International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Class 7 - Bookbinding

Class 7 - Bookbinding at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Bookbinding can be counted among the most charming and difficult arts. It also has, for us, the merit of being a truly French art. I am not talking about the Middle Ages; we have only uncertain notions about bookbinding at that time. We only know that in the convents the monks who were bookbinders were as highly regarded as the monks who were copyists. One of these monks, Brother Herman, even followed William the Conqueror to England and became Bishop of Salisbury without losing his reputation as an artist skilled in covering manuscripts with velvet, gold, silk and silver. There is also mention of a certain almanac on vellum owned by the head of the Capetian dynasty, which was bound in silver-lamelled snakeskin. It is said that Mathias Corvin, King of Hungary and a passionate bibliophile, was responsible for the use of morocco in bookbinding. But from the sixteenth century onwards, French bookbinders had a universal reputation. Precious books were sent to them from all over Europe and entrusted to their renowned talent.

They had already reached a remarkable level of perfection. Like printing, bookbinding has this particular character that its masterpieces are to be found mainly in its cradle. It has had its Esteins and Elzevirs from the beginning, and sometimes, very rarely, in public sales one sees a volume from the library of Grolier, treasurer of François I. What elegant and solid execution! What delicious taste in the ornaments? What a stamp, in a word, of personal and complete work! We do not know the name of the artist who executed these bindings, but he was certainly a master in his profession. And the books of President de Thou are still so sought after for the beautiful conservation of their bindings! He had spent no less than twenty thousand ecus on them, that is, four to five hundred thousand francs today. The eighteenth century did not do better and yet, this beautiful eighteenth century, what illustrations does it not have in the charming art with which we are concerned? Le Gascon, Desemble, Derôme, Bauzonnet, Bozerian, Pasdeloup, names that make true amateurs tremble and to which it is only fair to add those of Capé, Niedrée, Simier, Thouvenin, Relier, Despierre, Hardy, Duru, etc. To find one of these exquisite volumes is to find a jewel of Benvenuto Cellini; is there indeed a finer jewel, for example, than an elzevir of 130 to 140 millimetres, tightly bound by Bauzonnet or by Simier in lemon morocco with Mets, lined with white morocco also with fillets, the edge gilded, such as I hold one in my hand? It is easy to understand how a well-bound book can be a work of art, forming a complete, harmonious whole and giving the sensation of a perfect thing in itself, with all its parts in the best possible relationship.

But for the enjoyment to be complete, one must be a connoisseur, and connoisseurs are rare in bookbinding, not in the appreciation of ornaments and colours, but in the appreciation of the essential elements of a good binding. If this knowledge were more widespread, we would not see so many manoeuvres dishonouring this amiable profession and delivering shapeless, awkward, ungainly volumes, badly sewn, badly backed, having no more solidity than elegance. This is the same way in which tailoring has been applied to bookbinding as it has been to clothing. We know, in this last order of products, what strange things it has begun to swaddle the good French people with. Well, the innumerable people of books are no better treated. It is true that few of the shoddy books that are now made for us with their plastered paper, their grotesque characters, their justification as it is, deserve to be properly dressed.

A well-conditioned binding should be strong, light and elegant at the same time, the volume should open easily and remain open on the table on any page, the cover and leaves should form a well-packed whole. The spine should break easily without retaining the traces of the break, the headband should be absolutely regular, the outer margins should be trimmed as little as possible. This is one of the most important issues for book lovers, along with the sewing issue. It is only satisfactorily solved when the boards are trimmed squarely before being applied.

All these qualities seem to be quite elementary. Their combination is however very rare, and such a brilliant binding, with lace, irons, complicated fillets, cut-out ornaments, will not be worth for the connoisseur the simple binding where all these principles have been meticulously and skilfully applied.

This last type of binding, the really useful, common, practical binding, does not show up very well at the Exhibition. I have only seen an off-line execution at Marne, the ordinary bindings of this house are as solid as they are elegant and surprisingly cheap. In awarding him the grand prize of honour in his class, I am convinced that the jury took into consideration this speciality among the many industries which animate the great factory of Tours. One could examine these volumes with a magnifying glass to find something to pick up. The merit of a profession - it cannot be repeated too often in the presence of certain phenomenal exhibitions - is not in the costly birth of an exceptional product, made only for the watch and the eye-patch, it is in the combination of the most perfect execution and its possible and economic application to the most widespread use. Marne's bindings solve the problem completely. They combine professional perfection with low cost. This is true and great industry. The Marne company exhibits very beautiful specimens of luxury bindings applied to its great books: the Touraine, the Gardens, the Bible, La Bruyère, etc.

With the other bookbinders who exhibited in class 7, we return to artistic bindings, reserved for rich amateur libraries. M. Cottin, Simier's heir, has a very fine exhibition in this genre, which earned him a large medal. I will mention the copy of the Life of Caesar given by the Emperor to the library of the Corps Législatif: it is very rich, but a little overloaded.

The crowd stops especially in front of Gruel-Engelman's shop window. They are ecstatic in front of a wedding book on suspended vellum, as the Sancy diamond is suspended in the jewellery section, and whose Catherine de Médicis binding is quoted at twelve thousand francs. Next to it is the Count of Os-mont's hunting book, covered in wood and sculpted with great art. Let us not forget a book of hours belonging to the count of Vogué with steel ornaments of a very good taste and a beautiful effect.

Mr. Engel's exhibition is very mixed. I noticed a book (Botanique à ma fille) whose gilding is of remarkable invention and delicacy; but next to it there are overloaded, colourful books, such as this copy of Love and Psyche which a true amateur would never admit into his library. It would be unfair to forget a few volumes whose spines, gilded by the press, are well executed.
M. Cayley-Hirou got a medal. I will not dwell on his imitations of parchment, which are very good, but I will say that the medal would be fully deserved just by this in-18 copy of Gœthe's Renard, a truly exquisite volume in fawn calf, a fine jewel of a charming and sober taste.

M. Lenègre has a magnificent folio (Iconography of the Palace of Fontainebleau), beautiful classics bound with elegance and solidity and very rich albums.

The volume: Vie des Saints, presented by M. Parisot, is not without merit. It is red and green with silk endpapers and chiselled edges. But I prefer his breviaries, which he sets at 8 fr. 50 c. and 12 fr. and which are very pretty and very advantageous.

In short, bookbinding is not progressing, our artists imitate the types of their predecessors without giving them any particular stamp. This can be seen by looking at the volumes exhibited in the Gallery of the History of Work. The eighteenth century gave its cute masterpieces particular types, a special and new twist. How will we recognise the bindings of the nineteenth century?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Classe 7 - Reliure

Classe 7 - Reliure à l'exposition de Paris 1867

La reliure peut compter parmi les arts les plus charmants et les plus difficiles. Elle a de plus, pour nous, le mérite d’être un art véritablement français. Je ne parle pas du moyen âge; on n’a que des notions incertaines sur la reliure à cette époque. On sait seulement que dans les couvents les moines relieurs étaient aussi estimés que les moines copistes. Un de ces moines, le frère Herman, suivit même en Angleterre Guillaume le Conquérant et devint évêque de Salisbury sans rien perdre de sa réputation d’artiste habile à revêtir les manuscrits de velours, d’or, de soie et d’argent. On parle aussi d’un certain almanach sur velin que possédait le chef de la dynastie des Capétiens et qui était relié en peau de serpent lamée d’argent. On prétend que c’est à Mathias Corvin, roi de Hongrie et bibliophile passionné, qu’on doit l’application du maroquin à la reliure. Mais dès le seizième siècle, les relieurs français ont une réputation universelle. On leur envoie de tous les points de l’Europe les livres précieux et on les confie à leur talent renommé.

On était déjà arrivé à une remarquable perfection. La reliure a, comme l’imprimerie, ce caractère particulier que ses chefs-d’œuvre se trouvent surtout à son berceau. Elle a dès l’origine ses Estienne et ses Elzevirs, quelquefois, bien rarement, dans les ventes publiques on voit passer un volume de la bibliothèque de Grolier, trésorier de François 1er. Quelle exécution élégante et solide! quel goût délicieux dans les ornements? Quel cachet, en un mot, d’œuvre personnelle et complète! On ne connaît pas le nom de l’artiste qui exécutait ces reliures l’opour pulent bibliophile, mais c’était à coup sûr un maître consommé dans sa profession. Et les livres du président de Thou encore si recherchés pour la belle conservation de leurs reliures! Il ne leur avait pas consacré moins de vingt mille écus, c’est-à-dire quatre à cinq cent mille francs d’aujourd’hui. Le dix-huitième siècle n’a pas fait mieux et pourtant, ce beau dix-huitième siècle, quelles illustrations ne compte-t-il pas dans l’art charmant dont nous nous occupons ? Le Gascon, Desemble, Derôme, Bauzonnet, Bozerian, Pasdeloup, noms qui font tressaillir les vrais amateurs et auxquels il n’est que juste de joindre ceux de Capé, Niedrée, Simier, Thouvenin, Relier, Despierre, Hardy, Duru, etc. Retrouver un de ces volumes exquis, c’est retrouver un bijou de Benvenuto Cellini; est-il en effet bijou plus fin, par exemple, qu’un elzevir de 130 à 140 millimètres, bien serré par Bauzonnet ou par Simier dans une reluire de maroquin citron avec Mets, doublé de maroquin blanc également avec filets, la tranche dorée, tel que j’en tiens un dans ma main? On comprend à quel point un livre bien relié peut être une œuvre d’art, former un tout complet, harmonieux et donner à la vue et au toucher la sensation d’une chose parfaite en soi, dont toutes les parties sont dans les meilleurs rapports de convenance.

Mais pour que la jouissance soit complète, il faut être connaisseur, et les connaisseurs sont rares en matière de reliure, je ne parle pas de l’appréciation des ornements et des couleurs, mais bien de celle des éléments essentiels d’une bonne reliure. Si cette connaissance était plus répandue, on ne verrait pas tant de manœuvres déshonorer cette aimable profession et livrer des volumes informes, gauches, disgracieux, mal cousus, mal endossés, n’ayant pas plus de solidité que d’élégance. C’est la confection appliquée à la reliure comme elle l’a été aux vêtements. On sait, dans ce dernier ordre de produits, de quelles choses étranges elle s’est mise à emmaillotter le bon peuple français. Eh bien, le peuple innombrable des livres n’est pas mieux traité. Il est vrai que peu des livres de pacotille qu’on nous fabrique maintenant avec leur papier plâtré, leurs caractères grotesques, leur justification telle quelle, méritent d’être convenablement habillés.

Une reliure bien conditionnée doit être à la fois solide, légère et élégante, le volume doit s’ouvrir facilement et rester ouvert sur la table à n’importe quelle page, la couverture et les feuilles doivent former un tout bien uni. Le dos doit se briser facilement sans conserver les traces de la brisure, le tranchefile doit être d’une régularité absolue, les marges extérieures doivent être le moins possible rognées. Les amateurs considèrent cette question de la marge comme une des plus importantes avec celle de la couture. On ne la résout d’une façon satisfaisante que quand les cartons sont rognés d’équerre avant d’être appliqués.

Toutes ces qualités ont l’air d’être bien élémentaires. Leur réunion est pourtant très-rare, et telle reliure brillante, avec dentelles, fers, filets compliqués, ornements découpés, ne vaudra pas pour le connaisseur la reliure toute simple où l’ensemble de ces principes a été minutieusement et savamment appliqué.

Ce dernier genre de reliure, la reliure vraiment utile, courante, pratique, ne fait pas très-bonne figure à l’Exposition. Je n’ai vu une exécution hors ligne que chez Marne, les reliures ordinaires de cette maison sont aussi solides qu’élégantes et d’un bon marché étonnant. En lui décernant le grand prix d’honneur de sa classe, je suis persuadé que le jury a pris en considération cette spécialité parmi les nombreuses industries qui animent la grande usine de Tours. On pourrait examiner ces volumes à la loupe pour y trouver quelque-chose à reprendre. Le mérite d’une profession — on ne saurait trop le répéter en présence de certaines exhibitions phénoménales — n’est pas dans le coûteux enfantement d’un produit exceptionnel, fait uniquement pour la montre et le tire-l’œil, il est dans la combinaison de l’exécution la plus parfaite et de son application possible et économique à l’usage le plus étendu. Or, les reliures de la maison Marne résolvent complètement le problème. Elles unissent la perfection professionnelle au bon marché. Voilà de la vraie et grande industrie. La maison Marne expose d’ailleurs de très-beaux spécimens de reliures de luxe appliqués à ses grands livres : la Touraine, les Jardins, la Bible, le La Bruyère, etc.

Avec les autres relieurs qui ont exposé dans la classe 7, on revient aux reliures artistiques, réservées aux riches bibliothèques d’amateurs. M. Cottin, l’héritier de Simier, a dans ce genre, une très-belle exposition qui lui a valu une grande médaille. Je signalerai l’exemplaire de la Vie de César donné par l’Empereur à la bibliothèque du Corps législatif : c’est très-riche, mais un peu surchargé.

La foule s’arrête surtout devant la vitrine de Gruel-Engelman. Elle s’extasie devant un livre de mariage sur vélin suspendu, comme le diamant le Sancy est suspendu dans la section delà bijouterie, et dont la reliure Catherine de Médicis est cotée douze mille francs. A côté est le livre de chasse du comte d’Os-mont, recouvert en bois fouillé et sculpté avec beaucoup d’art. N’oublions pas un livre d’heures appartenant au comte de Vogué avec ornements en acier d'un très-bon goût et d’un bel effet.

L’exposition de M. Engel est très-mêlée. J’ai remarqué un livre (Botanique à ma fille) dont les dorures sont d’une invention et d’une délicatesse remarquables; mais à côté il y a des livres surchargés, bariolés, comme cet exemplaire de l’Amour et Psyché qu’un véritable amateur n’admettra jamais dans sa bibliothèque. Il serait injuste d’oublier quelques volumes dont les dos, dorés à la presse, sont bien exécutés.
M. Cayley-Hirou a eu une médaille. Je ne m’arrêterai pas à ses imitations de parchemin, qui sont très-bonnes, mais je dirai que la médaille serait pleinement méritée rien que par cet exemplaire in-18 du Renard de Gœthe, un volume en veau fauve vraiment exquis, un fin joyau d’un goût charmant et sobre.

M. Lenègre a un magnifique in-folio (Iconographie du palais de Fontainebleau ), de beaux classiques reliés avec élégance et solidité et des albums très-riches.

Le volume : Vie des Saints, exposé par M, Parisot, n’est pas dépourvu de mérite. Il est rouge et vert avec gardes en soie et tranches ciselées. Mais je préfère ses bréviaires, qu’il établit à 8 fr. 50 c. et à 12 fr. et qui sont très-jolis et très-avantageux.

En somme, la reliure n’est pas en progrès, nos artistes imitent les types de leurs prédécesseurs sans leur donner de cachet particulier. On peut s’en assurer en voyant les volumes exposés dans la Galerie de l’histoire du travail. Le dix-huitième siècle donnait à ses mignons chefs-d’œuvre des types particuliers, une tournure spéciale et nouvelle. A quoi reconnaîtra-t-on les reliures du dix-neuvième siècle?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée