International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Isba Russian-Annex

Isba Russian-Annex at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Separated from the dwelling house proper by an open shed, under which the instruments of agriculture were stored, the annex whose interior we wish to describe is devoted to classes 49, 69 and 70 in particular, i.e. to the raw or prepared products of hunting and fishing. First of all, we are obliged to make a slight reproach to the Russian commission, which has set up its exhibition of shaped wood so well, for having completely forgotten that the French chroniclers were all ignorant of the Russian language. Hence the fact that their keeper himself did not know a word of this beautiful language, and, even better, could not read Russian any more than he could read French, so that all sorts of information was forbidden to researchers.

Another reproach: most of the curious equipment gathered in this small house does not even bear the indispensable concordance number with the magnificent catalogue that the commission has had printed with the luxury and care that it knows how to put into these kinds of things. How is it that the negligence of which we complain, especially for the public, has occurred? We do not know, but the Commissioner General certainly does not know. May these few lines tell him at the same time!

We leave aside the cheeses, of which a very smelly pyramid fills the middle of the flat, and we approach the back of the small room, where the numerous samples of preserved fish are displayed, most of them simply dried in the open air. These fish come from the coasts of the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea. The government of Kersen on the former, and the vicinity of the Crimea, the mouths of the Volga, Astrakhan, on the latter, seem to be the places of greatest production or at least of concentration of these products unknown to us, but whose use can be very easily explained by the customs of the Russian populations.

In fact, the rites of the Greek religion, strictly observed by the people, forbid the use of meat during a series of Lenten periods which can be estimated at a third of the year; it is therefore necessary to make up for this by eating fish, and as, in the final analysis, not all the districts touch the sea or the great rivers, to draw from them a supply which is indispensable to such a long, lean diet. On the other hand, the Russian waters are fertile in fish, from which it follows that fishing plays a very important part among the industries of the empire, and that fish constitutes, in a great number of places, the only food of the inhabitants.

The great fisheries are situated mainly on the shores of the Black Sea, the Sea of Azof, and the Caspian Sea; some are also situated on the banks of the great rivers near their mouths, for example the Don, the Volga, the Ural, the Dniester, the Dniper, etc. These fisheries are real factories, considerable factories that entrepreneurs operate and for the operation of which they erect, in the designated places, accommodation for the workers, and useful buildings for the salting and drying of the fish of which we see samples, the manufacture of caviar, the Russian national dish, fish glue, and Vesiga, the backbone of the great sturgeon, which is sought after for the table when it has undergone special culinary preparation, but which seems to us, despite the embellishments and embellishments imparted to it by the producers, to be a mere white variety of the strong glue

Among the dried fish that we encounter, we must mention breams of 0m,40 in length, especially sandrats (lucioperca sandra), this fish that one wanted to acclimatise here and that one can call a perch with pike teeth, that is to say an eater and a devastator added to those that are already only in too great a number in our impoverished waters. There are sandrat, sent by the Cossacks from the banks of the Kuban to the Black Sea, which are 1.20 metres long and proportionately large: some are simply dried, others are smoked. One also sees pikes, white fish, sorts of suckers or chub (cyp. grislagine and jeses) whose flesh full of bones must have nothing pleasant.

But the main fishery is that which is called, in the country, the fishing of goldfish, that is to say that of the sturgeon and its two or three varieties, some individuals of which are 3, 4 and 6 metres long and weigh several hundred kilos. The quantity of these fishes that are prepared is enormous, and yet all this is not yet sufficient for Russia's consumption of fish; she must ask for more than six million francs a year from Norway.

The objects we have just reviewed are really the most interesting part of this exhibition. We will add to them some nets or specimens which offer nothing new. As for the other objects, they are the real remains of wild peoples. To the walls are attached skin garments of all kinds, from the seal garment, transparent as wet parchment, to the black or brown bear skin robe, more or less studded with embroidery added at the bottom, top, sleeves, and all over. We would like to point out the curious remains of two felines, one of a rather thin royal tiger and the other of a sort of white panther with grey eyes without the beautiful yellow tone that makes these skins so beautiful. It looks like a panther dyed by the cold.

Here are the game traps of Siberia, built of birch branches and equipped with their bow with gut string, axes, arrows, tridents, spearheads, spoons of bone in one piece; then seats, some triangular, others magisterial, and all made of wood with little padding, but embellished with knife cuts. Add to this a walrus head, and we have what the Yakuts, Chokuts and other peoples of the Don, Arkangel, Siberia, Astrakhan, etc., thought would interest us.

Poor people! They have sculpted for us the scenes of their ordinary life. Here is the arrival of the sledge loaded with Towers killed in the common hunt, the village, the dogs, the horse pen, the women and children. Then, next to it, the details of the terrible fight that had to be fought with the bear, which was recalcitrant in allowing itself to be undressed without saying a word, and the homeric blows with its paws and jaws. A man is dead, watch out! And, during this time, the dog - so the naive sculptor wanted - watches with a stoic air the defeat of his master, sitting gravely on his good man and with his tail in trumpet!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Isba Russe-Annexe

Isba Russe-Annexe à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Séparée de la maison d’habitation proprement dite, par un hangar ouvert, sous lequel on a rangé les instruments de l’agriculture, l’annexe dont nous voulons décrire l’intérieur, est consacrée aux classes 49,69 et 70 surtout, c’est-à-dire aux produits bruts ou préparés de la chasse et de la pêche. Tout d’abord nous sommes obligés de faire un léger reproche à la commission russe, — elle qui a si bien installé son exposition de bois façonnés — d’avoir absolument oublié que les chroniqueurs français ignoraient tous la langue russe. D’où il résulte que leur gardien lui-même ne sachant pas un mot de cette belle langue, et, bien mieux, ne sachant pas lire le russe plus que Je français, toute espèce de renseignements sont interdits aux chercheurs.

Autre reproche ; la plus grande partie des engins si curieux rassemblés dans cette petite maison ne porte même pas le numéro de concordance indispensable avec le magnifique catalogue que la commission a fait imprimer avec le luxe et le soin qu’elle sait mettre à ces sortes de choses. Comment se fait-il que les négligences dont nous nous plaignons, — pour le public surtout—se soient produites? Nous l’ignorons, mais certainement le commissaire général ne le sait pas. Puissent ces quelques lignes le lui apprendre en même temps !

Nous laissons de côté les fromages, dont une pyramide très-odorante remplit le milieu de l’appartement, et nous nous approchons du fond de la petite salle, là où s’étalent les nombreux échantillons de poissons conservés et tout simplement séchés, pour la plupart, à l’air libre. Ces poissons viennent des côtes de la mer Noire et de celles de la mer Caspienne. Le gouvernement de Kersen sur la première, et les environs de la Crimée, les bouches du Volga, Astrakan, sur la seconde, paraissent les lieux de plus grande production ou au moins de concentration de ces produits inconnus chez nous, mais dont l’usage s’explique très-facilement par les mœurs des populations russes.

En effet, les rites de la religion grecque, observés strictement par le peuple, lui défendent l’usage de la viande pendant une série de carêmes qui peuvent être estimés au tiers de l’année; il faut donc y suppléer par celui du poisson, et comme, en définitive, tous les districts ne touchent pas à la mer ou aux grands fleuves, en tirer une provision indispensable à une aussi longue alimentation maigre. D’un autre côté, les eaux russes sont fertiles en poissons, d’où il suit que la pêche joue parmi les industries de l’empire un rôle très-important, et que le poisson constitue, dans un grand nombre d’endroits, la seule nourriture des habitants.

Les grandes pêcheries sont situées surtout sur le rivage de la mer Noire, de la mer d’Azof et de la mer Caspienne, quelques-unes sont situées également sur les bords de grands fleuves vers leur embouchure, par exemple le Don, le Volga, l’Oural, le Dniester, le Dniéper, etc. Ces pêcheries sont de véritables fabriques, des usines considérables que des entrepreneurs font marcher et pour l’exploitation desquelles, ils élèvent aux endroits désignés des logements pour les travailleurs, et les bâtiments utiles pour les salaisons et le séchage du poisson dont nous voyons les échantillons, la fabrication du caviar, le mets national russe, de la colle de poisson et de la Vesiga, corde dorsale des grands esturgeons qui est recherchée pour la table lorsqu’on lui a fait subir une préparation culinaire spéciale, mais qui nous semble, malgré les enjolivements et les fioritures que lui impriment les producteurs, une simple variété blanche de la colle forte.

Parmi les poissons séchés que nous rencontrons, il faut citer des brèmes de 0m,40 de longueur, surtout des sandrats (lucioperca sandra), ce poisson que l’on a voulu acclimater chez nous et que l’on peut appeler une perche à dents de brochet, c’est à dire un mangeur et un dévastateur ajouté à ceux qui ne sont déjà qu’en trop grand nombre dans nos eaux appauvries. Il y a là des sandrats, envoyés par les cosaques des bords du Kouban vers la mer Noire, qui mesurent 1m, 20 de longueur et qui sont gros à proportion : les uns sont séchés simplement, les autres sont fumés. On voit également des brochets, des poissons blancs, sortes de meuniers ou chevesnes (cyp. grislagine et jeses) dont la chair pleine d’arêtes ne doit avoir rien d’agréable.

Mais la pêche principale est celle que l’on appelle, dans le pays, le pêche des poissons rouges, c’est à dire celle de l’esturgeon et de ses deux ou trois variétés, dont quelques individus ont 3, 4 et 6 mètres de long sur un : poids de plusieurs centaines de kilos. La quantité de ces poissons que l’on prépare est énorme, et cependant tout cela ne suffit pas encore à la consommation de la Russie, en poisson ; il faut qu’elle en demande pour plus de six millions de francs par an à la Norwége.

Les objets que nous venons de passer en revue sont véritablement la partie la plus intéressante de cette exposition. Nous y ajouterons des filets ou spécimens qui n’offrent rien de nouveau. Quant aux autres objets ce sont de véritables dépouilles de peuplades sauvages. Aux murs, sont appendus des vêtements de peau de toute espèce, depuis le vêtement de phoque, transparent comme du parchemin mouillé, jusqu’à la robe de peau d’ours noir ou brun, plus ou moins constellée de broderies ajoutées en bas, en haut, aux manches, un peu partout. Nous voulons signaler la curieuse dépouille de deux félins, une de tigre royal assez maigre et l’autre d’une sorte de panthère blanche à ocelles grises sans le beau ton jaune fulgurant qui rend ces peaux si belles. On dirait une panthère déteinte par le froid.

Voici les pièges à gibelines de la Sibérie, construits en branches de bouleau et munis de leur arc à corde de boyau, des haches, des flèches, des tridents, des pointes de lance, des cuillers d’os d’un seul morceau; puis des sièges, les uns triangulaires, les autres magistraux et tous en bois peu rembourré, mais enjolivé de découpures au couteau. Ajoutons-y une tête de morse, et nous aurons, ce par quoi les Iakoutes, les Tchokoutes et autres peuples du Don, d’Arkangel, de Sibérie, d’Astrakan, etc., ont cru pouvoir nous intéresser.

Pauvres gens! ils ont sculpté pour nous les scènes de leur vie ordinaire. Voici l’arrivée du traîneau chargé de Tours tué dans la chasse commune, le village, les chiens, l’enclos des chevaux, les femmes et les enfants. Puis, à côté, les détails du terrible combat qu’il a fallu livrer à l’ours récalcitrant à se laisser déshabiller sans rien dire, et les homériques coups de pattes et de mâchoires. Il y a mort d’homme, attention ! Et, pendant ce temps, le chien — ainsi l’a voulu le naïf sculpteur—regarde d’un air stoïque la défaite de son maître, assis gravement sur son bienséant et la queue en trompette !

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée