International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Central garden from the mint pavilion to the main entrance hall

Central garden from the mint pavilion to the main entrance hall at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Let us put ourselves in the perspective of Mr Weber's drawing. First you see before your eyes Y Abel mourant, by M. Feugère des Forts, a marble statue, of a rather charming than beautiful character, which won a medal at the 1866 Salon. The group, also in marble, of Ugolin and his children, comes next.

I will not be naive enough to remind you of the verses of Dan te about the work of M. Carpeaux. The composition of this group was sent from Rome by the author in the last year of his boarding school at the Académie de France; and I am not quite sure that M. Carpeaux understood the poetry of Dante as well then as he would understand it today. It is, however, a work of merit. But M. Carpeaux has done better since.

The two marbles we have just mentioned occupy the middle aisle. In this latitude, on the left, there is a Colbert, about which it is best not to tell you anything, and the Sower of Weeds, a philosophical bronze by M. Valette, which is well done and gripping, which is a lot with such a subject.

On the right is the Corybante, a bronze by M. Cugnot; again a shipment from Rome, whose author has kept what he promised.

Let us return to the middle aisle, and stop in front of the Bull, by M. Vidal, neglecting to mention a marble group by M. Étex, which is not as stiff as Géricault's painting.

M. Vidal is a blind sculptor of thirty-five years of age; he lost his sight at the age of twenty, and since then he has only remembered what he has seen; and his fingers have become the intelligent and infallible interpreters of his impressions and thoughts.

Nature is infinite in its mysteries, and man is imponderable in the power of his faculties. How can we explain that the sense of touch can replace the sense of sight with such perfection? I saw in Antwerp a painter who painted with his feet very remarkable copies of the Descent from the Cross by Rubens. This can be explained; there is only one limb replacing another limb; but not one sense replacing another.

Once a Roman sculptor, having become blind, made perfect copies of his ancient works, and was represented as having eyes in his fingers. This can still be explained: the obedient hand was merely continuing almost mechanically the lines already followed.

But here, in M. Vidal, the miracle is complete. The fingers do not only have eyes, they have thought. The blind man not only grasps the proportions of an object, with its details and its whole, but also renders its physiognomy. The fingers have the inspired memory of things once embraced by a distracted glance.

This Taurus of which I speak seems to think for itself - and therefore to suffer. If it is not a masterpiece, it is at least a phenomenon.

The same can be said of his Wounded Stag, which is at the other end of the garden. It is a bronze that looks as if it is pulsating, so much pain and anguish in the expression of the poor dying animal.
When admiring the Stag and the Bull, especially the Stag, one might say: "How well one can see that the author of these masterpieces bears the melancholy of his infirmity! "Well, the plausibility of such a diagnosis does not make it true. Mr. Vidal is, I am told, a young man, pale and blond, it is true, but with singularly lively features, and who goes before him, all cheerful, with his cane in his hand, as if he hoped that he would catch up with his sight.

I have always noticed that the blind* are more cheerful than sad, but that it is rare for a deaf person not to be a hypochondriac. Explain this phenomenon to me, too, by saying that a blind man still lives among men, while a deaf man is irrevocably separated from them.

There is a philosopher who said: "One finds reasons for everything; but the reasons one is obliged to seek are always wrong. "

Let us continue our review, after this digression. In the latitude of the Bull and the Shipwrecked, we find on the sides,- on the left the Saint John the Precursor, a bronze by M. Dubois full of inspiration, medalled at a previous salon, and belonging to the Musée du Luxembourg; the Agrippina, a marble by M. Maillet, also in the museum; Etre et paraître, an ingenious composition by M. Leharivel-Durocher, also in the Musée du Luxembourg; - on the right, Ariane, an excellent marble by M. Millet and the Virgil that we have reproduced and about which we would still have something to say after M. Octave Lacroix.

Between the works we have just mentioned is Joséphine, a rather beautiful marble statue by Vital-Dubray.

Would you like us, since we are there, to turn back towards the other side of the Garden, beyond the Pavilion of the Coins? First we find the Wrestlers, a beautiful group by M. Ottin, marvellously rendered in electroplating in the round by Christofle; then comes a Winner in a cockfight, by M. Falguière. This bronze, sent from Rome, belongs to the Musée du Luxembourg. The Martyrdom of Hypathie, a marble by M. Gaston-Guitton, follows. Around this line of statues are the Florentine Singer, a great medal of honour at the 1866 Salon, and the Narcissus, a medal winner in 1865. These two remarkable works, of which we have reproduced the first, are by M. Dubois.

Further on we find two marbles by M. Gaston-Guitton, also well done: the Waiting and the Spring.

Resuming our order of march, here is the Child with a shell, a very pretty marble by M. Carpeaux, then the Aristophanes, a bronze by M. Moreau, medallist at one of the last salons, the Chactas, a rather too classical marble by M. Gruyère, and the Madeleine, a marble by M. Chaterousse, also on a rather too conventional model.

The Andromeda by M. Carrier-Belleuse, medallist of 1866, is of a lively execution.

We are finally in the presence of Brian's Mercury, that beautiful unfinished thing, that truly ancient work interrupted by death, and to which a large posthumous medal was given in 1864.

When we have mentioned Mr Salmson's Dévideuse, we will have reached the end. Let us not forget, however, the bronze group by M. S. Dénéchaux, Jeune femme caressant sa chimère, on the side, on the left. There is also, by the same author, among the exhibitions of bronzes in the Palais, a Caesar writing his Commentaries, which we shall reproduce.

We have made this enumeration of the statues around the Central Garden, in order to show that we have the right to raise our heads, in front of the beautiful sculptural exhibition of Italy. Let us thank our draughtsman Mr. Weber for having provided us with this opportunity.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Jardin central du pavillon des monnaies au grand vestibule

Jardin central du pavillon des monnaies au grand vestibule à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Mettons-nous dans la perspective du dessin de M. Weber. Vous voyez d’abord sous vos yeux Y Abel mourant, de M. Feugère des Forts, statue en marbre, d’un caractère plutôt charmant que beau, médaillée au Salon de 1866. Le groupe, aussi en marbre, d’Ugolin et ses enfants, vient ensuite.

Je n’aurai pas la naïveté de vous rappeler les vers du Dan te à propos de l’œuvre de M. Carpeaux. La composition de ce groupe a été envoyée de Rome par l’auteur, la dernière année de son pensionnat à l’Académie de France; et je ne suis pas bien sûr que M. Carpeaux comprit alors la poésie du Dante aussi bien qu’il la comprendrait aujourd’hui. C’est, toutefois, une œuvre de mérite. Mais M. Carpeaux a fait mieux depuis.

Les deux marbres dont nous venons de parler occupent l’allée médiane. A cette latitude, on trouve à gauche sur les bords un Colbert, dont le mieux est de ne vous rien dire, et le Semeur d'ivraie, un bronze philosophique de M. Valette, bien réussi et saisissable, ce qui est beaucoup avec un pareil sujet.

A droite est le Corybante, bronze de M. Cugnot; encore un envoi de Rome, dont l’auteur a tenu ce qu’il avait promis.

Reprenons l’allée médiane, et arrêtons-nous devant le Taureau, de M. Vidal, en négligeant de parler d’un groupe en marbre de M. Étex, qui ne vaut pas dans son allure trop roide le tableau de Géricault.

M. Vidal est un sculpteur aveugle âgé de trente-cinq ans ; il a perdu la vue à vingt ans, et depuis lors, il ne fait que se souvenir de ce qu’il a vu; et ses doigts sont devenus les interprètes intelligents et infaillibles de ses impressions et de ses pensées.

La nature est infinie dans ses mystères, et l’homme est impondérable dans la puissance de ses facultés. Comment expliquer que le sens du toucher puisse remplacer avec cette perfection le sens de la vue ? J’ai vu à Anvers un peintre qui peignait avec ses pieds de très-remarquables copies de la Descente de Croix de Rubens. Cela s’explique; il n’y a là qu’un membre remplaçant un autre membre; mais non pas un sens en remplaçant un autre.

Jadis un sculpteur romain, étant devenu aveugle, fit des copies parfaites de ses anciennes œuvres, et on le représenta ayant des yeux au bout de ses doigts. Cela s’explique encore : la main obéissante ne faisait que continuer presque mécaniquement des lignes déjà suivies.

Mais ici, dans M. Vidal, le miracle est complet. Les doigts n’ont pas seulement des yeux, ils ont la pensée. L’aveugle ne saisit pas seulement les proportions d’un objet, avec ses détails et son ensemble, il en rend la physionomie. Les doigts ont la mémoire inspirée des choses autrefois embrassées par un regard distrait.

Ce Taureau dont je vous parle, il a l’air de penser lui-même — et par conséquent de souffrir. Si ce n’est pas un chef-d’œuvre, c’est tout au moins un phénomène.

Nous en dirons autant de son Cerf blessé, qui se trouve à l’autre extrémité du Jardin. C’est un bronze qu’on dirait palpitant, tant il y a de douleur et d’angoisse dans l’expression de la pauvre bête mourante.
On dira en admirant le Cerf et le Taureau, le Cerf surtout : « Comme on voit bien que l’auteur de ces chefs-d’œuvre porte la mélancolie de son infirmité ! » Eh bien, la vraisemblance d’un tel diagnostic ne fait pas qu’il soit vrai. M. Vidal est, me dit-on, un jeune homme, pâle et blond, c’est vrai, mais aux traits singulièrement vifs, et qui va devant lui, tout allègre, la canne à la main, comme s’il espérait qu’il va rattraper sa vue.

J’ai toujours remarqué que les* aveugles étaient plutôt gais que tristes, mais qu’il était rare qu’un sourd ne fût pas hypocondriaque. Expliquez-moi aussi ce phénomène, en disant qu’un aveugle vit encore au milieu des hommes, tandis qu’un sourd en est irrévocablement séparé.

Il y a un philosophe qui disait: « On trouve des raisons à tout; mais les raisons qu’on est obligé de chercher sont toujours mauvaises. »

Continuons notre revue, après cette digression. A la latitude du Taureau et des Naufragés, on trouve sur les côtés,— à gauche le Saint Jean précurseur, bronze de M. Dubois plein d’inspiration, médaillé à un précédent salon, et appartenant au musée du Luxembourg; l’Agrippine, marbre de M. Maillet, également au musée ; Etre et paraître, composition ingénieuse de M. Leharivel-Durocher, toujours au Musée du Luxembourg; — à droite, l’Ariane, marbre excellent de M. Millet et le Virgile que nous avons reproduit et dont nous aurions encore du bien à dire après M. Octave Lacroix.

Entre les œuvres que nous venons de désigner se trouve Joséphine, une assez belle statue en marbre de Vital-Dubray.

Voulez-vous, puisque nous y sommes, que nous nous retournions vers l’autre côté du Jardin, par-delà le pavillon des Monnaies? Nous trouvons d’abord les Lutteurs, un beau groupe de M. Ottin merveilleusement rendu en galvanoplastie ronde bosse par la maison Christofle: puis vient un Vainqueur au combat des coqs, de M. Falguière. Ce bronze, envoi de Rome, appartient au Musée du Luxembourg. Le martyre d’Hypathie, marbre de M. Gaston-Guitton, le suit. Autour de cette ligne de statues sont le Chanteur florentin, grande médaille d’honneur au salon de 1866, et le Narcisse, médaillé en 1865. Ces deux œuvres remarquables, dont nous avons reproduit la première, sont de M. Dubois.

Nous retrouvons plus loin deux marbres de M. Gaston-Guitton, également bien réussis: l'Attente et le Printemps.

En reprenant notre ordre de marche, voici l’Enfant à la coquille, très-joli marbre de M. Carpeaux, puis l’Aristophane, un bronze de M. Moreau, médaillé à l’un des derniers salons, le Chactas, un marbre un peu trop classique de M. Gruyère, et la Madeleine, marbre de M. Chaterousse, aussi sur un modèle un peu trop convenu.

L’Andromède de M. Carrier-Belleuse, médaillé de 1866, est d’une exécution vivante.

Nous sommes enfin en présence du Mercure de Brian, cette belle chose inachevée, cette œuvre vraiment antique interrompue par la mort, et à laquelle on a donné en 1864 une grande médaille posthume.

Quand nous aurons mentionné la Dévideuse de M. Salmson, nous serons au bout. N’oublions pas pourtant, sur le côté, à gauche, le groupe de bronze de M. S. Dénéchaux, Jeune femme caressant sa chimère. Il y a également du même auteur, parmi les expositions de bronzes du Palais, un César écrivant ses Commentaires, que nous reproduirons.

Nous avons fait ce dénombrement des statues autour du Jardin central, afin de montrer que nous avons le droit de lever la tête, devant la belle exposition sculpturale de l’Italie. Remercions notre dessinateur M. Weber de nous avoir fourni cette occasion.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée