Back - List of Pavilions

Papal States -

Papal States at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Glory to Fr. Secchi! Three times blessed be his meteorographer! Thanks to the learned Jesuit and his work, the honour of the Papal States is saved, and their leader will be able to say, after the Exhibition, as Francis I did after the day of Pavia: "All is lost but the honour. "

Without Fr. Secchi and his marvellous instrument, what an awful rout the industrial army, or rather the band of irregulars that Rome did not fear to put in line at the Champ de Mars, would have suffered!

By allowing its industrial weakness and impotence to be displayed in this way, has not the Roman government shown too much Christian humility; and, out of human respect, would it not have done better to abstain a hundred times over than to make the whole world aware of the deplorable decadence into which the arts and industry have fallen in Rome today?

Many Catholics think so, and we think so with them.

It is by its beautiful sides that one must appear in public; as for the others, it is prudent and in good taste to conceal them and leave them in the shade.

Now, in the field of arts and industry, Rome cannot today, with any chance of success, accept the struggle with anyone.

How, in fact, are things done in Rome, in this sanctuary of prayer and pious works? The arts are understood there only in their direct application to holy persons and things; as for industry, its usefulness is recognised only in the very small number of its products, which have long been considered indispensable to the needs and splendour of worship.

If the delegates of the temporal power consent to close their eyes to a few isolated deviations and individual attempts; if they allow that, by accident, art and industry are exercised outside the religious circle, they believe that they are showing a tolerance which, it must be said, is generally disregarded; as for pushing and encouraging anyone to do so, that is another matter: Artists would multiply masterpieces and produce wonders, science and industry would make the most magnificent display of their forces and resources, that from the top to the bottom of the clerical hierarchy, no one would pay any attention.

As we contemplated the meagre exhibition of the Papal States, the proud motto Italia si fara da se came back to our minds, and what we had before our eyes confirmed us in the opinion that this profession of faith should be taken neither literally nor seriously, that it is neither binding nor committable to anyone, and that it is merely the jest of a boastful patriotism.

Apart from the metereogaph, the most important work in the Roman exhibition is by Mr Vincent Rigacci, the waxworker at the court of Rome. In a box three metres high, he has placed half a dozen candles of the finest quality, made, if we are to believe him, in all their thickness, from the purest beeswax.

These candles, called pontifical, were invented by him at the time of the promulgation of the dogma of the Immaculate Conception. Each candle is two and a half metres high, eight centimetres in diameter, and weighs fourteen kilograms.

More than two thirds of the candlesticks are decorated with oil paintings with gilding in the style of Zuccari. In the central part, the image of Mary shines, crowned with rubies and placed on a globe surrounded by two olive branches and lilies, symbols of peace and purity; Below, placed in an architectural niche, are each of the six prophets, Moses, Isaiah, David, Ezekiel, Jeremiah and Daniel, who more particularly announced the coming of the Virgin; finally, in the lower part, the coat of arms of Pius IX, in memory of the glorious dogmatic definition pronounced by His Holiness.

It is understandable that only in Rome and in the capital of the Christian world can one have the luxury of such candles. It is a long way from the crude smoky resin sticks that burn on the altars of many of our poor country churches.

Did the Imperial Commission not find the candles of Mr. Vincent Rigacci either large enough or well enough made that they did not seem worthy of any distinction? This must be due to the first or the second reason, unless, which would be possible, it results from both.

Fortunately for Mr Vincent Rigacci, he is in possession of an inalienable monopoly, and the jury's decision cannot affect his interests.

Mr. Dovizelli exhibited four photographs taken in Rome, in very large format; they are of Saint Peter's, the Vatican, the Colosseum and the Chariot of the Dawn of the Guide; all these photographs are magnificent in their execution and give the most accurate representation of these marvellous monuments, which time has already furrowed with deep wrinkles.

We owe to Mr. Dovizelli the complete collection of the Stanze, an admirable painted history of the Old Testament, in which Raphael's genius is at ease and shows itself in full.

When we say "we owe Mr. Dovizelli" we express ourselves badly; it is "Mr. Dovizelli owes us" that we should say; for these beautiful photographs are not to be found in the trade, and Mr. Dusacq himself, whom the author has chosen as his depositary, would like to know how they can be obtained and where they can be found.

You really can't get more Italian than Mr. Dovizelli. He made his photographs for fun; but to multiply them by means of clichés would be an occupation; and a Roman is not a man to submit willingly to regular work. And then, under the beautiful sky of Rome, idleness is so sweet!

Some people look for, and are astonished not to find, in the exhibition of the Papal States, those rosaries, scapulars, medals, ex-votos, enamels, and all those coquettish little stoupers of which the rosarii of Rome keep shop or green; let them not conclude from this that religious zeal has cooled down; all these objects of devotion, in the making of which Roman industry has given up, are now made in Paris and sent to Rome.

Chasubles, copes, dalmatics, banners, canopies, banners, Roman umbellines, all the embroidery, all the lace, all the church linen, alb, surplice, altar cloths that are sold in Rome, are still of French origin, and if we do not find any in the exhibition of the Papal States, it would be wrong to worry: Our industrialists will never leave the Roman clergy short, and when they want to do things right and pay the price, they will be able to display as much luxury and magnificence as in the past.

A Roman jeweller, Cipriani, has been awarded a bronze medal; we mention him, because he is now one of the most renowned heirs of Castellani, and these two names establish exactly the distance which separates the artists of old, or the masters, from their successors and pupils.

A bronze medal has again been awarded to the Roman University for its rock collections. A simple work of research and classification could not be more amply rewarded.

Messrs Bocedi and Co. received an honourable mention for their kaolins. The soil is rich, they have it exploited and derive a large product from their direction; this rigorously could be enough for them; but if a small distinction is added to their profits, they would be really wrong to ask for more.

The jury awarded a gold medal to the mosaic workshop in Rome as well as to the one in St. Petersburg: we leave it to the public to appreciate the difference between the skill and science of execution of the two workshops; but the jury was wise to decide thus: there are sunsets whose rays one contemplates with as much pleasure as those of the dawn.

Messrs Rubicondi and Martinori also each won a silver medal for their mosaics.

If the Romans complain about the Commission, which has shown itself to be benevolent and courteous to them, they will not surprise us: among them, as among their Italian brothers, independence of heart has always been the order of the day.

How is it that the beautiful cameos of G. P. Girometti have been placed in the historical museum? Is it because the former director of the Mint of Rome was prematurely taken from the fine arts, that the Roman exhibition was deprived of its most precious jewels, and that these masterpieces of contemporary engraving were transported to the archaeology section? We cannot explain this clumsy measure otherwise. But the unfortunate result for the widow whose only inheritance these four cameos are, is that visitors assume they belong to some Roman museum and that no buyer is forthcoming.

If they had been installed in their true place, near the window of the jeweller Cipriani, there is no doubt that they would have long since become the property of some rich amateur.

The entire table of honour of the Papal States has been surveyed: it is not rich in titles, and it can be said that without Fr Secchi, all these titles would not have brought it into sharp focus.

Glory, then, to Fr. Secchi! Glory to the Jesuit who, in the nineteenth century, made a public pact with science and came to protest, in the face of Rome, against the odious persecutions it had once suffered! Glory to him! For he avenges Galileo, the great astronomer of Pisa, of the avenges with which the Jesuits, his implacable persecutors, showered him!

Poor noble old man! Appalled at the appearance of the torturers who had been given to him as judges, he abjured the truth that had revealed itself to him; he betrayed it, they say, betrayed it!... At eighty years of age not everyone has the soul of Dandolo; and however convinced one may be, one is excusable for not finding in oneself, at this age, the strength to confess it.

He has not done enough for her by expiating
by three years in prison,
The unpardonable wrong of being right too soon,

and should he not have said to himself, in the secret of his heart, to console himself for the disavowal which was torn from him, that the truth, stronger than its persecutors, would sooner or later triumph over torture and the stake?
Yes, he had foreseen his triumph and his reign; and God, perhaps, manifesting Himself to him during his glorious martyrdom, had revealed to him the hour when He reserved to raise up an avenger for him from the very bosom of his enemies.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

États pontificaux

États pontificaux à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Gloire au P. Secchi! Trois fois béni soit son météorographe! Grâce au savant jésuite et à son œuvre, l’honneur des États pontificaux est sauvé, et leur chef pourra dire, après l’Exposition, comme François Ier après la journée de Pavie : « Tout est perdu fors l’honneur. »

Sans le P. Secchi et son merveilleux instrument, quelle affreuse déroute, bon Dieu! eût subie l’armée industrielle ou plutôt la bande d’irréguliers que Rome n’a pas craint de mettre en ligne au Champ de Mars!

En laissant étaler ainsi sa faiblesse et son impuissance industrielles, le gouvernement romain n’a-t il pas fait acte d’une trop grande humilité chrétienne; et, par respect humain, n’aurait-il pas mieux fait cent fois de s’abstenir, que de mettre le monde entier dans le secret de la déplorable décadence où aujourd’hui les arts et l’industrie sont tombés chez lui?

Une foule de catholiques le pensent, et nous le pensons avec eux.

C’est par ses beaux côtés qu’il faut se produire en public; quant aux autres, il est de la prudence et du bon goût de les dissimuler et de les laisser dans l’ombre.

Or, sur le terrain des arts et de l’industrie, Rome ne peut aujourd'hui, avec chance de succès, accepter la lutte avec personne.

Comment, en effet, les choses se passent-elles à Rome, dans ce sanctuaire de la prière et des œuvres pies? On n’y comprend les arts que dans leurs applications tout à fait directes aux personnes et aux choses saintes; quant à l’industrie, on n’en reconnaît l’utilité que dans le très-petit nombre de ses produits, qui sont réputés depuis longtemps indispensables aux besoins et à la splendeur du culte.

Si les délégués du pouvoir temporel consentent à fermer les yeux sur quelques écarts isolés et quelques tentatives individuelles; s’ils permettent que, par accident, l’art et l’industrie s’exercent en dehors du cercle religieux, ils croient faire en cela preuve d’une tolérance dont généralement, il faut bien le dire, on ne leur tient pas compte; quant à y pousser et à y encourager personne, c’est autre chose : les artistes multiplieraient les chefs-d’œuvre et produiraient des merveilles, la science et l’industrie feraient le plus magnifique déploiement de leurs forces et de leurs ressources, que du haut en bas de la hiérarchie cléricale, nul n’y ferait attention.

En contemplant la maigre exposition des États pontificaux, la fière devise Italia si fara da se nous est revenue en mémoire, et ce que nous avions devant les yeux nous a confirmé dans l’opinion, qu’on ne doit prendre cette profession de foi ni à la lettre, ni au sérieux, qu’elle ne lie et n’engage personne, et qu’elle n’est qu’une simple boutade d’un patriotisme vantard.

Le météréogaphe mis à part, l’œuvre capitale de l’exposition romaine est due à M. Vincent Rigacci, le cirier de la cour de Rome. Il a appendu dans une boîte de trois mètres de hauteur, une demi-douzaine de cierges de la plus belle venue, et fabriqués, s’il faut l’en croire, dans toute leur épaisseur, avec de la cire d’abeilles la plus pure.

Ces cierges, appelés pontificaux, ont été inventés par lui à l’époque de la promulgation du dogme de l’immaculée Conception. Chaque cierge a deux mètres cinquante centimètres de hauteur, huit centimètres de diamètre, et pèse quatorze kilogrammes.

Dans plus des deux tiers de leur hauteur, ils sont historiés et couverts de peintures à l’huile avec dorures, dans le style de Zuccari. A la partie centrale brille l’image de Marie, couronnée de rubis et placée sur un globe qu’entourent deux branches d’olivier et de lis, symboles de paix et de pureté; au-dessous, placé dans une niche architectonique, chacun des six prophètes, Moïse, Isaïe, David, Ézéchiel, Jérémie et Daniel, qui ont plus particulièrement annoncé la venue de la Vierge; enfin, à la partie inférieure, sont figurées les armoiries de Pie IX, en mémoire de la glorieuse définition dogmatique prononcée par Sa Sainteté.

On comprend qu’il n’y a qu’à Rome et dans la capitale du monde chrétien qu’on peut se donner le luxe de pareils cierges. Il y a loin de là aux grossiers bâtons de résine fumeux qui brûlent sur l’autel de beaucoup de nos pauvres églises de campagne.

La Commission impériale n’a-t-elle pas trouvé les cierges de M. Vincent Rigacci, ou assez gros ou assez bien confectionnés, pour qu’ils ne lui aient paru dignes d’aucune distinction? Cela doit tenir à la première ou à la seconde raison, à moins, ce qui serait possible, que cela ne résulte de toutes deux.

Par bonheur pour M. Vincent Rigacci, il est en possession d’un monopole inaliénable, et la décision du jury ne peut porter aucune atteinte à ses intérêts.

M. Dovizelli a exposé quatre photographies faites à Rome, en très-grand format; c’est Saint-Pierre, le Vatican, le Colisée et le Char de l’Aurore du Guide; toutes ces photographies sont magnifiques d’exécution et donnent la représentation la plus exacte de ces merveilleux monuments, que le temps a tous sillonnés déjà de rides profondes.

On doit encore à M. Dovizelli la collection complète des Stanze, admirable histoire en peinture de l’Ancien Testament, dans laquelle le génie de Raphaël s’est déployé à l’aise, et se montre tout entier.

Quand nous disons « on doit à M. Dovizelli » nous nous exprimons mal; c’est « M. Dovizelli nous doit » que nous devrions dire; car ces belles photographies ne se trouvent pas dans le commerce, et M. Dusacq lui-même, que l’auteur a choisi pour son dépositaire, voudrait bien savoir comment on peut s’en procurer et où l’on en trouve.

On n’est vraiment pas plus Italien que M. Dovizelli. Il a fait ses photographies par distraction ; mais les multiplier par le moyen des clichés, ce serait une occupation; et un Romain n’est pas homme à se soumettre volontiers à un travail régulier. Et puis, sous le beau ciel de Rome, le farnientesst si doux !

Quelques personnes cherchent, et s’étonnent de ne pas trouver en masse, dans l’exposition les États pontificaux, ces chapelets, ces scapulaires, ces médailles, ces ex-voto, ces émaux, et tous ces petits bénitiers coquets dont les rosarii de Rome tiennent boutique ou verte ; qu’ils n’en concluent pas que le zèle religieux s’est refroidi ; tous ces objets de dévotion, à la confection desquels l’industrie romaine a renoncé, se fabriquent aujourd’hui à Paris et sont expédiés à Rome.

Les chasubles, les chapes, les dalmatiques, les bannières, les dais, les oriflammes les ombellinos romains, toutes les broderies, toutes les dentelles, tout le linge d’église, aubes, surplis, nappes d’autel qu’on vend à Rome, sont encore de provenance française, et si l’on n’en trouve pas dans l'exposition des Etats pontificaux, on aurait tort de s’en inquiéter : nos industriels ne laisseront jamais à court le clergé romain, et quand il voudra bien faire les choses et y mettre le prix, il pourra déployer autant de luxe et de magnificence que par le passé.

Un bijoutier romain, Cipriani, a obtenu une médaille de bronze; nous le mentionnons, parce que c’est aujourd'hui un des plus renommés héritiers de Castellani, et que ces deux noms établissent exactement la distance qui sépare les artistes d'autrefois, ou les maîtres, de leurs successeurs et de leurs élèves.

Une médaille de bronze a été encore accordée à l’Université romaine pour ses collections de roches. On ne pouvait plus largement récompenser un simple travail de recherches et de classification.

MM. Bocedi et Cie ont reçu une mention honorable pour leurs kaolins. Le sol est riche, ils le font exploiter et tirent un large produit de leur direction; cela rigoureusement pourrait leur suffire; mais si une petite distinction vient s’ajouter à leurs bénéfices, ils auraient vraiment tort de demander davantage.

Le jury a accordé une médaille d’or à l’Atelier de mosaïque de Rome comme à celui de Saint-Pétersbourg : nous laissons au public le soin d’apprécier la différence qui existe entre l’habileté et la science d’exécution des deux ateliers; mais le jury a sagement fait de décider ainsi : il y a des couchants dont on contemple les rayons avec autant de plaisir que ceux de l’aurore.

MM. Rubicondi et Martinori ont aussi obtenu chacun une médaille d’argent pour leurs mosaïques.

Si les Romains se plaignent de la Commission, qui s’est montrée pour eux pleine de bienveillance et de courtoisie, ils ne nous étonneront pas : chez eux, comme chez leurs frères d’Italie, l’indépendance du cœur a toujours été à l’ordre du jour.

Comment se fait-il qu’on ait placé dans le musée historique les beaux camées de G. P. Girometti? Est-ce parce que l'ancien directeur de la Monnaie de Rome a été prématurément enlevé aux beaux-arts, qu’on a privé l’exposition romaine de ses plus riclrs joyaux, et qu’on a transporté ces chefs-d’œuvre de la gravure contemporaine dans la section de l’archéologie? Nous ne pouvons-nous expliquer autrement celte maladroite mesure. Mais il en résulte malheureusement pour la veuve dont ces quatre camées sont le seul héritage que les visiteurs supposent qu’ils appartiennent à quelque musée romain et qu’aucun acquéreur ne se présente.

S'ils avaient été installés à leur vraie place, près de la vitrine du bijoutier Cipriani, nul doute que depuis longtemps ils ne fussent devenus la propriété de quelque riche amateur.

Nous avons relevé tout entière la table d’honneur des Etats pontificaux : elle n’est pas riche en titres; et l’on peut dire que sans le P. Secchi, tous ces titres-là ne l'auraient pas mise en une bien vive lumière.

Gloire donc au P. Secchi! Gloire au jésuite qui au dix-neuvième siècle a fait pacte public avec la science et est venu protester, à la face de Rome, contre les odieuses persécutions qu’elle a jadis subies ! Gloire à lui ! car il venge Galilée, le grand astronome de Pise, des avanies dont l’ont abreuvé les jésuites, ses implacables persécuteurs !

Pauvre noble vieillard! Épouvanté à l’aspect des tortionnaires qu’on lui avait donnés pour juges, il a abjuré la vérité qui s’était révélée à lui; il l’a trahie, dit-on, trahie!... A quatre-vingts ans tout le monde n’a pas l’âme de Dandolo; et si convaincu qu’on soit, on est excusable de ne pas trouver en soi, à cet âge, la force de la confesser.

N’a-t-il donc pas assez fait pour elle, en expiant
par trois ans de prison,
L’impardonnable tort d’avoir trop tôt raison,

et ne devait-il pas se dire, dans le secret de son cœur, pour se consoler du désaveu qui lui était arraché, que la vérité, plus forte que ses persécuteurs, devait triompher tôt ou tard de la torture et des bûchers?
Oui, il avait pressenti son triomphe et son règne; et Dieu, peut-être, se manifestant à lui pendant son glorieux martyre, lui avait révélé l’heure où il se réservait de lui susciter un vengeur du sein même de ses ennemis.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée