International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Treatment of the insane in families - Austria

Treatment of the insane in families - Austria at the Exhibition Paris 1867

This house, exhibited by Dr. Jaromyr Mundy, from Moravia, is intended to show a special application of the treatment of the insane in families, according to the system practised in the commune of Gheel, in the province of Antwerp in Belgium. In order to understand its purpose, it is therefore necessary to have a prior idea of the regime in Gheel.

In this Belgian commune, which covers 11,000 hectares and has a population of 10 to 11,000, located in the centre of the Kempen, it has been customary for a thousand years to receive the insane in their families. A devotion in honour of Saint Dymphne, the patron saint of the insane, was the origin of this custom; but in the long run the institution has taken on a more and more traditional and scientific character, and the analysis of its principles, its methods, and its results, makes it possible to attempt to imitate it in other places.

The principles applied in Gheel, first instinctively and now consciously, are five in number:
1° Treatment within an adoptive family;
2° Free life in the open air;
3° Agricultural or industrial work, freely exercised, according to aptitudes and tastes;
4° A sympathetic social environment;
5° The high and vigilant direction of a well constituted administrative and medical service.

By virtue of these principles, a thousand lunatics are admitted to Gheel, in the interior of families, some in houses clustered in villages and hamlets, others in farms and scattered dwellings. There they live on the same footing as all the other members of the family and the commune; same table, same house, same clothing, same diet, and a better diet if the price of boarding exceeds the legal minimum (which is usually 65 to 70 centimes per day). The lunatic comes and goes as he pleases in the streets and in public places; he takes part in all the local entertainments and festivals; most of them usually work in the home of their boss, who has the title of fosterer or host. Every esteemed family in the commune is honoured to have at least one lunatic in boarding school; apart from the income, it is a token of public consideration. The lunatics themselves are so loved and respected that the children do not allow themselves any jokes or insults. The education of the whole country is done in a tone of consideration and sympathy for these unfortunate people (it is right to note that the regulations forbid the admission to Gheel of homicidal, suicidal, incendiary monomaniacs, and those whose madness would offend decency).

It is the case with human will and activity as with all forces: freely expanded they are much less dangerous than violently compressed. In possession of their freedom, the great majority of Gheel's lunatics are inoffensive; they are allowed to indulge in all their deviations and whims, as long as they do not harm themselves or others; and experience proves that there is no more effective way of promptly calming exaltations. If the fits become dangerous by their violence, the foster parents, aided by their family and neighbours, quickly and easily tame them; and for these cases they may, with the doctor's permission, resort to means of restraint, of which the straitjacket is the most common. If the crises become exceptionally intense and prolonged, they are taken to the central infirmary, which is equipped for accidental cases and has the most powerful means of therapeutic action.

As for the insane, who show themselves willing to escape (and this is a small number), it is sufficient to place light, well padded shackles on their feet to prevent their escape, without hindering their free movement through the streets and paths.

Thanks to the combination of these means, which constitute family patronage, the number of accidents is very low; cures are numerous, and life passes as smoothly as possible for those who are not cured: longevity is also very high.

This colony of lunatics, intimately mixed with the existence of a reasonable population, receives, without its knowing it, the best influences from nature, from the family, from society. The landscape is wide open in all directions, the air mild and refreshed by the sea breezes, the climate healthy; the patient enjoys the calm of isolation without being confined in solitude. The family surrounds him with care and affection; he is loved, and often very much so, by those around him; there are many examples of reciprocal attachments, true adoptions of the heart, and friendships that survive long after recovery. Finally, the commune of Gheel constitutes for these unfortunate people the most sympathetic social environment they could wish for. As they are a blessing for the country, which is enriched by their pensions (3 to 400,000 fr. per year), as this speciality is a legacy of a past ten centuries old, and as it has penetrated the spirit, the blood and the morals of the inhabitants, the whole commune protects them, watches over them, and any abuse is immediately revealed and denounced as an attack on the conscience and the public prosperity.

In addition, the administration and the medical service complete, by their daily vigilance and their attentive intervention, the action of nature, the family and society. A provincial commission and a local committee presided over all regulatory measures and monitored their application. A medical inspector (today Dr. Bulekens) presided over the placement of the insane and the direction of treatment; residing on site in the infirmary, he received the patients and observed them before distributing them. He was assisted by four doctors and four guards, each of whom was responsible for a section of the commune.

Such an organisation is unquestionably superior to the departmental closed asylums, and even to the nursing homes, where one tries in vain to mask, by the luxury of decorations and furnishings, the rigours, the troubles and too often the abuses of confinement.

After having acquired this conviction through long and repeated stays in Gheel and visits to most of the insane asylums of Europe, Dr. Mundy conceived the idea of a colony which would reproduce, as far as science and private initiative can imitate a creation of the centuries and of morals, the principal characteristics of Gheel: the adoptive family, life in the open air, voluntary work, a benevolent environment, and effective treatment. His plan, conceived for 300 lunatics, scattered over an area of 100 hectares, included a central infirmary for 150 acute patients, and houses for 150 others with chronic illnesses, each able to accommodate five patients. These houses, similar to those of the Gheelois, would vary according to the country and would be surrounded by fields, others occupied by various trades; all would have a garden. Each lot of five houses, or of 25 insane persons, would have a chief guard, and each lot of 10 houses or of 50 insane persons an assistant doctor: above them all would hover a medical inspector-director. At 2,000 francs per hectare and 2,000 francs per house, the land and houses for 300 lunatics would cost only 260,000 francs, out of a million that would be necessary for the entire establishment.

The type shown is that of a model warden's house. It is a cottage which occupies an area of about 93 square metres, and is divided by an alley into two equal halves, one for the keeper and his family, the other for one or more of the insane, depending on the occasion. The rooms intended for habitation are of variable length, but 3.75 metres wide and 3.30 metres high. The special provisions for the purpose consist of metal louvres on the doors and windows, which can be hidden or lowered at will, screens and blinds on the windows, volcanic rubber mattresses, and some mental therapy equipment.

Inside, there is a perspective plan of the model colony for 300 patients; a larger one for 1500 patients; plans, views and sections for a clinic for 300 lunatics at the gates of the large cities, for temporary houses of refuge to be established in the various districts. A coloured topographical plan of the commune of Gheel adorns one of the rooms. Underneath the latter is a library containing a collection of published writings on this locality.

Finally, the walls are lined with numerous inscriptions taken from the best works on this subject. The reading of these precepts, as well as the detailed study of the arrangements of the house, is apt to straighten out the education of the public in their feelings towards the insane, as well as that of the doctors in their treatment.

By its ingenious and economical distribution, Dr. Baron Mundy's cottage may even serve as a model for workers' dwellings; for its construction would cost only from 1500 to 2000 fr, and would give for this price much air, light and space, no odours or inconvenient aspects, and great facility of circulation and communication.

Mr. Mundy is Surgeon Major 1st class in the Austrian Army.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Traitement des Aliénés en famille - Autriche

Traitement des Aliénés en famille - Autriche à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Cette maison, exposée par le docteur baron Jaromyr Mundy, de Moravie, est destinée à montrer une application spéciale du traitement des aliénés en famille, suivant le système pratiqué dans la commune de Gheel, de la province d’Anvers en Belgique. Pour en comprendre l’objet, il faut donc avoir une idée préalable du régime de Gheel.

Dans cette commune belge, d’une étendue de 11 000 hectares et peuplée de 10 à 11 000 habitants, située au centre de la Campine, l’usages est établi, depuis un millier d’années, de recevoir en pension, dans les familles, des malades atteints de folie. Une dévotion en l’honneur de sainte Dymphne, la patronne des aliénés, a été l’origine de cette coutume ; mais à la longue l’institution a pris un caractère de plus en plus traditionnel et scientifique, et l’analyse de ses principes, de ses méthodes, de ses résultats, permet d’en tenter l’imitation en d’autres lieux.

Les principes appliqués à Gheel, instinctivement d’abord et aujourd’hui sciemment, sont au nombre de cinq :
1° Le traitement au sein d’une famille adoptive;
2° La vie libre au grand air;
3° Le travail agricole ou industriel, librement exercé, suivant les aptitudes et les goûts ;
4° Un milieu social sympathique;
5° La haute et vigilante direction d’un service administratif et médical bien constitué.

En vertu de ces principes un millier d’aliénés sont admis à Gheel, dans l’intérieur des familles, les uns dans les maisons agglomérées en bourgade et en hameaux, les autres dans les fermes et les habitations éparses. Là ils vivent sur le pied de parfaite égalité avec tous les autres membres de la famille et de la commune; même table, même demeure, même habillement, même régime, et un régime meilleur si le prix de pension dépasse le minimum légal (qui est ordinairement de 65 à 70 centimes par jour). L’aliéné va et vient à son gré dans les rues et dans les lieux publics; il prend part à toutes les distractions et fêtes locales; la plupart travaillent habituellement chez leur patron, qui porte le titre de nourricier ou d'hôte. Chaque famille estimée de la commune tient à honneur d’avoir au moins un aliéné en pension; outre le revenu, c’est un témoignage de considération publique. Les aliénés eux-mêmes sont aimés et respectés à ce point que les enfants ne se permettent envers eux aucune plaisanterie ni injure. L’éducation du pays tout entier se fait au ton des égards et de la sympathie envers ces malheureux. (Il est juste de constater que les règlements interdisent l’admission à Gheel des monomanes homicides, suicides, incendiaires, et de ceux dont la folie porterait atteinte à la décence.)

Il en est de la volonté et de l’activité humaine comme de toutes les forces: librement dilatées elles sont bien moins dangereuses que violemment comprimées. En possession de sa liberté, la grande majorité des aliénés de Gheel est inoffensive; on leur passe tous leurs écarts et tous leurs caprices, tant qu’ils ne font mal ni à eux-mêmes ni à autrui ; et l’expérience prouve qu’il n’est pas de plus efficace moyen d’apaiser promptement les exaltations. Si les crises deviennent dangereuses par leur violence, les nourriciers, aidés de leur famille et de leurs voisins, les domptent vite et aisément; et pour ces cas, ils peuvent, avec la permission du médecin, recourir à des moyens de contrainte, dont la camisole de force est le plus ordinaire. Si les crises acquièrent une intensité exceptionnelle et prolongée, on les emmène à l’infirmerie centrale, disposée pour les cas accidentels et munie des moyens d’action de la thérapeutique la plus puissante.

Quant aux aliénés, qui se montrent disposés à s’évader (et c’est un petit nombre), il suffît de leur mettre au pied de légères entraves, bien ouatées, pour empêcher leur fuite, sans gêner leur libre circulation à travers les rues et les chemins.

Grâce à l’ensemble de ces moyens, qui constituent le patronage familial, le nombre des accidents est très-rare ; les guérisons sont nombreuses, et la vie s’écoule aussi douce que possible pour ceux qui ne guérissent pas : aussi la longévité y est-elle très-grande.

Cette colonie d’aliénés, intimement mêlée à l’existence d’une population raisonnable, reçoit, à son insu, les meilleures influences de la nature, de la famille, de la société. Le paysage est largement ouvert en tous sens, l’air doux et rafraîchi par les vents de mer, le climat sain; le malade jouit du calme de l’isolement sans être confiné dans la solitude. La famille l’entoure de soins et d’affection; il est aimé et souvent il aime très-vivement son entourage; les exemples sont nombreux d’attachements réciproques, de vraies adoptions du cœur, de rapports d’amitié qui survivent longtemps à la guérison. Enfin la commune de Gheel constitue pour ces infortunés le milieu social le plus sympathique qu’ils puissent souhaiter. Comme ils sont, un bien-fait pour le pays, qui s’enrichit de leurs pensions (3 à 400 000 fr. par an) comme cette spécialité est un legs d’un passé dix fois séculaire, et qu’elle a pénétré lans l’esprit, le sang, les mœurs des habitants, la commune tout entière les protège, veille sur eux, et tout abus est aussitôt dévoilé et dénoncé, comme une atteinte à la conscience et à la prospérité publiques.

En outre, l’administration et le service médical complètent, par leur vigilance quotidienne et leur intervention attentive, l’action de la nature, de la famille et de la société. Une commission provinciale, un comité local président à toutes les mesures réglementaires, et en suivent l’application. Un médecin inspecteur (aujourd’hui le docteur Bulekens) préside au placement des aliénés et à la direction du traitement; résidant sur place dans l’infirmerie, il reçoit les malades et les observe avant de les répartir. Il est aidé par quatre médecins et quatre gardiens, dont chacun est préposé à une section de la commune.

Une telle organisation présente une incontestable supériorité sur les asiles fermés départementaux, et même sur les maisons de santé, où l’on s’efforce en vain de masquer, par le luxe des décorations et de l’ameublement, les rigueurs, les ennuis et trop souvent les abus de la séquestration.

Après avoir acquis cette conviction par de longs séjours réitérés à Gheel et la visite de la plupart des asiles d’aliénés d’Europe, le docteur Mundy a conçu la pensée d’une colonie qui reproduirait, autant que la science et l’initiative privées peuvent imiter une création des siècles et des mœurs, les principaux caractères de Gheel: la famille adoptive, la vie à l'air libre, le travail volontaire, un milieu bienveillant, un traitement efficace. Son plan, conçu pour 300 aliénés, disséminés sur un territoire de 100 hectares, comprend une infirmerie centrale pour 150 malades sujets à des cas aigus, et des maisons pour 150 autres sujets à un mal chronique, chacune pouvant recevoir cinq malades. Ces habitations, analogues à celles des Gheelois, varieraient suivant les pays et seraient, les unes entourées de champs, les autres occupées par des métiers divers; toutes auraient un jardin. Chaque lot de cinq maisons, ou de 25 aliénés, aurait un gardien chef, et chaque lot de 10 maisons ou de 50 aliénés un médecin adjoint: au-dessus de tous planerait un médecin inspecteur-directeur. A 2000 fr. l’hectare et à 2000 fr. la maison, les terrains et maisons pour 300 aliénés ne coûteraient que 260000 fr.,sur un million qui ferait nécessaire pour l’entière installation de tout l’établissement.

Le type exposé est celui d’une maison-modele de gardien-chef. C’est un cottage qui occupe une surface d’environ 93 mètres carrés, et est divisé par une allée en deux moitiés égales, l’une pour le gardien et sa famille, l’autre pour un ou plusieurs aliénés suivant l’occurrence. Les pièces destinées à l’habitation sont d’une longueur variable, mais larges de 3m,75 et hautes de 3m,30. Les dispositions spéciales à la destination, consistent dans des claires-voies métalliques aux portes et aux fenêtres, pouvant se masquer ou s’abaisser à volonté, des grillages et des stores aux fenêtres, des matelas de caoutchouc volcanisé, et quelques appareils de thérapeutique mentale.

A l’intérieur se voit le plan en perspective de la colonie-modèle pour 300 malades ; un autre plus vaste pour 1500 malades; des plans, vues et coupes pour une clinique de 300 aliénés aux portes des grandes villes, pour des maisons de refuge provisoire à établir dans les divers quartiers. Un plan topographique colorié de la commune de Gheel orne une des pièces. Sous ce dernier tableau se trouve une bîbliothèque comprenant une collection des écrits qui ont été publiés sur cette localité.

Enfin, les murs sont tapissés de nombreuses inscriptions empruntées aux meilleurs ouvrages sur ce sujet. La lecture de ces préceptes, comme l'étude détaillée des arrangements de la maison, est propre à redresser l’éducation du public pour les sentiments vis-à-vis des aliénés, comme celle des médecins pour le traitement.

Par son ingénieuse et économique distribution, le cottage du docteur baron Mundy peut même servir de modèle pour des habitations ouvrières; car sa construction ne coûterait que 1500 à 2000 fr, et donnerait pour ce prix beaucoup d’air, de lumière et d’espace, point d’odeurs ni d’aspects incommodes, une grande facilité de circulation et de communications.

M. Mundy est chirurgien-major de Ire classe dans l’armée d’Autriche.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée