, de Bayeux et de Caen, les plus belles de toutes les dentelles noires, sont tissées aux fuseaux, faites par bandes, réunies par des raccrochés; les dentelles de Cambray, imitations de celles de Chantilly, dont elles n’ont pas la finesse, sont fabriquées au métier; les Valenciennes de Bailleul sont faites aux fuseaux, comme le point d’Alençon, qui est la plus légère, la plus fine et la plus riche de toutes les dentelles blanches.

Quand on contemple ce point merveilleux, le cœur saigne si l’on vient à songer qu’il est fabriqué par la population ouvrière la plus mal rétribuée et partant la plus misérable.

Les dentelles-guipures, noires et blanches, ont fait en France de tels progrès qu’elles ne craignent plus aujourd’hui de sérieuse concurrence. Mirecourt est le centre de fabrication le plus renommé pour les guipures blanches et le Puy est sans rival pour les noires ; les unes et les autres se font admirer pour la variété des points, des dessins et du style.

La Belgique, qui tient le second rang pour la fabrication des dentelles dans l’ordre des récompenses, a, pour ainsi dire, placé cette industrie sous la tutelle ou le patronage des plus grandes maisons de Paris : MM. Verdé-Delisle frères, par exemple, ont une fabrique importante à Bruxelles, où tout s’exécute d’après leurs dispositions et sur leurs dessins; aussi les chefs-d’œuvre qu’on y produit, décèlent-ils à tous, parleur richesse et leur exquise élégance, leur origine toute parisienne. Les dentelles exposées par la ville d’Ypres ont obtenu la médaille d’or, celles de M. Van der Smissen-Van den Bossche, la médaille d’argent; mais c’est par pur accident que la maison Cheuvreux-Aubertot n’a pas pris pour son compte cette double exposition qui, avant l’ouverture, était sa propriété, attendu que toutes les pièces ont été commandées par elle et exécutées d’après ses instructions les plus précises, et sur ses dessins expédiés de Paris. Ce qui prouve qu’en cela, comme en beaucoup d’autres choses, tout va toujours mieux là-bas quand la direction ou l’impulsion part d’ici.

MM. Normand et Chaudon, en se faisant admettre comme fabricants belges et en obtenant une médaille d’or, portée au compte de Bruxelles, n’auraient-ils pas voulu prouver, par surcroît, à la Belgique les avantages de l’annexion ?

Parmi nos exposants, M. Lefebure a eu l’honneur de la première médaille d’or. Sa belle fabrication ne pouvait manquer d’être remarquée et récompensée par le jury ; tout le monde a applaudi à la justice qui lui a été faite.
Nous nous expliquons moins bien, après l’examen le plus attentif et le plus consciencieux de l’exposition de MM. Aubry frères, que la seconde médaille d’or leur ait été adjugée; leur châle et leur robe en point de Venise, leur châle et leur volant Chantilly, sont très - riches ; mais nous avons cherché, sans le trouver, ce qui les distinguait des produits similaires de la fabrication courante. Ce qui a contribué sans doute à leur rendre le jury favorable, c’est leur bannière en guipure de Mirecourt, destinée à l’Impératrice. Il est difficile de ne pas tenir compte à qui de droit d’une pareille attention.

Comment s’expliquer avec la croix d’honneur qui lui a été accordée, que M. Verdé-Delisle n’ait obtenu que la troisième médaille d’or? Toutes les expositions rivales pâlissent à côté de la sienne, et, d’une voix unanime, tous ses confrères lui ont adjugé le premier rang. Les effort s et les énormes sacrifices qu’a faits cette maison pour porter l’industrie de la dentelle à son plus haut point de perfection, dans les quatre fabriques qu’elle a fondées à Bayeux, à Caen, à Alençon, et à Bruxelles, méritaient, selon nous, mieux et plus que la médaille d’or : le jury lui eût adjugé le grand prix que tout le monde aurait applaudi.

MM. Normand et Chaudon ont reçu la médaille d’or pour leurs dentelles fabriquées en Belgique : leur grande jupe plate tissée d’un seul morceau, est un tour de force qui a coûté, nous disent les exposants, 1050 journées d’ouvrières ; c’est en vérité beaucoup trop de temps et d’argent dépensés pour l’exécution d’un produit qui nous paraît du plus difficile placement.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée