International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Street of Paris

Street of Paris at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

This is the rue des merveilles: we spoke about it at the beginning; we will speak about it again; the subject is inexhaustible. It forms the main thoroughfare of the small axis, on the French side, between the fourth and fifth sectors.

Entering through the central garden, opposite the pavilion of the mints, we first enter a salon that could be called the salon of Napoleon I, because his busts of all ages and sizes form the main ornament. In the centre is a beautiful ornamented statue of the legislator of the codes, which we shall be obliged to reproduce and interpret, because of the importance of the subject and the work. By some gallant anachronism a remarkable statue of Miss Mars has crept in, which is also worth reproducing.

The four walls of the salon are occupied by the marble tarsia paintings of Baron de Triquetti. One cannot deny this curious work the merit of novelty. Nothing is new in the details; they are mosaics in design: everything is original in the whole. These marble inlaid pictures were commissioned by Queen Victoria for the tomb of Prince Albert; they will not be the least beautiful ornament.

Opposite us is the clock of M. Paul Garnier, shown in our overall drawing, as a landmark. We would like to be able to describe its ingenious mechanism; time is short, let us pass.

To the right and left of the clock is the music and piano gallery. In spite of the noise made elsewhere, this is where the real dilettanti flock, provided that a talented artist is experimenting with the keyboard.

Let us move on: we are in the presence of Mr Charles Lepec's showcase. It is a collection of art enamels, as many masterpieces. One can discuss the more or less tasteful way in which these enamels were made, but the beauty of the work is incomparable. Never has anything better been done in the past. It is an honour for France to produce such beautiful things, nowadays when there are no more merchant-kings to inspire them and pay them what they are worth.

We are talking about marvels! Here on the right are the imperial factories of Sèvres, Gobelins and Beauvais. The inimitable pencil of M. Lancelot will reproduce them for you, dear reader, as he has already reproduced the resplendent exhibition of Baccarat, which is on the left. I do not want to take away from one of my collaborators the proud pleasure of telling you about Sèvres, the Gobelins and Beauvais.

Between these two exhibitions, incomparable in every way, we find, in profile on the street, the Saint-Gobain mirrors, one with tain, the other without tain.

We have said that the past had nothing more perfect to oppose us as work than the artistic enamels of Mr. Ch. Lepec; we can add that the windows of Venice, whose greenish tints and deep bevels are admired, have nothing comparable to the windows of Saint-Gobain. Is there a single palace in Venice which is occupied from top to bottom by a single glass at a height of almost 7 metres? Is there a single Lombardy villa with a bay wide enough and high enough, opening onto fairy-tale parks, that a Saint-Gobain glass cannot make transparent, by forming an invisible barrier to the outside air? At the entrance to the vestibule, did the deceived eyes see the obstacle that the Saint-Gobain glass opposed to the passage from one aisle to the other?

THE SAINT-GOBAIN ESTABLISHMENT.

Perhaps we will not have another opportunity to talk about Saint-Gobain: let us take advantage of this one.

The establishment of Saint-Gobain goes back a long way. It is the work of Colbert, who founded the royal ice factory in 1665. This Colbert, although old, was good: at the same time as Saint-Gobain, he founded the Academy of Sciences, another establishment which did not lack brilliance. I do not believe that Colbert's famous ordinances are entirely consistent with the principles of free trade; however, free trade has not yet entirely replaced them.

In any case, Saint-Gobain has always benefited from its cousinhood with the Academy of Sciences; and we know of no establishment that has left the door open to all progress more than this one.

In 1845, at the Vienna Exhibition, it was considered a wonder that a Bohemian glassworks had exhibited a blown glass 2.16 m high and 1.10 m wide, which had required the handling of a glazed mass of more than one hundred kilograms.
Here are the dimensions of the mirrors that Saint-Gobain exhibits today at the Champ de Mars:
Coming from Surface area.
Saint-Gobain 1 glass in white of 5m93 X 3m64 21m58
- 1 - - 5m88 X 3m60 21m17
Girey . 1 - 6m56 X 3m25 21m19
Saint-Gobain 1 tinned glass of 5m90 X 3m68 21m71
- 1 - - 5m01 X 3™60 18m04

What do you think of these dimensions?What is the giant palace whose glass of this area could not close the bays?

How did we manage to make glass so ductile, keeping it spotlessly pure and flawlessly transparent? I told you that Saint-Gobain was held at the same baptismal font as the Academy of Sciences: it therefore took advantage of all the privileges of this kinship. First of all, mechanics was put in requisition for the casting and rolling of glass; at the same time, chemistry was used to purify the glass by using sodium sulphate. In addition, an invention by Messrs. Siémens, justly rewarded in 1867, has made it possible to substitute the gas and regenerated heat furnace for coal and wood for casting. And at the same time as the mechanical and chemical operations employed in the treatment of glass were being perfected, a means was found of substituting silver for mercury in tinning.

For those who would like more information than I can provide here, I recommend reading a very interesting book by Mr. A. Cochin, of the Institute, on the Saint-Gobain factory from its foundation in 1665 to 1865. It shows how this model establishment grew and improved, and how it spread its branches to Chauny, Girey, and as far as Manheim in Germany.

As it perfected its means of production, Saint-Gobain improved the condition of its workers. And if we were not afraid of giving the special jury for the new order of awards remorse, we would show what Saint-Gobain has done to develop good harmony between those who work and those who make work.

All I wanted to do here was to bow to the beautiful products exhibited by this establishment.

There are other subjects that call for our attention.

Let us move on. Before Mr. Lepec's showcase, we come across the showcase of Mr. Rudolphi. This exhibitor has made a considerable effort to go back to the past in terms of artistic jewellery. The effort is there; the triumph not yet.

After the central showcase of Mr. Ch. Lepec, we find the coral showcase of Mr. Her-bet. I don't know if Mr. Herbet was inspired by the Neapolitan art of setting corals, but he has well disguised his apprenticeship; in any case, we did not know that a coral ornament could reach the degree of charm that he has brought it to.

Aluminium is a brand new metal, - out of the ground, so to speak. Unlike gold, which is distinguished by its heaviness as well as its purity, aluminium is distinguished by its lightness. Imagine that an actress, who had to wear a full suit of armour on stage, probably in a play based on the Tasso, had given up her role when an aluminium suit of armour was brought to her, weighing less than ten pounds. Aluminium is cold to the eye; but it lends itself to everything, to jewellery, to monstrances, to all the motifs of art and ornament. Mr. Paul Morin has proved it well in the two shop windows he occupies in the middle of the Rue de Paris.

The gunsmiths' exhibition is on the right. If you wish to hear about the Chassepot rifle and the havoc it is wreaking, you must enter there: we will tell you about it another day.

I prefer to go through the double salon of the Lyon silks, which is opposite. But, here again, I come across a reserved subject, and one that cannot be tackled with the current of the pen.

The existence of Lyon as a city has become a serious problem. The work of silk has, so to speak, been extravasated into the countryside. The Lyonnais worker proper, the canut, is obliged to pay more for everything than his rustic competitor. He pays a tithe to the octroi; his wife and children are obliged to be well dressed. He himself cannot, after his day's work, do without distractions. He goes to bed exhausted, and consequently rises late; whereas the country weaver is up at five in the morning, perfectly fit, having gone to bed at dusk. His children and wife are barely clothed: the absence of distractions suppresses expenditure, and thus provokes the offer of cheap labour.

It is true that, in the absence of plain cloth, the city worker is left with wrought and brocaded cloth, the rich silks. But the fashionable silk and brocaded silk have gone out of fashion, being too expensive; and the foreigner, following the example of Paris, sacrifices to the ready-made. The costs of a loom assembly are, moreover, considerable, and do not vary, while the resources of the order decrease. This is, I dare say, a situation full of anguish for the worker in Lyon.
In the current which is dragging him down, there is only one branch of salvation left to him: it is the shaping of furnishing fabrics. There, he is without rival, as long as luxury continues; and as he trains apprentices for this work, which is essentially professional, this is a resource for him.

But what! fortunes are crumbling; and from furnishings in damask silk, one passes with crumbling to the painted cottons of Mulhouse, almost as resplendent as silk, more quickly faded, no doubt, but much less costly to acquire first.

It is therefore not without a certain tightness of heart that we admire all the marvels lavished by the industry of Lyon! What!" I said to myself, "this magnificent art of Lyonnais weaving, which, in order to be brought to the point of perfection where we see it, has required the efforts of the genius of mechanics and design through so many generations who have passed on the secret, what! all this is going to collapse under the fatal level of time! Is it possible? and can no human intervention save this compromised industry, once and still today the glory of France?

To insist on this painful point would take me too far. I prefer to move on to the industries in progress: and I arrive at the gallery of raw materials, where the3 wrought metals are to be found on the right and left. Here I am again in an area where one of our collaborators, Mr. Victor Meunier, has hunted before me. But never mind! Let us at least glean, since the harvest is done. It is a brand new art to cast iron in a single jet and without retouching, as they say, to make it suitable for monumental works, such as statues, fountains, pediments, etc. In this art, M. Zégut (de Tusey), whom I find on my way, although I do not know him otherwise, seems to me to be a master; and it does not seem to me that he has been given the reward he deserved. I would like to see him cast the Pieta, the sculptural group by M. Dupré of Florence, which won the grand prize: he would reproduce this remarkable work in as many copies as there are churches in France, and almost at the material price of casting. Note that cast iron can be painted, as Greek sculptors once painted their marble statues.

M. Zégut, I am told, is a man as modest as he is deserving: he has the double honour of having made a factory prosper, and of having raised another which was falling. May the Moselle department, where the iron industry is so active, console itself for not having received a gold medal, since its most prominent representative only obtained a silver medal.

In front of us, at the end of the rue de Paris, in the middle of a gallery of 3 machines, is a monumental organ, fortunately quieter than the American pianos, and which we have reproduced in drawing in our 7th issue.

We have hardly made more than a topographical review along this marvellous street of Paris. We have not even been complete as a nomenclature, since we have forgotten to mention, opposite the silks of Lyon, the admirable class of goldsmiths, jewellers and jewellery makers, where no one can dispute our superiority, with artists such as Messrs Christofle, Froment-Meurice, Odiot, Beaugrand, Massin, Rouvenat, Lepec, Duron, Veyrat and the others. Benvenuto Cellini himself, this master of all the arts, would applaud this assemblage of masterpieces of all kinds. It is especially in the street of Paris that one understands in a clear and unmistakable way that France is still the polite nation par excellence, since its superiority shines out above all in things of art and taste, and that the masters of all elegance are gathered here.

And we have not been able to speak either of all the ravishing tapestries which serve, so to speak, as a frame for the Baccarat crystal works. We would have to be even more ecstatic, and go one step further out of our way, to the gallery of bronzes, another undisputed superiority that we claim for France. The bronziers were disturbed by the strike at the very moment of their exhibition: what would it be, if they had not been disturbed, since the strike did not make any noticeable gap?

If we do not insist on so many remarkable objects that we have just mentioned in passing, it is because we have already spoken of some of them, and that we intend to speak of others. This is only a general review, a methodical general indication.

It is a mine that I am opening before my collaborators, and that I am leaving to them.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Rue de Paris

Rue de Paris à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Ceci est la rue des merveilles : nous en avons parlé dès le début ; nous en reparlerons encore; le sujet est inépuisable. Elle forme la voie principale du petit axe, du côté de la France, entre le quatrième et le cinquième secteur.

En entrant par le Jardin central, en face le pavillon des monnaies, nous pénétrons d’abord dans un salon qu’on pourrait nommer le salon de Napoléon Ier, car ses bustes de tout âge et de toute dimension en forment l’ornement principal. Au centre, est une belle statue ornementée du législateur des codes, que nous serons bien obligé de reproduire et d’interpréter, à cause de l’importance du sujet et de l’œuvre. Je ne sais par quel anachronisme galant s’est glissée là une remarquable statue de Mlle Mars, qui vaut également la peine d être reproduite.

Les quatre parois du salon sont occupées par les tableaux en tarsia de marbre du baron de Triquetti. Ôn ne peut refuser à ce curieux travail le mérite de la nouveauté. Rien n’est nouveau dans les détails; ce sont des mosaïques en dessins : tout est original dans l’ensemble. Ces tableaux en marqueterie de marbre ont été commandés par la reine Victoria pour le tombeau du prince Albert; ils n’en seront pas le moins bel ornement.

En face de nous est l’horloge de M. Paul Garnier, figurée dans notre dessin d’ensemble, comme point de repère. Nous voudrions pouvoir en décrire l’ingénieux mécanisme; le temps nous presse, passons.

A droite et à gauche de l’horloge, est la galerie de la musique et des pianos. Malgré le bruit qu’on fait ailleurs, c’est là que se pressent les vrais dilettanti, pourvu qu’un artiste de talent fasse des expériences dé clavier.

Avançons: nous sommes en présence de la vitrine de M. Charles Lepec. C’est une collection d’émaux d’art, autant de chefs-d’œuvre. On pourra discuter le plus ou moins de goût qui a présidé à la confection de ces émaux, mais la beauté du travail est incomparable. Jamais on n’a mieux fait dans le passé. C’est un honneur pour la France de produire de si belles choses, de nos jours où il n’y a plus de marchands-rois pour les inspirer et les payer ce qu’elles valent.

Nous parlons de merveilles ! Voici à droite les manufactures impériales de Sèvres, Gobelins et Beauvais. Le crayon inimitable de M. Lancelot vous les reproduira, cher lecteur, comme il vous a reproduit déjà l’exposition resplendissante de Baccarat, qui est à gauche. Je ne veux pas enlever à l’un de mes collaborateurs le plaisir orgueilleux de vous parler de Sèvres, des Gobelins et de Beauvais.

Entre ces deux expositions, de tous points incomparables, on trouve, en profil sur la rue, les glaces de Saint-Gobain, l’une avec tain, l’autre sans tain.

Nous avons dit que le passé n’avait rien à nous opposer de plus parfait comme travail que les émaux d’art de M. Ch. Lepec; nous pouvons ajouter que les glaces de Venise, dont on admire les teintes verdâtres et les biseaux profonds, n’ont rien de comparable aux glaces de Saint-Gobain. Y a-t-il un seul palais de Venise, qu’une seule glace occupe de haut en bas, à près de 7 mètres d’élévation? Y a-t-il une seule villa Lombarde, qui ait une baie assez large et assez haute, s’ouvrant sur des parcs féeriques, qu’une glace de Saint-Gobain ne puisse rendre transparente, en formant une barrière invisible à l’air extérieur? A l’entrée du vestibule, est-ce que les yeux trompés ont vu l’obstacle que les glaces de Saint-Gobain opposaient au passage d’une allée à l’autre ?

L’ÉTABLISSEMENT DE SAINT-GOBAIN.

Peut-être ne retrouverons-nous plus l’occasion de parler de Saint-Gobain : profitons de celle-ci.

L’établissement de Saint-Gobain date de loin. Il est l’œuvre de Colbert qui fonda, en 1665, la manufacture royale des glaces. Ce Colbert, quoique ancien, avait du bon : en même temps que Saint-Gobain, il fondait l’Académie des sciences, un autre établissement qui n’a pas manqué d’éclat. Je ne crois pas que les fameuses ordonnances de Colbert soient tout à fait conformes aux principes de libre échange; cependant le libre échange n’a pu encore tout à fait les remplacer.

Quoi qu’il en soit, Saint-Gobain a toujours profité de son cousinage avec l’Académie des sciences; et nous ne connaissons pas un établissement qui ait plus que celui-ci laissé la porte ouverte à tous les progrès.

En 1845, on regarda comme un prodige, à l’Exposition de Vienne, qu’une verrerie de Bohême eût exposé une glace soufflée de 2 m 16 de hauteur sur 1m 10 de largeur, laquelle avait exigé le maniement en plein feu d’une masse vitrifiée de plus de cent kilogrammes.
Voici les dimensions des glaces qu’expose aujourd’hui Saint-Gobain au Champ de Mars :
Venant de Superficie.
Saint-Gobain 1 glace en blanc de 5m93 X 3m64 21m58
— 1 — — 5m88 X 3m60 21m17
Girey ... 1 — 6m56 X 3m25 21m19
Saint-Gobain 1 glace étamée de 5m90 X 3m68 21m71
— 1 — — 5m01 X 3™60 18m04

Que vous semble de ces dimensions?Quel est le palais de géant dont les glaces de cette superficie ne pourraient fermer les baies ?

Comment est-on arrivé à rendre le verre à ce point ductile, en lui conservant une pureté sans tache et une transparence sans défaut? Je vous ai dit que Saint-Gobain avait été tenu sur les mêmes fonds baptismaux que l’Académie des sciences : il a donc mis à profit tous les privilèges de cette parenté. D’abord, la mécanique a été mise en réquisition pour le coulage et le laminage des glaces; en même temps la chimie est intervenue pour épurer la matière vitrifiable par l’emploi du sulfate de soude. En outre, une invention de MM. Siémens, justement récompensée en 1867, a permis de substituer au charbon et au bois, pour la fonte, le four à gaz et à chaleur régénérée. Et dans le même temps que les opérations mécaniques et chimiques employées au traitement du verre étaient perfectionnées, on trouvait moyen de substituer l’argent au mercure pour l’étamage.

A ceux qui voudraient de plus amples renseignements que je ne puis leur donner ici, je recommande la lecture d’un livre fort intéressant de M. A. Cochin, de l’Institut, sur la manufacture de Saint-Gobain depuis sa fondation en 1665 jusqu’en 1865. On y verra comment cet établissement modèle s’est agrandi en même temps que perfectionné, et comment il a jeté ses branches à Chauny, à Girey, et jusqu’en Allemagne, à Manheim.

A mesure qu’il perfectionnait ses moyens de fabrication, Saint-Gobain améliorait la condition de ses ouvriers. Et si nous ne craignions de donner des remords au jury spécial pour le nouvel ordre des récompenses, nous montrerions ce qu’a fait Saint-Gobain pour développer la bonne harmonie entre ceux qui travaillent et ceux qui font travailler.

Je n’ai voulu ici que tirer une révérence devant les beaux produits exposés par cet établissement.

D’autres sujets nous réclament.

Avançons encore. Avant la vitrine de M. Lepec, nous rencontrons la vitrine de M. Rudolphi. Il y a chez cet exposant un effort considérable à remonter vers le passé, en fait de joaillerie artistique. L’effort y est ; le triomphe pas encore.

Après la vitrine centrale de M. Ch. Lepec, nous trouvons la vitrine à coraux de M. Her-bet. Je ne sais pas si M. Herbet s’est inspiré de l’art des Napolitains à sertir les coraux, mais il a bien déguisé son apprentissage ; dans tous les cas, nous ne savions pas qu’une parure de corail pût arriver au degré de charme où il l’a portée.

L’aluminium est un métal tout nouveau, — sorti de terre, c’est le cas de le dire. Au contraire de l’or qui se distingue par sa pesanteur non moins que par sa pureté, l’aluminium vaut par sa légèreté. Figurez-vous qu’une actrice, ayant à porter sur la scène une armure complète, probablement dans une pièce tirée du Tasse, avait renoncé à son rôle, lorsqu’on lui apporta une armure d’aluminium qui ne pesait pas dix livres. L’aluminium est froid à l’œil; mais il se prête à tout, aux bijoux, aux ostensoirs, à tous les motifs d’art et d’ornement. M. Paul Morin l’a bien prouvé dans les deux vitrines qu'il occupe au milieu de la rue de Paris.

L’exposition des armuriers est à droite. Si vous désirez entendre parler du fusil Chassepot et des ravages qu’il prépare, il faut entrer là : nous vous en dirons des nouvelles un autre jour.

J’aime mieux parcourir le double salon des soieries de Lyon, qui se trouve en face. Mais, ici encore, je rencontre un sujet réservé, et qu’on ne peut point aborder au courant de la plume.

L’existence de l’agglomération lyonnaise, en tant que ville, est devenue un lourd problême. Le travail de la soie s’est, pour ainsi dire, extravasé dans les campagnes. L’ouvrier lyonnais proprement dit, le canut, est obligé de tout payer plus cher que son concurrent rustique. Il paye la dîme à l’octroi ; sa femme et ses enfants sont obligés d’être à peu près bien vêtus. Lui-même ne peut, après sa journée de travail, se passer de distractions. Il se couche exténué, et se lève tard par conséquent; tandis que le tisseur de campagne est debout à cinq heures du matin, parfaitement dispos, s’étant couché à la nuit tombante. Les enfants et la femme de celui-:i sont à peine vêtus : l’absence de distractions supprime la dépense, et provoque, par cela même, l’offre du travail au rabais.

Il est vrai que, à défaut de l’uni, il reste à l’ouvrier de la ville le façonné et le broché, les soieries riches. Mais le façonné et le broché sont passés de mode, étant trop chers; et l’étranger, à l’exemple de Paris, sacrifie à la confection. Le3 frais d’un montage de métier sont, d’ailleurs, considérables, et ne varient pas, tandis que les ressources de la commande diminuent. C’est là, j’ose le dire, une situation pleine d’angoisses pour l’ouvrier de Lyon.
Dans le courant qui l’entraîne, une seule branche de salut lui reste : c’est le façonnage pour les étoffes d’ameublement. Là, il est sans rival, tant que le luxe se maintient; et comme il forme des apprentis pour ce travail, essentiellement professionnel, cela lui est une ressource.

Mais quoi! les fortunes s’émiettent; et des ameublements en soie damassée, on passe avec l’émiettement aux cotonnades peintes de Mulhouse, presque aussi resplendissantes que la soie, plus vite fanées sans doute, mais beaucoup moins coûteuses d’acquisition première.

Ce n’est donc pas sans un certain serrement de cœur que nous admirons toutes les merveilles prodiguées par l’industrie lyonnaise ! « Quoi ! me disais-je, cet art magnifique du tissage lyonnais, qui, pour être amené au point de perfection où on le voit, a exigé les efforts du génie de la mécanique et du dessin à travers tant de générations qui s’en sont transmis le secret, quoi! tout cela va s'effondrer sous le niveau fatal du temps! Est-ce possible? et aucune intervention humaine ne peut-elle donc sauver cette industrie compromise, naguère et aujourd’hui encore la gloire de la France?»

Insister sur ce point douloureux m’entraînerait trop loin. J’aime mieux passer aux industries en progrès : et j’arrive à la galerie des matières premières, trou va it à droite et à gauche le3 métaux ouvrés. Ici, je me trouve encore sur un domaine où un de nos collaborateurs, M. Victor Meunier, a chassé avant moi. Mais n’importe! glanons au moins, puisque la moisson est faite. C’est un art tout nouveau que de couler la fonte en. un seul jet et sans retouches, comme on dit, pour la rendre apte aux œuvres monumentales, telles que statues, fontaines, frontons, etc. Dans cet art, M. Zégut (de Tusey), que je trouve sur mon passage, quoique je ne le connaisse pas autrement, me paraît passé maître; et il ne me semble pas qu’on lui ait accordé la récompense qu’il méritait. Je voudrais lui voir couler en fonte la Pieta, le groupe sculptural de M. Dupré de Florence, qui a obtenu le grand prix : il reproduirait cette œuvre remarquable à autant d’exemplaires qu’il y a d églises en France, et presque au prix matériel delà fonte. Notez qu’on peut peindre la fonte, comme autrefois les sculpteurs grecs peignaient leurs statues de marbre.

M. Zégut, me dit-on, est un homme aussi modeste que méritant : il a le double honneur d’avoir fait prospérer une usine, et d’en avoir relevé une autre qui tombait. Que le département de la Moselle, où l’industrie du fer est si active, se console de n’avoir pas eu de médaille d’or, puisque son représentant le plus en évidence n’a obtenu qu’une médaille d’argent.

Devant nous, au bout de la rue de Paris, en pleine galerie de3 machines, est un orgue monumental, heureusement plus silencieux que les pianos américains, et que nous avons reproduit en dessin dans notre 7e livraison.

Nous n’avons guère fait qu’une revue topographique le long de cette merveilleuse rue de Paris. Nous n’avons même pas été complets comme nomenclature, puisque nous avons oublié de mentionner, en face des soieries de Lyon, l’admirable classe de l’orfévrerie, de la joaillerie et de la bijouterie, où personne ne peut nous disputer la supériorité, avec des artistes tels que MM. Christofle, Froment-Meurice, Odiot, Beaugrand, Massin, Rouvenat, Lepec, Duron, Veyrat et les autres. Benvenuto Cellini lui-même, ce maître de tous les arts réunis, applaudirait à cet assemblage de chefs-d’œuvre en tout genre. C’est dans la rue de Paris surtout que l’on comprend d’une façon évidente et sans réplique que la France est encore la nation policée par excellence, puisque sa supériorité éclate surtout dans les choses d’art et de goût, et que les maîtres de toutes les élégances sont ici réunis.

Et nous n’avons pas pu parler non plus de toutes les ravissantes tapisseries qui servent, pour ainsi dire, d’encadrement aux cristalleries de Baccarat. Il faudrait s’extasier encore, et faire un pas i e plus hors de notre voie, jusqu’à la galerie des bronzes, une autre supériorité incontestée que nous réclamons pour la France. Les bronziers ont été dérangés par la grève au moment même de leur exposition : que serait-ce, s’ils n’avaient pas été dérangés, puisque la grève n’a pas fait de lacune sensible?

Si nous n’insistons pas sur tant d’objets remarquables que nous venons d'indiquer en passant, c’est que nous avons déjà parlé des uns, et que nous comptons parler des autres. Ceci n’est qu’une revue d ensemble, une indication générale méthodique.

C'est une mine que j’ouvre devant mes collaborateurs, et que je leur abandonne.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée