International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Confectionery in Germany

Confectionery in Germany at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

It might be interesting to investigate the relation, which certainly exists, between the progress of civilisation and the development of certain industries which reach their apogee rapidly, while others have more laborious beginnings and a slower progress.

It is certain, for example, that the industries whose aim is the satisfaction of greed have preceded, in all peoples, the arts and sciences which must ensure the necessary well-being.

Without wishing to give a history lesson on the subject of sugared almonds and candied fruit, I will recall, to speak only of France, that in the Middle Ages the convents had given to the preparation of sweets, syrups, liqueurs, and candied fruit a superiority that agriculture, clothing for the people, and the convenience and healthiness of dwellings would have to wait for several more centuries.

Why is it that these ancient asylums of archaeological science and culinary science, of illustrious scientists, famous cooks, eminent philologists and preservers of the good traditions of gourmandise, should now serve as a shelter only for those disillusioned with military glory?

Why is it that only the Benedictines have kept intact the heritage of glory bequeathed to them by their Reverend Fathers? Still, the illustration of the modern Benedictines has its source rather in the manufacture of a certain liqueur much appreciated by the farmers of advertisements than in the elaboration of the folios of their predecessors.

It is only fair to add that, having given up the excellent culinary preparations, the convents did not concern themselves any more with the interests which are the subject of the tenth group.

Must we not conclude from this that questions of luxury too often take precedence over questions of first necessity, and that it is only among educated, enlightened peoples that we will find this constant preoccupation with serious interests, with moral and physical well-being, and that only among them will luxury be the natural development of the necessary?

Be that as it may, modern nations have not disdained the traditions of gourmandise of past centuries, and the industries that seemed first of all to Brillat-Savarin, Grimod de la Reynière and a few illustrious gourmands, have sent to the Champ de Mars numerous and remarkable samples of their production.

Confectionery is widely represented, and the nineteenth century has the right to be proud to see so many men, so many forces, so much intelligence, devoted to the satisfaction of this lovely vice called Gourmandise.

Germany has not been left behind. Already worthily represented at the Exhibition of 1855, it sent to the Exhibition of 1867 the products of its first companies, and France, which has several famous names in this industry, did not see without emotion this vigorous competition to its quasi-monopoly.

Each people reveals itself in all its actions by what must be called its characteristic. Thus Germany is essentially encyclopaedic. Indeed, whereas a French scientist will be a specialist, a doctor, a jurisconsult, a chemist, an astronomer, a mathematician, the German scientist will be all of these at once. He will have exact notions of all branches of human knowledge, and nothing that constitutes a science will be foreign to him.

It is the same in Industry.

In France, a trader will choose a speciality to which he will devote all his care. He will manufacture, for example, chocolate. He will be able to achieve in this manufacture that perfection which distinguishes the houses of Devinck, Marquis, etc.; but, with very rare exceptions, he will not be asked to do anything else.

In Germany, on the other hand, a confectionery is a factory where thousands of sweets of all kinds are made to enrich desserts and hang from the enchanted trees of Christnacht.

Factory is the proper name to give to these vast workshops. Everything that makes up a large-scale operation can be found there: a large site, considerable equipment, a large staff, workshops devoted either to the manufacture of products or to the construction or repair of tools and machines. All of this allows a factory to live a little far from a large centre, because it finds all the resources necessary for its existence at home.

Such are the great confectioneries of Germany, and I will mention, among others, the houses of Adolphe Rœder, of Wiesbaden, Mayer, of Breslau, Wittekop et Cie, of Braunschweîg, which exhibit this world of sweets of all shapes and colours which are the joy of children - and of some grown-ups too.

Mr. Mayer from Breslau received an honourable mention for his candied fruits and syrups.

Mr. Franz Stollwerck, from Cologne, occupies a separate showcase in the compartment reserved for North German confectionery under the promenade at the corner of Prussian Street. This display case is easy to recognise. As our engraving shows, in a high glass cage surmounted by an eagle with outstretched wings, rises a pyramid on which are stacked jars of fruit, bags of sugared almonds, flasks of liqueurs, chocolate in the most bizarre forms; all this in an order that is already a seduction.

Certainly the sight of this display case is already enough to tempt the most sober man, but it is nothing compared to a glance at the catalogue of Mr. Franz Stollwerck.

Here, arranged in order of number, are all the varieties of chocolate, from those that reach the highest prices to the ordinary price compositions. Then come the dragees, those indispensable accompaniments to christenings, vanilla dragees, coffee dragees, almond dragees, filberts, liqueurs, etc.; sugar sweets, pastilles, fondants, candied fruits, surprise sweets, which are very much in vogue beyond the Rhine; biscuits, and finally fine liqueurs. In this field, Mr. Franz Stollwerck has made an unrivalled reputation for himself.

Having already won a medal in 1855, Mr. Stollwerck received a new distinction at the 1867 Exhibition. The jury wanted to reward not only the perfection of the products, but also the development of the production. It is perhaps not useless to say here that, in his steam factory in Cologne, this industrialist employs no less than one hundred and fifty workers, and that he has more than three thousand correspondents in the various cities of Europe, among whom I note famous names in the trade, in London, Paris and Vienna.

Does not such an extension given to a luxury industry imply constant care, a perfect knowledge of European trade, skilful direction, and real superiority in manufacture?

From all these points of view, the award obtained by Mr. Franz Stollwerck is not one that the jury will be reproached for.

Indeed, should we not see in the industry that gives work to one hundred and fifty workers, that knows how to open outlets to the four corners of Europe for a trade such as confectionery, something other than a manufacturer of sweets and syrups? - Is he not one of those bold merchants, one of those creators of international trade whom kings once honoured with their ingratitude, and whom the people today reward with wealth and public esteem?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Confiserie en Allemagne

Confiserie en Allemagne à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Il serait intéressant peut-être de rechercher la relation, qui existe certainement, entre les progrès de la civilisation et le développement de certaines industries qui atteignent rapidement leur apogée, tandis que d’autres ont des commencements plus laborieux et une marche plus lente.

Il est certain, par exemple, que les industries qui ont pour but la satisfaction de la gourmandise ont précédé chez tous les peuples les arts et les sciences qui doivent assurer le bien-être nécessaire.

Sans vouloir faire un cours d’histoire à propos de dragées et de fruits confits, je rappellerai, pour ne parler que de la France, qu’au moyen âge les couvents avaient donné à la préparation des bonbons, des sirops, des liqueurs, des fruits confits, une supériorité que l’agriculture, les vêtements pour le peuple, la commodité et la salubrité des habitations devaient attendre plusieurs siècles encore.

Pourquoi faut-il que ces anciens asiles de la science archéologique et de la science culinaire, des savants illustres, des cuisiniers fameux, des philologues éminents et des conservateurs des bonnes traditions de la gourmandise, ne servent plus d’abri qu’aux désillusionnés de la gloire militaire?

Pourquoi faut-il que les Bénédictins seuls aient conservé intact l’héritage de gloire que leur ont légué leurs Pères Révérends? Encore l’illustration des modernes Bénédictins prend-elle plutôt sa source dans la fabrication de certaine liqueur fort appréciée des fermiers d’annonces que dans l'élaboration des in-folio de leurs prédécesseurs.

Il est juste d’ajouter que pour avoir renoncé aux excellentes préparations culinaires, les couvents ne se sont pas plus occupés des intérêts qui font l’objet du dixième groupe.

Ne faut-il pas en conclure que les questions de luxe priment trop souvent les questions de première nécessité, et que c’est seulement chez les peuples instruits, éclairés, que l’on trouvera cette préoccupation constante des intérêts sérieux, du bien-être moral et physique, et que, chez eux seulement, le luxe ne sera que le développement naturel du nécessaire ?

Quoi qu’il en soit, les nations modernes n’ont pas dédaigné les traditions de gourmandise des siècles passés, et les industries qui semblaient les premières de toutes à Brillat-Savarin, à Grimod de la Reynière et à quelques illustres gourmands, ont envoyé au Champ de Mars de nombreux et remarquables échantillons de leur production.

La confiserie est largement représentée, et le dix-neuvième siècle a le droit d’être fier de voir tant d’hommes, tant de forces, tant d’intelligences, consacrés à la satisfaction de ce joli vice qu’on nomme la Gourmandise.

L’Allemagne n’est pas restée en arrière. Déjà dignement représentée à l’Exposition de 1855, elle a envoyé à l’Exposition de 1867 les produits de ses premières maisons, et.la France, qui compte plusieurs noms célèbres dans cette industrie, n’a pas vu sans émotion cette concurrence vigoureuse faite à son quasi-monopole.

Chaque peuple se révèle dans tous ses actes par ce qu’il faut appeler sa caractéristique. Ainsi, l’Allemagne est essentiellement encyclopédique. En effet, tandis qu’un savant français sera spécialiste, médecin, jurisconsulte, chimiste, astronome, mathématicien, le savant allemand sera tout cela à la fois. Il aura des notions exactes de toutes les branches des connaissances humaines, et rien de ce qui constituera une science ne lui sera étranger.

Il en est de même dans l’Industrie.

En France, un négociant choisira une spécialité à laquelle il consacrera tous ses soins. Il fabriquera, par exemple, du chocolat. Il pourra dans cette fabrication atteindre cette perfection qui distingue les maisons Devinck, Marquis, etc.; mais, sauf de bien rares exceptions, il ne faudra pas lui demander autre chose.

En Allemagne, au contraire, une confiserie est une usine où se fabriquent ces milliers de bonbons de toutes sortes qui enrichissent les desserts, et se suspendent aux arbres enchantés de la Christnacht.

Usine est bien le nom propre qu’il faut donner à ces vastes ateliers. Tout ce qui constitue la grande exploitation s’y rencontre : large emplacement, matériel considérable, personnel nombreux, ateliers consacrés soit à la fabrication des produits, soit à la construction ou à la réparation des outils et des machines. Tout cet ensemble qui permet à une fabrique de vivre un peu éloignée d’un grand centre, parce qu’elle trouve chez elle-même toutes les ressources nécessaires à son existence.

Telles sont les grandes confiseries de l’Allemagne, et je citerai, entre autres, les maisons Adolphe Rœder, de Wiesbaden , Mayer, de Breslau, Wittekop et Cie, de Braunschweîg, qui exposent ce monde de friandises de toutes formes et de toutes couleurs qui sont la joie des enfants — et de quelques grandes personnes aussi.

M. Mayer, de Breslau, a obtenu une mention honorable pour ses fruits confits et ses sirops.

M. Franz Stollwerck, de Cologne, occupe une vitrine à part dans le compartiment réservé, sous le promenoir, au coin de la rue de Prusse, à la confiserie de l’Allemagne du Nord. Cette vitrine est facile à reconnaître. Comme l’indique notre gravure, dans une haute cage en glace surmontée d’un aigle aux ailes déployées, s’élève une pyramide sur laquelle s’étagent les bocaux de fruits, les sacs de dragées, les fioles de liqueurs, le chocolat sous les formes les plus bizarres; tout cela dans un ordre qui est déjà une séduction.

Certes la vue de cette vitrine est déjà bien faite pour donner des tentations à l’homme le plus sobre, et ce n’est rien cependant auprès d’un coup d’œil jeté sur le catalogue de M. Franz Stollwerck.

Voici, rangées par numéro d’ordre, toutes les variétés de chocolat, depuis celles qui atteignent les prix les plus élevés jusqu’aux compositions de prix ordinaire, Puis viennent les dragées, ces indispensable accompagnements des baptêmes, dragées à la vanille, au café, aux amandes, aux avelines, aux liqueurs, etc. ; les bonbons au sucre, les pastilles, les fondants, les fruits confits, les bonbons à surprises, fort en honneur au delà du Rhin; les biscuits, enfin les liqueurs fines. Dans cette fabrication, M. Franz Stollwerck s’est fait une réputation sans égale.

Déjà médaillé en 1855, M. Stollwerck a obtenu une nouvelle distinction à l'Exposition de 1867. Le jury a voulu récompenser non-seulement la perfection des produits, mais aussi le développement de la fabrication. Il n’est peut-être pas inutile de dire ici que, dans son usine à vapeur de Cologne, cet industriel n’occupe pas moins de cent cinquante ouvriers, et qu’il compte dans les différentes villes de l'Europe, plus de trois mille correspondants, parmi lesquels je remarque des noms célèbres dans le commerce, à Londres, à Paris et à Vienne.

Une telle extension donnée à une industrie de luxe n’implique-t-elle pas des soins constants, une connaissance parfaite du commerce européen, une habile direction, une supériorité réelle dans la fabrication?

A tous ces points de vue, la récompense obtenue par M. Franz Stollwerck n’est pas de celles que l’on reprochera au jury.

Ne faut-il pas voir, en effet, dans l’industrie qui donne du travail à cent cinquante ouvriers, qui sait ouvrir aux quatre coins de l’Europe des débouchés à un commerce tel que la confiserie, autre chose qu’un fabricant de bonbons et de sirops? — N’y a-t-il pas là un de ces hardis négociants, un de ces créateurs du commerce international que les rois honoraient autrefois de leur ingratitude, et que les peuples récompensent aujourd’hui par la richesse et l’estime publique?

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée