International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

English Military Exhibition

English Military Exhibition at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

The British military exhibition, or at least the part devoted to land and sea artillery and equipment proper, is divided between two separate pavilions, one of which contains the products of the arsenals of private industry, one of which contains the products of the arsenals of private industry, which contributes in such a high degree to the military power of Great Britain by the importance of the supplies and equipment which it can deliver in a short space of time, if the gravity of the circumstances should require it, and the second of which is more particularly devoted to the new types adopted in the last instance by the Artillery Committee, and to the production of the royal arsenals.

After having spent enormous sums of money, estimated at no less than one hundred million, on experiments with various systems of artillery and breech loading, having thought for a moment that it had reached its goal with the Armstrong guns and having ordered a considerable amount of equipment, the English government, frightened by the eventualities of the future, decided to launch a new project, frightened by the political contingencies which were arising, of having as yet no really practical system for its army and fleet, rejected in 1863 the Armstrong, Whitworth, Scott and other inventions as too complicated, and discarding breech-loading for large calibre guns, adopted a system of muzzle-loading guns very similar to the system in use in the French navy until 1865, - at the very time when our naval artillery, after careful experimentation, was transforming with marvellous skill our old equipment, by surrounding our cast iron pieces with steel hoops which gave them a new force, found a system of loading by the breech, whose solidity and safety united all the suffrages, and relatively endowed our ships, almost without expense, with an artillery which, for penetration, accuracy and range, is most remarkable.
In adopting the new system called the Woolwich gun, named after the royal arsenal where it was manufactured, the English committee did not intend to create a gun without rivals and which could not be surpassed, but it wanted above all to get out of the experiments and to provide the fleet immediately with a really practical artillery. - He needed an immediate weapon, and the Woolwich gun provided it.

The excitement which had greeted Sir W. Armstrong's first results, and his various systems of design, were not lost on him. Armstrong's early results, and his various breech-loading systems, had not stood the test of time. A great metal manufacturer, Sir W. Armstrong had been struck by the idea that, with the perfection of English tooling and the point at which manufacture had reached, a rifled tube could be forged to such a size as to produce a gun; and in the English survey of 1863, which to some extent records the history of rifled guns among our neighbours, he himself says: "In the month of February 1854 my friend Mr. Rendel, a well known engineer, came to see me. Rendel, a well-known engineer, submitted to Sir James Graham a communication from me, suggesting the possibility of increasing the ordinary rifle to the size of a field gun, and of employing elongated lead projectiles instead of cast iron balls. "This was the starting point. It was to have first, and it resulted in a gun loading by the calasse, where the projectile would fill the role of the forced bullet in a rifle, which could be obtained for pieces of this dimension only with the help of projectiles of a diameter larger than that of the core. Hence the necessity of this lead sleeve which enveloped the projectiles, tore in the rifling and, sometimes, became, at the exit of the muzzle, dangerous for the servants themselves, and, suppressing the wind, i.e. the space between the projectile and the bore of the piece, increased the resistance and the fouling, and decreased the accuracy of the shooting; for, at the exit, the gases having a velocity four or five times greater than that of the projectile, serve, as it were, to prepare the atmosphere for the ball and to throw it on the straight line of its trajectory.

Sir W. Armstrong himself was soon to recognise the error he had fallen into, at least for the larger calibres, and adopt the Shunt Principle for his large muzzle-loading guns. - The Shunt Principle, reports Captain Aloncle in his curious and interesting studies on marine artillery, consists in the fact that the rifling of the gun is a little wider at the muzzle of the gun than it is towards the bottom of the bore. In the body of the projectile are embedded protruding parts of soft metal, which, when the gun is loaded, are placed in the flared part of the rifling. This creates a certain amount of play which facilitates the introduction of the projectile. The projectile passes through one side of the rifling on its way in and the other side on its way out. - As for the actual process of building the guns, it has not been modified. This process always consisted in establishing a barrel, thanks to the perfection of manufacture, as one established the barrels of rifles known under the name of ribbon barrels, and consequently to form the barrel of an interior tube on which one rolls in spiral two or more successive layers of hot metal strips. The number of these layers is proportioned to the resistance which the muzzle must offer, and these cylinders or strips, are worried together by means of a steam hammer, and, to better resist the pressure which is felt inside the gun, at the time of the explosion of the powder, one reinforces the system by an interior cylinder of steel, on which are established and are rolled up the bandages (Coïls) which made give this manufacturing process found by Sir W. Armstrong, and soon imitated by other manufacturers, the name of Coil Principle.

Our drawing represents one of Sir W. Armstrong's marine guns, placed at the Exposition. Armstrong's naval guns, placed at the Champ de Mars Exhibition, on its side mount, in front of the ship's wall, as it would be in the battery of a battleship. The gun is of the calibre of nine English inches (0.228m) and weighs twelve and a half tons. Two organs, if one can use this expression to unbundle the various parts of this complicated machine, the whole of which must allow the use of the gun itself, are particularly remarkable: - The small stretcher which raises the heavy projectile, and, sliding on an iron rod, carries it to the mouth of the gun, where it is fixed by two holders while the servants make penetrate the projectile in the heart of the piece, - and the brake invented to decrease the recoil of the gun, a kind of comb multiplying the surface of friction in an enormous way. Finally, the perfection of the manufacture cannot be praised enough. The art of handling metals, of forging and softening iron, could not go further.

In the same room is a field gun of the Armstrong system, breech-loaded, with iron carriage and wheels, and the gun of another famous Manchester manufacturer, Mr. Whitworth, which is distinguished by a peculiar system which may be called "the hexagonal rifling system," the bore of the piece being in the form of a hexagon. The Whitworth gun is made of hardened steel, with the centre piece reinforced by steel hoops placed and adjusted cold with the hydraulic press. In addition to the large calibre guns and many projectiles, Mr Whitworth also sent a field piece. Sir W. Armstrong and Mr. Whitworth would undertake to supply the whole world with guns, and, of all the astonishments which the industry of England gives us, one of the most singular, to be sure, is to see those private arsenals, to which the English Government gives no subsidy, and which, even without the orders of the Royal Artillery, find in the purchases of foreign countries a sufficient supply to ensure their prosperity.

In spite of all the resources offered by private industry, the English government, after the experience of the Crimean War and the Indian War, wanted to have under its direct control a model establishment which would ensure all the needs of the service and constantly advance the manufacture.

To this end the Woolwich Dockyard, situated in the county of Kent, between London and the sea, on the banks of the Thames, has been completely transformed during the last few years, and has become the largest establishment in the world for the manufacture of war material. Woolwich, in fact, constantly employs, at any one time, from eight to ten thousand workmen, divided into three large divisions completely distinct from each other - the royal gun factories - the royal carriage department - the royal laboratory department. It is in the gun factory that the new guns adopted by the Artillery Committee, under the name of Woolwich guns, are now made, of which our drawing, representing the pavilion of the English exhibition specially assigned to the products of the State, which is tending more and more, by a modification of English habits worthy of note, to replace the system of contracts, gives several specimens. Here also are established the carriages and wagons of war, for it is not enough to have guns, they must be mounted, it is also necessary to establish that great quantity of carriages of various forms necessary to an army in the field, and the royal carriage department, with its twenty-five steam engines and its two thousand two hundred employees, is sufficient for all needs.

The Royal Laboratory Department of Woolwich Arsenal has brought together in a mahogany and glass case, so elegant as to seem designed to display the wonders of jewellery, the whole series of its destructive products, which astonish and surprise by the perfection and coquetry of their manufacture, if such an expression were permitted, and the good taste with which they are arranged. The women themselves find great pleasure in contemplating these machines of death at rest; They are there arranged in order, on one side, those intended for the army, on the other, the projectiles used by the navy, from the machine-made barrels, intended to contain gunpowder, to the cartridges of various models, to the ammunition of all kinds and forms, ammunition for rockets (Rokets), ball boxes, cylindrical shells, Schrapnel, which in bursting spread a shower of bullets, projectiles made of Palliser cast iron, a particular quality of cast iron, named after the inventor, to which the shape is given in cast iron moulds instead of sand moulds, by employing the process known to the trade as shell casting, which, by the more rapid cooling of the cast iron in contact with the walls of the mould, whitens it and gives it, when it solidifies, a hardness almost equal to that of steel, illuminating shell, which, by opening in the air, develops a parachute supporting the flaming materials and spreads a bright light over the works of the enemy Many other inventions still, segmented shells, rifled spheres, and a thousand new means of destroying each other for which the inventors all claim the first rank. It is certain that perfection has become great. We know how to calculate, with mathematical precision, the duration of the ignition of the fuse, and how to make the shell filled with bullets, perfected by Colonel Boxer, fall at will in front of the front of a troop which is decimated by the grapeshot escaping with the fragments. The projectiles are now equipped with a double fuse, percussion and time. If by some accident the time fuse has not burst at the right moment, the percussion fuse breaks on hitting the ground, and the effect is not lost. - Colonel Boxer, Superintendent of the Woolwich Arsenal Laboratory, Sir W. Armstrong, Messrs. Freeth, Mr. Petermann, have obtained very remarkable results, and special men will find valuable lessons in the careful examination of these products.

Nearby is a gabion with those barrels open at both ends, which are quickly filled with earth, in defence work, to take shelter from bullets. Instead of tree branches and wicker racks, it is made of zinc ribbons that are wound and braided around the sticks. A ship can thus carry in advance, and without losing space on board, the complete equipment of the siege. The weapons in use in the English army, made with machine tools, some of which are exhibited, the collection of uniforms which are no longer required from private industry, but are now made directly by the State, with great economy, the escutcheons containing the equipment of each corps, artillery, rifles, grenadiers, cipayes, higlanders, etc., and those great trophies of arms, which were made by the British army, and these great trophies of arms and flags, where the blades of sabres form the laurel leaves, and the hounds, the cipher of the queen, enliven the wooden walls of this pavilion, dedicated to the works destined to protect and defend the marvels of industry which surround it. Not far from the columns laden with the tools used by the workmen of the various professions attached to the service of the army, and near the ambulance cars and surgical appliances of Evans and Stevens, is also a large plate of armour for an earthen fortification, hammered by the balls of Armstrong's guns, from seven to ten inches in diameter, each shot of which was fired at a distance varying from three hundred and sixty-nine to four hundred and twenty-five yards. This plate, sent by Messrs. Brown and Co. of Sheffield, is one of the objects which most strikes visitors, strangers to the movement imparted to the material of war, and to the means of destruction by the progress of modern knowledge. To all these inventions science itself opposes new inventions. To resist the power of the projectiles of those Woolwich guns intended for land batteries, twelve English inches in diameter and twenty-three tons in weight, and those of the navy of twelve tons and nine inches, the sight of which alone inspires respectful apprehension, more resistant metals are found every day, and, when engineers believe themselves assured of the result, the artillerymen go back to work, and break their protective plates. Each one struggles in this way until the hour of combat, when success, which represents the peace, rest and well-being of a whole people, will belong to the one who, equipped with good material, will have the most composure and moral value. May God preserve us for a long time to come from these cruel trials; but if they should come, let us face them with confidence, they are less formidable than the sight of these engines of destruction would lead one to suppose. Many in the serious practice of warfare would give mediocre results, and would be quite as useless as those gigantic bombs, weighing 1150 kilograms, placed on each side of the entrance to the pavilion, which should be thrown by a mortar of fifty-two tons with a charge of three hundred and seventeen kilograms of powder. After all, it will always be men who will have to operate these Leviathans; iron can be made bigger, but the worker does not change, only his moral value changes, and he is destined to play a greater role every day in the new wars. This is the most curious of the lessons to be learned from these singular contests of the works of destruction. The first condition of success now consists in the intellectual and moral development of the people. The human body is powerless before the prodigious force obtained from matter; the soul alone can triumph over it.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition militaire anglaise

Exposition militaire anglaise à l'exposition de Paris 1867

L’exposition militaire anglaise, ou du moins la partie consacrée à l’artillerie de terre et de mer et au matériel proprement dit, est répartie entre deux pavillons séparés, dont l’un renferme les produits des arsenaux de l’industrie privée, qui contribue à un si haut degré à la puissance militaire de la Grande-Bretagne par l’importance des approvisionnements et du matériel qu’elle peut livrer dans un court espace de temps, si la gravité des circonstances l’exigeait, et dont le second est plus particulièrement consacré aux types nouveaux adoptés en dernier lieu par la comité d’artillerie, et à la production des arsenaux royaux.

Après avoir, en effet, dépensé des sommes énormes, que l’on n’évalue pas à moins de cent millions pour les expériences de divers systèmes d’artillerie et du chargement par la culasse, avoir cru un moment toucher au but avec les canons Armstrong et avoir commandé un matériel considérable, le gouvernement anglais, effrayé en voyant les éventualités politiques qui se présentaient, de n’avoir encore aucun système réellement pratique pour son armée et pour sa flotte, repoussa en 1863 les systèmes Armstrong, Whitworth, Scott et autres inventions qu’il trouvait trop compliquées, et écartant le chargement par la culasse pour les pièces de gros calibre, adopta un système de canons se chargeant par la bouche et se rapprochant beaucoup du système en usage dans la marine française jusqu’en 1865, — au moment même où notre artillerie de marine, après de minutieuses expériences, transformant avec une habileté merveilleuse notre vieux matériel, en entourant nos pièces de fonte de frettes d’acier qui leur donnaient une force nouvelle, trouvait un système de chargement par la culasse, dont la solidité et la sûreté réunissent tous les suffrages, et dotait relativement, presque sans dépense, nos navires d’une artillerie qui, pour la pénétration, la justesse et la portée, est des plus remarquables.
En adoptant, au reste, le nouveau système nommé canon de Woolwich, du nom de l’arsenal royal où il était fabriqué, le comité anglais n’avait pas la prétention de créer une pièce sans rivale et qui ne pût être surpassée, mais il voulait avant tout sortir des expériences et pourvoir sur-le-champ la flotte d’une artillerie réellement pratique. — Il lui fallait une arme immédiate, le canon de Woolwich la lui fournit.

L’engouement qui avait accueilli les premiers résultats de sir W. Armstrong, et ses divers systèmes de chargement par la culasse, n’avait point résisté à l’expérience. Grand fabricant de métaux, sir W. Armstrong avait été frappé de l’idée que, avec la perfection de l’outillage anglais et le point où la fabrication était arrivée, on pourrait forger un tube rayé de telle dimension qu’on obtiendrait un canon ; et dans l’enquête anglaise de 1863, où se trouve en quelque sorte écrite l’histoire des canons rayés chez nos voisins, lui même s’exprime ainsi: «Dans le mois de février 1854, mon ami M. Rendel, ingénieur bien connu, soumit à sir James Graham une communication de ma part, suggérant la possibilité d augmenter la carabine ordinaire jusqu’à la dimension d’un canon de campagne, et d’employer des projectiles allongés en plomb au lieu de boulets en fonte de fer. » — Ce fut là le point de départ. Il devait avoir d’abord, et il eut pour conséquence un canon se chargeant parla calasse, où le projectile remplirait le rôle de la balle forcée dans une carabine, ce qui ne pouvait s’obtenir pour des pièces de cette dimension qu’à l’aide de projectiles d’un diamètre plus grand que celui de l'âme. De là la nécessité de ce manchon de plomb qui enveloppait les projectiles, se déchirait dans les rayures et, parfois, devenait,, à la sortie de la bouche à feu, dangereuse pour les servants eux-mêmes, et, supprimant le vent, c’est à-dire l’espace entre le projectile et l’âme de pièce, augmentait la résistance et l’encrassement, et diminuait l’exactitude du tir; car, à la sortie, les gaz ayant une vitesse quatre ou cinq fois plus grande que celle du projectile, servent, pour ainsi dire, à préparer l’atmosphère pour le boulet et à le lancer sur la ligne droite de sa trajectoire.

Sir W. Armstrong ne devait pas tarder à reconnaître lui-même l’erreur dans laquelle il était tombé, au moins pour les calibres élevés, et adopter le Shunt Principle pour ses gros canons qui sont chargés par la bouche. — Le Shunt Principle, rapporte le capitaine Aloncle dans ses curieuses et intéressantes études sur l’artillerie de marine, consiste en ce que les rayures du canon sont un peu plus larges à la bouche du canon qu’elles ne le sont vers le fond de l’âme. Dans le corps du projectile sont encastrées des parties saillantes en métal doux, qui, dans le chargement du canon, se placent dans la partie évasée des rayures. Il en résulte un certain jeu qui facilite l’introduction du projectile. Celui-ci passe sur un des côtés de la rayure en entrant et sur l’autre côté en sortant. — Quant au procédé même de construction des canons, il n’a pas été modifié. Ce procédé consistait toujours à établir un canon, grâce à la perfection de la fabrication, comme l’on établissait les canons de fusils connus sous le nom de canons à rubans, et par conséquent à former le canon d’un tube intérieur sur lequel on roule en spirale deux ou plusieurs couches successives de bandes de métal chaud. Le nombre de ces couches est proportionné à la résistance que doit offrir la bouche à feu, et ces cylindres ou bandes, sont souciés ensemble au moyen d’un marteau a vapeur, et, pour mieux résistera la pression qui se fait sentir à l’intérieur du canon, au moment de l’explosion de la poudre, on renforce le système par un cylindre intérieur en acier, sur lequel s’établissent et s’enroulent les bandages (Coïls) qui ont fait donner à ce procédé de fabrication trouvé par sir W. Armstrong, et bientôt imité par d’autres constructeurs, le nom de Coïl Principle.

Notre dessin représente un des canons de marine de sir W. Armstrong, placé à l’Exposition du Champ de Mars, sur son affût de bord, devant la muraille du navire, tel enfin qu’il serait dans la batterie d’un bâtiment cuirassé. Le canon est du calibre de neuf pouces anglais (0,228m) et du poids de douze tonnes et demie. Deux organes, si l’on peut employer cette expression pour déligner les différentes parties de cette machine compliquée, dont l’ensemble doit permettre de se servir du canon lui-même, sont particulièrement remarquables : — La petite civière qui soulève le lourd projectile, et, glissant sur une tringle de fer, le porte jusqu’à la gueule du canon, où elle se fixe par deux tenants pendant que les servants font pénétrer le projectile dans l’âme de la pièce, — et le frein inventé pour diminuer le recul du canon, sorte de peigne multipliant d’une façon énorme la surface de frottement. L’on ne saurait enfin trop faire l’éloge de la perfection de la fabrication. L’art de manier les métaux, de forger et d’assouplir le fer, ne saurait aller plus loin.

Dans la même salle se trouvent un canon de campagne du système Armstrong, se chargeant par la culasse, avec un affût et des roues en fer, et le canon d’un autre fabricant célèbre de Manchester, M. Whitworth, qui se distingue par un système tout particulier que l’on pourrait appeler « le système hexagonal de rayure, » l’âme de la pièce ayant la forme d’un hexagone. Le canon Whitworth est composé d’acier trempé, la pièce centrale se trouvant renforcée par des frettes d’acier placées et ajustées à froid avec la presse hydraulique. Outre les canons de gros calibre et de nombreux projectiles, M. Whitworth a également envoyé une pièce de campagne. Sir W. Armstrong et M. Whitworth se chargeraient de fournir le monde entier de canons, et, parmi tous les étonnements que l’industrie de l’Angleterre nous donne, l’un des plus singuliers, à coup sûr, est de voir ces arsenaux privés, auxquels le gouvernement anglais n’accorde aucune subvention, et qui, même sans les commandes de l’artillerie royale, trouvent dans les achats des pays étrangers un aliment suffisant pour assurer leur prospérité.

Malgré toutes les ressources qu’offre l’industrie privée, le gouvernement anglais après l’expérience de la guerre de Crimée et de la guerre des Indes, voulut en effet avoir sous sa dépendance directe un établissement modèle qui assurât tous les besoins du service et fît constamment progresser la fabrication.

C’est dans ce but que l'arsenal de Woolwich, situé dans le comté de Kent, entre Londres et la mer, sur les bords de la Tamise, a été complètement transformé durant ces dernières années, et est devenu le plus grand établissement du monde pour la fabrication du matériel de guerre. Woolwich, en effet, occupe constamment, en temps ordinaire, de huit à dix mille ouvriers répartis en trois grandes divisions complètement distinctes l’une de l’autre — la manufacture de canons (royal Gun factories)— la division des voitures (royal carriage department) — le laboratoire pour la confection des projectiles (royal laboratory department). C’est dans la manufacture de canons que se fabriquent maintenant les canons nouveaux adoptés par le comité d’artillerie, sous le nom de canons de Woolwich, dont notre dessin, représentant te pavillon de l’exposition anglaise spécialement affectée aux produits de l’État, qui tend de plus en plus, par une modification des habitudes anglaises digne de remarque, à se substituer au système des contrats, donne plusieurs spécimens. Là aussi s’établissent les affûts et les chariots de guerre, car il ne suffit pas d’avoir des canons, il faut les monter, il faut aussi établir cette grande quantité de voitures de formes diverses nécessaires à une armée en campagne, et le royal carriage department, avec ses vingt-cinq machines à vapeur et ses deux mille deux cents employés, suffit à tous les besoins.

Le laboratoire des projectiles de l’arsenal de Woolwich (royal laboratory department) a réuni dans une vitrine en acajou et en glace, si élégante qu’on la dirait destinée à faire admirer les merveilles de la bijouterie, toute la série de ses produits destructeurs qui étonnent et surprennent par la perfection et la coquetterie de la fabrication, si une expression semblable était permise, et le bon goût avec lequel ils sont disposés. Les femmes elles-mêmes trouvent un grand plaisir à contempler ces engins de mort au repos ; ils sont là rangés avec ordre, d’un côté, ceux destinés à l’armée de terre, de l’autre, les projectiles employés par la marine, depuis les barils faits à la machine, destinés à contenir la poudre, jusqu’aux cartouches de diverses modèles, aux munitions de tous genres et de toutes formes, munitions pour les fusées (Rokets), boîtes à balles, obus cylindriques, Schrapnel, qui en éclatant répandent une pluie de balles, projectiles en fonte Palliser, qualité particulière de fonte, nommée ainsi du nom de l’inventeur, à laquelle on donne la forme dans des moules en fonte au lieu de moules en sable, en employant le procédé connu des gens du métier sous le nom de moulage en coquille, ce qui, par le refroidissement plus rapide de la fonte en contact avec les parois du moule, la blanchit et lui donne, lorsqu’elle se solidifie, une dureté presque égale à celle de l’acier, obus éclairant, qui, en s’entr’ouvrant dans les airs, développe un parachute soutenant les matières enflammées et répand une lumière éclatante sur les travaux de l’ennemi. Bien d’autres inventions encore, obus à segment, sphères rayées, et mille moyens nouveaux de se détruire mutuellement pour lesquels les inventeurs réclament tous le premier rang. Il est certain que la perfection est devenue grande. On sait calculer, avec une précision mathématique, la durée de l’inflammation de la fusée, et faire tomber à son gré l’obus rempli de balles perfectionné par le colonel Boxer, devant le front d’une troupe que décime la mitraille s’échappant avec les éclats. Les projectiles sont munis maintenant d’une double fusée, percutante et à temps. Si par un accident quelconque la fusée à temps n’a point éclaté au moment voulu, la fusée percutante se brise en touchant terre, et l’effet n’est pas perdu. — Le colonel Boxer, surintendant du laboratoire de l’arsenal de Woolwich, sir W. Armstrong, MM. Freeth, M. Petermann, ont obtenu des résultats très-remarquables, et les hommes spéciaux trouveront dans l’examen attentif de ces produits des enseignements précieux.

Tout auprès est exposé un gabion avec ces tonneaux ouverts aux deux extrémités, que l’on remplit rapidement de terre, dans les travaux de défense, pour s’abriter des balles. Au lieu de branches d’arbres et de claies d’osier, il est établi avec des rubans de zinc qui s’enroulent et se tressent autour des bâtons. Un navire peut ainsi emporter d’avance, et sans perdre de place à bord, le matériel complet du siège. Les armes en usage dans l’armée anglaise, fabriquées avec des machines-outils dont quelques-unes sont exposées, la collection des uniformes qui ne sont plus demandés à l’industrie privée, mais établis maintenant directement par l’État, avec une grande économie, les écussons renfermant l'équipement de chaque corps, artillerie, rifles, grenadiers, cipayes, higlanders, etc., et ces grands trophées d’armes et de drapeaux, où les lames de sabres forment les feuilles de laurier, et les chiens de fusil, le chiffre de la reine, animent les murailles de bois de ce pavillon , voué aux œuvres destinées à protéger et à défendre les merveilles de l’industrie qui l’entourent. Non loin des colonnes chargées des outils employés par les ouvriers des diverses professions attachées au service de l’armée, près des voitures d’ambulance et des appareils de chirurgie d’Évans et Stevens, se trouve aussi une grande plaque de blindage pour une fortification de terre, martelée par des boulets de canons Armstrong de sept à dix pouces anglais, dont chaque coup a été tiré à une distance variant de trois cent soixante neuf à quatre cent vingt-cinq mètres. Cette plaque envoyée par MM. Brown et Cie de Sheffield, est un des objets qui frappent le plus les visiteurs, étrangers au mouvement imprimé au matériel de la guerre, et aux moyens de destruction par les progrès des connaissances modernes. A toutes ces inventions la science elle-même oppose des inventions nouvelles. Pour résister à la puissance des projectiles de ces canons Woolwich destinés aux batteries de terre, d’un diamètre de douze pouces anglais et du poids de vingt-trois tonnes, et à ceux de marine de douze tonnes et de neuf pouces, dont la vue seule inspire une appréhension respectueuse, on trouve chaque jour des métaux plus résistants, et, quand des ingénieurs se croient assurés du résultat, les artilleurs se remettent à l'œuvre, et brisent leurs plaques protectrices. Chacun lutte ainsi jusqu’à l’heure du combat, où le succès, qui représente la paix, le repos et le bien-être d'un peuple entier, appartiendra à celui qui, muni d’un bon matériel, aura le plus de sang-froid et de valeur morale. Que Dieu nous préserve longtemps encore de ces cruelles épreuves ; mais si elles devaient venir, abordons-les avec confiance, elles sont moins redoutables que la vue de ces engins de destruction ne le fait supposer. Beaucoup dans la pratique sérieuse de la guerre donneraient de médiocres résultats, et seraient tout aussi inutiles que ces bombes gigantesques, pesant 1150 kilogrammes, placées de chaque côté de l’entrée du pavillon, qui devraient être lancées par un mortier de cinquante deux tonnes avec une charge de trois cent dix-sept kilogrammes de poudre. Après tout, ce seront toujours des hommes qui devront mettre en œuvre ces Léviathans ; l’on peut grandir le fer, mais l’ouvrier ne change pas, sa valeur morale seule se modifie, et elle est destinée à jouer un rôle chaque jour plus grand dans les guerres nouvelles. C’est là le plus curieux des enseignements que donnent ces concours singuliers des œuvres de destruction. La condition première du succès consiste maintenant dans le développement intellectuel et moral du peuple. Le corps humain est impuissant devant la force prodigieuse obtenue de la matière; l’âme seule peut en triompher.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée