International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Japan and Siam

Japan and Siam at the Exhibition Paris 1867

There is one part of the Exhibition that I cannot go through without feeling a strong sense of national self-love, and that is the section reserved for the States of Africa and Asia. One is astonished when one thinks of the sacrifices that countries so far away, so foreign to our civilisation, have made in order to be included in this universal competition. And, for my part, I know of no more striking proof of the prestige and ascendancy which France exercises on all points of the globe.

The most complete and brilliant exhibition of all the Asiatic states is unquestionably that of Japan - it is not only the Taïcoun, the temporal sovereign, who has taken care to gather together the most remarkable products of his empire to send them to France. The most powerful of the six hundred feudal princes among whom the territory of Japan is divided, the Taïchiou of Satsuma, who possesses nine palaces in Yédo and who is forced each year to spend six months in the capital, makes his entry there at the head of a very respectable army, the Taïchiou has asked for and obtained a site where all the most marvellous products of Japanese industry are accumulated: chests, small pieces of furniture furnished with microscopic drawers, with silver or ivory ornaments; bronzes, earthenware, crystals, pieces of that eggshell porcelain, so rare in Japan that one can hardly find samples of it except in the homes of the highest personages, swords whose copper or wooden scabbards hide steel blades of the most admirable temper; Swords whose copper or wooden sheaths conceal the most admirable steel blades; swells cut from the purest rock crystal, a very precious ornament; plaster statuettes representing bathers and giving a very complete idea of the plastic beauty of Japanese women; in a word, all those delicate and charming fantasies, so appreciated by European amateurs.

All the furnishings are covered with painted lacquer; it is the relief of the design on the wood that makes the work perfect and gives the object its price. The varnish itself is extracted from a shrub called Orosino-Ki. It is said to be obtained by making incisions in the three-year-old stems, from which it flows like the milk of rubber trees. It is coloured in various shades by means of colouring ingredients with which it is mixed on a copper plate; it is then applied in successive layers and gold and silver designs are added.

The most famous emblems are those of longevity: the turtle, the stork and the fir tree. The Japanese have a great taste for chimeric animals. For example, they like to decorate the turtle with a big bushy tail; they also very often represent a fabulous monster with the head of a dragon, the body of a horse and the feet of a deer. In addition, the Fusi-Yama, the great volcano of the island of Nifon, junks sailing under full sail and fish beating the waves with their tails with fury are among the favourite subjects.

There is also a very complete collection of pipes, many of which are decorated with small groups of wooden or ivory, representing grotesque subjects, but very delicately executed. The pipe, in Japan, is an obligatory accessory of men's costume; it is worn suspended by a silk cord from a button of the dress. The pipe is made of a reed; the hearth is of bronze, but very small. A pipe contains only one puff of smoke; a pinch of tobacco is rolled to make it the size of a pea; it only takes a long draw to burn it all up; this explains how a good Japanese smoker smokes a hundred pipes a day. The tobacco is of a pale shade and quite similar to Turkish tobacco; only it is cut finer and the flavour is more delicate. The best tobacco is from the provinces of Satsuma and Nangasaki.

Alongside the Japanese products, and even somewhat confused with them, are the objects sent by the King of Siam. This exhibition, organised by M. de Grehan, is very interesting. One can see jewels, vases in cloisonné enamel, gilded silver gargoyles, a jasper tea service, a beautiful tray inlaid with mother-of-pearl, and a very curious collection of objects of worship. It is known that Buddhism mixed with some Brahmism is the religion of the Siamese people. The idols exhibited are in various attitudes; next to them are the shrines which contain them, the golden pulpits, built on the model of the famous pagodas of Siam and Bangkok. But the main object of veneration of the Siamese population is the elephant, a sacred animal, the hunting of which is the monopoly of the Crown. The most beautiful elephants are reserved for the king and the lords who possess very numerous private herds of them. The one that the king usually rides is admirably trained; at the sight of his master, it bends of its own accord. His harness is magnificent and the throne he carries on his back is all dazzling with gold and gems. Well, this animal, important as it is, has a superior in the ash-grey elephant, Buddha's representative on earth. The ash-grey elephant has a temple and a palace at Bankok; the mandarins make a point of serving him; the vessels in which his food is brought are of solid gold; covered with gold and jewels, he never goes out except with his head protected by parasols against the rays of the sun; He has a sense of his dignity; grave and majestic is his pace, when, at the first light of day, he advances to the threshold of his temple, and, raising his gold-painted horn in the air, gives the signal for prayer to the assembled people.

It is regrettable that the King of Siam did not imitate the example of his neighbour Taicoun, and that he did not see fit to show us some of his bodyguards. I would have been quite satisfied for my part to know what to expect of this battalion, composed of 400 young ladies chosen from among the most beautiful and robust girls in the kingdom. At the age of 13, it seems, they are drafted; at 25, they enter the reserves. Chastity and devotion are absolutely required of them. In return, they are highly regarded, well treated, richly dressed, and enjoy the absolute confidence of the monarch, who would never venture on a hunt or an expedition without his battalion of Amazons.

It seems that I should have spoken of China first; but it is an honour she does not deserve. The Celestial Empire has responded negatively to the invitation extended to it by the French Government. So the Chinese exhibition has the serious disadvantage of not being one. Private individuals and merchants asked for and obtained permission to display their curiosities and imported Chinese articles for sale on the Champ de Mars. This is not the way a country's industry should be represented at a Universal Exhibition. The richest of these collections is that of Mr. Charton. One sees there several pairs of beautiful vases in porcelain, bronze, and cloisonné enamels, various pieces of furniture in carved wood among which one notices a bed furnished with its not very elastic bed in braided straw, a superb screen whose silk facets are decorated with admirable embroideries, objects made of carved ivory (we know that the Chinese are the first ivory makers in the world), and a thousand other trinkets which are very pretty, but which may be reproached for being placed there for too obvious a speculative purpose.

In short, if we have one good piece of advice to give our readers, it is not to forget in their visits to the Exhibition this corner of the Palais which introduces us to a civilisation that is still little known. Mr. Lancelot's drawing gives a very accurate idea of the picturesque architecture and the elegant decoration of the façade; the best praise we can give it is to name its author, Mr. Alfred Chapon.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Japon et Siam

Japon et Siam à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Il est une partie de l’Exposition que je ne puis parcourir sans éprouver un vif sentiment d’amour propre national, c’est la section réservée aux États de l’Afrique et de l’Asie. On est étonné quand on pense aux sacrifices que se sont imposés, pour figurer à ce concours universel, des pays aussi éloignés, aussi étrangers à notre civilisation. Et, pour ma part, je ne connais pas de preuve plus saisissante du prestige et de l’ascendant qu’exerce la France sur tous les points du globe.

L'Exposition la plus complète et la plus plus brillante de tous les états asiatiques est sans contredit celle du Japon- Ce n’est pas seulement le Taïcoun, le souverain temporel, qui s’est occupé de réunir les produits les plus remarquables de son empire pour les envoyer en France. Le plus puissant des six cents princes feudataires entre lesquels est partagé le territoire du Japon, le Taïchiou de Satsuma, qui possède neuf palais à Yédo et qui forcé chaque année de passer six mois dans la capitale, y fait son entrée à la tête d’une armée fort respectable, le Taïchiou a demandé et obtenu un emplacement où se trouve accumulé tout ce que l’industrie japonaise produit de plus merveilleux : des coffrets, des petits meubles garnis de tiroirs microscopiques, avec les ornements en argent ou en ivoire; des bronzes, des faïences, des cristaux, des pièces de cette porcelaine coquille d'œuf, si rare au Japon qu’on n’en trouve guère d’échantillons que chez les plus hauts personnages, des sabres dont les fourreaux en cuivre ou en bois cachent des lames d’acier de la plus admirable trempe; des houles taillées dans le plus pur cristal de roche, ornement fort précieux; des statuettes en plâtre, représentant des baigneuses et donnant une idée très-complète de la beauté plastique des femmes japonais' s; en un mol, toutes ces fantaisies délicates et charmantes, si appréciées par les amateurs européens.

Tous les objets d’ameublement sont recouverts de laque peinte; c’est le relief du dessin sur le bois qui fait la perfection du travail et qui donne du prix à l’objet. Le vernis même est extrait d’un arbuste qu’on appelle l’Orosino-Ki. On se le procure, dit-on, au moyen d’incisions faites sur les tiges de trois ans, d’où il coule comme le lait des arbres à caoutchouc. On le colore de diverses nuances au moyen d’ingrédients colorants avec lesquels on le mélange sur une plaque de cuivre ; on l’applique ensuite par couches successives et on y ajoute des dessins d’or et d’argent.

Les emblèmes les plus connus sont ceux de la longévité : la tortue, la cigogne et le sapin. Les Japonais ont un grand goût pour les animaux chimériques. Par exemple, ils aiment à orner la tortue d’une grosse queue touffue; ils représentent aussi très-souvent un monstre fabuleux avec la tête d’un dragon, le corps d’un cheval et les pieds d'un daim. En outre, le Fusi-Yama, le grand volcan de l’île de Nifon, des jonques voguant à pleines voiles et des poissons battant les vagues de leur queue avec fureur sont au nombre des sujets favoris.

Il faut citer aussi une collection très-complète de pipes; beaucoup sont ornées de petits groupes en bois ou eu ivoire, représentant des sujets grotesques, mais fort délicatement exécutés. La pipe, au Japon, est un accessoire obligé du costume des hommes; elle se porte accrochée par un cordon de soie à un bouton de la robe. Le tuyau est formé d'un roseau; le foyer est en bronze, mais très-petit. Une pipe ne contient qu’une seule bouffée de fumée; on roule une pincée de tabac pour lui donner la grosseur d’un pois; ii suffit d’une longue aspiration pour qu’elle soit entièrement consumée; c'est ce qui explique comment un bon fumeur japonais fume une centaine de pipes par jour. Le tabac est d’une nuance pâle et ressemble assez au tabac turc ; seulement il est coupé plus fin et la saveur en est plus délicate. Le meilleur tabac est celui des provinces de Satsuma et de Nangasaki.

A côte des produits japonais et même un peu confondus avec eux, se trouvent les objets envoyés par le roi de Siam. Cette exposition, organisée par les soins de M. de Grehan, est très-intéressante. On y remarque des bijoux, des vases en émaux cloisonnés, des gargoulettes en argent doré, un service à thé en jaspe, un beau plateau incrusté de nacre, une collection très-curieuse des objets du culte. On sait que le bouddhisme mélé de quelques pratiques de brahmisme est la religion du peuple siamois. Les idoles exposées affectent différentes attitudes; à côté sont les sanctuaires qui les renferment, les chaires en or, construites sur le modèle des célèbres pagodes de Siam et de Bangkok. Mais le principal objet de la vénération de la population siamoise est l éléphant, animal sacré, dont la chasse est le monopole de la Couronne. Les plus beaux éléphants sont réservés au roi et aux seigneurs qui en possèdent des troupeaux privés très-nombreux. Celui que le roi monte d'ordinaire est admirablement dressé; à la vue de son maître, il se courbe de lui-même. Son harnachement est magnifique et le trôné qu’il porte sur son dos est tout éclatant d’or et de pierreries. Eh bien ! cet animal, tout important qu’il soit, a un supérieur dans l’éléphant gris-cendré, représentant de Boudha sur la terre. L’éléphant gris-cendré possède un temple et un palais à Bankok; les mandarins se font un honneur de le servir; les récipients dans lesquels on lui apporte sa nourriture sont en or massif; couvert d’or et de pierreries, il ne sort jamais que la tête protégée par des parasols contre les rayons du soleil; il a le sentiment de sa dignité; grave et majestueuse est son allure, quand, aux premiers feux du jour, il s’avance au seuil de son temple, et, levant en l’air sa trompe peinte en or, donne au peuple rassemblé le signal de la prière.

Il est regrettable que le roi de Siam n’ait pas imité l’exemple du Taicoun, son voisin, et qu’il n’ait pas jugé à propos de nous montrer quelques-uns de ses gardes du corps. J’aurais été assez satisfait pour ma part de savoir à quoi m’en tenir sur ce bataillon, composé de 400 demoiselles choisies parmi les plus belles et les plus robustes jeunes filles du royaume. A 13 ans, paraît-il, elles sont incorporées; à 25 ans, elles entrent dans la réserve. La chasteté, le dévouement sont absolument exigés d’elles. En retour, elles sont très-considérées, bien traitées, richement vêtues, et jouissent de la confiance absolue du monarque, qui jamais ne se hasarderait à une chasse ou une expédition sans son bataillon d’amazones.

Il semble que j’aurais dû parler de la Chine en premier; mais c’est un honneur qu’elle ne mérite pas. Le Céleste Empire a répondu négativement à l'invitation que lui avait adressée le Gouvernement français. Aussi l’exposition chinoise a-t-elle le grave inconvénient de n’en être pas une. Des particuliers, des négociants ont demandé et obtenu l’autorisation d’installer au Champ de Mars leurs curiosités, les articles d’importation chinoise qu’ils avaient à vendre. Ce n’est pas ainsi que l’industrie d’un pays doit être représentée à une Exposition universelle. La plus riche de ces collections est celle de j M. Charton. On y voit plusieurs paires de beaux vases en porcelaine, en bronze, et émaux cloisonnés, différents meubles en bois-sculpté parmi lesquels on remarque un lit garni de sa couchette peu élastique en paille tressée, un superbe écran dont les facettes en soie sont ornées de broderies admirables, des objets en ivoire sculpté (ou sait que les Chinois sont les premiers ivoiriers du monde), et mille autres bibelots fort jolis, mais auxquels on peut faire le reproche d’être placés là dans un but de spéculation trop évident.

En somme, si nous avons un bon conseil à donner à nos lecteurs, c’est de ne pas oublier dans leurs visites à l’Exposition ce coin du Palais qui nous initie à une civilisation encore peu connue. Le dessin de M. Lancelot donne une idée fort exacte de l’architecture pittoresque et de l’élégante décoration de la façade; le meilleur éloge qu’on en puisse faire d’ailleurs, est d’en nommer l’auteur, M. Alfred Chapon.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée