Back - List of Pavilions

Class 31 - Lyon silk fabrics -

Class 31 - Lyon silk fabrics at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

There are certain industries whose character and importance are so closely connected with the prosperity of the nation, that when any one of them falls into decline, its decadence affects not only the producers and the workers, but the nation itself.

The silk industry, more than any other, has won a glorious place in our national industry. For several centuries, it has given wealth and life to the second largest city in France; it feeds our domestic trade, and takes a place in our foreign trade that is envied by foreign competition, which is powerless to fight against the solidity of our dyes, the skill of our workers, the taste of our manufacturers and the inexhaustible fertility of our artists.

One cannot therefore consider with indifference the crisis which, for several years now, has paralysed the silk industry in France in general, and more specifically the manufacture of Lyonnais silks.

This crisis, which calls into question very serious economic problems, not only has the effect of causing immense damage to the interests of the city of Lyon, of ruining a large number of manufacturers, of spreading discomfort and even misery among a working population, but is also a threat to the future, because it can lead to the complete decadence of Lyon's manufacture and of the silk industry in our country. Also, as our editor in chief rightly said in his study of the rue de Paris, so rightly named by him the rue des merveilles, it is not without a certain tightness of heart that one admires all the marvels lavished by Lyon's industry in the double silk salon of the Universal Exhibition: "What! What! this magnificent art, says M. Ducuing, this art of Lyonnais weaving, which, to be brought to the point of perfection where we see it, required the efforts of the genius of mechanics and design, through so many generations that have passed on the secret; what! all this is going to collapse under the fatal level of time! Is this possible? And can no human intervention save this compromised industry, once and still today the glory of France?

What future is in store for Lyon's manufacturing industry? alas, we do not know, and we can only point out here the causes of the sad situation in which we see it today.

It is well known that the Lyon silk industry is made up of various branches and that its multiple products are used for many purposes. Thus, silks are used in furnishings, men's and women's clothing, shawls, scarves, ribbons of all kinds, luxury stockings and swimwear, curtains, trimmings, umbrellas and parasols, plush toys, etc. Silk is therefore a material which is used in a wide variety of applications.

Silk is therefore a material which lends itself to almost all uses and which, among the wealthier classes, replaces most of the ordinary fabrics woven from linen, hemp, wool or cotton. It is therefore the luxury fabric par excellence.

It is also known that silk fabrics are divided into three main categories: plain fabrics and velvets, brocades and shaped fabrics. The last two categories have been more compromised than the first; and this was to be expected, for they form precisely the most expensive part of the manufacture, the one that is used only for luxury and not for necessity like plain silks.

Having established these facts, let us examine the causes of the momentary or definitive decline of each of the categories of silk fabrics in recent years.

In 1862, that is, at the time of the last Universal Exhibition, the situation of the Lyons factory was still flourishing. M. Arlès-Dufour, president of the 20th class of the international jury in London, rightly congratulated himself on the growing prosperity of the silk industry in France and particularly in Lyons; he noted the truth that France, despite the rapid progress of foreign manufacture, was still without rival, either in the quality or in the quantity of its products.

Since then, many causes have influenced French production, not on its qualities, it must be admitted, but on its importance, and when we say French production, we necessarily include in the whole the share provided by Lyon, our main industrial centre in the silk industry.

The first cause of the crisis is the disease of the silkworms, a disease which, in some regions, has led to the abandonment of the education of the worms and has, almost everywhere, brought about a notable decrease in the yield and in the quality of the cocoons.

The decrease in the raw material has, on the one hand, made the supply very costly, and, on the other hand, the inferiority of this material has not allowed it to be used in any kind of work. The rise in the price of silk, the fall in its quality and the decrease in its quantity are already powerful obstacles; but these causes of decadence are joined by others which are their consequences.

Since silk is in short supply in France, it has to be brought in from abroad at a higher cost; from then on, the price of fabrics has to be increased and their placement becomes more difficult, especially abroad; moreover, not all producing nations suffer to the same degree from the effects of the silkworm disease; those whose education is spared are able to deliver fabrics of equal quality at prices lower than ours, and naturally French production is defeated and neglected.

These causes have acted more particularly on the finished fabrics than on the plain fabrics; also the Lyonnais export of finished fabrics has decreased by eleven millions from 1856 to 1865.

The general export to the United States, for the city of Lyons alone, has suffered an even more distressing failure.

Here is the table of its downward march since 1859.
1859 .................... 138 million.
1860 .................... 103 -
1861 ...................... 25 -
1862 ...................... 23 -
1863 ...................... 23 -
1864 ...................... 22 -

In addition to these causes inherent to the material on which the Lyons industry operates, there are political, economic and social causes which have affected all luxury industries in general.

The American war, poor grain harvests, a financial crisis, and finally the German war successively halted the growth of all businesses; the silk and silk industry, already so tried and tested, was to suffer the repercussions of the European crisis more than any other.

Then, the taste for cheap and inferior furnishings, for ready-made clothes, for glitter without comfort, gradually took the place of other habits.

It cannot be denied that a kind of revolution is taking place in luxury goods. One no longer seeks luxury itself, one is satisfied with its appearances, one wants to produce an effect, but at a low price, and from then on one buys semblances, imitations, artificiality, mixed fabrics, and just as silverware has been replaced by ruolz, one tends to replace silk textiles and fabrics by the cotton fabrics of Rouen and Mulhouse.

Such are the general causes affecting the silk industry.

Let us now examine some particular causes specific to the Lyon area which further aggravate the situation.

The organisation of work in Lyon is defective and requires prompt reform.

The Lyon manufacturer has neither equipment nor workers. He gives hemmed pieces and weft to small industrialists who own one or more looms.

This is already a violation of all economic laws: excessive costs, lengthening of the work, sometimes failure to execute the manufacturer's orders, lack of supervision, unnecessary transhipments, etc. This is not all. And that's not all. The workshop manager, who receives the work at first hand and who, in fact, is a sort of contractor, has under his orders sub-contractors or journeymen, who operate the looms and take care of the work at second hand. However, the contractor, who takes no part in the work, will share with the subcontractor the price allocated by the manufacturer.

This multiplicity of cogs and intermediaries between the real producer and the buyer must increase the price of the article delivered to the trade by a considerable amount. Moreover, the manufacturer, the workshop manager and the journeyman are not bound to each other by any treaty, by any lasting interest.

The journeyman leaves one boss for another as soon as he finds that other boss a more advantageous remuneration; in turn, the workshop manager leaves a manufacturer as soon as he finds it in his interest to make one piece rather than another. This leads to delays and exaggerated price demands; it sometimes makes it impossible for the manufacturer to get an order filled, even if the order is of mediocre quality or quantity.

Such a state of affairs could not be established without causing great prejudice to the Lyon trade.

Manufacturers had to look for conditions more favourable to their interests, outside the Lyon area, and so they took their orders to the countryside, to rural workshop managers who, being able to carry out their work at lower prices than the workers in the city, managed to do a large part of the work which had previously been carried out by the Lyonnais canuts.
Let us add that this work of countryside, formerly limited to the plain fabrics, already monopolizes the shaped fabrics. The rural labourer gives the fashioned fabric at a lower price, but he makes it faded, a little undoubtedly, but sufficiently to make people prefer the English products executed promptly in well-assembled factories with a considerable staff.

Let us hope that men as intelligent as the Lyonnais, workers, manufacturers, merchants, among whom France counts European notabilities, such as Messrs. Arlès-Dufour, Brossette and others, will understand all that is defective in the regime whose defects we are not the first to point out, and that they will know how to modify the old practices, as has been done elsewhere for the working of linen, hemp, cotton and wool, with a view to fighting against foreign competition. Lyon has great capital and high industrial intelligence. Reform is not beyond its powers.

As for the silkworm disease, it is good to note that it has not existed in Algeria for some years, and Algeria is a French land like the communes of the Rhone valley. Mulberry trees are flourishing there. Already Lyonnais, Messrs Arlès-Dufour, Philippe, Ponson, Brossette, Gaillard-Germain and others, own large and beautiful properties in our colony. Let this example be followed by others, and soon Lyon will no longer be obliged to go abroad to find altered raw materials.

Let us say, in conclusion, that the engraving we are giving represents the showcases of the main exhibitors of Lyon's industry, in which the magnetic fabrics of Messrs. Schulz and Béraud, Lamy and Giraud, Laboré and Barbequot, Caquet Vauzelle and Côte, for shaped fabrics, mixed with gold and silver; Mathevon and Bouvard, for shaped furniture; Grand frères who exhibited curtains made for H. M. l'Impératrice; L. Vanel et Cie, for church ornaments; Sève et Cie, Jules Gautier, for velvets; Bonnet, Ponson, Million, for plains, etc.

Despite the criticism we have made, the Lyon exhibition attests that its industry, remaining perfect, can once again become prosperous.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Classe 31 - Soieries de Lyon

Classe 31 - Soieries de Lyon à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Il existe certaines industries dont le caractère et l’importance sont tellement liés à la prospérité de la nation, que lorsque l’une d’elles vient à déchoir, sa décadence ne frappe pas seulement les producteurs et les ouvriers, mais atteint la nation elle-même.

Le travail des soies, plus que tout autre, a conquis un rang glorieux dans notre industrie nationale. Depuis plusieurs siècles, il donne la richesse et la vie à la seconde ville de France; il alimente notre commerce intérieur, et prend dans notre commerce extérieur une place que lui envie la concurrence étrangère, impuissante à lutter contre la solidité des teintures, l’habileté de nos ouvriers, le goût de nos fabricants et l’inépuisable fécondité de nos artistes.

On ne saurait donc considérer d’un œil indifférent la crise qui, depuis plusieurs années paralyse, en France, l’industrie des soies en général, et plus spécialement la fabrication des soieries lyonnaises.

Cette crise, qui remet en question de très-graves problèmes économiques, n’a pas seulement pour effet de porter un immense préjudice aux intérêts de la ville de Lyon, de ruiner un grand nombre de fabricants, de répandre la gêne et même la misère au sein d’une population laborieuse, mais est encore une menace pour l’avenir, parce qu’elle peut entraîner la décadence complète de la fabrication lyonnaise et de l’industrie des soies dans notre pays. Aussi, comme le disait avec raison notre rédacteur en chef dans son étude sur la rue de Paris, si justement nommée par lui la rue des merveilles, ce n’est pas sans un certain serrement de cœur que l’on admire toutes les merveilles prodiguées par l’industrie lyonnaise dans le double salon des soieries de l’Exposition universelle :« Quoi ! cet art magnifique, dit M. Ducuing, cet art du tissage lyonnais, qui, pour être amené au point de perfection où on le voit, a exigé les efforts du génie de la mécanique et du dessin, à travers tant de générations qui s’en sont transmis le secret; quoi! tout cela va s’effondrer sous le niveau fatal du temps ! Est-ce possible? Et aucune intervention humaine ne peut-elle donc sauver cette industrie compromise, naguère et encore aujourd’hui la gloire de la France?»

Quel avenir est réservé à la fabrication lyonnaise? hélas ! nous l'ignorons et nous ne pouvons que signaler ici les causes de la triste situation dans laquelle nous la voyons aujourd’hui s’engager.

On n’ignore pas que l’industrie des soies de Lyon se compose de diverses branches et que ses produits multiples sont affectés à de nombreux usages. Ainsi, les soieries sont ; employées dans l’ameublement, dans les vêtements d’hommes et de femmes, les châles, les foulards, les rubans de toute espèce, les bas de luxe et les maillots, les rideaux, la passementerie, les ombrelles et parapluies, les peluches, etc.

La soie est donc une matière qui se prête à presque tous les usages et qui, chez les classes aisées, remplace la plupart des étoffes ordinaires tissées avec le lin, le chanvre, la laine ou le coton. C’est donc l’étoffe de luxe par excellence.

On sait aussi que les soieries se divisent en trois grandes catégories ; les étoffes unies et les velours, les brochés et les façonnés. Ces deux dernières catégories ont été plus compromises que la première; et cela devait être, car elles forment précisément la partie la plus coûteuse de la fabrication, celle qui n’est employée que par luxe et non par nécessité comme les soieries unies.

Ces faits établis, examinons les causes de la décadence momentanée ou définitive de chacune des catégories d’étoffes de soie depuis quelques années.

En 1862, c’est-à-dire à l'époque de la dernière Exposition Universelle, la situation de la fabrique lyonnaise était encore florissante. M. Arlès-Dufour, président de la 20e classe du jury international de Londres, se félicitait avec raison de la prospérité croissante de l’industrie des soieries en France et particulièrement à Lyon ; il constatait cette vérité que la France, malgré les progrès rapides des fabrications étrangères, était encore sans rivale, soit par la qualité, soit par la quantité de ses produits.

Depuis, bien des causes ont influé sur la production française, non pas sur ses qualités, il faut bien le reconnaître, mais sur son importance, et quand nous disons production française, nous comprenons nécessairement dans l’ensemble la part fournie par Lyon, notre principal centre industriel en matière de soieries.

La première cause de la crise est la maladie des vers à soie, maladie qui, en quelques contrées, a fait renoncer à l’éducation des vers et a, presque partout, amené une dimiminution notable dans le rendement et dans la qualité des cocons.

La matière première en diminuant, d’une part, a rendu l’approvisionnement fort coûteux, et, d’autre part, l’infériorité de cette matière n’a pas permis de l’employer dans toute espèce de travaux. Hausse sur le cours de la soie, baisse sur la qualité, diminution sur la quantité, sont déjà de puissantes entraves; mais, à ces causes de décadence viennent se joindre d’autres qui en sont les conséquences.

La soie manquant en France, il faut la faire venir de l’étranger avec surélévation du prix de revient; dès lors, le prix des étoffes doit être augmenté et leur placement devient plus difficile, surtout à l’étranger ; en outre, tous les peuples producteurs ne subissent pas au même degré les effets de la maladie des vers à soie, ceux dont les éducations sont épargnées peuvent livrer des étoffes de qualité égale a des prix inférieurs aux nôtres, et naturellement la production française est vaincue et délaissée.

Ces causes ont plus particulièrement agi sur les façonnés que sur les unis; aussi l’exportation lyonnaise en façonnés a diminué de onze millions de 1856 à 1865.

L’exportation générale aux États-Unis, pour la ville de Lyon seulement, a subi un échec plus affligeant encore.

Voici le tableau de sa marche descendante depuis 1859.
1859 .................... 138 millions.
1860 .................... 103 —
1861 ...................... 25 —
1862 ...................... 23 —
1863 ...................... 23 —
1864 ...................... 22 —

A ces causes inhérentes à la matière sur laquelle opère l’industrie lyonnaise, viennent se joindre des causes politiques, économiques et sociales qui ont atteint toutes les industries de luxe en général.

La guerre d’Amérique, de mauvaises récoltes en céréales, une crise financière, enfin la guerre d’Allemagne ont successivement arrêté l’essor de toutes les affaires; l’industrie des soies et des soieries, déjà si éprouvée, devait plus que toute autre subir le contrecoup de la crise européenne.

Puis, le goût des ameublements à bon marché et de qualité inférieure, des vêtements confectionnés, du clinquant sans confortable, a pris peu à peu la place d’autres habitudes.

On ne peut le dissimuler, il se produit dans les objets de luxe une sorte de révolution. On ne recherche plus le luxe lui-même, on se contente de ses apparences, on veut produire de l’effet, mais à bas prix, et dès lors on achète des semblants, des imitations, de l’artificiel, des étoffes mélangées, et de même qu’on a remplacé l’argenterie parle ruolz, on tend à remplacer les tentures et les étoffes de soie par les cotonnades de Rouen et de Mulhouse.

Telles sont les causes générales qui atteignent l’industrie des soieries.

Entrons maintenant dans l’examen de quelques causes particulières spéciales à l’agglomération lyonnaise qui aggravent encore la situation.

L’organisation du travail, à Lyon, est défectueuse et demande une prompte réforme.

Le fabricant de Lyon n’a ni matériel ni travailleurs. Il donne des pièces ourdies et de la trame à de petits industriels possesseurs d’un ou de plusieurs métiers.

Il y a déjà dans ce fait violation de toutes les lois économiques : surcharge de frais, allongement de travaux, quelquefois inexécution des ordres du fabricant, défaut de surveillance, transbordements inutiles, etc. Ce n’est pas tout encore. Le chef d’atelier qui reçoit le travail de première main et qui, par le fait, se trouve être une sorte d’entrepreneur, a sous ses ordres des sous-entrepreneurs ou compagnons, qui font marcher les métiers et se chargent du travail en seconde main. Cependant l’entrepreneur, qui ne prend aucune part au travail, partagera avec le sous-entrepreneur le prix alloué par le fabricant.

Cette multiplicité de rouages et d’intermédiaires entre le véritable producteur et l’acheteur, doit augmenter, dans une proportion notable, le prix de l’article livré au commerce. De plus, le fabricant, le chef d’atelier, le compagnon ne sont liés entre eux par aucun traité, par aucun intérêt durables.

Le compagnon quitte un chef pour un autre, dès qu’il trouve chez cet autre une rémunération plus avantageuse ; à son tour, le chef d’atelier quitte un fabricant dès qu’il trouve intérêt à confectionner une pièce plutôt qu’une autre. De là des retards, des demandes exagérées de prix; de là parfois impossibilité, pour le fabricant, d’obtenir une exécution de commande, quand même cette commande est de médiocre importance soit pour la qualité, soit pour la quantité.

Un tel état de choses n’a pu s’établir sans causer de grands préjudices au commerce de Lyon.

Les fabricants ont dû rechercher des conditions plus favorables à leurs intérêts, en dehors de l’agglomération lyonnaise, et alors ils ont porté leurs commandes à la campagne, à des chefs d’ateliers ruraux qui, pouvant exécuter à plus bas prix que les ouvriers de la ville, sont parvenus à faire une grande partie du travail qui était exécuté auparavant par les canuts lyonnais.
Ajoutons que ce travail de campagne, autrefois limité aux étoffes unies, accapare déjà les étoffes façonnées. L’ouvrier rural donne le façonné à plus bas prix, mais il le rend défraîchi, peu sans doute, mais suffisamment pour faire préférer les produits anglais exécutés promptement dans des usines bien montées et pourvues d’un personnel considérable.

Espérons que des hommes aussi intelligents que les Lyonnais, ouvriers, fabricants, commerçants, parmi lesquels la France compte des notabilités européennes, comme MM. Arlès-Dufour, Brossette et autres, comprendront tout ce qu’il y a de défectueux dans le régime dont nous ne sommes pas les premiers à signaler les vices et qu’ils sauront modifier les pratiques anciennes, comme on l’a fait ailleurs pour le travail du lin, du chanvre, du coton et de la laine, en vue de lutter contre la concurrence étrangère. Lyon possède de grands capitaux et de hautes intelligences industrielles. La réforme n’est pas au-dessus de ses forces.

Quant à la maladie des vers à soie, il est bon de constater qu’elle n’existe plus en Algérie depuis quelques années, et l’Algérie est une terre française comme les communes de la vallée du Rhône. Les mûriers y prospèrent. Déjà des Lyonnais, MM. Arlès-Dufour, Philippe, Ponson, Brossette, Gaillard-Germain et autres, possèdent dans notre colonie de grandes et belles propriétés. Que cet exemple soit suivi par d’autres, et bientôt Lyon ne sera plus obligé d’aller chercher à l’étranger une matière première altérée.

Disons, pour terminer, que la gravure que nous donnons représente les vitrines des principaux exposants de l’industrie lyonnaise dans lesquelles brillent les magniques étoffes de MM. Schulz et Béraud, Lamy et Giraud, Laboré et Barbequot, Caquet Vauzelle et Côte, pour les étoffes façonnées, mêlées d’or et d’argent; Mathevon et Bouvard, pour les façonnés meubles; Grand frères qui ont exposé des rideaux exécutés pour S. M. l’Impératrice ; L. Vanel et Cie, pour les ornements d’église ; Sève et Cie, Jules Gautier, pour les velours ; Bonnet, Ponson, Million, pour les unis, etc.

Maigre la critique que nous avons faite, l’exposition de Lyon atteste que son industrie, restant parfaite, peut redevenir prospère.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée