International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Classes 89 & 90 - Public education in France

Classes 89 & 90 - Public education in France at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

At the end of the transverse gallery, where the products of Algeria and our colonies are displayed in such a picturesque way, the visitor stops in front of a portico of beautiful order, the one reproduced in our engraving. Two groups adorn the sides, one of which represents the education of children, the other the instruction of adults; and below the pediment one can read the words of the Emperor, which have remained as an unfulfilled programme:
"In the country of universal suffrage every citizen must know how to read and write. "

Primary education is not yet compulsory in our country; but every year half a million adults fill our schools during the winter.

This portico, whose design is by M. Sébastien Cornu, the organiser of the Campana Museum, and whose groups and ornaments were executed by the pupils of the municipal school of drawing in the Rue Volta, directed by M. Levasseur, this portico marks the entrance to the exhibition of the classes of '89 and '90, which consists of four rooms, taken from both sides of the circular gallery No. 2.
Here is represented all popular education, from the asylum room to vocational education and courses for adults. This is the head of the tenth group, with the other classes extending behind it to the outer circumference.

The two isolated statues you see on either side of the door are those of Pestalozzi, the immortal author of the Intuitive Method, and of Abbé de La Salle, the founder of the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools. The first is the work of the pupils of the municipal school of drawing, directed by M. Lequien fils; the second was done by the pupils of the brothers.

Once we have passed through the portico, we find ourselves in front of the schools' works. The normal school of Cluny, which has only been in existence for one year, already has an honourable place in this section because of its wooden instruments and its machines made by the pupils. On the right, the drawings sent by the various schools of the brothers occupy a large section of the wall. Nearby are the often remarkable works of the municipal drawing schools of the city of Paris.

The back of this first room belongs to the Ministry of Public Education. M. Duruy wanted to exhibit here some specimens of the results of the most recent scientific missions. It is for this reason that the Mexican portico, so strangely coloured, which decorates the entrance to the second room, was erected under the direction of M. Léon Méhédin. In front of it is a block of marble, blackened by the centuries, which bears on two of its sides figures of great style.

Those who love to travel and who are thrown into endless daydreams by the sight of the fantastic palaces of the East, will willingly forget themselves in front of the numerous albums of photographs that this room offers them. Others, the positive spirits, pass indifferently before these images which have cost them so much fatigue and distant journeys; they barely cast a distracted glance at the instruments of Buddhist worship which are exhibited in the showcase on the right. Even the prayer wheel does not stop them.

There is a class of visitors who pass through this part of the hall even more quickly, they are the thousands of teachers and professors that the holidays send us. They go straight to what interests them above all else: that is, to the business of teaching itself. Let's do as they do, because here we are at the entrance to the second room.

Here we are fully in the domain of vocational education. On the left, these organs of machines, these collections of natural history, these devices for chemical manipulations, represent the professional boarding school of Ivry-sur-Seine, which obtained many rewards and whose director, Mr. Pompée, has just been made officer of the Legion of Honour. On the left are the works of the Schools of the Navy. Then comes the Central School of Lyon. La Martinière did not take part in the exhibition, because if one can exhibit products, one cannot exhibit methods.

The Fénelon Asylum Farm and the Mettray Colony were shown in the form of relief drawings. The Élisa Lemonnier school in the rue de Turenne, for the professional instruction of young girls, shows beautiful paintings on porcelain, woodcuts, needlework and notebooks which do the management great credit. Another similar institution, Notre-Dame-des-Arts, exhibits nearby the work of students, which is not lacking in interest, except that church ornaments perhaps take up too much space.

On the other side, we find the astronomical alphabet of M. Ch. Emmanuel, which puts an abstract science within the reach of the humblest schools. Nearby are the collections of the Hachette house for the teaching of science, and the small laboratory of chemistry and physics, fabulously cheap, exhibited by M. Émile Rousseau.

This same M. É. Rousseau has found the means of reproducing, with the aid of special photographic processes, the drawings of the great masters with their primitive tones rendered unalterable, which will make it possible to distribute in the schools incomparable models at the most moderate prices; we have here some specimens. The schoolchildren of today are very happy. When I think of all that they have and all that we lack, I am tempted to be jealous.

The two rooms we have just visited represent the exhibition of the class 90, that is to say what concerns vocational and adult education, at least for France. Belgium exhibited a beautiful collection of fabrics produced in the apprenticeship workshops of Flanders. But, as far as apprenticeship schools are concerned, the one in Brünn, Moravia, should be mentioned above all, which exhibits a very remarkable album of drawings and fabric samples made by the pupils. This school was founded by the Brünn Chamber of Commerce and dates back to 1860. Generally speaking, the Germans have shown an unquestionable superiority in this speciality of vocational training.

We have just mentioned the Society founded in Paris by Mme. E. Lemonnier for the vocational education of women; we must place on the same rank the Junta de Damas, or association of ladies which has been formed in Madrid for the propagation of the education of girls, and to which women who bear the greatest names in Spain lend active assistance. A similar association has been formed in Barcelona. The Junta de Damas of Madrid won a silver medal.

Let us not leave Class 90 without saying a word about the monumental and almost funereal-looking piece of furniture that stands in the middle of the second room and almost fills it. The gilded statue on top represents France. Three of its sides are lined with display cases containing volumes of documents, precious perhaps, but whose titles the public cannot see; these are collections of administrative acts relating to education or public assistance. In addition, all the documents collected in the so-called 10th group investigation have been placed here.

The fourth side, the one facing the entrance, is decorated with a smaller display case, of a particular shape, similar to the figures given of the third ark in the Bible. This is where the famous reports requested by M. Duruy on the progress of science, literature and art in France for the last twenty years are kept.

Crossing the gallery we enter the rooms which form the French exhibition of the class of '89. Here it is no longer a question of teaching adults or adolescents, but of educating children.

School equipment has not changed significantly in France over the past forty years. While Germany was busy varying its educational methods to suit the needs of childhood, we were lost in endless theoretical discussions about whether intelligence should be free or not; whether it should belong to the State or to the father. In short, we have, strictly speaking, only two kinds of schools in France today: those maintained by the municipalities or the State, and those which the Catholic clergy multiplies with the help of the largesse of individuals. But on closer inspection, these two categories of schools do not differ much.

If you want to know a little about this question of public education, which unfortunately does not interest many people in our country, go and visit the American school in the arc; see these walls covered with mottoes borrowed from the constitution or from civil law: it is clear that in the American schools they think above all of making citizens. And yet the model which has been built here is not the type of school in the great cities of the Union; it is a specimen of a cheap school.

The Norwegian school, which occupies the ground floor of the picturesque house in the Park, is closer to this, with its isolated squares. There each pupil has his own bench and desk, quite independent and separate from the neighbouring one. Schools in the United States are furnished according to the same system. The value of this detail, which seems of little importance at first sight, will be understood by all who know what a classroom is.

Such an organisation could not succeed in our country: it would be condemned at first sight as too expensive. But in the United States, nothing is too expensive when it comes to education. See the beautiful planetary that Mr. Barlow, of Kentucky, exhibited in the American section, and in which we see, by an ingenious mechanism, all the planets moving around the sun; it is an instrument costing 1200 francs. Mr. Birlow has brought here several of various models. He imagines that the schools in France are as rich as those in his country; he is mistaken. If he sells one or two of his planets here, it will be to the English, or to some ecclesiastical establishment.

The German schools are remarkable for the development they give to manual exercises and gymnastics.
France has exhibited a few globes and some geographical apparatus which are remarkable especially from the point of view of cheapness. But what we can be most justly proud of is the organisation of our schools for early childhood, or salles d'asile. There is also a piece of furniture that looks modest, but is excellent: it is the "metric staircase", invented by one of the best teachers in Paris, M. Demkès, for teaching the legal system of weights and measures.

The schools of early childhood, or salles
d'asile, which are, to tell the truth, what France can be most justly proud of in the matter of popular education, are represented at the Exposition by a few innovations of little importance, if we except the small children's gymnasium.

We would also like to draw attention to the modest work done by young blind people.

But it is easy to see that in such an order of facts what is most important to know and see is precisely what has not been shown; I mean the teacher's method, and also the moral results, the fruits of education proper, which are far more precious than a well-done page or a more or less successful drawing. In this respect, the criticisms that have been directed against the idea of an exhibition of teaching would be quite justified, if there were no more than a competition leading to a more or less happy distribution of the prizes announced. But who would stop at this idea? We might as well say that all of us have only ever studied for prizes, because every year the school holidays begin with a distribution of crowns.

No, the competition and the prizes are only a means to an end; the real aim is to bring certain facts to light and to put an end to contrary prejudices.

It had been announced that during the Universal Exhibition, the Champ de Mars would see the construction of various specimens of schools, where Americans and Germans would come to show how they understand the education of children. The Germans were to present the "kindergartens" of Dr. Froëbel; the Americans, their great national schools, those simple primary schools where citizens are trained and from which the greatest magistrates of the Republic have emerged.

Above all, one should have seen the methods in action, each country sending its best teachers with a sufficient number of pupils. This did not happen. Why did it not happen? I do not know. But I deeply regret that such a spectacle could not be offered to our country. Certainly it would have been difficult to establish fair prizes for this new kind of competition with which everyone could be satisfied. But what an impression it would have left!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Classes 89 & 90 - Instruction publique en France

Classes 89 & 90 - Instruction publique en France à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Au bout de la galerie transversale où sont disposés d’une façon si pittoresque les produits de l’Algérie et de nos colonies, le visiteur s’arrête devant un portique de belle ordonnance, celui que reproduit notre gravure. Deux groupes en ornent les côtés, dont l’un représente l’éducation de l’enfance, l’autre l’instruction des adultes; et au-dessous du fronton se lit cette parole de l'Empereur, qui est restée à l’état de programme non réalisé :
« Dans le pays du suffrage universel tout citoyen doit savoir lire et écrire. »

L’instruction primaire n’est point encore obligatoire chez nous; mais chaque année un demi-million d’adultes remplit nos écoles pendant l’hiver.

Ce portique, dont le dessin est de M. Sébastien Cornu, l’ordonnateur du musée Campana, et dont les groupes et les ornements ont été exécutés par les élèves de l’école municipale de dessin de la rue Volta, dirigée par M. Levasseur, ce portique marque l’entrée de l’exposition des classes 89 et 90, qui comprend quatre salles, prises des deux côtés de la galerie circulaire n° 2.
Là se trouve représentée toute l’éducation populaire, depuis la salle d’asile jusqu’à l’enseignement professionnel, et aux cours pour les adultes. C’est la tête du dixième groupe, dont les autres classes s’étendent derrière jusqu’à la circonférence extérieure.

Les deux statues isolées que vous voyez de chaque côté de la porte sont celles de Pestalozzi, l’immortel auteur delà méthode intuitive, et celle de l’abbé de La Salle, le fondateur de l’institut des frères des écoles chrétiennes. La première est l’œuvre des élèves de l’école municipale de dessin, que dirige M. Lequien fils; la seconde a été faite par les élèves des frères.

Le portique franchi, nous nous trouvons en face des travaux des écoles. L’école normale de Cluny, qui ne compte encore qu’une année d’existence, y tient déjà une place honorable par ses instruments en bois, et ses organes de machines exécutés par les élèves. A droite, les dessins envoyés par les diverses écoles des frères occupent un large pan de la muraille. Tout près s’étendent les œuvres souvent remarquables des écoles municipales de dessin de la ville de Paris.

Le fond de cette première salle appartient au ministère de l’instruction publique. M. Duruy a voulu exposer là quelques spécimens des résultats des missions scientifiques les plus récentes. C’est à ce titre qu’a été élevé, sous la direction de M. Léon Méhédin, le portique mexicain, si bizarrement colorié, qui orne l’entrée de la seconde salle. Au devant, l’on remarque un bloc de marbre noirci par les siècles, qui porte sur deux de ses faces des figures d’un grand style.

Ceux qui aiment les voyages et que la vue des palais fantastiques de l’Orient jette dans d’interminables rêveries, s’oublient volontiers devant les nombreux albums de photographies que leur offre cette salle. D’autres, les esprits positifs, passent indifférents devant ces images qui ont coûté tant de fatigues et de courses lointaines ; à peine jettent-ils un regard distrait sur les instruments du culte bouddhique qui sont exposés dans la vitrine à droite. Le moulin à prières même ne les arrête pas.

Il est une classe de visiteurs qui traverse encore plus rapidement cette partie de la salle, ce sont les milliers d’instituteurs et de professeurs que les vacances nous envoient. Ceux-là vont tout droit à ce qui les intéresse par-dessus tout : c’est-à-dire aux choses de l’enseignement proprement dit. Faisons comme eux, puisqu’aussi bien nous voici à l’entrée de la seconde salle.

Ici nous sommes pleinement dans le domaine de l’enseignement professionnel.Les institutions libres dominent. A gauche, ces organes de machines, ces collections d’histoire naturelle, ces appareils pour manipulations chimiques, représentent le pensionnat professionnel d’Ivry-sur-Seine, qui a obtenu de nombreuses récompenses et dont le directeur, M. Pompée, vient d être fait officier de la Légion d’honneur. A gauche sont les travaux des Écoles de la marine. Puis vient l’école centrale de Lyon. La Martinière n’a pas pris part à l’exposition, parce que si l’on peut exposer des produits, l’on ne saurait exposer des méthodes.

L’asile ferme-école Fénelon et la colonie de Mettray y figurent sous la forme de plans en relief. L’école Élisa Lemonnier de la rue de Turenne, pour l’instruction professionnelle des jeunes filles, montre de belles peintures sur porcelaine, des gravures sur bois, des travaux d’aiguille et des cahiers qui font le plus grand honneur à la direction. Une autre institution à peu près semblable, Notre-Dame-des-Arts, expose tout auprès des travaux d’.élèves qui ne manquent point d’intérêt, sauf que les ornements d’église y tiennent peut-être trop de place.

De l’autre côté, nous trouvons l’alphabet astronomique de M. Ch. Emmanuel, qui met une science abstraite à la portée des plus humbles écoles. Tout auprès sont les collections de la maison Hachette pour l'enseignement des sciences, et le petit laboratoire de chimie et de physique, d’un bon marché fabuleux, qu’expose M. Émile Rousseau.

Ce même M. É. Rousseau a trouvé le moyen de reproduire, à l’aide de procédés photographiques particuliers, les dessins des grands maîtres avec leurs tons primitifs rendus inaltérables, ce qui va permettre de distribuer dans les éco.les des modèles incomparables aux prix les plus modérés ; nous en avons ici des spécimens. Les écoliers d’à-présent sont bien heureux. Quand je pense à tout ce qu’ils ont et à tout ce qui nous manquait, à nous, je suis tenté d’être jaloux.

Les deux salles que nous venons de parcourir représentent l’exposition de la classe 90, c’est-à-dire ce qui concerne l’enseignement professionnel et l’instruction des adultes, du moins pour la France. La Belgique à exposé une belle collection de tissus produits dans les ateliers d’apprentissage des Flandres. Mais , en fait d’école d’apprentissage, il faut surtout citer celle de Brünn en Moravie, qui expose un très-remarquable album de dessins et d’échantillons d’étoffe, faits par les élèves. Cette école est une fondation de la Chambre de commerce de Brünn ; elle ne date que de 1860. Généralement, les Allemands ont montré, dans cette spécialité de l’instruction professionnelle, une supériorité qu’on ne saurait contester.

Nous avons cité tout à l’heure la Société fondée à Paris par Mme E. Lemonnier pour l’enseignement professionnel des femmes ; il faut mettre sur le même rang la Junta de Damas, ou association de dames qui s’est formée à Madrid pour la propagation de l’enseignement des filles, et à laquelle des femmes qui portent les plus grands noms de l’Espagne prêtent un concours actif. Pareille association s’est formée à Barcelone. La Junta de Damas de Madrid a obtenu une médaille d’argent.

Ne quittons pas la classe 90 sans dire un mot du meuble monumental, et d’aspect presque funèbre, qui s’élève au milieu de la seconde salle et l’emplit à peu près. La statue dorée qui le surmonte représente la France. Trois de ses faces sont garnies de vitrines où sont rangés des volumes de documents, précieux peut-être, mais dont le public ne peut voir les titres; ce sont des collections d’actes administratifs relatifs à l’enseignement ou à l’assistance publique. On y a renfermé en outre l’ensemble des documents recueillis dans l’enquête dite du Xe groupe.

La quatrième face, celle qui regarde l’entrée, est ornée d’une vitrine plus petite, d’une forme particulière, et semblable aux figures que l’on donne de l’arche 3e la Bible. C’est là que sont renfermés les fameux rapports demandés par M. Duruy sur les progrès des sciences, des lettres et des arts en France, depuis vingt ans.

En traversant la galerie nous entrons dans les salles qui forment l’exposition française de la classe 89. Là, il ne s’agit plus de l’enseignement des adultes ou des adolescents, mais de l’éducation de l’enfance.

Le matériel des écoles n’a pas sensiblement varié en France depuis quarante ans. Tandis que l’Allemagne s’ingéniait à varier ses méthodes d’éducation pour les approprier aux besoins de l’enfance, nous nous perdions dans d’interminables discussions théoriques sur le point de savoir si renseignement doit être libre, ou ne l’être pas; s’il doit appartenir à l’État ou au père de famille. En somme, nous n’avons, à proprement parler, aujourd’hui, en France, que deux sortes d’écoles: celles qu’entretiennent les municipalités ou l’État, et celles que le clergé catholique multiplie à l’aide des largesses des particuliers. Mais à y regarder d’un peu près, ces deux catégories d’écoles ne diffèrent pas beaucoup.

Si vous voulez vous éclairer un peu sur cette question de l’éducation publique, qui malheureusement n’intéresse pas beaucoup de gens, dans notre pays, allez visiter, dans le l'arc, l’école Américaine; voyez ces murailles tapissées de devises empruntées à la constitution, ou au droit civil: il est clair que dans les écoles d’Amérique on pense avant tout à faire des citoyens. Et cependant le modèle qu’on a construit ici ne réalise pas le type des écoles des grandes villes de l’Union; c’est un spécimen d’école à bon marché.

L’école Norwégienne qui occupe le rez-de-chaussée de la maison pittoresque élevée dans le Parc, s’en rapproche davantage, avec ses places isolées. Là, chaque élève a son banc et son pupitre, bien indépendant et séparé du. voisin. Les écoles aux États-Unis sont meublées suivant le même système. La. valeur de ce détail, qui semble de peu d’importance au premier abord, sera comprise de tous ceux qui savent ce que c’est qu’une classe.

Une pareille organisation ne saurait réussir chez nous : on la condamnerait tout d’abord comme trop dispendieuse. Mais aux États-Unis, rien n’est trop cher dès qu’il s’agit d’éducation. Voyez le beau planétaire queM. Barlow, du Kentucky, a exposé dans la section américaine, et où l’on v»it, par un mécanisme ingénieux, toutes les planètes se mouvoir autour du soleil ; c’est un instrument de 1200 francs. M. Birlow en a apporté ici plusieurs de divers modèles. Il s’imagine que les écoles en France sont riches comme celles de son pays ; il s’est trompé. S’il vend un ou deux de ses planétaires chez nous, ce sera aux Anglais, ou bien à quelque établissement ecclésiastique.

Les écoles allemandes se font remarquer par le développement qu’elles donnent aux exercices manuels et à la gymnastique.
La France a exposé quelques globes et quelques appareils géographiques remarquables surtout au point de vue du bon marché. Mais ce dont nous pouvons être le plus justement fiers, c’est de l’organisation de nos écoles pour la première enfance, ou salles d’asile. Il y a aussi un meuble d’apparence modeste, mais excellent : c’est « l’escalier métrique », inventé par un des meilleurs instituteurs de Paris, M. Demkès, pour l'enseignement du système légal des poids et mesures.

Les écoles de la première enfance, ou salles
d’asile, qui sont à vrai dire ce dont la France peut être le plus justement fière en matière d’éducation populaire, sont représentées à l’Exposition par quelques innovations de peu d’importance, si l’on en excepte le petit gymnase enfantin.

Nous appellerons encore l’attention sur les modestes travaux accomplis par les jeunes aveugles.

Mais on conçoit que dans un pareil ordre de faits ce qu’il importerait le plus de connaître et de voir est justement ce qu’on n’a pu montrer ; je veux dire la méthode du maître, et aussi les résultats moraux, fruits de l’éducation proprement dite, qui sont autrement précieux qu’une page bien faite ou un dessin à peu près réussi. En cela, les critiques qu’on a pu diriger contre l’idée d’une exposition de l’enseignement, seraient assez fondées, s’il n’y avait là autre chose qu’un concours aboutissant à une répartition plus ou moins heureuse des récompenses annoncées. Mais qui s’arrête à cette idée? Autant vaudrait dire que tous, tant que nous sommes, nous n’avons jamais étudié que pour avoir des prix, parce que chaque année les vacances scolaires commencent par une distribution de couronnes.

Non, le concours et les récompenses ne sont qu’un moyen; le but véritable c’est la mise en lumière de certains faits, et la mise en déroute des préjugés contraires.

On avait annoncé qu’à la faveur de l’Exposition universelle le Champ de Mars verrait s’élever divers spécimens d’écoles, où Américains et Allemands viendraient montrer comment on entend chez eux l’éducation de l’enfance. Les Allemands avaient à présenter les « jardins d’enfants » du docteur Froëbel; les Américains, leurs grandes écoles nationales, ces simples écoles primaires où l’on forme des citoyens et d’où sont partis les plus grands magistrats de la République.

Surtout, l’on y devait voir les méthodes en action, chaque pays envoyant ses meilleurs maîtres avec un nombre d’élèves suffisant. Cela ne s’est point réalisé. Pourquoi? Je l’ignore. Mais je regrette vivement qu’un pareil spectacle n’ait pu être offert à notre pays. Assurément il eût été difficile d’établir pour ce concours d’un nouveau genre des récompenses équitables et dont chacun pût être satisfait. Mais quelle impression en serait restée!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée