International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Perfumery - Mr Rimmel

Perfumery - Mr Rimmel at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Mr. Rimmel's Exhibition is installed outside the Palace, in the English section, near the Electric Lighthouse, in a pavilion whose appearance is shown in our engraving. It is where Mr. Rimmel gives to the crowd of curious people who crowd there the spectacle of the distillation of perfumes, in a still which does not cease functioning from the morning till the evening.

Fixing the fleeting aroma of flowers, collecting and storing it, is a delicate art to which all peoples have applied themselves since ancient times. The history of this art is curious; and our English perfumer, who has studied it in depth, has placed before our eyes, as a commentary on his exposition, a beautiful volume of nearly 300 pages, written in English, which is nothing other than a detailed history of perfumes and the art of perfumery. Natural science is united with historical science; the author, after having made the physiology of perfumes, studies them successively in the feasts of Apis and Osiris among the Egyptians, in the balsams and incenses of the Jews, in Babylon, in Nineveh and among Sardanapalus; among the Greeks, where he introduces us to the mysteries of Eleubis, to the toilet of Juno and to funeral ceremonies; among the Romans, whose perfumes and cosmetics he reveals, as well as their use in the toilet of matrons: Among the Arabs, where he tells us about the invention of rose water; in India, in China, in Japan, even among the savages; and finally, by a sudden return, he also analyses the history of perfumes among the Druids, and later, at the times of Clovis and Charlemagne, under Catherine de Médicis, Charles I, Louis XIV and Louis XV.

To complete his written study for the eyes, Mr. Rimmel has installed in his cottage a very interesting collection of aromatic substances used in perfumery. The common names are listed alongside the scientific names, and no care has been taken to indicate the places of origin.

I have noticed in particular some very curious specimens of exotic flowers which, having arrived from Brazil and India, preserved in glycerine, have not lost their forms or their scents.

There are several processes for absorbing and fixing the different perfumes: distillation, which is used for plants and certain flowers; expression, which is used for the essences naturally contained in certain fruits, certain peels such as lime, bergamot or citron; and maceration, by means of which the perfumed molecules for which the liquid has an affinity are generally dissolved in a spirit.

Grasse, Cannes, Nice and the Indies are the places from which the greatest number of raw materials are obtained. French exports amount to an annual figure of 15 million francs, and imports do not exceed one million, even including certain materials which serve as a basis for perfumery.

These figures show how considerable the French perfume industry is.

The name of Mr. Rimmel is as well known in Paris as in London: and it is in both capitals that our exhibitor exercises his industry.

His manufacture is of great variety, and his products are justly renowned.

One remark is suggested to me by the very reading of Mr. Rimmel's work: it is that, if the perfumes of flowers have a natural sweetness full of charms, they also conceal that occult poison which makes them harmful in flats where the air does not have free access. Also the mysterious science of the perfumer, who was once called a sorcerer, if I believe the legend of René, the famous operator of Catherine de Médicis, must tend more and more, by collecting the fugitive aromas of flowers and plants, to remove their toxic properties and to imprison them in the retorts of the laboratory. This is what Mr Rimmel has been working on.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Parfumerie - M. Rimmel

Parfumerie - M. Rimmel à l'exposition de Paris 1867

L’Exposition de M. Rimmel est installée hors du Palais, dans la section anglaise, près du Phare électrique, dans un pavillon dont notre gravure représente l’aspect. C’est laque M. Rimmel donne à la foule de curieux qui s’y pressent le spectacle de la distillation des parfums, dans un alambic qui ne cesse de fonctionner depuis le matin jusqu’au soir.

Fixer l’arôme si fugace des fleurs, le recueillir et l’emmagasiner constitue un art délicat auquel se sont appliqués tous les peuples depuis la plus haute antiquité. L’histoire de cet art est curieuse; et notre parfumeur anglais, qui en a approfondi l’étude, a mis sous nos yeux, comme un commentaire de son exposition, un beau volume de prés de 300 pages, écrit en anglais, qui n’est autre chose que l’histoire minutieuse des parfums et de l'art de la parfumerie. La science naturelie y est unie à la science historique; l'auteur, après avoir fait la physiologie des parfums, les étudie successivement dans les fêtes d’Apis et d’Osiris chez les Égyptiens, dans les baumes et les encens des Juifs, à Babylone, à Ninive et chez Sardanapale; chez les Grecs où il nous initie aux mystères d’Éleubis, à la toilette de junon et aux cérémonies funéraires; chez les Romains dont il nous révèle les parfums et les cosmétiques, ainsi que leur emploi dans la toilette des matrones: chez les Arabes où il nous raconte l’invention de l’eau de Rose ; dans l'Inde, en Chine, au Japon, jusque chez les sauvages; et enfin, par un brusque retour, il analyse également l’histoire des parfums chez les Druides, et plus tard, aux époques de Clovis et de Charlemagne, sous Catherine de Médicis, Charles 1er, Louis XIV et Louis XV.

Complétant pour les yeux son étude écrite, M. Rimmel a installé dans son chalet une fort intéressante collection des substances aromatiques employées en parfumerie. Les noms usuels y figurent à côté des noms scientifiques, et on n’a pas négligé d’indiquer les lieux de leur provenance.

J’ai surtout remarqué des spécimens fort curieux de fleurs exotiques qui, arrivant du Brésil et des Indes, conservées dans de la glycérine, n’ont pas plus perdu leurs formes que leurs senteurs.

Il y a plusieurs procédés pour absorber et fixer les différents parfums : la distillation, qui est employée pour les plantes et certaines fleurs; l'expression dont on use pour les essences contenues naturellement dans certains fruits, certaines écorces telles que le limon, la bergamote ou le cédrat; et fut la macération au moyen de laquelle on dissout généralement dans un spiritueux les molécules parfumées pour lesquelles le liquide a de l’affinité.

Grasse, Cannes, Nice et les Indes, sont les lieux d’où l’on tire le plue grand nombre de matières premières. L'exportation française s’élève à un chiffre annuel de 15 millions de francs, et l'importation ne dépasse pas un million, en y comprenant même certaines matières qui servent de base à la parfumerie.

Ces chiffres disent assez combien l’industrie française de la parfumerie est considérable.

Le nom de M. Rimmel est aussi connu à Paris qu’à Londres : et c’est dans les deux capitales que notre exposant exerce à la fois son industrie.

Sa fabrication est d'une grande variété, et ses produits sont justement renommés.

Une remarque m'est suggérée par la lecture même de l’ouvrage de M. Rimmel : c’est que, si les parfums des fleurs ont une suavité naturelle pleine de Charmes, ils recèlent aussi ce poison occulte qui les rend nuisibles dans les appartements où l'air n'a pas pas un libre accès. Aussi la science mystérieuse du parfumeur, que l’on traitait jadis de sorcier, si j’en crois là légende de René, le fameux opérateur de Catherine de Médicis, doit-elle tendre de plus en plus, en recueillant les arômes fugitifs des fleurs et des plantes, à leur enlever leurs propriétés toxiques et à les emprisonner dans les cornues du laboratoire. C’est à quoi surtout s'est appliqué M. Rimmel.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée