International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

French perfumery

French perfumery at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

It would, at least, be useless to recall in a short note on the French Perfumery or the Exhibition, the past of this industry which, in all civilizations, among all peoples, has been associated with the cult of beauty, borrowing from natural sciences their secrets, asking flowers for their perfumes, composing this innumerable quantity of preparations intended from time to time to come to the rescue of fading charms and freshness.

If we were to go back only to the history of the Hebrews, we would find this illustrious princess who

.... Was careful to paint and adorn her face.

But this retrospective review, besides offering little interest to the clients of Messrs. Pi-ver, Petit or Demarson, would have the very serious fault of taking the few lines granted to me, and of giving, without use, to the dead what very legitimately belongs to the living.

It will therefore suffice for me to establish that modern perfumery prevails as much over the perfumery of the Egyptians, the Hebrews, the Greeks, and even the Romans, as the science of the Trousseau, the Michel Lévy, and the Blanche, prevails over the very limited observations and discoveries of Galen or Hippocrates.

This industry, which died out, so to speak, during the Middle Ages, and which found its rebirth and restoration in Florence under the Medici, borrowed from botany and alchemy - they did not yet call it chemistry - the exact notions that enabled a few scientists, such as Réné, Ruggieri, etc., to preserve and immobilise, so to speak, that which is most volatile, perfume.

It is from the reign of Catherine de Médicis, in fact, that we date the creation of an industry which was to develop rapidly, thanks to the protection of a rich and gallant Court, and which, once it had entered the habits, the customs, the very life of the nation, was to let the exaggerations of Spartan simplicity of 92, 93 and 94 pass, only to reappear more brilliantly under the Directory. Athens replaced Sparta, and the arts, luxury, and festivities were welcomed back with that fury which three years of struggle and painful preoccupations explained.

Since that time, perfumery has taken an important place in the industrial movement. Its production rose rapidly between 1796 and 1810 from 2 million to 11 million.

Since 1810, the progression has not slowed down. One estimates today at 35 or 38 million the products of the French factories - factories or distilleries - devoted to the manufacture of perfumes or perfumed objects. Exports amount to about fifteen million. Finally, the progress made in the last few years, for which chemistry can claim the honour, allows us to hope for a significant increase in production and export.

We know, in fact, that apart from the questions of freshness and beauty, perfumery raises a serious question, that of hygiene. Seeking, above all, active and powerful agents, chemists asked the animal and vegetable kingdoms for the oils, colours and reagents that gave the fastest results, without worrying about the disastrous consequences that these preparations could have on the human organism.

This is how the make-up prepared for actors contained principles of formidable activity. The white of ceruse, to quote only one, so frequently used formerly, brought many accidents. The reds used in the theatre also contained real poisons. Finally, the oils and fats used in the composition of ointments, ointments, etc., became, by their corruption, the cause of diseases which gradually aroused the attention of competent men.

In the presence of very serious accidents which were multiplying and the source of which our courts had to seek, the chemists were moved. Carefully studying the various make-up, perfumes, ointments and waters used by artists, they recognised the existence of poisonous substances in quantities strong enough not only to alter the complexion or the fineness of the tissues, but also to affect the nervous system, to slowly but surely attack the epidermis, then the cellular tissue, and finally to cause profound disturbances in the entire organism.

A trial, which has remained famous in the theatre, gave the coup de grâce to this deadly industry. A young woman, an artist, presented to the court of the Seine an arm completely atrophied by the use of the white that artists use in the theatre. The condemnation of the perfumer became a powerful argument in favour of the innovators who wanted to replace mineral agents with vegetable agents. A revolution took place in perfumery. Within a few months, a host of products were produced - harmless, it is true, but also inactive. This time, science was watching; and, ready to do justice to dangerous compositions, it did not spare those preparations which have the same effect on the complexion, the teeth, the hair as a breadcrumb pill has on the stomach. One of the most ardent soldiers of this crusade, a distinguished chemist, established by numerous publications that the incriminated agents could be easily replaced by compositions equally beneficial to beauty, and which had over their adversaries the eminent advantage of being completely harmless.

And as there is no truth so good that material and palpable proof does not make it even more obvious, M. Arrault, retired to his laboratory, composed make-up, ointments and toilet waters which he delivered to the examination of the chemists, his peers, without even giving them the trouble of a long analysis. For he gave the formulas.

It is under the influence of a few men of this school, conscientious, honest and educated, that perfumery has entered a new path, and it is, entirely transformed, freed from the old practices, and presenting only one danger, that of ruining husbands, that it presents itself today at the Exhibition.

If I were to adopt the prolix catalogues of the perfumers, I would not have enough space in this issue to enumerate the innumerable productions due to the imagination of some inventors. In short, everything is reduced to a few products that are more or less the same, and whose purpose is to maintain cleanliness, beauty and health, which, for me, is the same thing. The names vary, the perfumes may vary too, but the basics remain the same. When we have seen the "toothpaste waters" which, from Botot's water to that of Dr. Pierre, are composed of alcohol and aromatic plants of the same family, the "toilet waters and vinegars" - also of the same nature, whether they bear the almost illustrious stamp of the Farinas (more or less Jean-Marie), or the no less famous one of J. Vincent Bully, - the "toilet powders", which are made of alcohol and aromatic plants of the same family. Vincent Bully, - the "toothpastes" which always revolve around a rather restricted circle of raw materials with added perfume, - the "perfumed waters for handkerchiefs" which embrace the flora of both worlds, and distress lexicographers with their nonsensical names, - the "ointments, philocomes, comogen oils, etc.," etc., - the "soaps and creams", etc, etc.," "soaps and pastes, dulcifying, lenitive, etc.," we have covered the entire field of this industry, which saves itself from the accusation of frivolity by the services it can render to health.

There are six or seven main products that perfumers transform, with the help of a more or less new perfume, but which, as a base, remain the same.

Thus, today, the fatty parts are almost universally borrowed from tar. The hygienic properties of this material, which Raspail strongly recommends, have been recognised. Among the plants used in the preparation of perfumes, all those which chemical analysis has declared harmful or simply doubtful have been rejected. Zinc white, whose perfect harmlessness has been established by numerous experiments, replaces the disastrous white of ceruse. Similarly, in make-up, in powders, in ointments, such as cold-cream, the same raw materials
serve as a base with insignificant variations.

I was saying earlier that French perfumery has taken, by its turnover, an important place in our industrial movement. In the past, the Orient supplied us almost exclusively with the raw materials, that is to say the plants, corals, minerals and vegetables of all kinds which enter into the composition of perfumes. In this way, France has created a source of wealth, and perfumery has become a truly national industry. It is, in fact, today, Grasse, Nîmes, Nice, Avignon, Montpellier, which supply us with plants and, in all these cities, important factories prepare the perfumes which are then sent to the laboratories in Paris. Bordeaux, Metz and Nancy have vast distilleries from which come vinegars, essences and various waters that coquetry uses under a thousand different names.

All these workshops employ a considerable number of people; but if one thinks of the immense quantity of porcelain, crystal and glass vases, of cardboard, ebony, oak and lemon boxes, of bottles of all shapes and sizes used by the perfume industry; if one calculates (I would like to do so, but it is in one's own interest) the number of leaflets, price lists, explanatory notes, etc., etc., with which each perfumer wraps his products, the number of bottles, the number of bottles, and the number of bottles of all sizes, with which each perfumer wraps his products, one finds oneself in the presence of an army of workers, from the gardener who takes care of the roses, the jasmines, the violets, to the "shop girl" who wraps the bottles and attaches a pink or lilac favour. What happened to the 38 or 40 million of earlier? Do you see the considerable movement that this so-called luxury industry is imparting to ten indifferent industries?

We have often spoken of the considerable profits made by the perfume industry. Nothing should be exaggerated. Like all businesses which borrow part of their success from fashion, perfumery makes big profits or causes heavy losses. Whether a vinegar, an ointment or a perfume is adopted by the elegant public, the fortune of the creator (I cannot say the inventor) is made. Are they not well received,-which may depend on the shape of the bottle or the name of the commodity,-the perfumer who has manufactured a certain quantity of his product, who has spent quite a lot of money on porcelain or crystal, on advertisements, etc., sees perishing in his hands a fund to which vogue alone can give a value. In the industries which touch on fantasy, does not skill consist in introducing one's own taste to the public, in creating fashion? And does not this skill legitimise success?

French perfumery is represented at the Exhibition by its most distinguished leaders. Among the names of the exhibitors, some have acquired a legitimate reputation. I am not going too far in quoting the Piver, the Guerlain, the Demarson, the Chardin, the Petit and a few others, whose names will come up in turn.

The Commission has given the perfumery a square room, quite large, occupied internally by the perfumers of Paris, who finish and sell the products of this industry, and externally by the manufacturers or preparers of raw materials intended for ointments, vinegars, cosmetics, etc. - It seems only fair to begin the review of exhibitors with the latter.

I will first mention Messrs. Méro and Boyreau, from Grasse, who did not obtain any medals for the simple reason that they are "out of competition"; but the decision which made them members of the jury is based on the numerous awards that these manufacturers have obtained at various exhibitions. The gold medal was given to Mr. A. Chiris, raw material manufacturer and distiller in Grasse. The jury rewarded the finesse and beauty of Mr. Chiris' oils. The other awards were given to distillers, a bronze medal to Mr. Séméria et Cie of Nice, and an honourable mention to Mr. Nègre, Mr. Fiédler and Mr. C'%, who run a large steam plant in Nîmes for the preparation of toilet vinegars. Finally, M. Michel won a bronze medal for a charming basket of flowers and fruits; each fruit (grapes, currants, etc.) is a bottle of scent.

One name - I have already said almost illustrious - stops the visitor at the door; it is that of J. M. Farina, who did not disdain a little corner in the special perfumery square, when he could be satisfied with the famous fountain that visitors to the Exhibition know.

The room reserved for the Parisian exhibitors has a charming appearance, and were it not for the atmosphere saturated with perfumes which make any stay a little prolonged painful, one would have been pleased to sit at the foot of the statue which rises in the middle, and to rest one's eyes on these elegant showcases, so coquettish and so seductive.

Each exhibitor has taken it upon himself to give - to his compartment - those harmonious arrangements of which the Parisian merchants have the secret, and which give I don't know what attraction to the most ordinary object.

We have here, moreover, the masters of perfumery, Piver, who, as one of the first, has sought in our indigenous plants the hygienic principles and has introduced into perfumery, since 1842, one of the most salutary agents, the juice of lettuce. As a member of the jury, Mr. Piver had to distribute to competitors the awards he so well deserved. It must be acknowledged that the jurors here acted with taste and fairness, and the public will agree with me when I have named M. Coudray (silver medal), who has found a new perfume in a plant from Mexico, the mamey; - M. Violet (silver medal), - supplier to the Empress; - Messrs Vibert frères, who, in their factory in Montreuil, manufacture from 12 to 1500 kilograms of ointment daily (aren't you afraid? ); - M. Guerlain, whose merits have long been known; - M. Ed. Pissaud, who has no less than four branches in Paris and who has well deserved the silver medal for the enormous development he has been able to give to his industry; - M. Petit aîné, whose shop window is a marvel of elegance; - M. Bleuze-Hadancourt, who has found a process - the transmutative fluid - for dyeing hair. I don't know if the process is successful on live hair, but I can affirm that the strands of all the shades exhibited - half-finished, like the medieval clothes, are perfectly successful. I do not want to pass over in silence MM. Chardin-Hadancourt and Gellé frères, who obtained silver medals, nor Mr. Delettrez, perfumer of the elegant world, who saves himself from the small ridicule of the epigraph painted on his window "as nobility, title obliges" by the good taste of his exhibition.

I will have finally settled my accounts with the exhibitors when I have reminded you of the names of Messrs J. R. Vincent Bully (bronze medal), Delabrierre-Vincent (bronze medal), a very varied exhibition of perfumes for handkerchiefs; Dr. Pierre, whose toothpaste water deserved better than an honourable mention; Bonn, bronze medal for hygienic perfumery; finally, Laboullée, who won a medal for his products, which range from perfumes for handkerchiefs to powders and toothpaste water.

I have gone over the representatives of French perfumery a bit quickly. There are some who deserve a closer look; such as the house of Piver. But all those I have named can share to some extent in the praise I have given to the efforts and progress of this industry. If one is surprised at the relatively large number of awards that our exhibitors have received, one should consider that France owes to its climate plant productions that its industry knows how to use; that apart from chemical combinations where we already have a certain superiority, our manufacturers distinguish themselves by a taste, an elegance, that one rarely finds elsewhere. And, to tell the truth, does not all this fine pottery, so delicately painted, these boxes so elegant, these favours so fresh, all this belong to what has been generically called the Paris article? Well, in spite of the mania of enthusiasm for foreign products which distinguishes this century, Paris - and not Vienna - will have the upper hand, whenever it is a question of lightness, elegance and taste.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Parfumerie française

Parfumerie française à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Il serait, au moins, inutile de rappeler dans une courte notice sur la Parfumerie française o l'Exposition, le passé de cette industrie qui, dans toutes les civilisations, chez tous les peuples, s’est associée au culte de la beauté, empruntant aux sciences naturelles leurs secrets, demandant aux fleurs leurs parfums, composant cette innombrable quantité de préparations destinées de tout temps à venir au secours des charmes défaillants et des fraîcheurs un peu fanées.

S’il ne fallait remonter qu’à l'histoire des Hébreux, nous trouverions cette illustre princesse qui

.... Eut soin de peindre et d'orner son visage.

Mais cette revue rétrospective, outre qu elle offrirait peu d’intérêt aux clientes de MM. Pi-ver, Petit ou Demarson, aurait le tort très-sérieux de prendre les quelques lignes qui me sont octroyées, et de donner, sans utilité, aux morts ce qui appartient très-légitimement aux vivants.

Il me sufïira donc d’établir que la parfumerie moderne l’emporte autant sur la parfumerie des Égyptiens, des Hébreux, des Grecs, voire même des Romains, que la science des Trousseau, des Michel Lévy, des Blanche, l’emporte sur les observations et les découvertes très-restreintes de Galien ou d’Hippocrate.

Cette industrie, pour ainsi dire morte pendant le moyen âge, et qui a trouvé sa renaissance, sa restauration à Florence, sous les Médicis, emprunta dès cette époque à la botanique, à l’alchimie — on ne disait pas encore la chimie— les notions exactes qui permirent à quelques savants, comme Réné, Ruggieri, etc., de conserver, d’immobiliser, pour ainsi dire, ce qu’il y a de plus volatile, le parfum.

C’est du règne de Catherine de Médicis, en effet, que date chez nous la création d ’une industrie qui devait se développer rapidement, grâce à la protection d’une Cour riche, galante, et qui, une fois entrée bien avant dans les habitudes, dans les mœurs, dans la vie même de la nation, devait laisser passer les exagérations de simplicité Spartiate de 92, 93 et 94, pour reparaître plus brillante sous le Directoire. Athènes remplaçait Sparte, et les arts, Le luxe, les fêtes revenaient accueillis avec cette. furie qu’expliquaient trois années de luttes et de préoccupations douloureuses.

Depuis, cette époque, la parfumerie prit une place importante dans le mouvement indus ' riel. Sa production s’éleva rapidement de 1796 à 1810 de 2 millions à 11 millions.

Depuis 1810, la progression ne s’est pas ralentie. On estime aujourd’hui à 35 ou 38 millions les produits des usines françaises—fabriques ou distilleries — consacrées à la fabrication des parfums ou des objets parfumés. L’exportation se chiffre par une quinzaine de millions. Enfin, les progrès réalisés depuis quelques années et dont la chimie peut revendiquer l’honneur, permettent d’espérer un accroissement sensible dans la production et l’exportation.

On sait, en effet, qu’en dehors des questions de fraîcheur et de beauté, la parfumerie soulève une grave question, celle de l’hygiène. Cherchant, avant tout, des agents actifs] et puissants, les chimistes demandèrent au règne animal et au règne végétal les huiles, les couleurs, les réactifs qui donnaient les plus rapides résultats, sans s’inquiéter des conséquences désastreuses que ces préparations pouvaient avoir sur l’organisme humain.

C’est ainsi que les fards, préparés pour les comédiens, renfermaient des principes d’une redoutable activité. Le blanc de céruse, pour n’en citer qu’un, si fréquemment employé autrefois, amena de nombreux accidents. Les rouges, employés au théâtre, contenaient également de véritables poisons. Enfin, les huiles, les graisses qui entraient dans la composition des pommades, des onguents, etc., devenaient par leur corruption la cause de maladies qui éveillèrent peu à peu l’attention des hommes compétents.

En présence d’accidents fort graves qui se multipliaient et dont nos tribunaux eurent à chercher la source, les chimistes s’émurent. Étudiant avec soin les divers fards, parfums, onguents, eaux diverses, dont se servaient les artistes, ils reconnurent l’existence de substances vénéneuses en quantité assez forte non-seulement pour altérer le teint ou la finesse des tissus, mais encore pour affecter le système nerveux, attaquer lentement, mais sûrement, l’épiderme, puis le tissu cellulaire et arriver enfin à jeter des troubles profonds dans l’organisme tout entier.

Un procès, resté célèbre au théâtre, donna le coup de grâce à cette industrie mortifère. Une jeune femme, une artiste, présentait au tribunal de la Seine un bras complètement atrophié par l’usage du blanc que les artistes emploient au théâtre. La condamnation du parfumeur devint un argument puissant en faveur des novateurs qui voulaient remplacer les agents minéraux par les agents végétaux. Une révolution se fit dans la parfumerie. On vit se produire en quelques mois une foule de productions — inoffensives, c’est vrai, mais inactives aussi. Cette fois, la science veillait ; et, prêté à faire justice des compositions dangereuses, elle n’épargnait pas non plus ces préparations qui ont sur le teint, les dents, les cheveux le même effet qu’une pilule de mie de pain sur l’estomac. Un des plus ardents soldats de cette croisade, un chimiste distingué, établit par de nombreuses publications que les agents incriminés pouvaient être remplacés facilement par des compositions également profitables à la beauté, et qui avaient sur leurs adversaires l’éminent avantage d’être tout à fait inoffensives.

Et comme il n’est si bonne vérité qu’une preuve matérielle et palpable ne rende plus évidente encore, M. Arrault, retiré dans son laboratoire, composait des fards, des pommades, des eaux de toilette qu’il livrait à l’examen des chimistes, ses pairs, sans même leur donner la peine d’une longue analyse. Car il donnait les formules.

C’est sous l’influence de quelques hommes de cette école, consciencieux, honnêtes et instruits, que la parfumerie eBt entrée dans une voie nouvelle, et c’est, transformée entièrement, dégagée des anciennes pratiques, et ne présentant plus qu’un danger, celui de ruiner MM. les maris, qu’elle se présente aujourd’hui à l’Exposition.

S’il fallait adopter les catalogues prolixes de MM. les parfumeurs, je n’aurais pas assez de ce numéro pour énumérer les innombrables productions dues à l’imagination de quelques inventeurs. En somme, tout se réduit à quelques produits à peu près semblables, et qui ont pour but l’entretien de la propreté, de la beauté, de la santé, ce qui, pour moi, est même chose. Les noms varient, les parfums peuvent varier aussi, mais les bases restent les mêmes. Quand on a vu les « eaux dentifrices » qui, depuis l’eau de Botot, jusqu’à celle du docteur Pierre, se composent d’alcool et de plantes aromatiques de même famille, les « eaux et vinaigres de toilette » — de même nature aussi, qu'elles portent le cachet presque illustre .des Farina (plus ou moins Jean-Marie), ou celui non moins célèbre de J. Vincent Bully, — les « poudres dentifrices » qui tournent toujours dans un cercle assez restreint de matières premières additionnées d’un parfum, — les « eaux parfumées pour mouchoirs » qui embrassent la flore des deux mondes, et désolent les lexicographes par leurs appellations insensées, — les « pommades, philocomes, huiles comogènes, etc., etc., » les « savons et pâtes dulcifiantes, lénifiantes, etc., » on a parcouru le domaine tout entier de cette industrie qui se sauve de l’accusation de frivolité par les services qu’elle peut rendre à la santé.

Il y a six ou sept produits principaux que les parfumeurs transforment, à l’aide d’un parfum, plus ou moins nouveau, mais qui, comme base, restent les mêmes.

Ainsi, aujourd’hui, les parties grasses sont presque universellement empruntées au goudron. On a reconnu les propriétés hygiéniques de cette matière que Raspail préconise et recommande énergiquement. Parmi les plantes employées à la préparation des parfums, on a' rejeté toutes celles que l’analyse chimique a déclarées nuisibles ou simplement douteuses. Le blanc de zinc, dont de nombreuses expériences ont établi l’innocuité parfaite, remplace le blanc de céruse d’un effet si désastreux. De même, dans les fards, dans les poudres, dans les onguents, tels que le cold-cream, les mêmes matières premières
servent de base avec des variantes insignifiantes.

Je disais tout à l’heure que la parfumerie française avait pris, par son chiffre d’affaires, une place importante dans notre mouvement industriel. Autrefois, en effet, l’Orient, nous fournissait à peu près exclusivement les matières premières, c’est-à-dire les plantes, les coraux, les minéraux et les végétaux de toute espèce qui entrent dans la composition des parfums. De ce côté, la France s’est créé une source de richesses, et la parfumerie est devenue une industrie vraiment nationale. C’est, en effet, aujourd’hui, Grasse, Nîmes, Nice, Avignon, Montpellier, qui nous fournissent les plantes et, dans toutes ces villes, d’importantes usines préparent les parfums qui se donnent rendez-vous dans les laboratoires de Paris. Bordeaux, Metz et Nancy ont de vastes distilleries d’où sortent les vinaigres, les essences, les eaux diverses que la coquetterie emploie sous mille noms différents.

Tous ces ateliers emploient un personnel considérable ; mais si l’on songe à l’immense quantité de vases en porcelaine, en cristal, en verre, de boîtes en carton, en ébène, en chêne, en citronnier, de flacons de toute forme et de toute taille qu’emploie la parfumerie; si l’on calcule (je voudrais le faire, mais c’est dans son intérêt) le nombre de prospectus, de prix-courants, de notices explicatives, etc,, etc., dont chaque parfumeur enveloppe ses produits, on se trouve en présence d’une armée de travailleurs, depuis le jardinier qui soigne les roses, les jasmins, les violettes, jusqu’à la « demoiselle de boutique » qui enveloppe les flacons et y attache une faveur rose ou lilas. Que deviennent les 38 ou 40 millions de tout à l’heure? Voyez-vous le mouvement considérable que cette industrie dite de luxe imprime à dix industries indifférentes ?

On a souvent parlé des bénéfices considérables que rapportait la parfumerie. Il ne faut rien exagérer. Comme tous les commerces qui empruntent une partie de leur succès à la mode, la parfumerie donne de gros bénéfices ou entraîne de lourdes pertes. Qu’un vinaigre, une pommade, un parfum soient adoptés par le public élégant, la fortune du créateur (je ne peux cependant pas dire de l’inventeur) est faite. Ne sont-ils pas bien accueillis,—-ce qui peut dépendre de la forme du flacon ou du nom de la...denrée,—le parfumeur qui a fabriqué une certaine quantité de son produit, qui a fait d’assez fortes dépenses en porcelaine ou en cristal, en annonces, etc., voit périr entre ses mains un fonds auquel la vogue seule peut donner une valeur. Dans les industries qui touchent à la fantaisie, l’habileté ne consiste-t-elle pas à in poser son propre goût au public, à créer la mode?Et cette habileté ne légitime-t-elle pas le succès?

La parfumerie française est représentée à l’Exposition par ses chefs les plus distingués. Parmi les noms des exposants, quelques-uns ont acquis une notoriété légitime. Je ne m’avance pas trop en citant les Piver, les Guerlain, les Demarson, les Chardin, les Petit et quelques autres, dont les noms viendront à leur tour.

La Commission a donné à la parfumerie une salle carrée, assez vaste, occupée intérieurement par les parfumeurs de Paris, qui terminent et vendent les produits de cette industrie, et extérieurement par les fabricants ou préparateurs de matières premières destinées aux pommades, vinaigres, cosmétiques, etc. — Il me semble de toute justice de commencer la revue des exposants par ces derniers.

Je citerai d’abord MM. Méro et Boyreau, de Grasse, qui n’ont obtenu aucune médaille par la simple raison qu’ils sont « hors concours »; mais la décision qui le3 a faits membres du jury s’appuie sur les nombreuses récompenses que ces fabricants ont obtenues à diverses expositions. La médaille d’or a été donnée à M. A. Chiris, fabricant de matières premières et distillateur à Grasse. Le jury a récompensé la finesse et la beauté des huiles de M. Chiris. C’est à des distillateurs qu’ont été données les autres récompenses, une médaille de bronze à MM. Séméria et Cie de Nice, et une mention honorable à MM. Nègre, Fiédler et C‘% qui dirigent une vaste usine à vapeur, à Nîmes, pour la préparation des vinaigres de toilette. Enfin, M. Michel a obtenu une médaille de bronze pour une charmante corbeille de fleurs et de fruits ; chaque fruit (des grains de raisin, des groseilles, etc.) est un flacon d’odeur.

Un nom — j’ai déjà dit presque illustre — arrête le visiteur à la porte; c’est celui de J. M. Farina, qui n’a pas dédaigné un petit coin dans le carré spécial de la parfumerie, quand il pouvait se contenter de la fameuse fontaine que connaissent les visiteurs de l’Exposition.

La salle réservée pour les exposants parisiens présente un aspect charmant, et n’était l’atmosphère saturée de parfums qui rendent pénible tout séjour un peu prolongé, on aurait plaisir à s’asseoir au «pied de la statue qui s’élève au milieu, et à reposer ses yeux sur ces élégantes vitrines, si coquettes et si séduisantes.

Chaque exposant a pris à tâche de donner — à son compartiment — ces dispositions harmonieuses dont les marchands parisiens ont le secret, et qui donnent je ne sais quel attrait à l’objet le plus ordinaire.

Nous avons là, du reste, les maîtres en parfumerie, Piver, qui, un des premiers, a cherché dans nos plantes indigènes les principes hygiéniques et a introduit dans la parfumerie, depuis 1842, un des agents les plus salutaires, le suc de laitue. Comme membre du jury, M. Piver a dû distribuer à des concurrents les récompenses qu’il méritait si bien. Il faut, du reste, reconnaître qu’ici les jurés ont fait acte de goût et d’équité, et le public sera de mon avis quand j’aurai nommé M. Coudray (médaille d’argent), qui a trouvé dans une plante du Mexique, le mamey un nouveau parfum; — M. Violet (médaille d’argent),- fournisseur de l’Impératrice; — MM. Vibert frères, qui, dans leur usine de Montreuil, fabriquent journellement de 12 à 1500 kilogrammes de pommade (n’êtes-vous pas effrayé?); — M. Guerlain, dont il me semble inutile de rappeler les mérites depuis longtemps connus; — M. Ed. Pissaud, qui n’a pas moins de quatre succursales à Paris et qui a bien mérité la médaille d’argent par l’énorme développement qu’il a su donner à son industrie; — M. Petit aîné, dont la vitrine est une merveille d’élégance; — M. Bleuze-Hadancourt, qui a trouvé un procédé — le fluide transmutatif— pour teindre les cheveux. Je ne-sais pas si le procédé réussit sur les cheveux vivants, mais je puis affirmer que les mèches de toutes les nuances exposées — mi-parties, comme les vêtements moyen âge, sont parfaitement réussies. Je ne veux pas passer sous silence MM. Chardin-Hadancourt et Gellé frères, qui ont obtenu des médailles d’argent, non plus que M. Delettrez, parfumeur du monde élégant, qui se sauve du petit ridicule de l’épigraphe peinte sur sa vitrine « comme noblesse, titre oblige » par le bon goût de son exposition.

J’aurai enfin réglé mes comptes avec les exposants quand je vous aurai rappelé les noms de MM. J. R. Vincent Bully (médaille de bronze), Delabrierre-Vincent (médaille de bronze), exposition très-variée de parfums pour mouchoir; le docteur Pierre, dont l’eau dentifrice méritait mieux peut être qu’une mention honorable ; Bonn, médaille de bronze pour parfumerie hygiénique ; enfin, Laboullée médaillé pour ses produits qui embrassent depuis le parfum pour mouchoir, jusqu’aux poudres et eaux dentifrices.

J’ai passé un peu rapidement la revue des représentants de la parfumerie française. Il en est qui ont droit à un examen plus attentif; telle, la maison Piver. Mais tous ceux que j’ai nommés peuvent prendre part dans une certaine mesure aux éloges que j’ai donnés aux efforts et aux progrès de cette industrie. Si l’on s’étonne du nombre relativement considérable de récompenses qu’ont obtenues nos exposants, on devra songer que la France doit à son climat des productions végétales que son industrie sait utiliser; qu’en dehors des combinaisons chimiques où nous avons déjà une certaine supériorité, nos fabricants se distinguent par un goût, une élégance, que l’on trouve rarement ailleurs. Et, pour tout dire, toute cette poterie fine, si délicatement peinte, ces boîtes si élégantes, ces faveurs si fraîches, tout cela n’appartient-il pas à ce que l’on a nommé génériquement l’article de Paris? Eh bien, malgré la manie d’enthousiasme pour les produits étrangers qui distingue ce siècle, Paris — et non pas Vienne — aura la supériorité, toutes les fois qu’il s’agira de légèreté, d’élégance et de goût.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée