Back - List of Pavilions

Bodywork and upholstery -

Bodywork and upholstery at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Bodywork and carriage making, upholstery and saddlery are progressing everywhere; but France and England, or rather Paris and London, are and will remain for a long time to come the main centres of production in these industries.

There is good production, who can dispute it? in Austria, Prussia, Russia and the United States, but only in London and Paris is there very good production.
An active rivalry has been established between these two cities to the benefit of all the others which follow them, but so slowly and from so far away that it is doubtful whether they will ever reach them.

The progress of any great industry is the necessary and forced consequence of the importance of its outlets. The producer who manufactures relentlessly and to satisfy the needs and demands of a large clientele, understands that, in his own interest, he must do better every day, in order to deprive the competition of any possible chance of success.

This is what the coachbuilder does in France and in England. It has established vast workshops where it supervises the work of wheelwrights, carpenters, blacksmiths, locksmiths, saddlers, saddlery makers, plasterers, lantern makers, painters and sculptors. No detail escapes the company's attention, and it can therefore vouch for the excellence and perfect execution of its products in their smallest parts and in their entirety.

The qualities that must be present in luxury, or private service, coaches are solidity, lightness and elegance of form. Gala carriages, horse-drawn carriages, coupés, landaus, victorias, phaetons, American cars, all cars, however different they may be in construction, cut and design, are relatively as solid, as light and as elegant as each other when they leave the workshops of a master.

The large share which France and England have obtained in the prizes awarded by the jury, shows a superiority which the most jealous rivalry cannot dispute.

We can even say, after a serious examination, and without echoing the recriminations of a few malcontents, that the jury was much more severe than benevolent towards the majority of our coachbuilders, saddlers and harness makers. In the opinion of the best judges, many of them deserved better than they obtained, and such a one has been forgotten, who, in the opinion of some, is worthy of being placed in the first rank on the list of awards.

The only reproach that, in our opinion, can be addressed to the jury is that they did not have the courage of their opinion and that they were rigorous for fear of being accused of favouritism.

Thus, Messrs Lelorieux frères exhibited a pram of the most elegant form and of the most extreme lightness. The builders did not manage, without great difficulty, to give this vehicle, which is usually quite heavy, the quality which distinguishes it and should have recommended it to the jury; but on the pretext that its great lightness made its solidity doubtful, we did not think we should give them more than an honourable mention.

MM. Million-Guiet et Cie were treated a little more favourably but not more justly.

They also exhibited a pram whose solidity, despite its great lightness, is guaranteed by its purpose and the hard service for which it was ordered. This vehicle is intended to operate on the steep, barely traversed roads of the United States, and has therefore been built under quite exceptional conditions. One only has to look closely to appreciate the merit of its fine, solid construction.

The beautiful coupe that came out of their workshops is especially remarkable for the application of the new type of eleven-spring and boom assembly. It is certainly one of the most charming novelties that amateurs can admire at the Exhibition. Never before has the most comfortable car combined such a smooth suspension with such easy access.
MM. Million-Guiet et Cie apply this new system to all their carriages, and they do well.

Their carriage cannot fail to have the honours of imitation very soon; but the glory of the invention will not be disputed by anyone, and this glory will be more lasting than that which a higher distinction would have given them.

MM. Belvalette frères and M. Ehrler were awarded the gold medal. All we can say is that after a very curious and interesting examination of each of the cars they exhibited, the entire audience, without distraction from their fellow competitors, confirmed the judgment of the Commission and approved the decision of the jury.

Mr. Kellner, the patented inventor of a pram whose doors can be opened without having to lower the windows, obtained a silver medal which his exhibition would have deserved without his gala carriage, which is nevertheless the main part of it.

The form of this court carriage, of a severe taste, but perhaps a little heavy and too much collected; its richness of ornamentation and gilding, its beautiful carved gallery, its broad seat, splendidly embroidered, its luxurious interior but without excess, its four splendid lanterns, of an exquisite design and the finest chiselling, everything, in this work bursting with gilding and the most vivid colours, attracts the eyes without tiring the glance.

Mr. Kellner, being a supplier to several foreign courts, was able to establish and execute this princely vehicle without any risk. It is certain that if Italy and Germany had not both made such a large slaughter of kings and dukes, he would have found a buyer long ago; but his noble clientele is numerous, the Exhibition is not yet closed, and one must hope that such an expensive work will not remain for him.

The prams of Mr. Desouches and those of Mr. Ed. Bouillon could not fail to attract the attention of the Commission. A silver medal was rightly awarded to them. Mr. Desouches is credited with an ingenious mechanism for opening the doors on the inside. Mr. Ed. Bouillon also exhibited a small Sociable, which is a real jewel.
It is topped by an elegant velum, a charming shelter against the sun or the rain.

Messrs. Délayé, uncle and nephew, exhibited a very brilliant ceremonial carriage, which a rich Prussian lord hastened to buy, at the very beginning of the Exhibition. In its entirety and in its smallest details, it is a quite remarkable work which does the greatest honour to the manufacturers.
Let us also mention two very beautiful pieces: a phaeton of marvellous lightness, with a one-piece boom, and a rich wheelchair of the most exquisite form.

We are astonished that Baron Haussmann did not buy it on the very day of the opening, to put it at the disposal of all the noble ladies who were to visit the Champ de Mars in succession. He would have shown gallantry, and his city council would not have chided him for such a small expense.

The jury only awarded Messrs Délayé a bronze medal, which they refused.

Without having an exaggerated sense of his merit and the value of his works, one has the right to protest when one believes them to be unjustly ignored and belittled.

Let us not forget to mention the beautiful ceremonial and hunting carriages of M. Gustave Brassart.

Let it not be supposed that we end this account without mentioning Messrs. Binder, the princes of carriage-making; perhaps we should have named them first; but whatever place is assigned to them, they always take their place; in this they resemble those majesties who, outstripped by a brilliant escort, are nonetheless everywhere recognised and acclaimed, even though they come only afterwards.

Out of the competition, MM. Binder frères nevertheless wanted to make their presence felt at the Champ de Mars: they took at random from among the hundred models that can be visited on the Boulevard Haussmann, a gala car, a coupé d'Orsay, a carriage and a victoria-duc, four masterpieces of construction, elegance and good taste. Everything that comes out of their workshops can be indifferently delivered to the criticism or rather to the appreciation, not only of connoisseurs, but of the most skilful of masters.



French saddlery is no less worthily represented than coachwork: it has exhibited harnesses of such richness and of such graceful and elegant form that the crowd stops in front of the windows which contain them, with as much admiring astonishment as before the splendid displays of Froment-Meurice and Christofle.
A complete harness is made up of a host of parts: the mantelet, the collar, the croupière, the reculement, the bridle, the lines, the guides, all of which are entrusted to special workers, who are constantly seeking to make happy modifications to the work entrusted to them; this is how, little by little, they have arrived today at near perfection.
But all the changes made in the shape and arrangement of the various parts of the harness are not so much the result of the taste or fancy of the owner or the workman, as of a constant study and a deeper knowledge of the horse. It is to make the service less tiring and gentler that the Roduwarts, the Lambins, the Hermes, the Reegs, and so many others, are each day in search of new improvements.

The gold medal was awarded by the jury to Mr. Rodriguez-Zurdo, from Madrid, and to Mr. J. J. Roduwart from Paris.

The very rich harnesses exhibited by the former are especially remarkable for their trimmings and magnificent stitching on morocco.
The harnesses of Mr. J. J. Roduwart are very rich, but a little heavy in form, perhaps; they have been made, however, with the greatest care, and of such noble breed as the horses for which they are intended are, none of them will have the right to complain. If I should ever learn that Mr. Roduwart has been appointed President of the Humane Society, I should not be surprised, and I should congratulate both the protectors and the protected.

When one arrives in front of the showcases of Mr. Remières and Hermes, one stops, then goes from one to the other without losing attention and admiration; one then naturally turns one's eyes back to the exhibition of Mr. Roduwart, and asks oneself how and why he obtained the gold medal, when his peers, to say the least, obtained only the silver medal. Jury decisions sometimes present themselves as completely unsolvable problems.

Mr. Reeg must be of the race of the old masters; the smallest parts of the pieces exhibited by him are treated with that meticulous care which indicates the taste and conscience of the true workman. There is in his showcase a saddle which, in the judgment of connoisseurs, is not only a masterpiece of workmanship, but a marvel of elegance and good taste. The jury awarded him a bronze medal, which the brave Mr. Reeg accepted with as much gratitude as if he had not deserved better.
It is unfortunate that the Commission did not know that Mr. Reeg managed, by dint of research and hard work, to free himself from the tribute that all his colleagues still pay to England today. Three of the saddles he has exhibited are lined with pigskin, which he has prepared. This skin has the suppleness, softness and smoothness of the finest skins that Messrs. Roduwart, Remières and Hermes bring from London at great expense. Mr. Reeg has thus made a saving of more than 60 per cent for French industry.

Mr. Cognet, the inventor of an articulated pommel, has been better treated and happier. He was awarded a silver medal.

The bits, stirrups and spurs of Mr. Loiseau are pieces of the finest workmanship: it is a real piece of polished steel jewellery which deserves the silver medal that the jury awarded him.

The safety bit of Messrs Lambin and Lefèvre is an ingenious invention worthy of the attention of masters and apprentice riders.

Messrs. Boyer and Paturel, Mr. Legrand and Mr. Chaudron received the same medal for their whips, whips and sticks; comparing their products with those of Messrs. Swaine and Adenay, of London, to whom the jury very justly awarded the same distinction, one is happy to see that in our country this industry has no longer any rivalry or competition to fear. But in fairness, did not Messrs Boyer and Paturel, Swaine and Adenay, deserve better than they got?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Carrosserie et sellerie

Carrosserie et sellerie à l'exposition de Paris 1867

La carrosserie et le charronnage, la bourrelerie et la sellerie sont partout en progrès; mais la France et l’Angleterre, ou plutôt Paris et Londres, sont et resteront longtemps encore les principaux centres de production de ces industries.

On fabrique bien, qui le conteste? en Autriche, en Prusse, en Russie et aux États-Unis, mais on ne fabrique très-bien qu’à Londres et à Paris.
Une active rivalité s’est établie entre ces deux villes au profit de toutes les autres qui les suivent, mais si lentement et de si loin, qu’il est douteux qu’elles parviennent jamais à les atteindre.

Les progrès de toute grande industrie sont la conséquence nécessaire et forcée de l’importance de ses débouchés. Le producteur qui fabrique sans relâche et pour satisfaire aux besoins et aux demandes d’une nombreuse clientèle, comprend que, dans son intérêt même, il doit chaque jour mieux faire, pour ôter à la concurrence toute chance de succès possible.

C’est ce que fait la carrosserie en France et en Angleterre. Elle a établi de vastes ateliers où elle surveille le travail des charrons, des menuisiers, des forgerons, des serruriers-ajusteurs, des selliers, des bourreliers, des plaqueurs, des lanterniers, des peintres et des sculpteurs. Aucun des détails ne lui échappe; aussi peut-elle répondre de l’excellence et de la parfaite exécution de ses produits dans leurs moindres parties et dans leur ensemble.

Les qualités que doivent réunir les voitures de luxe, ou de service privé, sont la solidité, la légèreté et l’élégance de forme. Carrosses de gala, calèches, coupés, landaus, victorias, phaétons, américaines, toutes les voitures, enfin, si différentes qu’elles soient de construction, de coupe et de dessin, sont relativement aussi solides, aussi légères et aussi élégantes les unes que les autres, lorsqu’elles sortent des ateliers d’un maître.

La large part qu’ont obtenue la France et l’Angleterre dans les récompenses décernées par le jury, constate une supériorité que la rivalité la plus jalouse ne peut contester.

Nous pouvons même dire, après un examen sérieux, et sans nous faire en cela l’écho des récriminations de quelques mécontents, que le jury s’est montré beaucoup plus sévère que bienveillant à l’égard du plus grand nombre de nos carrossiers, de nos selliers et de nos harnacheurs. Au dire des meilleurs juges, beaucoup d’entre eux méritaient mieux qu’ils n’ont obtenu, et tel a été oublié, qui, au sentiment de quelques-uns, est digne de figurer au premier rang sur la liste des récompenses.

Le seul reproche que, selon nous, on puisse adresser au jury, c’est de n’avoir pas eu le courage de son opinion et d’avoir fait de la rigueur par la peur d’être accusé de favoritisme.

Ainsi, MM. Lelorieux frères ont exposé un landau de la forme la plus élégante et de la plus extrême légèreté. Les constructeurs ne sont pas parvenus, sans de très-grandes difficultés, à donner à ce véhicule, habituellement assez lourd, la qualité qui le distingue et le devait recommander au jury; mais sous prétexte que sa grande légèreté rendait sa solidité douteuse, on n’a pas cru devoir leur accorder plus qu’une mention honorable.

MM. Million-Guiet et Cie ont été un peu plus favorablement mais non pas plus justement traités.

Ils ont aussi exposé un landau dont la solidité, malgré sa grande légèreté, est préalablement garantie par sa destination et le dur service pour lequel il a été commandé. Ce véhicule est destiné à fonctionner sur les routes abruptes et à peine frayées des États-Unis; il a donc été établi dans des conditions tout à fait exceptionnelles. Il suffit d’y regarder d’un peu près pour apprécier le mérite de sa belle et solide construction.

Le beau coupé sorti de leurs ateliers est surtout remarquable par l’application du nouveau genre de montage à onze ressorts et à flèche. C’est assurément une des plus charmantes nouveautés que les amateurs puissent admirer à l’Exposition. Jamais la voiture la plus confortable n’a réuni à une suspension aussi douce, une pareille commodité d’accès.
MM. Million-Guiet et Cie appliquent ce nouveau système à toutes leurs voilures, et ils font bien.

Leur calèche ne peut manquer d’avoir très-promptement les honneurs de l’imitation; mais la gloire de l’invention ne leur sera disputée par personne, et cette gloire-là sera plus durable que celle qu’une plus haute distinction leur eût procurée.

MM. Belvalette frères et M. Ehrler ont eu les honneurs de la médaille d’or. Tout ce que nous pouvons dire, c’est qu’après un très-curieux et très-intéressant examen de chacune des voitures qu’ils ont exposées, le public tout entier, sans distraction de leurs confrères, a confirmé le jugement de la Commission et approuvé la décision du jury.

M. Kellner, inventeur breveté d’un landau dont on peut ouvrir les portières sans être obligé de descendre les glaces, a obtenu une médaille d’argent que lui eût méritée son exposition, dépourvue de sa voiture de gala, qui en est pourtant la principale pièce.

La forme de ce carrosse de cour, d’un goût sévère, mais peut-être un peu lourde et par trop ramassée; sa richesse d’ornementation et de dorure, sa belle galerie sculptée, son large siège, splendidement brodé, son intérieur luxueux mais sans excès, ses quatre magnifiques lanternes, d’un dessin exquis et de la plus fine ciselure, tout, dans cette œuvre éclatante de dorures et des plus vives couleurs, attire les yeux sans fatiguer le regard.

M. Kellner étant fournisseur de plusieurs cours étrangères, a pu, sans aucun risque, établir et exécuter ce véhicule princier. Il est certain que si l’Italie et l’Allemagne n’eussent pas fait, l’une et l’autre, un si large abatage de rois et de ducs, depuis longtemps déjà il aurait trouvé un acquéreur; mais sa noble clientèle est nombreuse, l’Exposition n’est pas encore close, et l’on doit espérer qu’un travail si dispendieux ne lui restera pas pour compte.

Les landaus de M. Desouches et ceux de M. Ed. Bouillon ne pouvaient manquer d’attirer l’attention de la Commission. Une médaille d’argent leur a été justement accordée. On doit à M. Desouches un ingénieux mécanisme au moyen duquel on ouvre les portières à l’intérieur. M. Ed. Bouillon a exposé, en outre, un petit Sociable, qui est un vrai bijou.
Il est surmonté d’un élégant vélum, abri coquet contre le soleil ou la pluie.

MM. Délayé, oncle et neveu, ont exposé une très-brillante voiture de cérémonie, qu’un riche seigneur prussien s’est empressé d’acheter, au début même de l’Exposition. Dans son ensemble et dans ses moindres détails, c’est une œuvre tout à fait remarquable qui fait le plus grand honneur aux constructeurs.
Signalons encore deux très-jolies pièces : un phaéton d’une merveilleuse légèreté, dont la flèche est d’un seul morceau, et un riche fauteuil roulant de la forme la plus exquise.

Nous nous étonnons que M. le baron Haussmann ne l’ait pas acheté le jour même de l’ouverture, pour le mettre à la disposition de toutes les nobles dames qui devaient successivement visiter le Champ de Mars. Il eût fait preuve de galanterie, et son conseil municipal ne l’aurait pas chicané pour une si petite dépense.

Le jury n’a accordé à MM. Délayé qu’une médaille de bronze, qu’ils ont refusée.

Sans avoir un sentiment exagéré de son mérite et de la valeur de ses œuvres, on a le droit de protester quand on les croit injustement méconnus et rabaissés.

N’oublions pas de signaler les beaux attelages de cérémonie et de chasse de M. Gustave Brassart.

Qu’on ne suppose pas que nous terminions ce compte rendu sans parler de MM. Binder, les princes de la carrosserie ; peut-être eussions-nous dû les nommer les premiers; mais quelque place qui leur soit assignée, ils reprennent toujours leur rang ; ils ressemblent en cela à ces majestés qui, devancées par une brillante escorte, sont cependant partout reconnues et acclamées, quoiqu’elles ne viennent qu’après.

Hors de concours, MM. Binder frères ont voulu cependant faire acte de présence au Champ de Mars : ils ont pris au hasard parmi les cent modèles qu’on peut visiter au boulevard Haussmann, une voiture de gala, un coupé d’Orsay, une calèche et une victoria-duc, quatre chefs-d’œuvre de construction, d’élégance et de bon goût. Tout ce qui sort de leurs ateliers peut être indifféremment livré à la critique ou plutôt à l’appréciation, non-seulement des connaisseurs, mais des plus habiles d’entre les maîtres.



La sellerie française n’est pas moins dignement représentée que la carrosserie : elle a exposé des harnais d’une telle richesse et d’une forme si gracieuse et si élégante que la foule s’arrête devant les vitrines-qui les renferment, avec un étonnement tout aussi admiratif que devant les splendides étalages de Froment-Meurice et de Christofle.
Un harnais complet se compose d’une foule de pièces : le mantelet, le collier, la croupière, le reculement, la bride, les traits, les guides, qui sont confiés à des ouvriers spéciaux, cherchant sans cesse à apporter des modifications heureuses à l’œuvre qui leur est confiée; c’est ainsi que, peu à peu, ils sont arrivés aujourd’hui presque à la perfection.
Mais tous les changements faits dans la forme et la disposition des différentes pièces du harnais, ne résultent pas autant du goût ou de la fantaisie du patron ou de l’ouvrier, que d’une étude constante et d’une connaissance plus approfondie du cheval. C’est pour lui rendre le service moins fatigant et plus doux que les Roduwart, les Lambin, les Hermès, les Reeg, et tant d’autres, sont chaque jour à la recherche de perfectionnements nouveaux.

La médaille d’or a été accordée par le jury à M. Rodriguez-Zurdo, de Madrid, et à M. J. J. Roduwart de Paris.

Les très-riches harnais exposés par le premier, sont surtout remarquables par leurs garnitures et un magnifique travail de piqûre sur maroquin.
Les harnais de M. J. J. Roduwart sont très-riches, mais un peu lourds de forme, peut-être; ils ont été confectionnés cependant avec le plus grand soin, et de si noble race que soient les chevaux auxquels ils sont destinés, aucun d’eux n’aura le droit de se plaindre. Si j’apprenais un jour que M. Roduwart a été nommé président de la Société protectrice des animaux, je n’en serais pas surpris et j’en féliciterais, à la fois, les protecteurs et les protégés.

Quand on arrive devant les vitrines de MM. Remières et Hermès, on s’y arrête, puis l’on va de l’une à l’autre sans que l’attention et l’admiration soient lassées; on reporte tout naturellement ensuite les yeux sur l’exposition de M. Roduwart, et l’on se demande comment et pourquoi celui-ci a obtenu la médaille d’or, quand ses pairs, pour ne rien dire de plus, n’ont obtenu que la médaille #d’argent. Les décisions du jury se présentent parfois à l’état de problèmes tout à fait insolubles.

M. Reeg doit être de la race des anciens maîtres; les moindres parties des pièces exposées par lui sont traitées avec ce soin minutieux qui indique le goût et la conscience du véritable ouvrier. Il y a dans sa vitrine une selle qui, au jugement des connaisseurs, est non-seulement un chef-d’œuvre de travail, mais une merveille d’élégance et de bon goût. Le jury lui a adjugé une médaille de bronze, que le brave M. Reeg a acceptée avec une aussi sincère reconnaissance que s’il n’avait pas mérité mieux.
Il est fâcheux que la Commission n’ait pas su que M. Reeg est parvenu, à force de recherches et de travail, à s’affranchir du tribut que tous ses confrères payent encore aujourd’hui à l’Angleterre. Trois des selles qu’il a exposées sont garnies avec de la peau de cochon, préparée par lui. Cette peau a la souplesse, le moelleux et la douceur des plus belles peaux que MM. Roduwart, Remières et Hermès font venir de Londres à grands frais. M. Reeg a par là réalisé pour l’industrie française une économie de plus de 60 p. 100.

M. Cognet, l’inventeur d’un arçon articulé, a été, lui, mieux traité et plus heureux. Il a obtenu une médaille d’argent.

Les mors, les étriers et les éperons de M. Loiseau sont des pièces du plus beau travail : c’est une vraie bijouterie d’acier poli qui mérite la médaille d’argent que le jury lui a adjugée.

Le mors de sécurité de MM. Lambin et Lefèvre est une invention ingénieuse digne de l’attention des maîtres et des apprentis cavaliers.

MM. Boyer et Paturel, M. Legrand et M. Chaudron ont obtenu la même médaille pour leurs fouets, leurs cravaches et leurs sticks; en comparant leurs produits avec ceux de MM. Swaine et Adenay, de Londres, auxquels le jury a très-justement accordé la même distinction, on est heureux de voir que chez nous cette industrie n’a plus de rivalité ni de concurrence à craindre. Mais en bonne équité, MM. Boyer et Paturel, Swaine et Adenay, ne méritaient-ils pas mieux qu’ils n’ont obtenu?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée