International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Class 91 - Cheap pottery

Class 91 - Cheap pottery at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

We have seen, in class 17, ceramics, sumptuous and ornate, received in palaces, served by numerous and remarkable artists. We find it again, but more modestly, in class 91, which includes furniture, clothing and foodstuffs of all kinds, distinguished by useful qualities, combined with cheapness. The aim is to furnish the kitchen and dining room in the best possible conditions.

Here, there is no need for description; clay is shaped into tableware, sinks, bowls, pots, pans; but it does not take on ambitious forms. It does not know the distinctions of glaze painting and post-firing painting. The beauty of Class 91 ceramics consists mainly in their solidity. They are to their Class 17 counterparts what a sturdy common man is to a son of a good house.

Some of them, however, are not free of research. Our pottery makers, without raising their prices, endeavour to propagate good taste, to develop a sense of elegance and comfort.

Mr. Utzschneider takes as much care in the manufacture of his common earthenware as he does in the manufacture of the artistic stoneware, planters, plates and planters that are admired in class 17. His factory, located in Sarreguemines (Moselle), is the most important in eastern France.

M. Moreau, from Paris, has found ingenious and economical processes for applying gold and silver to stoneware. Messrs Duréault, Motte et Cie, of Grigny (Rhône), have opaque porcelains of great whiteness, and whose translucent glaze is distinguished by its hardness.

One problem that has not yet been completely solved is that of producing fireproof porcelain and earthenware, especially at low cost. Few housewives have not bought dishes that were advertised as being as fireproof as crucibles, and which, from the very first experience, let the eggs escape into the crate when they cracked. We could only judge by the test the porcelain and earthenware that go in the fire, of Messrs Gosse, of Bayeux; Fermont, father and son, of Saint-Vallier (Drôme).

A gentleman from Touraine, Count de Boissimon, does not believe he is derogating from the rule by successfully operating a factory of pottery, ceramic stoneware and household stoneware in Langeais (Indre-et-Loire), a town whose refractory bricks, mosaic tiles and ornamental vases have long been highly regarded.

Let us also mention the earthenware of M. Faure and Mme. Faure, and Mrs. Brunet's widow, in Pou-sas; of Mr. Chaunivert, in La Montagne, (Nièvre); of Messrs. Perrigault, Charpentier et fils, in Saint-Aignan (Loir-et-Cher).

Mr. Cher-et, modeller at Vitry-le-Français (Marne), has undertaken to popularise the art by executing terracotta statuettes, for which he is satisfied with a modest remuneration. We must do justice to the patriotic feeling which inspired him to defend the flag, abolish the treaties of 1815, allegorical figurine; after the battle, etc.; this is true popular sculpture.

Three foreign nations, Austria, Italy and Egypt, are successful in their efforts to manufacture household utensils and common pottery at very low prices. Those of M. Simon Marth, in Vienna, and those of Egypt are to be commended without reservation. Simon Marth, in Vienna, and of Mr. Franz Knittl, of Essegg, in Esclavonia, may be praised without reservation. Excellent and solid pots, bowls, pans, jugs and tureens come from Pistoia, Lodi, Arezzo, Albisola Marina, and mainly from the province of Macerata, where the factories of Messrs Gaoni, Mentonelli, Santeolini, Nardi, Bianchedi and Venanzuoli are grouped. As for the pottery sent to us by the inhabitants of Aswan and Keneh, on the right bank of the Nile, they are distinguished by their original colours and shapes.

We shall return to class 91, which includes fabrics, clothes, furniture, glassware, Parisian articles, ice-creams, heating appliances, irons, combs, and other objects of primary use. This is certainly one of the most interesting classes of the Exhibition, since it has in view the improvement of the welfare of the workers.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Classe 91 - Poteries à bon marché

Classe 91 - Poteries à bon marché à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Nous avons vu, dans la classe 17, la céramique, somptueuse et parée, reçue dans les palais, servie par de nombreux et remarquables artistes. Nous la retrouvons, mais plus modeste, dans la classe 91, qui comprend les meubles, vêtements et aliments de toute espèce, distingués par les qualités utiles, unies au bon marché. Le but qu'elle se propose, c’est de garnir, aux meilleures conditions possibles, la cuisine et la salle à manger.

Ici, point de descriptions à faire ; l’argile se façonne en services de table, en lavabos, en cuvettes, en marmites, en pots, en casseroles; mais elle n’affecte point de formes ambitieuses. Elle ne connaît point les distinctions de peintures sur émail cru et de peintures après la cuisson. La beauté des produits céramiques de la classe 91 consiste principalement dans la solidité. Ils sont à leurs similaires de la classe 17 ce qu’est un robuste homme du peuple à un fils de bonne maison.

Quelques-uns, pourtant, ne sont pas exempts de recherche. Nos faïenciers, sans élever leurs prix, s’attachent à propager le bon goût, à développer le sentiment de l’élégance et du confort.

M. Utzschneider apporte dans la fabrication de ses faïences communes autant de soin que dans celles des grès artistiques, des jardinières, des plaques et cache-pots qu’on admire dans la classe 17. Son établissement, situé à Sarreguemines (Moselle), est le plus important de l’est de la France.

M. Moreau, de Paris, a trouvé des procédés ingénieux et économiques pour appliquer l’or et l’argent sur le grès. MM. Duréault, Motte et Cie, de Grigny (Rhône), ont des porcelaines opaques d’une grande blancheur, et dont la couverte translucide se distingue par sa dureté.

Un problème qui n’a pas encore été résolu complètement, c’est celui de produire, surtout à bon marché, des porcelaines et faïences allant au feu. Il est peu de ménagères qui n’aient acheté des plats qu’un prospectus présentait comme aussi réfractaires que des creusets, et qui, dès la première expérience, laissaient, en se fendant, échapper les œufs dans le-brasier. Nous ne pourrions juger qu’à l’épreuve les porcelaines et faïences allant au feu, de MM. Gosse, de Bayeux; Fermont, père et fils, de Saint-Vallier (Drôme).

Un gentilhomme tourangeau, M. le comte de Boissimon, ne croit pas déroger en exploitant avec succès une manufacture de poteries, de grès céramiques, de grès de ménage, à Langeais (Indre-et-Loire), ville dont les briques réfractaires, les carreaux mosaïques, les vases d’ornement, sont depuis longtemps estimés.

Mentionnons encore les poteries de terre deM. Faure, et de Mme veuve Brunet, à Pou-sas; de M. Chaunivert, à la Montagne, (Nièvre); de MM. Perrigault, Charpentier et fils, à Saint-Aignan (Loir-et-Cher).

M. Cher-et, modeleur à Vitry-le-Français (Marne), a entrepris de vulgariser l’art en exécutant des statuettes en terre cuite, pour lesquelles il se contente d’un prix rémunérateur modique. Nous devons rendre justice au sentiment patriotique qui lui a inspiré la défense du drapeau, l'abolition des traités de 1815, figurine allégorique; après la bataille, etc.; c’est de la vraie sculpture populaire.

Trois nations étrangères, l’Autriche, l’Italie et l’Égypte réussissent dans leurs efforts pour fabriquer à de très-bas prix les ustensiles de ménage et les poteries communes. On peut louer sans réserve celles deM. Simon Marth, à Vienne, et de M. Franz Knittl, d’Essegg, en Esclavonie. D’excellentes et solides marmites, gamelles, pots, tourtières, brocs et soupières nous viennent de Pistoie, de Lodi, d’Arezzo, d’Albisola Marina, et principalement de la province de Macerata, où sont groupées les fabriques de MM. Gaoni, Mentonelli, Santeolini, Nardi, Bianchedi et Venanzuoli. Quant aux poteries que nous envoient les habitants d’Assouan et de Kéneh, sur la rive droite du Nil, elles se distinguent par leurs teintes et leurs formes originales.

Nous aurons à revenir sur la classe 91, qui comprend des tissus, des habits, des meubles, de la verrerie, des articles de Paris, des glaces, des appareils de chauffage, des fers à repasser, des peignes, et autres objets de première utilité. C’est certainement une des classes les plus intéressantes de l’Exposition, puisqu’elle a en vue l’amélioration du bien-être des travailleurs.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée