International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Lafarge-du-Teil hydraulic limes and cements

Lafarge-du-Teil hydraulic limes and cements at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Not far from the conference hall and before arriving at the palace of the bey of Tunis, one notices a construction of a singular aspect which affects the shape of an underground gallery, and where are side by side blocks of cement and polychrome mosaics.
Some people would have been indifferent to these pieces of mortar and concrete, if it were not for the original appearance of the construction that contains them.

And yet this attraction of curiosity is not enough to reveal the important interest which is attached to the exhibition of these specimens.

It is indeed on the quantity of lime and cement that the safety of the citizens who cross our bridges depends, as well as the increase that our trade obtains through the use of lime.
the increase that our trade obtains by the enlargement of existing seaports or the creation of new seaports.

For this type of construction, the most important point of which is solidity, there is no shortage of materials, but they rarely meet all the practical conditions. Moreover, it is not enough to be able to build, it is eminently necessary for the equilibrium of our finances that we be able to carry out public utility works economically.

Lime has the quality that it combines easily with various sands, and in particular with basalt, granite and flint erosions. Its hydraulic properties are very good, and its resistance to the action of salt water and sea winds makes it indispensable for underwater constructions as well as for those built in elevation in saline areas.

The hydraulic lime of Lafarge-du-Teil, used in the construction which is the subject of our engraving, has already given proof of its eminently hydraulic qualities, by the use which has been made of it in twenty-two different ports of the Mediterranean, the Ocean and the Channel.

The limestone layers exploited at Lafarge are part of the lower Neocomian marl, and constitute the bedrock that geologists have designated as criocerated limestone. It has been noted that the hydraulic limes whose deposits bear the signs of Neocomian crioceratites are those which possess to a greater degree the distinctive conditions of the best hydraulic limes. These deposits often consist of marl or clay, and more or less coarse yellowish limestones, sometimes in fairly thick continuous cou-< lies, sometimes in large lenses amidst marly silts and sands. The most powerful deposits are found in Languedoc, Dauphiné and Provence.

The quarries of Lafarge-du-Teil are open on 100 meters of frontage, 400 meters length, and formed of four superimposed compact banks of 2.5 meters height each, and where one finds at the same time excellent stones of construction.

Experience has had time to form for the limestone industry, perhaps more than for other industries. Of all the ancient arts, architecture is the one whose history has been written down to the last detail, not only in the books of Porcius Cato of Vitruvius, but also in the imperishable monuments that the ancients have bequeathed us.

I do not want to recall here the whole history of Roman cements, nor the formulas for the composition of the various mortars that have been used since Vitruvius. It is enough to point out that in the space of 35 years, the exploitation of the lime of Lafarge-du-Teil has managed to produce 90,000 tonnes annually, that is to say 90 million kilograms of lime. This production will certainly increase further with the junction of the Rhône with the port of Saint-Louis. Indeed, the factory is located on the banks of the Rhône, and is crossed by the imperial road from Lyon to Beaucaire. Thirty-four continuous fire furnaces, which devour 500 cubic metres of broken stone and 70,000 kilos of earth coal daily, contribute to the production that I have quantified above.

An army of 500 workers operates daily in this factory, where immense slaking pits feed 14 mills and 30 blotters driven by 4 steam engines.

The number of these workers has called for a philanthropic organisation to which we owe our praise; and if the products of the Lafarge-du-Teil factory are manufactured with conscientious solicitude, the workers who give movement to this production are the object of the most intelligent consideration on the part of their leaders.

Thus a relief fund, intended to provide free medical care, has been established; retirement pensions and savings banks encourage thrift; finally, healthy and abundant food and cheap accommodation are available to the workers.

We have learned that a chaplaincy will soon be set up in the Lafarge-du-Teil factory, and we believe that a primary school will not be forgotten.

The exploitation of the Lafarge-du-Teil quarries has given rise to another industry which is intimately linked to it and which consists of the application of the residues of this factory to the manufacture of polychrome mosaic tiles with inlaid and essentially adherent designs. The discovery is due to Messrs Da-mon and Rousset, whose factory is established in Viviers, near that of Mr Pavin de Lafarge. These inventors have succeeded in creating models with a great variety of designs and colours, and whose solidity resists all forms of friction.

The mosaic tiles of Messrs. Damon and Rousset allow, by their low price, an ornamentation accessible to the economic construction; they are admirably appropriate by their homogeneous composition and without mixture of any kind, for the covering of wet rooms such as: baths, laundries and hydrotherapy establishments.

In addition, the most diverse types and the soft shades that are obtained by the manufacture of Messrs. Damon and Rousset, facilitate the use of decorations of different styles, Etruscan, Pompeii, Roman or Renaissance.

In short, the industries of the Lafarge-du-Teil and Viviers factories are of the utmost importance.

Their solidarity is likely to favour economic production and can greatly develop their external relations, with the new outlets soon to be offered by the cutting of the Rhône.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chaux hydrauliques et ciments de Lafarge-du-Teil

Chaux hydrauliques et ciments de Lafarge-du-Teil à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Non loin de la salle des conférences et avant d’arriver au palais du bey de Tunis, on remarque une construction d’un aspect singulier qui affecte la forme d’une galerie souterraine, et où se trouvent côte à côte des blocs de ciment et des mosaïques polychromes.
Il est des gens qui eussent passé indifférents à côté de ces morceaux de mortier et de béton, sans l’aspect original de la construction qui les renferme.

Et cependant cet attrait de la curiosité rie suffit point à révéler l’intérêt important qui s’attache à l’exposition de ces spécimens.

C’est en effet de la quantité de la chaux et des ciments que dépendent tantôt la sûreté des citoyens qui traversent nos ponts, tantôt
l'accroissement que notre commerce obtient par l'agrandissement des ports de mer existants ou la création de ports de mer nouveaux.

Pour ce genre de construction dont le point capital est la solidité, les matériaux ne manquent pas, mais ils réunissent rarement toutes les conditions pratiques. En outre, ce n'est pas assez que de pouvoir construire, il est éminemment nécessaire pour l'équilihre de nos finances que l'on puisse exécuter économiquement les travaux d'utilité publique.

La chaux a cette qualité qu’elle s’allie facilement aux divers sables, et notamment aux en érosions de basalte, de granit et de silex. Son hydraulicité constatée est des plus grandes, et sa résistance à l’action des eaux salées et des vents de la mer rend son emploi indispensable aussi bien aux constructions sous-marines qu’à celles laites en élévation dans les parages salins.

La chaux hydraulique de Lafarge-du-Teil, exposée dans la construction qui fait le sujet de notre gravure, a déjà donné des preuves «le ses qualités éminemment hydrauliques, par l'usage qui en a été fait dans vingt-deux ports différents de la Méditerranée, de l’Océan et de la Manche.

Les couches calcaires exploitées à Lafarge font partie des marnes néocomiennes inférieures, et constituent l’assise que les géologues ont désignée sous le nom de calcaires à criocères. On a remarqué que les chaux hydrauliques dont les gisements portaient les signes criocératites néocomiens, sont celles qui possèdent à un plus haut degré les conditions distinctives des meilleures chaux hydrauliques. Ces dépôts se composent souvent de marnes ou d’argiles, et de calcaires jaunâtres plus ou moins grossiers, tantôt en cou-< lies continues assez épaisses, tantôt en grandes lentilles au milieu des limons marneux et des sables. Les plus puissants dépôts se trouvent dans le Languedoc, le Dauphiné et la Provence.

Les carrières de Lafarge-du-Teil sont ouvertes sur 100 mètres de front, 400 mètres de longueur, et formées de quatre bancs compactes superposés de 2.5 mètres de hauteur chacun, et où l’on trouve en même temps d excellentes pierres de construction.

L’expérience a eu le temps de se former pour l'industrie calcaire, plus peut-être que pour les autres industries. L’architecture est de tous les arts anciens celui dont l’histoire a été écrite jusque dans ses moindres détails, non seulement dans les livres de Porcius Caton de Vitruve, mais encore dans les monuments impérissables que les anciens nous ont légués.

Je ne veux point rappeler ici toute l’histoire des ciments romains, ni les formules de la composition des différents mortiers dont on s est servi depuis Vitruve. Il me suffit de signaler que dans l’espace de 35 ans, l’exploitation des chaux de Lafarge-du-Teil est arrivée à produire annuellement 90 000 tonnes, soit 90 millions de kilogrammes de chaux. Cette production s’accroîtra certainement encore par la jonction du Rhône au port Saint-Louis. En effet, l’usine est située sur les bords du Rhône, et traversée par la route impériale de Lyon à Beaucaire. Trente-quatre fours à feu continu, qui dévorent journellement 500 mètres cubes de pierres cassée?. et 70 000 kilos de charbon de terre, concourent à la production que j’ai chiffrée plus haut.

Une armée de 500 ouvriers fonctionne journellement dans cette usine, où d’immenses fosses d’extinction alimentent 14 moulins et 30 bluttoirs mus par 4 machines à vapeur.

Le nombre de ces travailleurs a réclamé une organisation philanthropique à laquelle nous devons nos éloges; et si les produits de l’usine de Lafarge-du-Teil sont fabriqués avec une sollicitude consciencieuse, les ouvriers qui donnent le mouvement à cette production sont l'objet des prévenances les plus intelligentes de la part de leurs chefs.

C’est ainsi qu’une caisse de secours, destinée à procurer des soins gratuits, a été établie; des pensions de retraite et des caisses d’épargne y encouragent l’économie; enfin, une nourriture saine et abondante, et des logements à bon marché sont à la disposition des ouvriers.

Nous avons appris qu’une aumônerie sera bientôt installée dans l’usine de Lafarge-du-Teil, et nous pensons qu’on n’oubliera pas d’y adjoindre un établissement d’instruction primaire.

L’exploitation des carrières de Lafarge-du-Teil a donné naissance à une autre industrie qui lui est liée intimement et qui consiste dans l’application, des résidus de cette usine à la fabrication de carreaux mosaïques polychromes à dessins incrustés et essentiellement adhérents. La découverte en est due à MM. Da-mon et Rousset, dont la fabrique est établie à Viviers, à proximité de celle de M. Pavin de Lafarge. Ces inventeurs sont parvenus à créer des modèles d’une grande variété de dessins et de couleurs, et dont la solidité résiste à tous les frottements.

Les carreaux mosaïques de MM. Damon et Rousset permettent, par leur bas prix, une ornementation accessible à la construction économique; ils conviennent admirablement par leur composition homogène et sans mélange d’aucune espèce, au revêtement des lo eaux humides tels que : bains, buanderies et établissements hydrothérapiques.

En outre, les genres les plus divers et les nuances tendres tes mieux fondues qui sont obtenues par la fabrication de MM. Damon et Rousset, facilitent l’usage des décorations de différents styles, étrusque, pompéi, roman ou renaissance.

En résumé, les industries des usines de Lafarge-du-Teil et de Viviers sont des plus importantes.

' Leur solidarité- est de nature à favoriser une production économique et peut grandement développer leurs relations extérieures, avec les nouveaux débouchés que leur offrira bientôt la coupure du Rhône.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée