International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Central garden seen from inside the Palace

Central garden seen from inside the Palace at the Exhibition Paris 1867

We have given or will give successively the different aspects of both the Palace and the Park, so that our readers can recompose the whole monument of the Champ de Mars as soon as it has disappeared.

When one enters the Palais and arrives at the latitude of the Galerie des Beaux-Arts, one has in front of one the view of the central garden as it is represented in our drawing of today. This view is taken from the rue d'Alsace, but if you were to arrive by any other radiating route, the appearance would be more or less the same. As the central garden is very narrow in relation to its length, only the diametral lanes of the large and small axis open directly onto the pavilion of the mints, which is the exact middle of the central garden. By all the other radiating paths, one discovers only one or the other half of the central Garden, which are absolutely similar. The edges and the middle aisle are filled with statues, some of which are remarkable - we will tell you about them another time. Roses are planted between the pedestals. A double garland of flowers in flowerbeds forms a belt. A water fountain springs up in the middle of the double bed.

The archway through which these beds and the outer canopy on the opposite side of the point from which we enter the garden can be seen, this archway, I say, is decorated with Gobelin tapestries raised by tiebacks.

Our readers have already been told about the archaeological drawings that line the walls of the marquee: we will speak another time, I repeat, about the statues lavished in the counter-alleys. Let us talk today about the Garden itself.

This is not the garden we had dreamed of. Instead of etic roses, Lilliputian ponds and miniature flowerbeds, the idea was to transport ornamental foliage trees, flowering shrubs and plants with large spires, and to dig two large ponds between a central causeway, which would have been crossed on bridges to go from one side of the Garden to the other, and from which large water jets would have sprung.
But the delay in installing the Palace made it impossible to transport the trees intended for its decoration to the Central Garden. And this is how the Reserved Garden benefited from what the Central Garden lacked. The mint pavilion, which could just as easily have been placed in the Park or under the great gallery of machines, replaced the planned large transverse causeway, the middle of which would have been occupied by an orchestra.

The Pavilion of the Coins is very ingeniously installed, but it lacks elegance, and it cuts the view of the Garden in two, which, in spite of this, is very pleasant in detail.

There had also been talk of covering the whole Garden with a huge canopy: this would have been easy, given the small width of the Garden, and I do not know why this project was abandoned: the folding of the canopy would have been an evening's entertainment for the first visitors.

But we couldn't do everything, and the expenses had to be rigorously calculated.

The wonders that were achieved more than make up for the wonders that were promised.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Jardin central vu de l’intérieur du Palais

Jardin central vu de l’intérieur du Palais à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Nous avons donné ou nous donnerons successivement les différents aspects tant du Palais que du Parc, afin que nos lecteurs puissent recomposer tout le monument du Champ de Mars dès qu’il aura disparu.

Lorsqu’on pénètre dans le Palais et qu’on arrive à la latitude de la galerie des Beaux-Arts, on a devant soi la vue du Jardin central telle qu’elle est figurée dans notre dessin d’aujourd’hui. Cette vue est prise par la rue d’Alsace, mais on arriverait par toute autre voie rayonnante, que l’aspect serait, à peu de chose près, le même. Comme le Jardin central est très-étroit relativement à sa longueur, il n’y a que les voies diamétrales du grand et du petit axe qui s’ouvrent directement sur le pavillon des monnaies, qui foi me le milieu exact du Jardin central. Par toutes les autres voies rayonnantes, on ne découvre en arrivant que l’une ou l’autre moitié du Jardin central, qui sont absolument semblables. Un peuple de statues, dont quelques-unes remarquables — nous vous en parlerons une autre fois —en occupe les bords et l’allée médiane. Des rosiers sont plantés entre les socles. Une double guirlande de fleurs en plate-bande forme ceinture. Un jet d’eau jaillit au milieu du double massif.

L’arcade par laquelle on aperçoit ces massifs et la marquise extérieure du côté opposé du point par lequel nous accédons au Jardin, celte arcade, dis-je, est ornée de tapisseries des Gobelins relevées par des embrasses.

On a déjà entretenu nos lecteurs des dessins archéologiques qui tapissent les parois de la marquise : nous parlerons une autre fois, je le répète, des statues prodiguées dans les contre-allées'. Parlons aujourd’hui du Jardin même.

Ce n’est pas là le jardin que nous avions rêvé. A la place de rosiers étiques, de bassins lilliputiens, et de plates-bandes en miniature, il avait d’abord été question de transporter des arbres à feuillage ornemental, des arbustes à fleurs et des plantes à grande flèche, de creuser entre une chaussée centrale deux grands bassins qu’on aurait traversés sur des ponts pour aller d’un côté à l’autre du Jardin, et d’où se seraient élancés de grands jets d’eau.
Mais, avec le retard qu’on avait mis dans les installations du Palais, il eût été impossible de transporter jusqu’au Jardin central les arbres destinés à son ornementation. Et voilà comment le Jardin réservé a profité de ce qui manque au Jardin central. Le pavillon des monnaies, qu’on aurait aussi bien pu placer dans le Parc ou sous la grande galerie des machines, a remplacé la grande chaussée transversale projetée, et dont le milieu aurait été occupé par un orchestre.

Le Pavillon des monnaies est très-ingénieusement installé, mais il manque d’élégance, et il coupe désagréablement en deux la vue du Jardin, qui, malgré cela, est fort agréable en détail.

Il avait été question également de couvrir tout le Jardin par un immense vélum : cela eût été facile, vu le peu de largeur du Jardin et je ne sais pourquoi on a renoncé à ce projet: le repliage du vélum aurait été pour 1er visiteurs une distraction de tous les soirs.

Mais on n’a pu tout faire, et il fallait rigoureusement calculer les dépenses.

Les merveilles réalisées font largement compensation d’ailleurs aux merveilles promises.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée