International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Wines of Austria

Wines of Austria at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

This exhibition is very carefully, I would say almost coquettishly, installed. It follows the Austrian restaurant and is located in the part of the Palais that faces south. The direction of the exhibition is entrusted to Mr. Ladislas de Wagner, delegated commissioner, who kindly gave me the notes with which I was able to write this work.

Austria, towards the end of 1866, had 607,171 hectares of vines spread over the various provinces of the empire. Production amounted to 18,558,046 hectolitres. Hungary alone comprised 296,962 hectares and produced 7,200,000 hectolitres of wine. This is almost half, in terms of area and production, of the two total sums.

The Austrian monarchy is, after France, the country in Europe with the most vineyards and the most wine. Does this mean that Austria is equal to us in this industry and even follows us closely? No, today we have about 2,400,000 hectares of vineyards that produce 60 to 70 million hectolitres, depending on the year. Our planted areas are therefore in the same ratio to Austria as four is to one, and our production is in the same proportion. From this it must be concluded that, for the same surface area, the vines of Austria produce as much as the vines of France.

But there are very great differences in the nature of the products. The red wines of Hungary are very similar to our Burgundy wines. The whites can be divided into two types: sweet and dry. The sweet wines dominate, and their nuances vary greatly. The highest expression of this type is the tokay, which has a very penetrating smell and a sweet flavour of a high grade. After that come the vintages whose smell and flavour gradually diminish until they reach the limit of dry wines.

The latter do not all have the same characteristics. They are more or less dry and have more or less finesse. The most esteemed are those which come from the Riesling grape, which we grow on a fairly large scale in Alsace. Then there are other crus which, with different nuances, reach the limit of sweet wines.
Among the red wines, there are some that retain a certain sweetness. Others are closer to the great mass of French wines which have the taste of the bunch or of the chew, as we say in Burgundy, a taste which seizes you on the palate and carries slightly to the throat. This flavour is only found in the products extracted from grapes that are not too ripe, and whose seeds contain a fairly large quantity of tannin. When the grapes are left to ripen too much, and the tannin is lacking, then only flat wines are obtained, such as, for example, those from Hérault destined for boilers.

I said that the red wines of Hungary resembled our Burgundy wines very much, but they do not have the bouquet that floods your sense of smell and caresses your olfactory nerves so pleasantly; the bouquet is an agent that is still little known. It is attributed to the essential oils held in suspension in the liquid and which are only released after a certain number of years.

The Alsace region is a small producer of the various types of white wine that are harvested in Austria. When you know these products well, you have a compass to guide you in the study of German wines. Our Alsatian whites are either sweet or dry, and among the various shades of these two categories, one finds, albeit to a lesser degree, almost all the varieties of products that distinguish Germany. I will only add that the wines of the German Rhine have a certain acidity which makes them unpalatable when first tasted. These types also exist in Austria and in France in the Lower Rhine and Moselle regions.

The most renowned wines from Austria are firstly those from Hungary, which won five gold medals, three silver medals and two bronze medals. Next come the wines of Lower Austria with two gold and three bronze medals; those of Transylvania with two gold, one silver and one bronze medal; those of Styria with one gold, one silver and one bronze medal; those of Croatia with one gold, one silver and one bronze medal. The Tyrol, Dalmatia, Moravia, etc., give only common products.

Sweet Tokay ranks first among the wines of Austria. It is made like those of the German Rhine. The grapes are picked and pressed, the must is put into barrels of 3 to 5 hectolitres, it is topped up, and at the end of the third year it can be drunk. Tokay can be kept for over a hundred years. In France we have only one wine that comes close to it in terms of duration, and that is Château Châlons (Doubs). I drank one that was 130 years old. This wine is white-yellow and very alcoholic, a circumstance that allows it to age.

The tokay is also very alcoholic. It is 18 to 22 degrees. The price of the first growths varies from 5 to 20 francs per half-litre bottle, depending on their age. The second growths are only worth 3 to 10 fr.

The wines of Lower Austria are much lighter than those of Hungary, they have only 12 to 13 degrees of alcohol. Their acidic taste is reminiscent of the wines of the German Rhine, the Lower Rhine and the Moselle. They are pleasant and light in summer, especially when drunk with seltzer or even pure water. They are said to refresh and have a beneficial effect on health. These wines are sold at 1 to 2 francs per half-litre bottle.

The common products that are used for everyday consumption are worth 40 to 60 centimes a litre and are shipped in barrels. The Germans, according to Mr. Ladislas de Wagner, prefer them to our ordinary Bordeaux. This is understandable, because the German petty bourgeoisie only knows Bordeaux by name. But if they only drank it for a few weeks, they would probably not want to drink any more.

The red wine of Hungary is the one we are most interested in knowing, because it is considered a serious competitor to our Burgundy wines. In 1863, I tasted quite a few samples of these wines in Pesth for the international exhibition in Hamburg. Well, I must say that this tasting did not frighten me in the least for our Côte d'Or wines. The Hungarian winemakers still have a long way to go if they want to reach us. I admit that the country I crossed, from Bazias to Pesth, resembles Burgundy very much; I recognise that the black and white pineaux which produce our great vintages of the Côte d'Or, also compose the major part of the Hungarian vines; but I must add that the wines which come from them are not worth ours. They have less bouquet, less flavour, less finesse, less distinction. This is most likely due to the fact that the vinification and conservation processes applied to them are much inferior to ours. In oenology, manpower is everything. What proves this is that certain Bordeaux wines classified in the third and fourth rank have gone up one or two degrees, by the mere fact of better care.

Among the many samples I tasted in Pesth, there were some turbid, some sweet, some acid. The well-made, well-preserved samples were rare. From this I conclude that we do not have to fear competition from Hungarian products, as long as Hungarian winemakers are not on a par with our Côte d'Or winemakers. With cellar masters such as ours, Hungary could perhaps give us serious competition. But it might take them more than a century to match us, so we have nothing to fear for the moment.

Does this mean that we should sleep in sweet security? No. Hungary is making commendable efforts to open up new outlets for her products. In 1866, Austria exported 34,500,000 kilos of wine or 345,000 hectolitres. It is mainly in England that efforts are being made.

There is a Croatian in London who sells 600,000 bottles of Croatian wine every year, and whose connections are growing daily. These wines are sold from 3 to 5 shillings (from 3 fr. 75 to 6 fr. 25), which are very good prices for ordinary products.

We have wines in France which are much better suited to the somewhat jaded palates of our neighbours than these. But the producers who would be responsible for organising themselves and selling directly in England leave this to a deceptive trade which ruins our old reputation and does the greatest harm to our winegrowing property. In the face of the eagerness with which the Hungarians are seeking new buyers, our apathy would one day prove fatal to us.

We must therefore not let the lesson that the Universal Exhibition has taught us be lost. France could have twice as many plantations. What it lacks are consumers, which it will undoubtedly find when it seriously seeks them.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vins d’Autriche

Vins d’Autriche à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Cette exposition est installée avec beaucoup de soin, je dirais, presque avec coquetterie. Elle fait suite au restaurant autrichien et se trouve dans la partie du Palais qui tourne vers le midi. La direction en est confiée à M. Ladislas de Wagner, commissaire délégué, qui a bien voulu me donner les notes avec lesquelles j’ai pu rédiger ce travail.

L’Autriche, vers la fin de 1866, possédait 607 171 hectares de vignes répartis dans les diverses provinces de l’empire. La production s’élevait à 18 558 046 hectolitres. A elle seule, la Hongrie comprenait 296 962 hectares et produisait 7 200 000 hectolitres de vins. C’est presque la moitié, en étendues et en produits, des deux sommes totales.

La monarchie autrichienne est, après la France, le pays de l’Europe qui possède le plus de vignes et qui récolte le plus de vins. Est-ce à dire que l’Autriche nous égale en cette industrie et que même elle nous suive de près? Non, nous possédons aujourd’hui environ 2 400 000 hectares de vignes qui nous donnent de 60 à 70 millions d’hectolitres, suivant les années. Nos surfaces plantées sont donc par rapport à l’Autriche comme quatre est à un, et notre production se trouve dans la même proportion. D’où il faut conclure qu’à superficie égale, les vignes d’Autriche donnent autant que les vignes de France.

Mais des différences très-grandes existent en ce qui concerne la nature des produits. Les vins rouges de Hongrie se rapprochent beaucoup de nos crus de Bourgogne. Les blancs peuvent se ranger en deux types : les doux et les secs. Ce qui domine, ce sont les vins doux, lesquels ont entre eux des nuances très-variées. La plus haute expression de ce type, c’est le tokay, qui a une odeur très-pénétrante et une saveur sucrée d'un haut titre. Après viennent les crus dont l’odeur et la saveur diminuent progressivement jusqu’à la limite des vins secs.

Ces derniers n’ont pas tous les mêmes caractères. Ils sont plus ou moins secs et ont plus ou moins de finesse. Les plus estimés sont ceux qui proviennent du riesling, que nous cultivons sur une assez grande échelle en Alsace. Il y a ensuite d’autres crus qui par des nuances différentes arrivent jusqu’à la limite des vins sucrés.
Parmi les vins rouges, il y en a qui conservent une certaine douceur. D’autres se rapprochent davantage de la grande masse des vins français qui ont le goût de la grappe ou de la mâche, comme on dit en Bourgogne, goût qui vous saisit le palais et porte légèrement à la gorge. Cette saveur ne se rencontre que chez les produits extraits des raisins qui ne sont pas trop mûrs, et dont les pépins renferment du tannin en assez grande quantité. Lorsqu’on laisse trop mûrir les grappes, et que le tannin fait défaut, alors on n’obtient plus que des vins plats comme, par exemple, ceux de l’Hérault destinés à la chaudière.

J’ai dit que les vins rouges de Hongrie ressemblaient beaucoup à nos vins de Bourgogne; mais ils n’en ont pas le bouquet qui vous inonde l’odorat et vous caresse si agréablement les nerfs olfactiques ; le bouquet est un agent encore peu connu. On l’attribue aux huiles essentielles tenues en suspension dans le liquide et qui ne se dégagent qu’au bout d’un certain nombre d’années.

L’Alsace donne en petit les différents types de vins blancs qui se récoltent en Autriche. Lorsqu’on connaît bien ces produits, on a une boussole pour se guider dans l’étude des vins allemands. Nos crus blancs d’Alsace sont doux ou secs, et parmi les diverses nuances que renferment ces deux catégories, on retrouve, quoique à des degrés moindres, presque toutes les variétés de produits qui distinguent l’Allemagne. J’ajouterai seulement que les vins du Rhin allemand ont une certaine acidité qui les rend désagréables au palais lorsqu’on les déguste pour la première fois. Ces types existent également en Autriche et en France dans le Bas-Rhin et dans la Moselle.

Les vins les plus renommés d’Autriche sont d’abord ceux de Hongrie qui remportent cinq médailles d’or, trois médailles d’argent et deux médailles de bronze. Viennent ensuite les vins de la basse Autriche qui obtiennent deux médailles d’or et trois médailles de bronze ; ceux de la Transylvanie deux médailles d’or, une médaille d’argent et une de bronze; ceux de là Styrie une médaille d’or, d’argent et de bronze; ceux de la Croatie ure médaille d’or, d'argent et de bronze. Le Tyrol, la Dalmatie, la Moravie, etc., ne donnent que des produits communs.

Le tokay doux occupe le premier rang parmi les vins d’Autriche. Il se fabrique comme ceux du Rhin allemand. On cueille les grappes et on les presse, le moût est mis dans des fûts de 3 à 5 hectolitres, on le ouille, on le transverse, et à la fin de la troisième année on peut commencer à le boire. Le tokay se conserve plus de cent ans. Nous n’avons en France qu’un vin qui l’approche pour la durée, c’est le château-châlons (Doubs). J’en ai bu qui avait 130 ans. Ce cru est blanc-jaune, il est très-alcoolique, circonstance qui lui permet de vieillir.

Le tokay est également très-alcoolique. Il titre de 18 à 22 degrés. Le prix des premiers crus varie de 5 à 20 fr. la bouteille d’un demi-litre suivant leur âge. Les seconds crus ne valent plus que de 3 à 10 fr.

Les vins de la basse Autriche sont beaucoup plus légers que ceux de Hongrie, ils n’ont plus que de 12 à 13 degrés d 'alcool. Par leur saveur acide ils rappellent les vins du Rhin allemand, ceux du Bas-Rhin et de la Moselle. Ils sont agréables et légers l’été surtout lorsqu'on les boit avec de l'eau de seltz ou même de l’eau pure. On dit alors qu’ils rafraîchissent et ont sur la santé une action bienfaisante. Ces vins se vendent de 1 à 2 fr. la bouteille d’un demi-litre.

Restent les produits communs qui alimentent la consommation courante ; ils valent de 40 à 60 centimes le litre et s’expédient en fûts. Les Allemands, au dire de M. Ladislas de Wagner, les préfèrent à nos bordeaux ordinaires. Cela se conçoit, car la petite bourgeoisie allemande ne connaît le bordeaux que de nom. Mais si elle en consommait seulement pendant quelques semaines, sans doute elle n’en voudrait plus boire d’autre.

Le vin rouge de Hongrie est celui qu’il nous intéresse le plus de connaître, parce qu’on le pose comme un concurrent sérieux de nos vins de Bourgogne. En 1863, j’ai dégusté à Pesth un assez bon nombre * d’échantillons de ces vins destinés à l’exposition internationale de Hambourg. Eh bien, je dois le dire, cette dégustation ne m’a pas le moins du monde effrayé pour nos crus de la Côte-d’Or. Les vignerons hongrois ont encore beaucoup de chemin à faire s’ils veulent nous atteindre. J’avoue que le pays que j’ai traversé, depuis Bazias jusqu’à Pesth, ressemble beaucoup à la Bourgogne ; je reconnais que les pineaux noir et blanc qui produisent nos grands crus de la Côte-d’Or, composent aussi en majeure partie les vignes de Hongrie; mais je dois ajouter que les vins qui en proviennent ne valent pas les nôtres. Ils ont moins de bouquet, moins de saveur, moins de finesse, moins de distinction. Cela tient, très-probablement, à ce que les procédés de vinification et de conservation qu’on leur applique sont bien inférieurs aux nôtres. En œnologie, la main-d’œuvre est tout. Ce qui le prouve, c’est que certains crus de Bordeaux classés au troisième et au quatrième rang, sont montés d’un ou de deux degrés, par le seul fait de soins mieux entendus.

Parmi les nombreux échantillons que j’ai dégustés, à Pesth, il y en avait de troubles, il y en avait de doux, il y en avait d’acides. Les échantillons bien élaborés, bien conservés, étaient rares. D’où je conclus que nous n’avons pas à redouter la concurrence des produits de la Hongrie, tant que les vignerons hongrois ne seront pas à la hauteur de nos vignerons de la Côte-d’Or. Avec des maîtres de celliers tels que les nôtres, la Hongrie pourrait peut-être nous faire une concurrence sérieuse. Mais, pour se mettre à notre hauteur, il lui faudrait peut-être plus d’un siècle; nous n’avons donc rien à craindre pour le moment.

Est-ce à dire qu’il faille nous endormir dans une douce sécurité? Non. La Hongrie fait de louables efforts pour ouvrir de nouveaux débouchés à ses produits. En 1866, l’Autriche a exporté 34 500 000 kilos de vins soit 345 000 hectolitres. C’est surtout du côté de l’Angleterre que tournent ses efforts.

Il y a à Londres un Croate qui vend chaque année 600 000 bouteilles de vins de la Croatie, et dont les relations s’étendent chaque jour. Ces vins sont vendus de 3 à 5 shillings (de 3 fr. 75 à 6 fr. 25), ce sont là de très-beaux prix pour des produits ordinaires.

Nous avons, en France, des vins qui conviennent bien mieux que ceux-là au palais un peu blasé de nos voisins. Mais les producteurs auxquels il incomberait de s’organiser et de vendre directement en Angleterre laissent ce soin à un commerce trompeur qui ruine notre vieille réputation et fait le plus grand tort à notre propriété viticole. En présence de l’ardeur avec laquelle les Hongrois recherchent de nouveaux acheteurs, notre apathie finirait un jour par nous être fatale.

Il ne faut donc pas laisser perdre l’enseignement qui résulte pour nous de l’Exposition universelle. La France pourrait avoir le double de plantations. Ce qui lui manque, ce sont des consommateurs, qu’elle trouvera sans aucun doute lorsqu’elle voudra sérieusement les chercher.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée