International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Central garden

manque image

The heart of the Universal Exhibition is the Central Garden; from this point, which is no more than half the size of the Palais-Royal garden, radiate the great arteries which, under the name of streets, divide and cross the whole Palace, ending up at the outer marquee under the great entrance doors.

It is here that visitors, whether they have come from England or France, China or Japan, Italy or Spain, Switzerland or the United States, find themselves gathered as if in a meeting place. This garden is a kind of common ground, an international caravanserai where everyone comes to rest after a more or less capricious journey through the exhibiting regions.

The most diverse groups, the most varied types, are crowded in. The foreigners, after having gone through the galleries where the products of their respective nations are displayed, seeing themselves at the end of their journey and in a place which seems to invite them to rest, go and sit on the first seats they meet at the end of the galleries they have just left, and thus form, without knowing it, a new, attractive, unexpected exhibition.

Walk through the central Garden at about four or five o'clock, when the young visitors are beginning to feel tired; walk through the promenoir which surrounds the Garden, and you will see under the very signs which the Imperial Commission has had placed at the centre of each Gallery, you will see an exhibition, I repeat, which is unforeseen but extremely pleasant.

Italy indicates the sign under which you see this group of young women with abundant hair as black as ebony, which brings out the matt whiteness of a face with a graceful oval. They sit there nonchalantly, half-silent, exchanging only a few slow, soft words and a few quick, sharp glances between them. - England!" says a sign that is not contradicted by the young men and women seated below, those adorned with large blond sideburns, armed with a spyglass in a saltire, a formidable guide and the inevitable umbrella; those who are white, rosy, slim with a gentle, serious air. Further on you recognize, without reading the sign, the brunettes senoras whose inexhaustible chatter strikes your attention, they attract your gaze only by their brown complexion, their white teeth, and their large lively eyes; besides, neither short skirt, nor mantilla, not even a fan, the Spanish women care little for the local colour and follow the fashions of Paris, just like our ladies of the Chaussée-d'Antin They are tall, slender, their complexion has the brilliance of that of Italian women, their black eyes possess as much vivacity, as much passion, and their beautiful hair is as blond as gold, and not dull like that of sentimental German women.

This is the exhibition which we are given to see under the promenorium of the Central Garden, an exhibition which is attractive as much as it is instructive; for as well as giving a very pleasant pleasure to the eyes, it makes it possible to make a study there of the comparative human races.

When the various groups who have come under the peristyle to sit down and take a few moments' rest leave their seats, they give a more or less attentive glance at the various works exhibited under the marquee.

Some of these works seemed worthy of attention, so readers of the Universal Exhibition will allow me to hold them back for a few moments and to point out to them what this part of the Palace contains that is most remarkable.
Let us take the peristyle in front of the great entrance, in the axis of the Pont d'Iéna, and go through it from right to left.

The white marble statue that stands precisely opposite the main entrance is that of the Empress Josephine, by M. Vidal-Dubray. It is a reproduction of the statue recently erected on one of the boulevards that radiate around the Place de l'Étoile. The attitude, both noble and graceful, of the popular empress is remarkable.

A few steps from this statue, on the walls of the peristyle, here is a curious singularity; it is a painting one metre wide and nearly two metres high, which at first sight has all the appearances of a beautiful engraving, it has the velvety quality, the fade, the finish, all the delicacies of the pencil appear to be reproduced by a skilful burin. It represents a woman with her hand resting on a book, and next to her are the various attributes of justice, commerce, law, and peace; it is an allegory relating to the installation of the government of Uruguay, for this painting comes from Uruguay, and is the work of Mr. Pedro Nin y Gonzalès, a citizen of that distant republic. Now, what is Mr. Pedro Nin y Gonzalès? No doubt a teacher of writing, and his painting is nothing but a pen-and-ink drawing, the dress of the allegorical figure being entirely made up of wonderful freehand paraphrases. This work, it can be said without flattery, is perfectly painted; it cost, moreover, two years of work to its author?

Further on we find various marbles from Italy, some ceramic busts from the same country, among which we will mention that of King Victor-Emmanuel. Various Italian photographs are attached to the walls.

Continuing our walk under the peristyle, we come across various reproductions of ornaments taken from Greek manuscripts from the tenth to the fifteenth century. They form part of the History of Work gallery, which the learned M. du Sommerard is to report on at the Universal Exhibition of 1807.

We then notice, not far from there, in the Danish section, a marble group offered by the great Danish owners to Her Highness the Princess of Wales, on the occasion of her marriage and as a wedding present. This group represents the formation of Eve. The piece is not without its attractions, although it is very simple.

Adam is awakening from sleep, and his eyes are charmed by the sight of the companion God has just given him. Eve, graceful and naive, smiles at her husband.

Here again, in the same section, is an Adam and Eve, but after their fault. The sculptor has succeeded in rendering the confusion with which the two sinners are covered after having transgressed the orders of the Creator. Their looks, their attitude, their bowed heads, the fear in Eve's face, render the situation admirably. It seems that people less advanced than we are in civilisation are better able to reproduce these simple and primitive scenes than our sculptors, who easily fall into theatrical emphasis and exaggeration. Only the simple feel the simplicity.

From Denmark we pass immediately to Greece, from the North to the South, a thousand leagues without transition! Eve is next to Achilles.
Achilles' anger is the subject of this block of Paros marble. Achilles' anger is well rendered. He is seated on a rock, his weapons are unfortunately laid down beside him with too much order and care. It seems to me that Achilles should have thrown his weapons to the ground instead of arranging them symmetrically; but this criticism of detail does not prevent me from praising the whole piece. Achilles is clutching one of his knees with one hand and striking it angrily with the other. His beautiful face is darkened by fury. We see that ancient Greece, which is no longer used in France to enliven the public of the Variétés, still serves as a model and subject of study for the artists of modern Greece.

After having cast our eyes on various projects of Spanish architects and on a large and beautiful Christ of the artistic institute of M. Joseph Mayer in Munich, we arrive at last at the most interesting part of our walk, at this vast archaeological exhibition made by the Ministry of State, at this exhibition of plans, drawings, views, sections, etc.... of a great number of historical monuments of France.

This exhibition occupies the entire eastern wall of the peristyle, but it is far from complete.

It is well known that archaeological science, this eminently interesting science, is, so to speak, a completely new creation.

Before the revolution of 1789, one could even go further back and say that before the Romantic School and Victor Hugo's beautiful novel, Notre-Dame de Paris, there was little concern for French historical monuments.
Apart from a few palaces, a few castles and certain churches, which imposed themselves on the care of the State by their importance or their destination, the specimens of our national architecture were neglected, abandoned and everywhere falling into ruin, when they were not the object of deplorable mutilations, under the pretext of restoration.

Each century treated the monuments of past centuries with profound contempt and as ridiculous remnants of outdated fashions or customs. In most cases, the pickaxe did justice to the debris that time had spared; in other cases, the architect, without taking into account the work of his predecessors, or even to appear more skilful than they were, added a new style on top of theirs, without harmony with the previous one. The result was bizarre inconsistencies, dreadful contrasts from the artistic point of view, and very regrettable mutilations from the historical point of view.

Through these mutilations we have, in many provinces, lost the trace of French customs. In the Middle Ages, through restorations and additions out of style, we inherited monuments, bastards in many parts, dreadful on the whole. This is how our cathedrals, particularly as they passed through the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, underwent considerable changes. In those two great centuries, when Fénelon thought our Gothic architecture barbaric, when Voltaire smiled with contempt at Notre-Dame and raved about the portal of Saint-Gervais, our architects treated our churches and castles with the same disdain; they placed their heavy Greek colonnades over the light flourishes and slender columns of the thirteenth century. The Pompadour style reigned under the ogival vaults and impudently flaunted itself in front of the Gothic wonders.

This is how our national monuments were treated, until the day Victor Hugo awakened in our minds a taste for the Middle Ages and their marvellous splendours.

But what he could only say, another could do. Victor Hugo brought the Middle Ages back to life before our imaginations, another great spirit brought it back to life before our eyes, and that great spirit was the scholar M. Viollet-le-Duc. Mr. Viollet-le-Duc, who was also to inscribe his name on the Notre-Dame sung by the poet and restore it to its original glory.

To M. Viollet-le-Duc belongs the honour of having brought our monuments out of their ruins, there is no province in France that this ingenious scholar has not travelled through and of which he has not reproduced the main buildings.

Those which lay in ruins, he has rehabilitated, reconstructed; one day or other, they will rise from the rubble and will be raised as our forefathers saw them, like the ancient manor of Pieriefonds which is reborn from its debris; those: Those which had been degraded by ineptitude and ignorance are freed from the ornaments which disfigured them and restored to their original appearance; thus the Sainte-Chapelle, Notre-Dame de Paris; those which remained unfinished are completed with care and in the same style in which the architect conceived them.

The State has taken under its direct protection all the monuments in our provinces, and from now on they will live surrounded by care, religiously maintained and intelligently restored.

The drawings and plans exhibited on the eastern wall of the Central Garden are therefore related to historical monuments, that is to say to the most precious specimens of our national architecture. One can, by going through this series of works, make an interesting study of the useful art par excellence and which comprises, I believe, the most variety.

Among the drawings and plans exhibited, one will notice especially the City of Carcassonne, which is currently being restored by M. Viollet-le-Duc, and which has been the subject of a number of exhibitions. Viollet-le-Duc, and which should provide us with a complete picture of military architecture during the Middle Ages; Pierre l'on ris, which is nearing completion and which will give the best idea of what the military manors of the great vassals of the crown were like; the town hall of Orléans, a graceful type of civil architecture under Louis XIII; the Palace of the Popes in the city of Avignon, a majestic edifice and an imposing fortress; Mont-Saint-Michel, with its curious houses and its remarkable church; and, of course, the town hall in the city of Paris. the Sainte-Chapelle, Notre-Dame d'Etampes, one of our oldest churches; Saint-Denis, the ancient church of the abbey of that name, with its imposing ne's; Notre-Dame de Laon, one of our most beautiful cathedrals; the church of Beaune, Saint-Sernin de Toulouse, restored by M. Viollet-le-Duc, the most important church in France, and the most important one in the world. Viollet-le-Duc, the most beautiful specimen of our Romanesque architecture; the beautiful cloister of Fontenay (Cote-d'Or), the Pont du Gard, the château of Blois, the church of Vézelay, the Museum of Cluny, in which M. du Sommerard has brought together so many precious objects, so many relics of the Middle Ages; finally, a very large number of private dwellings whose artistic value has led to their being classified among the monuments of the State.

We would have liked to place before the eyes of our readers a large number of these specimens; but we have had to limit ourselves to reproducing here the Palais des Papes, the restoration of which has already begun; the Hôtel de Cluny, the importance of which is well known and which gives a perfect idea of a fifteenth-century hotel; we also give two gables of the church of Vézelay, gables of remarkable delicacy and taste; finally, two houses of a very different character. One belongs to the North, to this city of Rouen which preserves such graceful remains of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries; the other to the South, which kept for so long in its customs and in its architecture traces of Roman civilisation: it is a house of the thirteenth century preserved in Saint-Antonin and classified among the historic monuments. For the other monuments, we can only refer our readers to the magnificent works published by Mr. A. Morel's architectural bookshop, works to which the international jury has just awarded a gold medal.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Jardin central

manque image

Le cœur de l’Exposition universelle c’est le Jardin central ; de ce point, grand tout au plus comme la moitié du jardin du Palais-Royal, rayonnent les grandes artères qui, sous le nom de rues, divisent et traversent tout le Palais pour aboutir à la marquise extérieure sous les grandes portes d’entrée.

C’est donc là que les visiteurs, qu’ils viennent de parcourir l’Angleterre ou la France, la Chine ou le Japon, l’Italie ou l’Espagne, la Suisse ou les États-Unis, se trouvent réunis comme dans un rendez-vous. Aussi ce jardin est-il une sorte de terrain commun, de caravansérail international où chacun vient se reposer après un voyage aux zigzags plus ou moins capricieux à travers les régions exposantes.

Là se pressent les groupes les plus divers, les types les plus variés. Les étrangers, après avoir parcouru les galeries où figurent les produits de leurs nations respectives, se voyant arrivés au bout de leur parcours et dans un lieu qui semble inviter au repos, vont s’asseoir sur les premiers sièges qu’ils rencontrent au débouché des Galeries qu ils viennent de quitter, et forment ainsi, sans le savoir, une exposition nouvelle, attrayante, imprévue.

Parcourez le Jardin central vers quatre ou cinq heures, alors que la lassitude commence à gagner les jeunes visiteuses; circulez dans le promenoir qui entoure le Jardin, et vous verrez sous les écriteaux mêmes que la Commission impériale a fait placer à Centrée de chaque Galerie, vous verrez une exposition, je le répète, imprévue mais extrêmement agréable.

Italie indique l’écriteau sous lequel vous voyez ce groupe de jeunes femmes aux cheveux abondants et noirs comme l’ébène qui font ressortir la blancheur mate d’un visage à l’ovale gracieux. Elles sont là nonchalamment assises, demi-silencieuses, n’échangeant entre elles que quelques mots lents et mous et quelques regards rapides et vifs. — Angleterre! dit un écriteau que ne démentent en rien les jeunes gens et les femmes assis au-dessous, ceux-là ornés de grands favoris blonds, armes d’une lorgnette en sautoir, d’un guide formidable et de l’inévitable parapluie; celles-là blanches, rosées, minces avec un petit air doux et sérieux. Plus loin vous reconnaissez, sans lire l'écriteau, les brunes senoras dont le babil intarissable frappe votre attention, elles n’attirent vos regards que par leur teint bruni, leurs dents blanches, et leurs grands yeux vifs; du reste, ni jupe courte, ni mantille, pas même un éventail, les Espagnoles se soucient peu de la couleur locale et suivent les modes de Paris, tout comme nos dames- de la Chaussée-d’Antin; plus loin encore ce sont les Russes, on dirait des Italiennes du Nord; elles sont grandes, élancées, leur teint a l’éclat de celui des femmes italiennes, leurs yeux noirs possèdent autant de vivacité, autant de passion, et leur belle chevelure est blonde comme de l’or, et non point fade comme celle des sentimentales Allemandes.

Voilà l’exposition qu’il nous est donné de voir sous le promenoir du Jardin central, exposition attrayante autant qu’elle est instructive; car tout en procurant un plaisir très-agréable aux yeux, elle permet de faire là une étude sur les races humaines comparées.

Quand les divers groupes qui sont venus sous le péristyle s’asseoir et prendre quelques moments de repos, abandonnent leurs sièges, ils donnent un coup d’œil plus ou moins attentif aux diverses œuvres exposées sous la marquise.

Quelques-unes de ces œuvres nous ont paru dignes d’attention, c’est pourquoi les lecteurs de l’Exposition universelle, me permettront de les y retenir quelques instants et de leur signaler ce que cette partie du Palais contient de plus remarquable.
Prenons le péristyle en face de la grande entrée, dans l’axe du pont d’iéna, et parcourons-le de droite à gauche.

La statue en marbre blanc qui se trouve précisément en face de la grande entrée est celle de l’impératrice Joséphine, par M. Vidal-Dubray. C’est une reproduction de la statue érigée récemment sur l’un des boulevards qui rayonnent autour de la place de l’Étoile. L’attitude, noble et gracieuse à la fois, de la populaire impératrice est remarquable.

A quelques pas de cette statue, sur les murs du péristyle, voici une singularité curieuse; c’est un tableau d’un mètre de large sur près de deux mètres en hauteur, qui dès la première vue a toutes les apparences d’une belle gravure, il en a le velouté, le fondu, le fini, toutes les délicatesses du crayon y paraissent reproduites par un habile burin. Il représente une femme la main posée sur un livre, auprès d’elle sont les divers attributs de la justice, du commerce, du droit, de la paix, c’est une allégorie relative à l’installation du gouvernement de l’Uruguay, car ce tableau vient de l’Uruguay, et c’est l’œuvre de M- Pedro Nin y Gonzalès, citoyen de cette république lointaine. Or, qu'est-ce que M. Pedro Nin y Gonzalès? Sans doute un professeur d’écriture, et son tableau n’est autre chose qu’un dessin à la plume, la robe du personnage allégorique est issue tout entière de parafes merveilleux faits à main levée. Ce travail, on peut le dire sans flatterie, est parfaitement peint; il a coûté, du reste, deux années de travail à son auteur?

Plus loin nous trouvons divers marbres d’Italie, quelques bustes céramiques du même pays, parmi lesquels nous citerons celui du roi Victor-Emmanuel. Diverses photographies italiennes sont appendues aux murs.

En poursuivant notre promenade sous le péristyle, nous rencontrerons diverses reproductions d’ornements tirés des manuscrits grecs du dixième au quinzième siècle. Ils font partie de la galerie de 1 Histoire du travail, dont le savant M. du Sommerard doit rendre compte dans l’Exposition universelle de 1807.

Nous remarquons ensuite, non loin de là, dans la section du Danemark, un groupe en marbre offert par les grands propriétaires danois à S. A. la princesse de Galles, à l’occasion de son mariage et comme cadeau de noces. Ce groupe représente la formation d Ève. Ce morceau, d’une grande simplicité, n’est pas sans attraits.

Adam sort du sommeil, et ses yeux sont charmés par la vue de la compagne que Dieu vient de lui donner. Ève, gracieuse, naïve, sourit à son époux.

Voici encore, dans la même section, un Adam et Ève, mais après leur faute. Le sculpteur a su rendre la confusion dont les deux pécheurs sont couverts après avoir transgressé les ordres du Créateur. Leurs regards, leur attitude, leur tête baissée, la crainte tracée dans le visage d’Eve, rendent admirablement la situation. Il semble que les peuples moins avancés que nous en civilisation, soient plus propres à reproduire ces scènes simples et primitives que nos sculpteurs, qui tombent aisément dans 1 emphase théâtrale et 1 exagération. Les simples seuls sentent bien la simplicité.

Du Danemark nous passons immédiatement eu Grèce, du Nord au Midi, mille lieues sans transition! Ève est à côté d’Achille.
Achille furieux, tel est le sujet traité dans ce bloc de marbre de Paros. La colère d'Achille est bien rendue. Il est assis sur rocher, ses armes sont malheureusement déposées auprès de lui avec trop d’ordre et de soin. Il me semble qu’Achille furieux devait jeter ses armes à terre au lieu de les ranger symétriquement; mais cette critique de détail ne m’empêche pas de louer l’ensemble du morceau. Achille #serre, d’une main crispée, l’un de ses genoux qu’il frappe avec colère de l’autre main. Sa belle figure est assombrie par la fureur. On voit que l’ancienne Grèce qui ne sert plus en France qu’à égayer le public des Variétés, sert encore de modèle et de sujets d’études aux artistes de la Grèce moderne.

Après avoir jeté les yeux sur divers projets d’architectes espagnols et sur un grand et beau christ de l’institut artistique de M. Joseph Mayer à Munich, nous arrivons enfin à la partie la plus intéressante de notre promenade, à cette vaste exposition archéologique faite par le ministère d’État, à cette exposition des plans, dessins, vues, coupes, etc.... d’un grand nombre de monuments historiques de la France.

Cette exposition occupe tout le mur oriental du péristyle, encore est-elle bien loin d’être complète.

On n’ignore point que la science archéologique, cette science éminemment intéressante, est pour ainsi dire de création toute nouvelle.

Avant la révolution de 1789, on pourrait même aller plus bas et dire qu’avant l’École romantique et le beau roman de Victor Hugo, Notre-Dame de Paris, on n’avait que peu de souci des monuments historiques français.
A part quelques palais, quelques châteaux et certaines églises, qui s’imposaient aux soins de l’État par leur importance ou leur destination, les spécimens de notre architecture nationale étaient négligés , abandonnés et de toute part tombaient en ruine, quand ils n’étaient pas l’objet de mutilations déplorables, sous prétexte de restauration.

Chaque siècle traitait les monuments des siècles passés avec un profond mépris et comme des restes ridicules de modes ou de coutumes surannées. Dans la plupart des cas, la pioche faisait justice des débris que le temps avait épargnés ; dans d’autres cas, l’architecte, sans tenir compte des travaux de ses devanciers ou même pour paraître plus habile qu’eux, entait sur leur style un style nouveau , sans harmonie avec le précédent. Il en résultait des incohérences bizarres, des contrastes affreux au point de vue artistique, et des mutilations très-regrettables au point de vue historique.

Par ces mutilations nous avons, en bien des provinces, perdu la trace des mœurs françaises. Au moyen âge, par les restaurations et les adjonctions hors de style, nous avons hérité de monuments, bâtards en bien des parties, affreux dans l’ensemble. C’est ainsi que nos cathédrales, particulièrement en traversant les dix-septième et dix-huitième siècles ont subi des changements considérables. Dans ces deux grands siècles où pourtant Fénelon trouvait barbare notre architecture gothique, où Voltaire souriait de mépris en face de Notre-Dame et s’extasiait devant le portail de Saint-Gervais, nos architectes traitaient nos églises et nos châteaux avec le même dédain ; ils plaçaient leurs lourdes colonnades grecques sur les fioritures légères et les colonnes sveltes du treizième siècle. Le style Pompadour régnait sous les voûtes ogivales et s’étalait impudemment en face des merveilles gothiques.

Voilà comment étaient traités nos monuments nationaux, jusqu’au jour où Victor Hugo réveilla dans nos esprits le goût du moyen âge et de ses splendeurs merveilleuses.

Mais ce qu’il ne pouvait que dire, un autre pouvait le faire. Victor Hugo fit renaître le moyen âge devant nos imaginations, un autre grand esprit le fit renaître devant nos yeux, et ce grand esprit, c’était le savant M. Viollet-le-Duc. M. Viollet-le-Duc qui devait, lui aussi, inscrire son nom sur la Notre-Dame chantée par le poète et lui restituer son éclat primitif.

A M. Viollet-le-Duc revient l’honneur d’avoir fait sortir nos monuments de leurs ruines, il n’est pas de province en France que cet habite dessinateur, que ce savant ingénieux n’ait parcourue et dont il n’ait reproduit les principaux édifices.

Ceux qui gisaient dans les ruines, il les a réédifiés, reconstruits; un jour ou l’autre, ils sortiront des décombres et s’élèveront tels que les virent nos aïeux, comme l’antique manoir de Pieriefonds qui renaît de ses débris; ceux: que 1 ineptie, l’ignorance avaient dégradés, il les dégage des ornements qui les défiguraient et leur rend leur physionomie primitive; ainsi la Sainte-Chapelle, Notre-Dame de Paris ; ceux enfin qui demeuraient inachevés sont complétés avec soin et dans le style même où l’architecte les conçut.

L'Etat a pris sous sa protection directe tous les monuments que renferment nos provinces, et désormais ils vivront entourés de soins, entretenus religieusement et restaurés avec intelligence.

Les dessins et les plans exposés sur tout le mur oriental du Jardin central, sont donc relatifs aux monuments historiques, c’est-à-dire aux spécimens les plus précieux de notre architecture nationale. On peut, en parcourant cette série de travaux, faire Une étude intéressante de l’art utile par excellence et qui comporte, je crois, le plus de variété.

Parmi les dessins et plans exposés, on remarquera surtout la Cité dé Carcassonne, que restaure en ce moment M. Viollet-le-Duc, et qui doit nous fournir un tableau complet de l’architecture militaire pendant le moyen âge; Pierre l'on ris, qui s’achève et qui pourra donner la meilleure idée de ce qu’étaient les manoirs militaires des grands vassaux de la couronne; l’hôtel de ville d'Orléans, type gracieux de l’architecture civile sous Louis XIII; le Palais des Papes dans la ville d’Avignon, édifice majestueux et forteresse imposante; le Mont-Saint-Michel avec se? curieuses maisons et sa remarquable église; la Sainte-Chapelle, Notre-Dame d'Etampes, une de nos plus vieilles églises; Saint-Denis, ancienne église de l’abbaye de ce nom, aux ne's imposantes; Notre-Dame de Laon, l’une de nos plus belles cathédrales; l’église de Beaune, Saint-Sernin de Toulouse, reslaurée par M. Viollet-le-Duc, le plus beau spécimen de notre architecture romane; le beau cloître de Fontenay (Cote-d Or), le pont du Gard, le château de Blois, l’église de Vézelay, le Musée de Cluny, dans h quel M. du Sommerard a réuni tant d’objets précieux, tant de reliques du moyen âge; enfin, un très-grand nombre d’habitations particulières que leur valeur artistique a fait classer au nombre des monuments de l’État.

Nous aurions voulu placer sous les yeux de nos lecteurs un grand nombre de ces spécimens; mais nous avons dû nous borner à reproduire ici le Palais des Papes, dont la restauration est déjà commencée; l’Hôtel de Cluny, dont on connaît l’importance et qui donne une idée parfaite d’un hôtel au quinzième siècle; nous donnons également deux pignons de l’église de Vézelay, pignons d'une délicatesse et d’un goût remarquables; enfin, deux maisons d’un caractère bien différent. L’une appartient au Nord, à cette ville de Rouen qui conserve de si gracieux restes du quinzième et du seizième siècle; l’autre au Midi, qui garda si longtemps dans ses mœurs et dans son architecture des traces de la civilisation romaine : c’est une maison du treizième siècle conservée à Saint-Antonin et classée parmi les monuments historiques. Pour les autres monuments, nous ne pouvons que renvoyer nos lecteurs aux magnifiques ouvrages publiés par la librairie d’architecture de M. A. Morel, ouvrages auxquels le jury international vient de décerner une médaille d’or.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée