International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

French ceramics

French ceramics at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Before talking about earthenware, it is worth defining it exactly.

We can divide them into two classes: red earthenware and white earthenware. The first one is a reddish terracotta, covered with a white glaze, vitrifiable, opaque, whose base is tin. The second is a fired clay, similar in tone to pipe clay, with a silicate glaze.

For a long time, the only known type of earthenware was that with tanniferous glazes. The invention is generally attributed to the Florentine Luca Delia Robbia, but this is an error, since Arab workers had previously decorated the Alhambra in Granada, the Alcazar in Seville, and the mosques of Cadiz and Cordoba with tiles. Passeri, in his Historia delle pitture in majolica, assures us that he saw real faience among the ornaments of a tomb in the year 1100, and the factories of Faenza were not established until the fifteenth century.

White earthenware, also known as opaque porcelain, is only a few years old, and never shone with greater brilliance than at the 1867 Exhibition. The Kensington Museum, the public and private collections of Europe and America, competed for the numerous and remarkable samples.

The Deck company is the most complete representative of opaque porcelain. The paintings of the artists it employs are executed on biscuit, with metallic and vitrifiable colours; the piece then receives a translucent covering, and is fired in a large fire. It emerges with tones that are as rich as they are solid. If, in certain respects, oil paintings, watercolours, gouaches and pastels prevail over ceramic products, the latter have an invaluable advantage: their brilliance, their colours and their glaze are indelible; they suffer neither from humidity, nor from cold nor from heat.

Mr. Deck has the secrets of preparation and firing that have ensured his reputation; he also knows how to surround himself with painters, each of whom excels in a spontaneously chosen genre, and distinguishes himself by a well-defined individuality. Mr. Ranvier imitates or reproduces the figures of Etruscan vases. Mr. Gluck has knights armed from head to foot, squires carrying blazoned banners, chatelaines wearing hennines, pages in half-timbered costume, falconers and varlets: his hunting and war scenes are full of spirit and movement.

M. Ehrmann is a fine, skilful and ingenious decorator, well versed in architectural studies. M. Legrain treats allegorical subjects with real superiority, while Mme Lescallié knows how to happily arrange groups of flowers.

Such is the valiant platoon of which Mr. Deck is the captain and which he leads to victory.

M. Deck has understood perfectly well what the measure of decorative earthenware should be; MM. Utzschneider et Cie, from Sarreguemines (Moselle), seem to have exaggerated it. On round vases, planters, jardinières, they lavish allegorical paintings, views, landscapes; it is exuberant. These paintings have the defect of being executed on enamel, of which they annihilate all transparency, all limpidity. The factories of Sarreguemines are in a better position as regards the large pieces of wardrobe, washbasins, toilets, the making of which offers so many difficulties.

The large French faience factories of Sarreguemines, Creil, Montereau, Gien, Bordeaux, have long lived indolently under the protection of the monopoly that the absolute prohibition of foreign faience assured them. They were almost always content to copy English models which they repeated over and over again. Since the trade treaty, stimulated by competition, they have varied their models and have left the routine.

A large number of exhibitors, concerned about the need to deliver their earthenware at a good price, decorate it by chromolithography, by printing in colour on the paste. This process was, as early as 1818, the subject of a patent taken out by M. Legros d'Anisy, and which he gave up exploiting after impotent attempts. The application of lithography to ceramics was revived in 1850, and the Darte brothers successfully produced monochrome prints, including the most complicated gold designs. A few years later, a printer named Mangin created what he called calcography, and he traced, on porcelain or earthenware, drawings painted with metallic oxides and vitrifiable. Mr. Mangin, after fifteen years of effort, was forced to return to the workshops of Mr. Guesnu, from where he had started; but his invention is not dead. It is used successfully by the Prévost and Macé companies, both of Paris.

But was there not something else besides chromolithography? This is what M. E. Rousseau sought, and he found a new application for etching, whose bites are so deep and whose prints are so clear. The table services executed by him on the drawings of Mr. Bracquemont, reach an extraordinary richness of tone, and have the advantage of being able to be delivered at low cost.

Mr. Bracquemont engraves fish, birds and flowers. Once the plate is finished, proofs are cut out of it, still fresh, and applied to the piece to be decorated.

Let us suppose that it is a white earthenware or opaque porcelain plate.

Before firing it, the cut-out prints are placed on top.

It is put in the oven.

The paper burns, the prints remain.

The firing is interrupted to colour these prints with metallic oxides. The plate is covered with a translucent cover and fired over a large fire.

Mr. Rousseau, who is an indefatigable innovator, had another idea that could be fruitful. Earthenware is eminently suitable for the exterior decoration of buildings; but if an iconoclastic passer-by or an idle child strikes the ceramic work with a stone or a stick, the work is lost forever!

How can damage be prevented? By applying to earthenware the system adopted for stained glass. M. E. Rousseau divides each plate into pieces which are then put together and welded with plaster. This is how the Return from the Land of Canaan, whose figures are of natural size, was executed. When viewed from a distance, the dots disappear and the black lines that follow the main contours contribute to the effect.

The Return of the Land of Canaan was painted on raw glaze, by a process of unheard-of difficulty, but with which our artists obtain beautiful results.

You take a panel of terracotta, or to put it more accurately, degreased; you dip it in a bath of stanniferous enamel which, drying almost immediately, adheres under (orme of white dust.

You paint on it; but beware! Do not hesitate for a single moment! This powdery and grainy layer eagerly drinks up the colours; corrections are impossible; and if your brush deviates, all is lost!

Be careful to calculate the changes that your colouring oxides will undergo in the fire.

If you have overcome these obstacles, you fire the piece in one large kiln fire. The glaze and the paint melt together, unite intimately with each other, incorporate with the paste, and form paintings full of vigour and brilliance. One can judge this at the Exhibition of 1867, by those of Messrs. Hippolyte Pinart, the skilful reproducer of the classical masters; Michel Bouquet, the landscape painter; Laurin, whose bandits have such a proud look; Genlis and Rudhart, whose earthenware reminds one of those of the old artists of Rouen.

The imitations of old earthenware were more numerous and even more successful in 1867 than at previous exhibitions.

Naturally Bernard Palissy is at the head of the imitations. The productions of this famous potter from Sainton were at first, as is well known, only dishes enriched with various glazes and enameled with iaspe. He then made, for the lordly dressers, rustic pieces, basins, where on a bed of leaves with apparent veins, fish, reptiles, shells and insects are jumbled together. Later, Palissy substituted bas-reliefs, capricious arabesques, and grimacing mascarons for these mouldings on nature. He made statuettes and completed his work with the invention of rustic figulines for garden decoration.

In all these genres, Bernard Palissy has continuators.

M. Avisseau of Tours was the first to discover the secret of rustic pieces. A sixteenth-century manuscript, published in Volume II of the Monumens inédits, stated that, to prepare the motifs of the composition, it was necessary to glue the plants on a tin dish with Venetian turpentine; to fix the little creatures to it by means of wires that passed through the dish, which had previously been pierced with small holes; and finally, to cast with fine plaster. M. Avisseau thought that it was better to model than to mould; and his compositions, full of movement and life, were soon sought after by many amateurs. When death struck him, he had won a place among artists.

M. Avisseau fils has not degenerated. He knows how to make the breeze flow through the leaves; how to make the lizard run, turning around as it flees, to look at the object of its fear; how to make the folds of the irritated snake undulate, swelling as it hisses. To paint his animals, M. Avisseau fils has found particular reds and whites, a deep black, and other colours which he prepares in his domestic workshop, with the help of a sister and a nephew. He imitated Bernard Palissy to the end, who had associated his nephews Nicolas and Mathurin, as we learn from the book of expenses, kept in 1570 by the clerk of the King's works.

A ewer and its tray, exhibited by M. Avisseau, are obtained by a patient inlaying of coloured pastes, according to a process whose origins were discovered by the learned archaeologist Benjamin Fillon in Oiron in the Vendée. The difficulties involved in making these pieces, especially during firing, which can destroy in an instant the fruit of several months' work, have been symbolised by the potter-artist in an oval bas-relief made of bisque clay. It represents the ceramic personified, with the ancient wheel of the potters beside her, and meditating anxiously before the kiln on which her destiny depends. She experiences the anguish that Palissy described so well in his memoirs, "When he was deemed to be mad, and went through the streets, all bowed down, like a shameful man. "

On M. Barbizet's large dishes, the vegetation is luxuriant; the lizards warm their emerald scales in the sun, the lobsters stand up on their hairy legs, as if to regain their natural element.
M. Barbizet is not only inspired by Palissy; he is seduced by the broad style and warm colouring of Italian majolica.
His enormous buire, in one piece, except for the foot, would have produced a good effect on a suitable pedestal at the end of the avenue of a garden in the time of Como de Medici. Her figure of a Negress, of natural size, draped in bright fabrics, would be well placed on a grand staircase; a hole has been made in the interior of this one-piece statue, and from the basket she carries on her head a shower of light can be seen. The most important work in M. Barbizet's exhibition is a rock on which children are frolicking, one of whom is holding a large valve with water-green streaks and fringes of lichen and moss. King Wilhelm, after taking the advice of M. de Bismark, bought this important piece for the castle of Potsdam.

Walking through the galleries of class 17, one might think oneself lost in the midst of a ceramic collection from all periods and all countries. The elegant ewer of M. Ulysse seems to have escaped from the museum of Blois, of which he is the curator, and to date from the time of Henry II. It is from the factories of Faenza and Urbino that the great torchère of M. Auguste Jean must have come out, and his fountain with two basins, the lower one of which is supported by nereids sitting on conventional dolphins created by mythology. A potter from Rouen, contemporary of Louis XV, would have signed the pretty vase of M. Abel Girard, from Aprey (Haute-Marne), with a medallion and blue arabesques on a white background. The fountain and the basin of M. Signoret, from Nevers, are reminiscent of the pieces that can be admired in the Musée de la Place Ducale. As for Mr. Georges Pull, he is a sixteenth century artist, from whom he borrows various models. Here, from Bernard Palissy, is a dish representing Pomona, a dish cut to size, and two charming figures, the hurdy-gurdy player and the nurse; here, from Benvenuto Cellini, is a ewer decorated with enamels; from Jean Goujon, a Diana the Huntress; from Germain Pilon, a large earthenware fireplace. This is the one that once decorated the salon of the Château de Villeroy, and which is now in the Renaissance room in the Louvre. Caryatids with satyr-like faces, long beards and horned foreheads support the rich mantle. It is composed of twenty-eight pieces, which had to be held in a large fire to obtain good connections. The enormous difficulty and the originality of this work explain the high price that Mr. Georges Pull asked for it, thirty thousand francs; but it is money.

Outside of class 17, we find in class 8: Application of drawing and plastic arts to everyday life, a model of a Persian kiosk, by Messrs Collinot and Adalbert de Beaumont. Their cover plates, their fountains, their vases, on which garlands of flowers run, earned them a gold medal.

As we can see from the study we have just made, the reputation of French earthenware, which was so great at the time when Nevers, Rouen, Moustiers and Sainte-Marie (Basses-Alpes) flourished, may have been neglected for a while; but it is rising from its ashes and, both for domestic use and for monumental ornamentation, it is destined for a brilliant future.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Faïences françaises

Faïences françaises à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Avant de parler des faïences il est à propos de les définir bien exactement.

On peut les diviser en deux classes: la faïence rouge et la faïence blanche. La première est une terre cuite d’un ton rougeâtre, recouverte d’un émail blanc, vitrifiable, opaque, dont la base est l’étain. La seconde est une argile cuite, d’un ton analogue à celui de la terre de pipe, et dont la couverte est un silicate.

La faïence à émails tannifère fut longtemps la seule connue. L’invention en est généralement attribuée au Florentin Luca délia Robbia; mais c’est une erreur, puisque, antérieurement, des ouvriers arabes avaient orné de carreaux de faïence l’Alhambra de Grenade, l’Alcazar de Séville, les mosquées de Cadix et de Cordoue. Passeri, dans son Historia delle pitture in majolica, assure avoir vu de véritables faïences parmi les ornements d’un tombeau de l’an 1100, et les fabriques de Faenza ne s’établirent qu’au quinzième siècle.

La Faïence blanche, désignée aussi sous le nom de porcelaine opaque, ne date que de quelques années, et jamais elle n’avait brillé de plus d’éclat qu’à l’Exposition de 1867. Le musée de Kensington, les collections publiques ou particulières de l’Europe et de l’Amérique, s’en sont disputé les nombreux et remarquables échantillons.

C’est la maison Deck qui représente le plus complètement la porcelaine opaque. Les peintures des artistes qu’elle emploie sont exécutées sur biscuit, avec des couleurs métalliques et vitrifiables; la pièce reçoit ensuite une couverte translucide, puis elle est cuite au grand feu. Elle en sort avec des tons aussi riches que solides. Si, à certains égards, les tableaux à l’huile, aquarelles, gouaches, pastels l’emportent sur les produits de la céramique, ceux-ci ont un avantage inappréciable : c’est que leur éclat, leurs teintes, leur émail, sont indélébiles; ils ne souffrent ni de l’humidité, ni du froid, ni de la chaleur.

M. Deck possède des secrets de préparation et de cuisson qui ont assuré sa renommée ; il sait aussi s’entourer de peintres dont chacun excelle dans un genre choisi spontanément, et se distingue par une individualité bien tranchée. M. Ranvier imite ou reproduit les figures des vases étrusques. M. Gluck fait défiler devant nous les chevaliers armés de pied en cap, les écuyers portant des bannières blasonnées, les châtelaines coiffées du hennin, les pages en costume mi-parti, les fauconniers et les varlets: ses scènes de chasse et de guerre sont pleines d’entrain et de mouvement.

M. Ehrmann est un décorateur fin, habile et ingénieux, versé dans les études architecturales. M. Legrain traite avec une supériorité réelle les sujets allégoriques, tandis que Mme Lescallié sait heureusement disposer des groupes de fleurs.

Tel est le vaillant peloton dont M. Deck est le capitaine et qu’il conduit à la victoire.

M. Deck a compris à merveille quelle devait être la mesure des faïences décoratives ; MM. Utzschneider et Cie, de Sarreguemines (Moselle), nous paraissent l’avoir exagérée. Sur des vases ronds, des cache-pots, des jardinières, ils prodiguent les tableaux allégoriques, les vues, les paysages; c’est exubérant. Ces peintures ont le défaut d’être exécutées sur l’émail, dont elles annihilent toute la transparence, toute la limpidité. Les fabriques de Sarreguemines sont dans une meilleure voie en ce qui concerne les grandes pièces de garde-robe, lavabos, toilettes, dont la confection offre tant de difficultés.

Les grandes faïenceries françaises de Sarreguemines, Creil, Montereau, Gien, Bordeaux, ont longtemps vécu indolemment sous la protection du monopole que leur assurait la prohibition absolue des faïences étrangères. Elles se contentaient presque toujours de copier des modèles anglais qu’elles répétaient à satiété. Depuis le traité de commerce, stimulées par la concurrence, elles ont varié leurs modèles et sont sorties de la routine.

Un grand nombre d’exposants, préoccupés de la nécessité de livrer leurs faïences à bon marché, les décorent par la chromolithographie, par l’impression en couleur sur la pâte. Ce procédé fut, dès 1818, l’objet d’un brevet que prit M. Legros d’Anisy, et qu’il renonça à exploiter après d’impuissants essais. L’application de la lithographie à la céramique reparut en 1850, et les frères Darte firent avec succès des impressions monochromes, et notamment les dessins en or les plus compliqués. Quelques années plus tard, un imprimeur nommé Mangin, créa ce qu’il appela la calcographie, et il calqua, sur porcelaine ou sur faïence, des dessins peints avec des oxydes métalliques et vitrifiables. M. Mangin, au bout de quinze ans d’efforts, se vit forcé de rentrer dans les ateliers de M. Guesnu, d’où il était parti ; mais son invention n’est pas morte. Elle est employée avec succès par les maisons Prévost et Macé, toutes deux de Paris.

Mais n’y avait-il pas autre chose que la chromolithographie? C’est ce qu’a cherché M. E, Rousseau, et il a trouvé une application nouvelle de l’eau-forte dont les morsures sont si profondes et les empreintes si nettes. Les services de table exécutés par lui sur les dessins de M. Bracquemont, arrivent à une richesse de tons extraordinaire, et ont l’avantage de pouvoir être livrés à bon marché.

M. Bracquemont grave des poissons, des oiseaux, des fleurs. La planche terminée, on en tire des épreuves qui sont découpées, toutes fraîches encore, et appliquées sur la pièce à décorer.

Supposons qu’il s’agisse d’une assiette en faïence blanche ou porcelaine opaque.

Avant de la cuire, on dispose dessus les épreuves découpées.

Elle est portée au four.

Le papier brûle, les empreintes restent.

On interrompt la cuisson pour colorier ces empreintes avec des oxydes métalliques. On revêt l’assiette d’une couverte translucide et on la cuit au grand feu.

M. Rousseau, qui est un infatigable novateur, a eu une autre idée qui peut être féconde. Les faïences sont éminemment propres à l’ornementation extérieure des édifices; mais qu'un passant iconoclaste, un gamin désœuvré, frappent d’une pierre ou d’un bâton le travail céramique, et voilà ce travail à jamais perdu!

Comment prévenir les avaries ? En appliquant aux faïences le système adopté pour les vitraux. M. E. Rousseau divise chaque plaque en morceaux qui sont ensuite rassemblés et soudés avec du plâtre. Ainsi a été exécuté le Retour de la terre de Chanaan, dont les figures sont de grandeur naturelle. Quand on voit d’une certaine distance ce grand panneau de faïence, les points disparaissent, et les traits noirs qui suivent les contours principaux contribuent à l’effet.

Le Retour de la terre de Chanaan a été peint sur émail cru, par un procédé d’une difficulté inouïe, mais avec lequel nos artistes obtiennent de beaux résultats.

Vous prenez un panneau de terre cuite, ou pour mieux dire dégourdie; vous le trempez dans un bain d’émail stannifère qui, séchant presque aussitôt, adhère sous (orme de poussière blanche.

Vous peignez là-dessus ; mais prenez garde ! N’hésitez pas un seul instant ! cette couche pulvérulente et grenue boit avidement les couleurs; les corrections sont impossibles; et pour peu que votre pinceau dévie, tout est perdu !

Ayez soin encore de bien calculer les modifications que vos oxydes colorants subiront au feu.

Si vous avez surmonté ces obstacles, vous faites cuire la pièce à un seul grand feu de four. L’émail et la peinture se fondent ensemble, s’unissent intimement l’un à l’autre, s’incorporent avec la pâte, et forment des tableaux pleins de vigueur et d’éclat. On en juge à l’Exposition de 1867, par ceux de MM. Hippolyte Pinart, l’habile reproducteur des maîtres classiques; Michel Bouquet, le paysagiste; Laurin, dont les bandits ont une si fière tournure; Genlis et Rudhart, dont les faïences rappellent celles des vieux artistes rouennais.

Les imitations d’anciennes faïences sont plus nombreuses et plus réussies encore en 1867 qu’aux expositions précédentes.

Naturellement Bernard Palissy est en tête des imités. Les productions de ce célèbre potier saintongeois ne furent d’abord, comme on le sait, que des plats enrichis de divers esmaux entremeslez de iaspe. Il fit ensuite, pour les dressoirs seigneuriaux, des pièces rustiques, des bassins, où sur un lit de feuilles à nervures apparentes, ^sont pêle-mêle des poissons, des reptiles, des coquillages et des insectes, Plus tard, à ces moulages sur nature, Palissy substitua des bas-reliefs, de capricieuses arabesques, des mascarons grimaçants. Il exécuta des statuettes et compléta ses travaux par l’invention de rustiques figulines pour la décoration des jardins.

Dans tous ces genres, Bernard Palissy a des continuateurs.

M. Avisseau, de Tours, retrouva le premier le secret des pièces rustiques. Un manuscrit du seizième siècle, publié dans le tome II des Monumens inédits, portait que, pour préparer les motifs de la composition, il fallait coller les plantes sur un plat d’étain avec de la térébenthine de Venise; y fixer les petites bestioles au moyen de fils qui traversaient le plat préalablement percé de petits trous; enfin couler avec du plâtre fin. M. Avisseau pensa qu’il valait mieux modeler que mouler; et ses compositions, pleines de mouvement et de vie, furent bientôt recherchées par de nombreux amateurs. Quand la mort le frappa, il avait conquis une place parmi les artistes.

M. Avisseau fils n’a pas dégénéré. Il sait faire circuler la brise dans les feuilles ; faire courir le lézard, qui se retourne en fuyant, pour regarder l’objet de son effroi; faire onduler les plis de la couleuvre irritée, qui se gonfle en sifflant. Pour peindre ses animaux, M. Avisseau fils a trouvé des rouges et des blancs particuliers, un noir profond, et d’autres couleurs qu’il prépare dans son atelier domestique, avec le concours d’une sœur et d’un neveu. C’est imiter jusqu’au bout Bernard Palissy, qui s’était associé ses neveux Nicolas et Mathurin, comme nous l’apprend le livre des dépenses, tenu en 1570 par le clerc des œuvres du Roy.

Une aiguière et son plateau, exposés par M. Avisseau, sont obtenus par une patiente incrustation de pâtes coloriées, suivant un procédé dont le savant archéologue Benjamin Fillon a découvert les origines à Oiron en Vendée. Les difficultés que présentent l’exécution de ces pièces, surtout à la cuisson, qui peut anéantir en un instant le fruit de plusieurs mois de travail, ont été symbolisées par le potier-artiste, dans un bas-relief ovale, en biscuit de terre. Il représente la céramique personnifiée, ayant près d’elle l’ancienne roue des potiers, et méditant avec anxiété devant le four duquel dépendent ses destinées. Elle éprouve les angoisses qu’a si bien décrites Palissy dans ses mémoires, « Lorsqu’on l’estimoit estre fol, et qu’il s’en alloit par les rues, tout baissé, comme un homme honteux. »

Sur les grands plats de M. Barbizet, la végétation est luxuriante; les lézards chauffent au soleil leurs écailles d’émeraude, les homards se dressent sur leurs pattes velues, comme pour regagner leur élément naturel.
M. Barbizet ne s’inspire pas seulement de Palissy; il est séduit par le style large et la chaude coloration des majoliques italiennes.
Sa buire énorme, d’un seul morceau, sauf le pied, aurait produit bon effet sur un piédestal approprié, au bout de l’avenue d'un jardin du temps de Côme de Médicis. Sa figure de négresse, de grandeur naturelle, drapée-d ’étoffes voyantes, serait bien placée sur un grand escalier ; un trou a été ménagé à l’intérieur de cette statue d’une seule pièce, et du panier qu’elle porte sur la tête peut jaillit une gerbe de lumière. L’œuvre importante de l'exposition de M. Barbizet est un rocher sur lequel s’ébattent des enfants, dont l’un soutient une grande valve aux stries verdies par les eaux, avec franges de lichens et de mousses. Le roi Guillaume, après avoir pris l’avis de M. de Bismark, a acheté cette pièce importante pour le château de Potsdam.

On pourrait, en parcourant les galeries de la classe 17 se croire égaré au milieu d’une collection céramique de toutes les époques et, de tous les pays. L’élégante aiguière de M. Ulysse, semble échappée du musée de Blois dont il est le conservateur, et dater du temps de Henri II. C’est des fabriques de Faenza et d’Urbino qu’ont dû sortir la grande torchère de M. Auguste Jean, et sa fontaine à deux vasques, dont l’inférieure est soutenue par des néréides assises sur des dauphins de convention qu’à créés la mythologie. Un potier rouennais, contemporain de Louis XV, aurait signé le joli vase de M. Abel Girard, d’Aprey (Haute-Marne), avec un médaillon et des arabesques bleues sur fond blanc. La fontaine et le bassin de M. Signoret, de Nevers, rappellent les pièces qu’on admire au musée de la placé ducale. Quant à M. Georges Pull, c’est un artiste du seizième siècle, auquel il emprunte des modèles variés. Voici, de Bernard Palissy, un plat représentant Pomone, un plat découpé à jour, et deux figurines charmantes, le joueur de vielle et la nourrice ; voici, de Benvenuto Cellini, une aiguière garnie d’émaux : de Jean Goujon, une Diane chasseresse; de Germain Pilon, une grande cheminée en faïence. C’est celle qui décorait jadis le salon du château de Villeroy, et qui est maintenant dans la salle de la Renaissance, au Louvre. Des cariatides aux faces de satyres, aux longues barbes, aux fronts cornus, en soutiennent le riche manteau. Elle se compose de vingt-huit pièces, qu’il a fallu maintenir au grand feu pour obtenir de bons raccords. L’énorme difficulté et l’originalité de ce travail expliquent le prix élevé qu’en demande M. Georges Pull, trente mille francs ; mais c’est bien de l’argent.

En dehors de la classe 17, on trouve dans la classe 8 : Application du dessin et de la plastique aux arts usuels, un modèle de kiosque persan, par MM. Collinot et Adalbert de Beaumont. Leurs plaques de revêtement, leurs fontaines, leurs vases, sur lesquels courent des guirlandes de fleurs, leur ont valu une médaille d’or.

On le voit par l’étude que nous venons de faire, la réputation des faïences françaises, qui a été si grande au temps où fleurissaient Nevers, Rouen, Moustiers, Sainte-Marie (Basses-Alpes), a pu être un moment négligée; mais elle renaît de ses cendres, et, tant pour les usages domestiques que pour l’ornementation monumentale, elle est appelée à un brillant avenir.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée