International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Vestibule of the large greenhouse and the flower shows

Vestibule of the large greenhouse and the flower shows at the Exhibition Paris 1867

It is the season of the gladioli, that flower as brilliant as the lily, as elegant as the palm. The gladiolus could not find an asylum more in keeping with its brilliance and elegance than the vestibule of the great greenhouse, whose ravishing interior M. Lancelot is reproducing for us today, just as he once painted the luxuriant vegetation of the great greenhouse.

A pretty fountain, from which water sprays out in pearls in bronze basins, occupies the middle of the hall. Through the golden trellises that serve as walls, the wind lifts the light white and pink fabric that covers them. Garnet velvet and gold twists serve as fringes on the outside. Benches are placed among the flowers to serve as resting places for the walkers, who hear the murmur of the nearby waterfall before them, and the muffled sounds of military music in the distance. It is truly an enchanting place, and made, as Fénelon would say, for the pleasure of the eyes.

It is here that the jury of Group IX marks the good points of the flowers which follow one another, according to the order of the season, while waiting for the prizes reserved for the best coefficients for October 15. On that day, the awards will also be given to Group VIII and Class 95 of Group X.

Just as the agriculture group has its headquarters in Billancourt, the horticulture group has its headquarters in the Jardin réservé, whose marvels we have more than once described, drawing inspiration from the magical style of Mr Edmond About. So we had left off with the fourth series of gardening prizes.

Let us resume our recapitulation of the prizes, from the fifth to the seventh series; and let us not forget that, in relation to the prizes of October 1 5, these prizes are only good points whose total will be used as a coefficient.

Has anyone noticed that the most charming flowers always have the most barbaric names? These names should be remembered in passing, as we write them down; and if you want to see what they hide, look them up in a botanical dictionary.

As for the winners, we find more or less the same names as in previous competitions.

The gardeners are creators, that's obvious: you know, by the way, that the black rose, or almost black, is found! But here's the problem: gardeners also try to be clever.

Here are some ornamental greenhouse plants, which I believe are called callodium bullosum. Fortunately, M. Bleu, from Paris, has found new varieties which he has had the good sense to name: 1° Triumph of the Exhibition, 2° M. Bleu, 3° M. Le Play, 4° M. Alphand, 5° M. Devinck. I will go to a florist and ask for a M. Le Play, and it is likely that I will get one. Le Play, and it is probable that I shall be better understood than at the commissariat general.

What I regret, because of the affordable name, is that neither the carnations nor the flowering kalmias got any good points.
On the other hand, the yloæinia won two first prizes; one to Mr. Linden, from Brussels, the other to Mr. Bonâtre, from Neuilly. What, you may ask, are gloxinia? They are exotic officinal plants.

Roses of all kinds, in the ground, in seedlings, in pots or in bouquets, offered me compensation. It is marvellous what an artist can do with a rosebush! It seems that M. Jamin, from Pari-, is incomparable for the clawed stem rose: it is true that M. Margotin, from Bourg-la-Reine, wins for seedling roses and for the invention of species. But M. Bernard, from Paris, has no rival for bouquets, especially for the table. It rained down on him a deluge of good points.

The orchids and pelargoniums in flower made many happy, first Messrs Linden, from Brussels, and Chenu, from Isle-Adam, three times named, then Messrs Thibault and Kateleer, and Mr A. Dufoy, from Paris, Mr Lemoine, from Nancy, and for seedlings Mr Cassier, from Paris. For second-growth orchids, M. Luddemann, of Paris, was the winner.

For tree ferns and temperate greenhouse plants, M. Chantin, from Paris, already named many times, had four first mentions.

But proper names, as well as flowers, are heady stuff; so I'll pass on, and the best.

The gardeners of Paris and the surrounding area have only to behave themselves; the foreigners, Dutch, English, Belgians especially, are fighting with them in terms of care, intelligence and invention, and are threatening to overtake them.

Let us say for the record that the cooperators obtained two first prizes, one for Mr. Chenu, gardener to Mr. the Count of Nadaillac, the other for Mr. Isidore Leroy, gardener to Mr. Guibert, whose collection of orchids in Passy is incomparable.

Viticulture was brilliantly represented by Mr. J. Marcon, of Saint-Émilion, for the new palmette, cordon and tree crops; by Mr. de Saint-Triviér, of Vaux-Renard in Beaujolais, for his short pruned stocks.

I would not be forgiven if I forgot the fruits and vegetables.

There is no first mention of melons, peaches or grapes: can you believe it? But on the other hand, the vegetables triumphed, not the peas from Clamart, but the asparagus from Mr Lhérault-Salbœuf, from Argenteuil, and the potatoes from Mr Besson, from Marseille. Why didn't the artichokes from Algiers compete?

That is our nomenclature up to and including the seventh series, that is, until the end of July. And to think that Mr. Lancelot's beautiful drawing was used to inform us about the horticultural competition!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vestibule de la grande serre et les concours floraux

Vestibule de la grande serre et les concours floraux à l'exposition de Paris 1867

C’est la saison des glaïeuls, cette fleur brillante comme le lis, élégante comme la palme. Le glaïeul ne pouvait trouver un asile plus en rapport avec son éclat et son élégance que le vestibule de la grande serre, dont M. Lancelot nous reproduit aujourd’hui le ravissant intérieur, comme il nous a peint naguère les luxuriantes végétations de la grande serre.

Une jolie fontaine, d’où l’eau s’épand en perles dans des vasques de bronze, occupe le milieu du vestibule. A travers les treillages d’or qui servent de parois, le vent soulève l’étoffe légère, blanc et rose, qui les recouvre. Le velours grenat et les torsades d’or servent de franges à l’extérieur. Des bancs sont disposés, au milieu des fleurs, pour servir de repos aux promeneurs, qui entendent murmurer devant eux la cascade voisine, et plus loin les sons atténués de la musique militaire. C’est véritablement un lieu enchanteur, et fait, comme dirait Fénelon, pour le plaisir des yeux.

C’est là que le jury du groupe IX marque les bons points aux fleurs qui se succèdent, suivant l’ordre de la saison, en attendant les prix réservés aux meilleurs coefficients pour le 15 octobre. On distribuera également ce jour-là les récompenses au groupe VIII, et à là classe 95 du groupe X.

De même que le groupe de l’agriculture a son siège principal à Billancourt, le groupe de l’horticulture siège au Jardin réservé, dont nous avons plus d’une fois décrit les merveilles, nous inspirant du style magique de M. Edmond About. Donc, nous en étions restés à la quatrième série des prix de jardinage.

Reprenons notre récapitulation des prix, à partir de la cinquième jusqu’à la septième série; et n’oublions pas que, par rapport aux récompenses du 1 5 octobre, ces prix ne sont que des bons points dont le total servira de coefficient.

A-t-on remarqué que les fleurs les plus charmantes ont toujours les appellations les plus barbares? Ces appellations, qu’on les retienne bien au passage, à mesure que nous les inscrirons ; et si l’on veut se rendre compte de ce qu’elles cachent, qu’on cherche dans un dictionnaire de botanique.

Quant aux lauréats, nous trouvons à peu près les mêmes noms qu’aux précédents concours.

Les jardiniers sont des créateurs, c’est évident : vous savez, à ce propos, que la rose noire, ou à peu près noire, est trouvée! Mais, voilà le malheur! c’est que les jardiniers se mêlent aussi de vouloir faire les savants.

Voici des plantes de serre chaude, à feuillage ornemental, qui se nomment, je crois, callodium bullosum. Heureusement, M. Bleu, de Paris, a trouvé des variétés nouvelles qu’il a eu le bon esprit de nommer : 1° Triomphe de l’Exposition, 2° M. Bleu, 3° M. Le Play, 4° M. Alphand, 5° M. Devinck. A la bonne heure! j’irai chez un fleuriste demander un M. Le Play, et il est probable que-je serai mieux compris qu’au commissariat général.

Ce que je regrette, à cause de l’appellation abordable, c’est que ni les œillets, ni les kalmias en fleurs n’aient eu de bons points.
En revanche les yloæinia ont valu deux premiers prix ; l’un à M. Linden, de Bruxelles, l’autre à M. Bonâtre, de Neuilly. Qu’est-ce, me direz-vous, que les gloxinia? ce sont des plantes officinales exotiques.

Les rosiers de toute sorte, en pleine terre, en semis, en pot ou en bouquets, m’ont offert une compensation. C’est merveilleux ce qu’un artiste peut faire d’un rosier! Il paraît que M. Jamin, de Pari-, est incomparable pour le rosier à tiges griffé : il est vrai que M. Margotin, de Bourg-la-Reine, l’emporte pour les rosiers en semis, et pour l’invention des espèces. Mais M. Bernard, de Paris, est sans rival pour les bouquets en surtout de table. Il a plu sur lui un déluge de bons points.

Les orchidées et les pélargoniums en fleurs ont fait beaucoup d’heureux, d’abord MM. Linden, de Bruxelles, et Chenu, de l’Isle-Adam, trois fois nommés, puis MM Thibault et Kateleer, et M. A. Dufoy, de Paris, M. Lemoine, de Nancy, et pour les semis M. Cassier, de Paris. Pour les orchidées de seconde venue, M. Luddemann, de Paris, a été le vainqueur.

Pour les fougères arborescentes et les plantes de serre tempérée, M. Chantin, de Paris, déjà bien des fois nommé, a eu quatre premières mentions.

Mais les noms propres, aussi bien que les fleurs, portent à la tête ; j’en passe donc, et des meilleurs.

Les jardiniers de Paris et des environs n’ont qu’à se bien tenir ; les étrangers, Hollandais, Anglais, Belges surtout, luttent avec eux de soins, d'intelligence et d’invention, et menacent de les distancer.

Disons pour mémoire que les coopérateurs ont obtenu deux premiers prix, l’un pour M. Chenu, jardinier de M. le comte de Nadaillac, l’autre pour M. Isidore Leroy, jardinier de M. Guibert, dont la collection d’orchidées, à Passy, est incomparable.

La viticulture a été brillamment représentée par M J. Marcon, de Saint-Émilion, pour les cultures nouvelles en palmette, cordon, et en arbre; par M. de Saint-Triviér, de Vaux-Renard en Beaujolais, pour ses souches en ligne, à taille courte.

On ne me pardonnerait pas si j’oubliais les fruits et légumes.

Il n’y a de première mention ni pour les melons, ni pour les pêches, ni pour les raisins : est-ce croyable? Mais en revanche, les légumes ont triomphé, non pas les petits pois de Clamart, mais bien les asperges de M. Lhérault-Salbœuf, d’Argenteuil, et les pommes de terre de M. Besson, de Marseille. Pourquoi les artichauts d’Alger n’ont-ils pas concouru ?

Voilà notre nomenclature terminée jusqu’à la septième série inclusivement, c’est-à-dire jusqu’à la fin de juillet. Et dire que le beau dessin de M. Lancelot nous a servi à nous mettre au courant dès concours d horticulture!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée