International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Brazil

Brazil at the Exhibition Paris 1867

When, after having studied the Brazilian exhibition, one looks back at the unfavourable conditions in the midst of which it was organised, and considers that for three years the country, absorbed by the need to avenge the insults done to its national self-love, has been waging a difficult war against enemies protected both by the ramparts provided by nature and by the difficulty of military operations in an almost inaccessible region, one conviction is formed: It is that Brazil is called to a magnificent future and that the day will come, less distant than one might think, when this empire will count among the first nations of the world.

In sector XIV, which is entirely devoted to America, the richest exhibition is that of Brazil. There is little room for industry, not that some of the products made in Rio, Bahia and Pernambuco are inferior to their European counterparts; we noticed felt and silk hats and women's shoes that one would readily believe were purchased from the best Parisian suppliers; in the machinery gallery there is a collection of leather goods that is perhaps the most beautiful of all those on display at the Champ de Mars. But for several years to come, the Brazilian industry will only supply a part of the local consumption; we would even say more: it is difficult for its prepared leathers, hats, candles and fabrics to find outlets on foreign markets. The cost price is against it; and, however interesting it may be to note the results already obtained, it cannot be denied that the true, useful, practical side of the Brazilian exhibition is not there, but in the products so rich and so varied from the soil.

At the top of the list is coffee. Brazil supplies almost half of the world's annual coffee consumption. Such a result is understandable if one considers that the coffee tree can grow in almost all parts of Brazil, as the average temperature of 20 to 25 degrees centigrade which it requires is found in most of this empire, which alone occupies one-fifteenth of the earth's surface. Brazilian coffee is not inferior in quality to that produced in Africa; and I shall surprise many a connoisseur by telling them that, most of the time, the mocha which they savour with such delight has been harvested a few thousand leagues from Arabia, in the provinces of Minas-Geraes or Saint-Paul. Moreover, experience has shown that the varieties known as Moka, Bourbon, Java, etc., tend to merge with the one usually cultivated in Brazil; and that after a short time there is no difference between the fruits of the one and the other origin. This was the case with the plants that the government brought from Reunion Island in 1857, as all the owners who cultivated them attest. The same phenomenon was observed, moreover, in Martinique in 1818; the coffee from Moka, introduced by Admiral de Mackau after a few years, no longer differed in any way from that previously cultivated on the island.

Everyone knows that the preparation process has a great influence on the quality of the product; the most common drying process, which gives the best results, consists of the use of terraces (terreiros) made of stone or any other similar material; because it is absolutely necessary that during the drying process the fruit does not come into contact with the earth, which would be very detrimental to its good quality. Once the coffee is dry, all that remains to be done is to strip it of its rind, clean it by means of ventilation and smooth it. These various tasks are carried out with the help of equipment whose primitive simplicity would be a great source of amazement to most of our European manufacturers.

To give an idea of the importance of this crop in Brazil, it is sufficient to say that the export figure in 1866 amounted to a value of more than 300 million francs; consumption in the country constitutes about one-fifth of the total production.

By giving a great prize outside the line to Brazil, together with Algeria, India, Italy and Egypt, the Superior Council of the Jury wished to reward the development given in these countries to the cultivation of cotton, and to recognise the efforts which have contributed powerfully to saving the industry from the disastrous crisis with which it was threatened in recent years. It is well known that cotton is readily available throughout Brazil; and yet it was cultivated on a large scale only in the northern provinces of Maragnon, Pernambuco, Alagoas and Minas-Geraes. But the disastrous war which ravaged the United States, and the consequent suppression of cotton supplies, having produced great demands for this article on the consumer markets, prices suddenly rose, and the crop, finding remunerative conditions, took a considerable extension. Not only was it maintained in the northern provinces, but it multiplied in those of Rio Grande in the south, St Catherine, Parana and St Paul. Here we must pay tribute to the government and to the society for the encouragement of national industry, which have contributed to this development by distributing seeds in profusion.

Brazil produces several varieties of cotton; most of them are long silk; the most renowned are those of Pernambuco, whose regular, thick, hard and strong threads have a beautiful brown colour, and those of Minas, which contain yellowish, long, regular, fine and shiny threads.

The cotton plant produces in all types of soil; however, those that are unsuitable for other crops and those that are close to the sea are preferable. The white, black, grey, green and yellow seeds, depending on the species, are planted in January, at the beginning of the rainy season. Maize is usually sown between the cotton plants. Harvests are usually made from August to December; but when the seasons are warm, it is not uncommon to have two or three harvests a year at different times.

The product of sugar cane, one of the main sources of Brazil's wealth, could have been better represented at the exhibition. Sugar cane, which grows naturally in the northern provinces of the empire, is also cultivated with advantage in the southern provinces. The best sugar comes from the provinces of Pernambuco and Bahia. The improvements introduced in recent years in the manufacture of raw sugar and in refining have greatly increased the quality of the products. In the sugar factories, the cooking process is nowadays carried out with the help of steam machines. As for the primitive almanjarras, pulled by horses or oxen, they are also beginning to be abandoned and replaced by beautiful mills driven by water and steam.

The exhibition shows us some very fine samples of Brazilian tobacco; that of the province of Bahia, in particular, is excellent and would rival Havana tobacco, if the planters took a little more care in preparing the leaves. The manufacture of cigars and cigarettes, as well as snuff, now forms an important industry in Rio de Janeiro. The number of factories is increasing every day thanks to the development of consumption both at home and abroad. The French administration buys considerable quantities of Brazilian tobacco.

Here are the diamonds, a small collection for the country which gave the Star of the South and which supplies the trade with the greater part of its precious stones. It is true that the wealth of Brazil is not there. See these samples of coal; they were extracted from deposits discovered in the provinces of St. Catherine and Rio Grande in the south. What are the exact situation, the richness of the layers? We still have only incomplete information on this subject. But the soundings already made, the gentle slope of the stratification and the similarity of the terrain, lead to the assumption that on the right bank of the Jacuhy River, there are seven million tons of coal at a depth that is insignificant in comparison with the coal deposits of Europe; it must be added that repeated soundings on the left bank of the river indicate that the depth at which the deposits are found continues to be 56 metres, beyond the bank.

Alongside palm and coconut oils, essential oils of various plants, and resins of more than twenty species, are the rubbers whose export, both in the raw and processed state, through the port of Para, amounted to 3,312,926 kilogr. in the fiscal year 1864-1865. The rubber tree grows abundantly in the provinces of the Amazon and Para, and preferably in swampy places. The rubber is extracted by means of incisions made in the trunk of the tree. First, a transverse cut is made a few feet above the root, deep enough to touch the woody part; then, perpendicular to it, a second incision is made in the entire height of the trunk. In order to make the liquid flow more rapidly, the tree is surrounded with ropes or lianas, which frequently causes it to die. The juice, which gushes out abundantly, fills the plastic clay containers adapted to the lower part of the tree within a few hours. It is then poured into other vessels of a different shape; after a short time it thickens and solidifies as the liquid part evaporates. In order to dry it completely, it is customary to expose it to a brazier, which, when kept alive with stems and plant seeds, gives off a thick smoke; hence the blackish colour that commercial rubber generally has. While it is liquid, it is shaped, by means of moulds, according to the uses for which it is intended.

For a long time the rubber was exported in a solid state, slightly hardened, and retaining its elasticity, until Mr. Henrique Antonio Strauss succeeded in preserving it in a liquid state without alteration, and without the necessity of preserving it entirely from contact with the air. Ammonia is now generally used in the Amazon province to preserve rubber in a liquid state. Strauss' process for solidifying rubber without subjecting it to smoking is also in the public domain: it consists in the use of alum.

The engraving in front of the reader will show that Brazil wanted to make a striking appearance at the Exhibition. The decoration of the façade is in excellent taste and is a credit to the architect, Mr. Chapon. The national colours of Brazil, green and gold, are found in all the rooms, and along the walls runs a border of tobacco and coffee leaves, for Brazil has telling weapons. From the very first days of its independence, the country understood that it was to agricultural work that it had to ask for its main wealth, to agricultural work that the citizens had to dedicate themselves entirely. The present exhibition proves that we were not mistaken; it is to agriculture that the young empire owes its present prosperity; it is to agriculture that it owes its future prosperity.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Brésil

Brésil à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Quand, après avoir étudié l’exposition brésilienne, on se reporte aux conditions défavorables au milieu desquelles elle a été organisée et qu’on songe que depuis trois ans le pays, absorbé par la nécessité de venger les injures faites à l’amour - propre national, soutient une guerre difficile contre des ennemis que protègent et les remparts donnés par la nature et la difficulté des opérations militaires dans une contrée presque inaccessible, une conviction se fait : c’est que le Brésil est appelé à un magnifique avenir et qu’un jour viendra, moins éloigné qu’on ne le croit, peut-être, où cet empire comptera parmi les premières nations du monde.

Dans le secteur XIV, en effet, tout entier attribué à l’Amérique, la plus riche exposition qu’on rencontre est celle du Brésil. Peu de place pour l’industrie, non que certains produits fabriqués à Rio, à Bahia, à Pernambouc, soient inférieurs à leurs similaires sortis des ateliers d’Europe; nous avons remarqué des chapeaux de feutre et de soie et des chaussures de femmes qu’on croirait volontiers achetés chez les meilleurs fournisseurs parisiens; il y a surtout dans la galerie des machines une collection de maroquins qui est peut-être la plus belle de toutes celles qu’on voit exposées au Champ de Mars. Mais pour plusieurs années encore, l’industrie du Brésil n’alimentera qu’une partie de la consommation locale ; nous dirons même plus : il est difficile que pour ses cuirs préparés, ses chapeaux, ses bougies, ses tissus, elle trouve des débouchés sur les marchés étrangers. Le prix de revient s’y oppose ; et, si intéressant qu’il soit de constater les résultats déjà obtenus, on ne peut méconnaître que le côté vrai, utile, pratique de l’exposition brésilienne n’est pas là, mais dans les produits si riches et si variés du sol.

Au premier rang, il faut placer le café. Le Brésil fournit près de la moitié du café que consomme annuellement le monde. Un pareil résultat se comprendra si l’on songe que le caféier peut croître dans presque toutes les parties du Brésil, la température moyenne de 20 à 25 degrés centigrades qui lui est nécessaire se rencontrant dans la plus grande partie de cet empire, qui occupe à lui seul le quinzième de la surface terrestre du globe. Le café brésilien ne le cède en rien sous le rapport de la qualité à celui que produit l’Afrique ; et j’étonnerai bien des connaisseurs en leur apprenant que, la plupart du temps, le moka qu’ils savourent avec tant de délices a été récolté à quelques milliers de lieues de l’Arabie, dans les provinces de Minas-Geraes ou de Saint-Paul. D’ailleurs, l’expérience a démontré que les variétés dites de Moka, de Bourbon, de Java, etc., tendent à se confondre avec celle ordinairement cultivée au Brésil ; et qu’au bout de peu de temps il ne subsiste aucune différence entre les fruits de l’une et de l’autre origine. Il en arriva ainsi pour les plantes qu'en 1857 le gouvernement fit venir de l'île de la Réunion, comme l’attestent tous les propriétaires qui les cultivèrent. Le même phénomène a été observé, du reste, à la Martinique, en 1818; le café de Moka, introduit par l’amiral de Mackau, après quelques années, ne différait plus en rien de celui cultivé antérieurement dans l’île.

Chacun sait que les procédés de préparation ont une grande influence sur la qualité du produit; le procédé de dessiccation le plus en usage et qui donne les meilleurs résultats, consiste dans l’emploi de terrasses (terreiros) en pierre ou en toute autre matière analogue ; car il est absolument nécessaire que durant la dessiccation le fruit n’entre pas en contact avec la terre, ce qui nuirait beaucoup à sa bonne qualité. Le café étant sec, il reste à le dépouiller de son écorce, à le nettoyer au moyen de la ventilation et à le lisser. Ces différents travaux se font à l'aide d’appareils dont la simplicité primitive serait un bien grand sujet d’étonnement pour la plupart de nos industriels européens.

Pour donner une idée de l’importance de cette culture au Brésil, il suffit de dire que le chiffre des exportations s’est élevé en 1866 à une valeur de plus de 300 millions de francs ; la consommation dans le pays constitue environ le cinquième de la production totale.

En donnant un grand prix hors ligne au Brésil, concurremment avec l’Algérie, l’Inde, l’Italie et l’Égypte, le Conseil supérieur du jury a voulu récompenser le développement donné dans ces pays à la culture du coton, et reconnaître les efforts qui ont puissamment contribué à sauver l’industrie de la crise désastreuse dont elle était menacée dans ces dernières années. Personne n’ignore que le coton vient facilement dans tout le Brésil; et cependant il n’était cultivé sur une grande échelle que dans les provinces septentrionales de Maragnon, de Pernambouc, d’Alagoas et de Minas-Geraes. Mais la guerre désastreuse qui a ravagé les États-Unis et la suppression des arrivages de coton qui en fut la conséquence, ayant produit de grandes demandes de cet article sur les marchés consommateurs, les prix se sont élevés subitement, et la culture, trouvant des conditions rémunératrices, prit une extension considérable. Non-seulement elle s’est maintenue dans les provinces du nord, mais elle s’est multipliée dans celles de Rio Grande du sud, de Sainte Catherine, de Parana et de Saint-Paul. Ici il faut rendre hommage au gouvernement et à la société d’encouragement de l’industrie nationale qui ont concouru à ce développement en distribuant des graines en profusion.

Le Brésil produit plusieurs variétés de cotons ; la plupart sont à longue soie; les plus renommés sont ceux de Pernambouc, dont les fils réguliers, gros, durs et forts, possèdent une belle couleur tirant sur le brun, et ceux de Minas qui contiennent des fils jaunâtres, longs, réguliers, fins et brillants.

Le cotonnier produit dans tous les terrains; cependant ceux qui sont impropres aux autres cultures et ceux qui avoisinent la mer sont préférables. Les graines blanches, noires, grises, vertes et jaunes, selon les espèces, se plantent en janvier, au commencement de la saison des pluies. On sème ordinairement du maïs entre les cotonniers. Les récoltes se font d habitude du mois d’août au mois de décembre; mais lorsque les saisons sont chaudes, il arrive souvient que le cotonnier est en même temps en fleurs, en capsules vertes, et parvenu à maturité; de cette manière il n’est pas rare de faire à différentes époques jusqu’à deux et trois récoltes annuelles.

Le produit de la canne à sucre, une des principales sources de la richesse du Brésil, aurait pu être mieux représenté à l’exposition. La canne, qui croît naturellement dans les provinces septentrionales de l’empire, est cultivée aussi avec avantage dans les provinces du sud. Le meilleur sucre provient des provinces de Pernambouc et de Bahia. Les améliorations introduites depuis quelques années soit dans la fabrication du sucre brut, soit dans la raffination, ont beaucoup élevé la qualité des produits. Dans les sucreries, le travail de la cuisson s’effectue aujourd’hui à l’aide de machines à vapeur. Quant aux almanjarras primitives, tirées par des chevaux ou par des bœufs, elles commencent aussi à être abandonnées et changées contre de beaux moulins mus par l’eau et par la vapeur.

L’exposition nous montre de très-beaux échantillons de tabac brésilien; celui de la province de Bahia, notamment, est excellent et rivaliserait avec le tabac de la Havane, si les planteurs apportaient un peu plus de soin dans la préparation des feuilles. La fabrication des cigares et des cigarettes, comme du tabac à priser, forme aujourd’hui une industrie importante à Rio-de-Janeiro. Le nombre des fabriques augmente chaque jour grâce au développement que prend la consommation tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’étranger. L’administration de France achète des quantités considérables de tabac brésilien.

Voici les diamants, mince collection pour le pays qui a donné l’Étoile du sud et qui fournit au commerce la plus grande partie de ses pierres précieuses. Il est vrai que la richesse du Brésil n’est pas là. Voyez ces échantillons de houille ; ils ont été extraits des gisements découverts dans les provinces de Sainte-Catherine et de Rio-Grande du sud. Quelles sont au juste la situation, la richesse des couches? On ne possède encore à ce sujet que des notions incomplètes. Mais les sondages déjà faits, la pente douce de la stratification et la similitude des terrains, font présumer que sur la rive droite du fleuve Jacuhy, il existe sept millions de tonnes de charbon de terre, à une profondeur insignifiante relativement aux dépôts houillers de l’Europe; il faut ajouter que les sondages répétés sur la rive gauche du fleuve, indiquent que la profondeur à laquelle se trouvent les dépôts continue à être de 56 mètres, au delà de la rive.

A côté des huiles de palme, de coco, des huiles essentielles des différents végétaux, à côté des résines de plus de vingt espèces, sont les caoutchoucs dont l’exportation, tant à l’état brut qu’ouvré, par le port de Para, s’est élevée dans l’exercice 1864-1865, à 3 312 926 kilogr. L’arbre à caoutchouc croît abondamment dans les provinces de l’Amazone et de Para, et, de préférence, dans les lieux marécageux. Le caoutchouc s’extrait au moyen d’incisions pratiquées dans le tronc de l’arbre. On fait d’abord, à quelques pieds au-dessus de la racine, une entaille transversale assez profonde pour toucher à la partie ligneuse; puis, perpendiculairement à celle-ci, une seconde incision dans toute la hauteur du tronc. Afin que le liquide coule plus rapidement, l’arbre est entouré avec des cordes ou des lianes, ce qui, fréquemment, le fait mourir. Le suc, qui jaillit abondamment, remplit en quelques heures les récipients d’argile plastique adaptés à la partie inférieure de l’arbre. On le verse alors dans d autres vases de forme différente; peu de temps après il s’épaissit et se solidifie par l’évaporation de la partie liquide. Pour le dessécher complètement, on a l’habitude de l’exposer au-des-us d’un brasier qui, entretenu avec des tiges et des graines végétales, répand une épaisse fumée; de là cette couleur noirâtre que présente généralement le caoutchouc du commerce. Pendant qu’il est liquide, on le façonne, au moyen de moules, selon les usages auquel il est destiné.

Longtemps la gomme élastique fut exportée à l’état solide, légèrement durcie, et gardant son élasticité, jusqu’à ce que M. Henrique Antonio Strauss parvint à la conserver à l’état liquide sans altération, et sans qu’il fût nécessaire de la préserver entièrement du contact de l’air. L’ammoniaque est aujourd’hui généralement employée dans la province de l’Amazone pour conserver le caoutchouc à l’état liquide. Le procédé de Strauss pour solidifier le caoutchouc sans le soumettre au fumage, est également du domaine public : il consiste dans l’emploi de l’alun.

On pourra se convaincre, d’après la gravure mise sous les yeux du lecteur, que le Brésil a voulu figurer avec éclat a l'Exposition. La décoration de la façade est d’un excellent goût et fait honneur à l’architecte, M Chapon. Les couleurs nationales du Brésil, le vert et l’or se retrouvent dans toutes les salles, et le long des parois court une bordure de feuilles de tabac et de caféier, car le Brésil a des armes parlantes. Dès les premiers jours de son indépendance, le pays a compris que c’était au travail agricole qu’il devait demander sa principale richesse, au travail agricole que les citoyens devaient par conséquent se consacrer tout entiers. L’exposition actuelle prouve qu’on ne s’était point trompé; c’est à l’agriculture que le jeune empire doit sa prospérité présente; c’est à l’agriculture qu’il devra sa prospérité future.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée