International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Cheuvreux-Aubertot House

Cheuvreux-Aubertot House at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

However vast the Palace erected in the Champ de Mars may be, today everyone knows that this Palace, contrary to the broadest calculations and the wisest predictions in appearance, was infinitely too narrow for complete satisfaction to be given to the most legitimate demands. It is needless to say that the Imperial Commission was greatly embarrassed.

To get out of a completely unforeseen difficulty, what did it have to do? The best thing for it to do was simply to follow the example of the municipal council of Paris, and that is what it very wisely did.

The said council, following any new loan opened by the city, is constantly obliged, in view of the considerable number and the enormous figure of the applications, to proceed, not by way of elimination and exclusion, which would be derogatory and unfair to the small depositors, but by way of reduction and proportional distribution, which, without satisfying everyone, is unpleasant to no one.

This is what the Imperial Commission had to do and what it did. In order to satisfy all the requests, it reduced everyone's demands. However, it graciously allowed all those who could find the space granted to them insufficient, the right to settle in the Park and to live there at their ease and according to their convenience.

It is to this liberal concession that we owe most of the elegant kiosks and charming buildings scattered around the Palace, and which resemble so many vigorous shoots sprouting from its roots.

Such is the pavilion of the Cheuvreux-Aubertot house, built near the international theatre, on the designs and under the direction of one of our best architects, Mr. Paul Sédille.

This graceful monument, in Renaissance style, bathed at all hours in a soft light filtered by the surrounding trees, deserves, among all others, by its happy disposition, its graceful distribution, and its rich and coquettish decoration, to be visited in its smallest details by those who wish to take away a souvenir of all the wonders of the Champ de Mars.

Messrs. Hoschedé and Blémond, the heads of this house, were honoured to present themselves at the Exposition armed with all the necessary equipment. Heirs to a doubly glorious commercial past, it was important to them to prove that the establishment they run has remained worthy of its reputation. To this end, they had brought together their most beautiful products to make an overall exhibition that would leave no doubt as to their rank in the great luxury industry.

But for such an important exhibition, space was needed; and as the narrow compartment offered to them could only contain their products in heaps or piled up one on top of the other, they were forced, in spite of themselves, to separate from their group, and to go and set up their tent in the neighbourhood.

Nobility obliges, and of all honourable estates there is a responsibility which cannot be declined without demerit.

Mr. Hoschedé and Blémont have understood this truth since the day they took possession of the house they run; so it is no less for their predecessors than for themselves and for the public that they have wanted to show themselves as they are and that they have not consented to reduce themselves, or to erase themselves in part, for futile reasons of location and locality.

Cheuvreux-Aubertot is not a new company. Founded in 1786 on the broadest and most solid foundations, it has seen its reputation grow and strengthen under each of its successive directors.

The traditions of the founder have remained a law for all.

For the heirs of the Cheuvreux-Aubertot name, for the successors of Legentil, one of our greatest commercial figures, the Champ de Mars Exhibition offered a worthy and marvellous opportunity to perform in the open. What more noble publicity, indeed, and what more honourable advertisement than these. The first as well as the last comers can check them at any time, and no one appreciates and judges better than the one who has the pieces in his hand and under his eyes.

Messrs Hoschedé and Blémont, who have never used other means of publicity, are rightly honoured to use this one to its full extent.

Their pavilion, a seductive announcement, a silent but eloquent advertisement, offers to all visitors the complete set of the rich products of their industry: articles of high novelty, shawls from India, lace from Belgium, Bayeux and Caen, rich stitches from Alençon, baskets, trousseaux, layettes, all that luxury, elegance and good taste seek, is there, not piled up, but exhibited with an art that is one of the secrets of the great houses of Paris.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maison Cheuvreux-Aubertot

Maison Cheuvreux-Aubertot à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Si vaste que soit le Palais élevé dans le Champ de Mars, aujourd’hui chacun le sait, ce Palais, contrairement aux calculs les plus larges et aux prédictions les plus sages en apparence, s’est trouvé infiniment trop étroit pour que satisfaction complète pût être donnée aux plus légitimes demandes. Il est inutile de dire que grand et très-grand a été l'embarras de la Commission impériale.

Pour sortir d’une difficulté tout à fait imprévue, qu’avait-elle à faire? Le mieux pour elle était de suivre tout simplement l’exemple du conseil municipal de Paris, et c’est là ce que très-sagement elle a fait.

Ledit conseil, à la suite de tout nouvel emprunt ouvert par la ville, est constamment obligé, vu le nombre considérable et le chiffre énorme des demandes, de procéder, non par voie d’élimination et d’exclusion, ce qui serait désobligeant et injuste pour les petits déposants, mais par voie de réduction et de répartition proportionnelle, ce qui, sans contenter tout le monde, n’est désagréable à personne.

Ainsi devait faire et ainsi a fait la Commission impériale. Pour satisfaire à toutes les requêtes, elle a réduit les demandes de chacun. Toutefois elle a gracieusement laissé à tous ceux qui pouvaient trouver insuffisante la place qui leur était octroyée, le droit de s’établir dans le Parc et de s’y installer à leur aise et selon leur convenance.

C’est à cette libérale concession que nous devons la plupart des élégants kiosques et des charmantes constructions répandues autour du Palais, et qui ressemblent à autant de vigoureux rejetons sortis de ses racines.

Tel est le pavillon delà maison Cheuvreux-Aubertot, élevé près le théâtre international, sur les dessins et sous la direction d’un de nos meilleurs architectes, M. Paul Sédille.

Ce gracieux monument, style renaissance, que baigne à toute heure une douce lumière tamisée par les arbres d’alentour, mérite, entre tous, par son heureuse disposition, sa distribution gracieuse, et sa décoration riche et coquette, d’être visité dans ses moindres détails par ceux qui désirent emporter un souvenir de toutes les merveilles du Champ de Mars.

MM. Hoschedé et Blémond, les chefs de cette maison, tenaient à honneur de se présenter à l’Exposition armés de toutes pièces. Héritiers d’un passé commercial doublement glorieux, il leur importait de prouver que l’établissement qu’ils dirigent est resté à la hauteur de sa renommée. A ce dessein, ils avaient réuni leurs plus beaux produits pour en faire une exposition d’ensemble qui ne laissât aucun doute sur le rang qu’ils occupent dans la grande industrie de luxe.

Mais pour une exhibition aussi importante il fallait de la place; or, comme l’étroit compartiment qu’on leur offrait n’eût pu contenir leurs produits qu’en tas ou empilés les uns sur les autres, ils se sont vus contraints, bien malgré eux, de se séparer de leur groupe, et d’aller dresser leur tente dans le voisinage.

Noblesse oblige, et de toute succession honorable il.incombe une responsabilité qu’on ne peut décliner sans démériter.

M. Hoschedé et Blémont ont compris cette vérité depuis le jour où ils sont entrés en possession delà maison qu’ils dirigent ; aussi n’est-ce pas moins pour leurs prédécesseurs que pour eux-mêmes et pour le public, qu’ils ont voulu se montrer tels qu’ils sont et qu’ils n’ont consenti ni à se réduire, ni à s’effacer en partie, pour de futiles raisons d’emplacement et de localité.

La maison Cheuvreux-Aubertot ne date pas d’hier. Fondée en 1786 sur les bases les plus larges et les plus solides, elle a vu sous chacun de ses directeurs successifs sa renommée s'accroître et s’affermir.

Les traditions du fondateur sont restées une loi pour tous.

Pour les héritiers du nom de Cheuvreux-Aubertot, pour les successeurs de Legentil, une de nos plus grandes illustrations commerciales, l’Exposition du Champ de Mars offrait une digne et merveilleuse occasion de se produire au grand jour. Quelle plus noble publicité, en effet, et quelle plus honorable réclame que celles-là. Les premiers comme les derniers venus peuvent les contrôler à toute heure, et nul n’apprécie et ne juge mieux que celui qui a les pièces dans sa main et sous les yeux.

MM. Hoschedé et Blémont qui n’ont jamais usé des autres moyens de publicité, s’honorent, à juste raison, d’user de celui-là dans toute son étendue.

Leur pavillon, annonce séduisante, réclame muette mais éloquente, offre à tous les visiteurs l’ensemble complet des riches produits de leur industrie : articles de haute nouveauté, châles des Indes, dentelles de Belgique, de Bayeux et de Caen, riches points d’Alençon, corbeilles, trousseaux, layettes, tout ce que recherche le luxe, l’élégance et le bon goût, est là, non pas entassé, mais exposé avec un art qui est un des secrets des grandes maisons de Paris.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée