International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Collective agricultural exhibition of the Nord department

Collective agricultural exhibition of the Nord department at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Among the departments which are constantly raising the level of our agricultural and industrial wealth, the North has tended, for some years now, to place itself in the front line. If Lyon sends us beautiful silks, the Bordeaux region and Burgundy excellent wines, the Seine-Inférieure and the Ardennes fabrics, the North gives us coal, alcohol, sugar, molasses, oil plants, fodder and vegetables, cloth, fabrics and wheat. Agriculture goes hand in hand with industry, and the production and rearing of livestock, which have become the focus of the agronomists of the North in recent years, promise to add to the wealth of this already fertile soil.

The agronomists of the North wanted to give the exhibition of their products an overall character that would bring out the results of their efforts and work. They got together to erect a vast building in the park, at the corner of Avenue de Saxe, behind the Spanish glacier, to which the Somme and several other departments have added annexes.

It is there that visitors will admire the remarkable samples exhibited by Messrs Desprez, Lepeuple - Lecouffet, Simon-Le-^rand, Porquet-Lefèvre, etc.

The organisation and layout have been directed with an intelligence for which the commissioners are to be commended. Each type of product occupies a special place where the samples of each exhibitor can be compared. This arrangement has the great advantage of allowing visitors to follow the progress of each species and to control the decisions of the jury. Doesn't it often happen, in fact, that an award-winning manufacturer exhibits products of a different nature in the same showcase? Which of these products has the jury awarded?

For example, in the compartment reserved for cereals, the owners of this crop have each brought their own samples. Thus, for sugars, alcohols, fodder plants, etc., etc., etc.

The product of northern agriculture that is of most interest today, and which is already rewarding with significant profits [agronomists who are convinced enough to give up large areas of land to this crop], is beetroot.

We know what serious reasons there were for creating an indigenous sugar. Beetroot, which the advocates of cane sugar claimed to be so low in saccharine and so expensive to grow, required only a little care and a little fertiliser. Today it has triumphed over all resistance. Far from impoverishing the land, it enriches it, and in a cold climate, without the help of the burning sun of the colonies, it produces a sugar that compares perfectly with the products of Martinique and Bourbon.

Thus, Mr. Desprez, from Cappelle, district of Lille, who obtained a gold medal for his beautiful products, submitted twelve samples from beets that he displayed in jars for chemical analysis. It was M. Viollette, professor of chemistry at the Lille Faculty of Science, who directed the operations, noted the results and gave them the authority of his signature. I will quote only three figures, a maximum, a minimum and an average.

A beet weighing 510 gr. gives 13.9 % sugar.
- - 2544 - - 11.1 % -
- - 1500 - - 10 % -

It can be seen that, although it weighs less, sample no. 1 gives a higher proportion, which would suggest that, above a certain weight, the beet only acquires a small amount of saccharin, which is no longer in proportion to the amount of pulp.

The beetroot from which the pieces submitted to M. Viollette's analysis have been taken are exposed to a solution of sea salt and alum, which preserves them and enables competent men to check the results given by the skilful chemist from Lille.

The 30 species, of which M. Desprez exposes the seeds, give results which differ only in appearance. Thus, while one hectare will yield 30 to 35,000 kilograms of beet, another, planted with another species, may produce up to 100,000 kilograms. But where the balance is redressed is in the production of sugar. Indeed, while the beet that only yields 35,000 kilograms per hectare produces 13% of sugar, the large beet (100,000 kilograms per hectare), provides only 6 to 8%. The hectare therefore yields an equal average, whatever the type of sowing.

As for sowing, it is, whatever the species, but depending on the nature of the soil or the manuring, from 15 to 20 kilograms per hectare.

In the early days of cultivation, beetroot was used exclusively for sugar production. However, since learned and successful research, the use of this plant has been extended. Official calculations show that the district of Valenciennes alone produced 151096670 kilograms of molasses from 1864 to 1866, and 953,520 hectolitres of alcohol from 1853 to 1866. During this period, the sugar factories consumed nearly 6 billion kilograms of beetroot, i.e. a third more than its production, because the immense plantations of this district, which in the past sent all their products to the sugar factories, now send a considerable part to the alcohol distilleries, and the large factories and refineries have to receive beetroot from the neighbouring districts in order to use their immense equipment. Nevertheless, and despite this reason for the slowdown in the sugar industry, the Valenciennes district has exported nearly 17 million kilograms of raw sugar in the last eight years.

Its factories are 64 in number, employing 7,000 men, 2,750 women and 2,670 children of both sexes in the winter, who receive 3250,000 francs for these 120 days. If we add to this figure the sum of 800,000 fr. paid for hoeing and harvesting, we reach a figure of more than 4 million in wages due solely to the handling of beet.

The advantages of this plant are not limited to this. The pulp contains a considerable amount of nutrients. 700 grams of pulp are equivalent to two kilograms of hay, and it has been calculated that, based on what an ox eats per day, the district of Valenciennes could feed 100,000 oxen for four months.

Cattle breeding," said M. de Forcade La Roquette, Minister of Trade, on 18 April 1867, at the Poissy competition, "is enriched by these discoveries, and finds new elements of nourishment in the plant residues from the laboratories. "

Finally, beet itself produces a powerful fertilizer. This fertiliser is made up of what is called defecation scum. These are residues mixed with earth, debris, lime, etc., but which are very rich in nitrogen. In fact, M. Le Docte, from Brussels, notes that, despite the two-thirds of nitrogen taken up in the manufacturing process, the residues retain a considerable quantity, estimated at no less than 3 million kilograms per year.

The beet therefore returns to the earth in large proportions the nourishing juices it has borrowed from it. This discovery is all the more valuable as beet requires light, loose, deep soil rich in humus. It needs fertilizer, but it is not well suited to animal manure, and prefers the vegetable manure that its residues provide.

To finish with beetroot, I would add that the sugar factories in the Valenciennes district produce an average of :
Sugar......... 6,261,000 kilograms.
Molasses... . 1 621 700 -
Pulp........ 24 990 000 -

that they occupy numerous steam engines, of various strengths, and amounting together to nearly a thousand horsepower; finally that in ten years they have paid as a contribution to the maintenance of roads, 80,000 francs, while all other industries together paid only 90,000 francs.

Beet therefore occupies an important place in the agriculture of the North, and it is fair to name the agronomists and industrialists who contribute most actively to the development of the agricultural wealth of the department. They are Messrs Desprez, at Cappelle, who received a gold medal; Lepeuple-Le-couffet, at Bersée; Simon-Legrand (bronze medal), mayor and agronomist, at Auchy; Delloye-Lefèvre, at Iwuy, who obtained a silver medal for his remarkable sugar samples.

Finally, let us mention Mr. Kuhlmann, a manufacturer of chemical products, who exhibited animal black for the decolourisation of sugar.

I have placed great emphasis on the cultivation and use of beetroot, because the North has in this plant a fertile source of work and wealth for its large population; it should not be concluded, however, that cereals, oil plants, fodder plants, legumes, etc., are the object of less concern on the part of farmers.

The cultivation of wheat alone occupies a considerable portion of the department of the North and a quarter of the district of Valenciennes. If I often come back to this arrondissement, it is because the others are more industrial, this one is more specifically agricultural. Its production is more considerable. Thus, in 1866, the average production of wheat, per hectare, was, for the department of the North, 22 hectolitres, 66; it was 27 hectolitres for the district of Valenciennes.

Wheat of all kinds is represented at the Exhibition, Hunter white wheat, Saint-Venant, Bailleul, d'Aire, velvety, Hikling, Marchai, Lord Ducy, Reine Victoria, Calcutta, Bambecque, Flanders, blue wheat, giant white, red wheat, what else? The main exhibitors are, in the lead, M. Porquet, in Bourbourg; then Messrs Lecomte, in Estaires, Risbourg, in Bouchain, Delmazure, in Annappes.

Textile plants are exhibited by M. Dalle, at Bourbecques, who received a gold medal for a remarkable collection of flax; M. Porquet-Lefèvre, who exhibits dyed flax, prepared for linen, yarn, etc.; M. Dantu, at Sleene, March flax, May flax, with blue flowers; M. Massart, at Férin

MM. Marchand freres, oil manufacturers in Dunkerque, recommend themselves by a fine collection of oil plants, rape, poppy, sesame, turnip, peanut black, etc.

It is still M. Porquet, from Bourbourg, who exhibits the most beautiful samples of vegetable plants, beans, lentils, potatoes (of which he gives fifteen varieties), and the best fodder plants: the competent men notice his seeds of lupin, alfalfa, clover.

Hops and barley, which are the vine of the North, occupy a fairly large area in this department. Hops are presented by Mr. Cœvoet-Schoduyn of Lille, and Mr. Bouret, of Steenwoode; barley, by Mr. Bigo-Tiiioy, of Lille; finally, the product of these two raw materials, beer, also has a place in this exhibition. M. Dornemann, brewer in Loos-lès-Lille, exhibits a charming keg, the shape of which I admire, but on the contents of which I am unable to have any opinion, not having been admitted to taste it. Mr. Dornemann makes Bavarian beer, which is sold in Paris under the name of bock-bier. This is a good big infidelity to the traditions of the northern brewery. There is hardly any comparison to be made between the strong beer of Munich and the light, sparkling beer of Douai and Valenciennes.

Tobacco is grown on an area of about ten hectares; it yields, on average, from 2400 to2900 francs per hectare. Twelve growers have come together to exhibit their products, and it is between these two figures that the annual production per hectare varies for each of these owners.

The fertilisers most commonly used in the North Department are: animal black, blood (used in refineries), animal manure, rapeseed cake, flax and, above all, beet detritus, all of which are indigenous fertilisers that do not require guano and other exotic agents.

The breeding of cattle follows the progress of agriculture. The number of bulls, oxen, cows, heifers, steers, calves, etc., was, in 1866, for the district of Valenciennes alone, 27,000 head, that of sheep and rams, 23,000; that of horses, 12,500, etc.

It has been noted that, since 1836, the number of horses had remained almost stationary, but that that of oxen, cows, etc., was increasing, while that of sheep was decreasing. This decrease can be explained by the disappearance of the waste land, which in a short time will all be put under cultivation.

It remains for me to speak of coal, which constitutes a rather important production. From 1855 to 1866, the ten concessions of the district of Valenciennes (Anzin, Fresnes, Douchy, etc.,) alone gave one hundred million metric quintals of coal. Of this considerable sum, one twelfth is absorbed by the manufacture of sugar, which requires no less than three and a half quintals per sack, which gives an annual consumption of 1,300,000 quintals for Valenciennes.

This short review of the agriculture of the North will perhaps suffice to show, by the figure of wages, consumption and production, how important it is for a State to protect this source of public wealth, and how much good spirits must also be attentive to the complaints of agriculture, and seek in a wise economy of the active forces of our countryside, - money and manpower, taxes and recruitment, - a remedy for a state of suffering which I have not even wished to indicate in this article, but on which serious discussions have enlightened public opinion in the past.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition agricole collective du département du Nord

Exposition agricole collective du département du Nord à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Parmi les départements qui élèvent incessamment le niveau de notre richesse agricole et industrielle, le Nord tend, depuis quelques années, à se placer en première ligne. Si Lyon nous envoie de belles soieries, le Bordelais et la Bourgogne d’excellents vins, la Seine-Inférieure et les Ardennes des tissus, le Nord nous donne de la houille, de l’alcool, du sucre, de la mélasse, des plantes oléagineuses, fourragères et potagères, des toiles, des tissus, du froment. L’agriculture marche de pair avec l’industrie, et la production, l’élevage du bétail, devenus depuis quelques années l’objet de la préoccupation des agronomes du Nord, promettent une richesse de plus à ce sol déjà si fécond.

Les agronomes du Nord ont voulu donner à l'exposition de leurs produits un caractère d’ensemble qui fît bien ressortir les résultats de leurs efforts et de leurs travaux. Ils se sont réunis pour élever dans le Parc, au coin de l’avenue de Saxe, derrière le glacier espagnol, un vaste bâtiment auquel la Somme et plusieurs autres départements ont ajouté des annexes.

C’est là que les visiteurs vont admirer les remarquables échantillons exposés par MM. Desprez, Lepeuple - Lecouffet, Simon-Le-^rand, Porquet-Lefèvre, etc.

L’organisation et l’agencement, ont été dirigés avec une intelligence dont il faut louer les commissaires. Chaque nature de produit occupe une place spéciale où l’on peut comparer les échantillons de chaque exposant. Cette disposition a le très-grand avantage de permettre aux visiteurs de suivre sur chaque espèce les progrès de la culture et de contrôler les décisions du jury. N’arrive-t-il pas souvent, en effet, qu’un industriel récompensé expose dans la même vitrine des produits de nature différente ? Auquel de ces produits le jury a-t-il accordé une récompense ?

Ainsi, dans le compartiment réservé aux céréales, les propriétaires qui s’occupent de cette culture ont apporté chacun ses échantillons. Ainsi, pour les sucres, les alcools, les plantes fourragères, etc., etc.

Le produit de l’agriculture du Nord qui présente aujourd’hui le plus d’intérêt; et qui récompense déjà par d’importants bénéfices [es agronomes assez convaincus pour livrer de vastes terrains à cette culture, c’est la betterave.

On sait quels motifs graves plaidaient en faveur de la création d’un sucre indigène. La betterave que les défenseurs du sucre de canne déclaraient si pauvre en saccharine et d’une culture si coûteuse, demandait seulement quelques soins, un peu d’engrais. Elle a triomphé aujourd’hui de toutes les résistances. Loin d’appauvrir le terrain, elle l’enrichit, et sous un climat froid, sans le secours de l'ardent soleil des colonies, elle produit un sucre qui soutient parfaitement la comparaison avec les produits de la Martinique et de Bourbon.

Ainsi, M. Desprez, de Cappelle, arrondissement de Lille, qui a obtenu une médaille d’or pour ses beaux produits, a soumis à l’analyse chimique douze échantillons provenant de betteraves qu’il a exposées dans des bocaux. C’est M. Viollette, professeur de chimie à la Faculté des sciences de Lille, qui a dirigé les opérations, en a constaté les résultats et leur a donné l’autorité de sa signature. Je ne citerai que trois chiffres, un maximum, un minimum et une moyenne.

Une betterave pesant 510 gr. donne 13.9 % de sucre.
— — 2544 — — 11.1 % —
— — 1500 — — 10 % —

On voit ainsi que, bien que d’un poids plus faible, l’échantillon n° ,1 donne une proportion plus forte, ce qui ferait présumer que, au-dessus d’un certain poids, la betterave n’acquiert qu’une faible quantité de saccharine, qui n’est plus en proportion avec la quantité de pulpe.

Les betteraves auxquelles ont été pris les morceaux soumis à l analyse de M. Viollette sont exposées dans une solution de sel marin et d’alun qui les conserve, et permet aux hommes compétents de contrôler les résultats donnés par l’habile chimiste de Lille.

Les 30 espèces, dont M. Desprez expose les graines, donnent des résultats qui ne diffèrent qu’en apparence. Ainsi, tandis qu’un hectare rapportera de 30 à 35 000 kilogrammes de betteraves, un autre, planté d’une autre espèce, pourra en produire jusqu’à 100 000 kilogrammes. Mais où la balance se rétablit, c’est dans la production du sucre. En effet, tandis que la betterave qui ne donne que 35 000 kilogrammes par hectare produit 13 pour 100 de sucre, la grosse betterave (100 000 kilogrammes par hectare), ne fournit que de 6 à 8 pour 100. L’hectare se trouve donc, quelle que soit l’espèce de semis, rapporter une moyenne égale.

Quant aux semailles, elles sont, quelle que soit l’espèce, mais suivant la nature du terrain ou les fumures, de 15 à 20 kilogrammes par hectare.

Dans les premiers temps de la culture, les betteraves étaient exclusivement employées à la fabrication du sucre. Mais, depuis de savantes recherches , couronnées de succès, l’emploi de cette plante s’est étendu. Des calculs officiels constatent que le seul arrondissement de Valenciennes a produit, de 1864 à 1866, 151096670 kilogrammes de mélasse, de 1853à 1866, 953 520 hectolitres d’alcool. Les sucreries ont consommé pendant cette période près de 6 milliards de kilogrammes de betteraves, c’est-à-dire un tiers en plus de sa production, car les immenses plantations de cet arrondissement qui, autrefois, envoyaient tous leurs produits aux sucreries, en envoient aujourd’hui une part considérable aux distilleries d’alcool, et les grandes usines, les raffineries doivent recevoir les betteraves des arrondissements voisins pour occuper leur immense matériel. Néanmoins et malgré ce motif de ralentissement dans l’industrie sucrière, l’arrondissement de Valenciennes a exporté, dans ces huit dernières années, près de 17 millions de kilogrammes de sucre brut.

Ses usines sont au nombre de 64 qui occupent en hiver, pendant la morte saison, 7000 hommes, 2750 femmes et 2670enfants des deux sexes, qui reçoivent pour ces 120 jours 3250 000 fr. Si l’on ajoute à ce chiffre une somme de 800000 fr. payés pour les binages et les récoltes, on atteint un chiffre de plus de 4 millions de salaires dus uniquement a la manutention de la betterave.

Là ne se bornent pas les avantages de cette plante. La pulpe contient des principes nutritifs en quantité considérable. 700 grammes de pulpe équivalent à deux kilogrammes de foin, et on a calculé qu’en raison de ce que mangeait un bœuf par jour, l’arrondissement de Valenciennes pourrait nourrir -100000 bœufs pendant quatre mois.

« L’élevage du bétail, — disait M. de Forcade La Roquette, ministre du commerce, le 18 avril 1867, au concours de Poissy,— s’enrichit de ces découvertes, et trouve des éléments nouveaux d’alimentation dans les résidus de végétaux sortis des laboratoires. »

Enfin, la betterave produit elle-même un engrais puissant. Cet engrais se compose de ce qu’on appelle les écumes de défécation. Ce sont les résidus mêlés de terre, de débris, de chaux, etc., mais qui sont très-riches en azote. En effet, M. Le Docte, de Bruxelles, constate que, malgré les deux tiers d’azote entraînés dans la fabrication, les résidus en conservent une quantité considérable qu’on n’évalue pas à moins de 3 millions de kilogrammes par an.

La betterave rend donc à la terre dans de larges proportions les sucs nourriciers qu’elle lui a empruntés. Cette découverte est d’autant plus précieuse que la betterave demande un terrain léger, meuble, profond, riche en humus. Elle a besoin d’engrais, mais elle se trouve mal du fumier animal, et elle préfère le fumage végétal que donnent ses résidus.

Pour en finir avec la betterave, j’ajouterai que les sucreries de l’arrondissement de Valenciennes, produisent annuellement en moyenne :
Sucre......... 6 261 000 kilog.
Mélasse.. . . 1 621 700 —
Pulpe........ 24 990 000 —

qu’elles occupent de nombreuses machines à vapeur, de forces diverses, et s’élevant ensemble à près de mille chevaux; enfin qu’en dix ans elles ont payé comme contribution à l’entretien des routes, 80 000 francs, tandis que toutes les autres industries ne payaient ensemble que 90 000 francs.

La betterave occupe donc une place importante dans l’agriculture du Nord, et il est juste de nommer les agronomes et industriels qui contribuent le plus activement au développement de la richesse agricole du département. Ce sont MM. Desprez, à Cappelle, qui a reçu une médaille d’or; Lepeuple-Le-couffet, à Bersée; Simon-Legrand (médaille de bronze), maire et agronome, à Auchy; Delloye-Lefèvre, à Iwuy, qui a obtenu une médaille d’argent pour ses remarquables échantillons de sucre.

Citons enfin M. Kuhlmann, fabricant de produits chimiques et qui expose du noir animal pour la décoloration du sucre.

J’ai beaucoup insisté sur la culture et l’emploi de la betterave, parce que le Nord a dans cette plante une source féconde de travail et de richesse pour sa nombreuse population ; il ne faut cependant pas en conclure que les céréales, les plantes oléagineuses, fourragères, légumineuses, etc., soient l’objet d’une préoccupation moins vive, de la part des agriculteurs.

La culture du froment seul occupe une portion considérable du département duNord et le quart de l’arrondissement de Valenciennes. Si je reviens souvent sur cet arrondissement, c’est que les autres sont plus industriels, celui-ci est plus spécialement agricole. Sa production est plus considérable. Ainsi, en 1866, la moyenne de production du froment, par hectare, était, pour le département du Nord, de 22 hectolitres, 66; elle était de 27 hectolitres pour l’arrondissement de Valenciennes.

Les blés de toute nature sont représentés à l’Exposition, blé blanc Hunter, de Saint-Venant, Bailleul, d’Aire, velouté, Hikling, Marchai, Lord Ducy, Reine Victoria, Calcutta, Bambecque, de Flandres, blé bleu, blanc de géant, blé roux, que sais-je encore? Les principaux exposants sont, en tête, M. Porquet, à Bourbourg; puis MM. Lecomte, à Estaires, Risbourg, à Bouchain, Delmazure, à Annappes.

Les plantes textiles sont exposées par M. Dalle, à Bourbecques, qui a reçu une médaillé d’or pour une collection remarquable de lins; M. Porquet-Lefèvre, qui expose des lins teillés, préparés pour lin, filasse, etc.; M. Dantu, à Sleene, lin de mars, lin de mai, à fleurs bleues; M. Massart, à Férin.

MM. Marchand freres, fabricants d’huile à Dunkerque, se recommandent par une belle collection de plantes oléagineuses, colza, œillette, pavot, sésame, navette, noir d’arachide, etc.

C’est encore M. Porquet, de Bourbourg, qui expose les plus beaux échantillons de plantes potagères, fèves, haricots, lentilles, pommes de terre (dont il donne quinze variétés), et les plantes fourragères les mieux venues: les hommes compétents remarquent ses graines de lupin, de luzerne, de trèfle.

Le houblon et l’orge, qui sont la vigne du Nord, occupent un territoire assez vaste dans ce département. Le houblon est présenté par M. Cœvoet-Schoduyn de Lille, et M. Bouret, de Steenwoode; l’orge, par M. Bigo-Tiiioy, de Lille; enfin,le produit de ces deux matières premières, la bière, a sa place aussi dans cette exposition. M. Dornemann, brasseur à Loos-lès-Lille, expose un charmant tonnelet, dont j’admire la forme, mais sur le contenu duquel il m’est impossible d’avoir aucune opinion, n’ayant pas été admis à le déguster. M. Dornemann fabrique de la bière de Bavière, ce que l’on vend à Paris sous le nom de bock-bier. Voilà une bonne grosse infidélité aux traditions de la brasserie du Nord. Il n’y a guère de rapprochement à faire, en effet, entre la forte bière de Munich et la bière légère, gazeuse et mousseuse de Douai et de Valenciennes.

Le tabac se cultive sur une étendue d’une dizaine d’hectares, environ ; il rapporte, en moyenne, de 2400 à2900 francs par hectare. Douze cultivateurs se sont réunis pour exposer ensemble leurs produits, et c’est entre ces deux chiffres que varie la production annuelle de l'hectare pour chacun de ces propriétaires.

Les engrais le plus communément employés dans le département du Nord, sont: le noir animal, le sang (dont on se sert dans les raffinerie»), les fumiers animaux, les tourtes de colza, sa lin et surtout, les détritus de betteraves, tous engrais indigènes et qui permettent de ne pas avoir recours au guano et autres agents exotiques.

L’élève des bestiaux suit les progrès de l’agriculture. Le nombre des taureaux, bœufs, vaches,-génisses, bouvillons, veaux, etc., était, en 1866, pour le seul arrondissement de Valenciennes, de 27 000 têtes, celui des moutons et béliers, de 23 000 ; celui des chevaux, de 12500, etc.

Ou a remarqué que, depuis 1836, le nombre des chevaux était resté presque stationnaire, mais que celui des bœufs, vaches, etc.; croissait, tandis que celui des moutons diminuait. Cette diminution s’explique par la disparition des terrains vagues, qui dans un temps peu éloigné, seront tous mis en culture.

Il me reste à parler de la houille, qui constitue une production assez importante. De 1855 à 1866, les dix concessions de l’arrondissement de Valenciennes (Anzin, Fresnes, Douchy, etc.,) ont donné à elles seules cent millions de quintaux métriques de houille. Sur cette somme considérable, un douzième est absorbé par la fabrication du sucre qui n’exige pas moins de trois quintaux et demi par sac, ce qui donne, pour Valenciennes, une consommation annuelle de 1 300 000 quintaux.

Cette courte revue de l’agriculture du Nord suffira peut-être à montrer, par le chiffre des salaires, des consommations et des productions, combien il est important pour un État de protéger cette source de la richesse publique, combien aussi les bons esprits doivent être attentifs aux plaintes de l’agriculture, et chercher dans une sage économie des forces actives de nos campagnes,—l’argent et les bras, l’impôt et le recrutement,— un remède à un état de souffrance que je n’ai même pas voulu indiquer dans cet article, mais sur lequel de graves discussions ont naguère éclairé l’opinion publique.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée