International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Group VI. Class 65 - Metalworking

Group VI. Class 65 - Metalworking at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

In locksmithing as well as in furniture, bronzes and jewellery, it is the Louis XVI style that seems to have seduced the most exhibitors.

The monumental gate that we are reproducing is exhibited by M. Roy, one of the most remarkable builders of this kind.

It is one of the many examples of fencing in the reserved garden and stands opposite the Dutch farmhouse.

Ironwork has had its distinguished masters, and Mr. Roy proves by his exhibition that he was inspired by their teaching. Supporting and enclosing railings became fashionable in France around 1730. Gardens, terraces, chapels and balconies, as well as all places that one wanted to enclose without obstructing the view, received this kind of ornamentation forged in iron and raised in sheet metal.

An eighteenth-century master, J. F. Blondel, published a chapter in his work De la décoration des édifices, devoted to locksmith's ornaments. The straight lines, the symmetrical orders which were the fundamental character of the previous centuries seemed at that time to be too dry. Blondel recommends not to indulge too much in a free and common design: "It is necessary," he says, "to take care that the contours which compose the ornaments are well linked together by bolts, and to take care to place pilasters of ornaments at reasonable distances to separate the large panels, and to give by means of their uprights solidity to the frames. "

M. Roy is of this school. His monumental wrought iron grille, decorated with hammered foliage, is in the best taste and from the best period of the Louis XVI style. But this exhibitor does not confine himself to the speciality of gates; he is equally successful in the various iron constructions: greenhouses, walkways, crossings, hinges and locks of style.

His workmanship is that of a serious artist and as such deserves our full attention.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Groupe VI. Classe 65 - Serrurerie d’art

Groupe VI. Classe 65 - Serrurerie d’art à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Dans la serrurerie d’art comme dans les meubles, les bronzes et la bijouterie, c’est le style Louis XVI qui semble avoir séduit le plus les exposants.

La grille monumentale que nous reproduisons est exposée par M. Roy, un des plus remarquables constructeurs en ce genre.

Elle fait partie des nombreux spécimens de clôture du jardin réservé et se trouve en face de la ferme hollandaise.

La ferronnerie a eu ses maîtres distingués, et M. Roy prouve par son exposition qu’il s’est inspiré de leur enseignement. Les grilles d’appui et de clôture devinrent à la mode en France vers 1730. Les jardins, les terrasses, les chapelles et les balcons, ainsi que tous les lieux qu’on voulait clore sans obstruer le coup d’œil, reçurent ce genre d’ornements forgés en fer et relevés en tôle.

Un maître du dix-huitième siècle, J. F. Blondel, a publié dans son ouvrage De la décoration des édifices, un chapitre consacré aux ornements de serrurerie. Les lignes droites, les ordonnances symétriques qui étaient le caractère fondamental des siècles précédents parurent à celte époque empreints de trop de sécheresse. Blondel recommande de ne pas trop se complaire dans un dessin libre et courant : « Il faut, dit-il, prendre garde que les contours qui composent les ornements soient bien liés ensemble par des boulons, et avoir soin de placer des pilastres d’ornements à des distances raisonnables pour séparer les grands panneaux, et donner par le moyen de leurs montants de la solidité aux châssis. »

M. Roy est de cette école. Sa grille monumentale, en fer forgé, ornée de feuillages relevés au marteau, est du meilleur goût et de la meilleure époque du style Louis XVI. Mais cet exposant ne s’en tient pas à la spécialité des grilles; il réussit aussi bien dans les diverses constructions en fer : serres, passerelles, croisées, pentures et serrures de style.

Sa fabrication est celle d’un artiste sérieux et a mérité à ce titre toute notre attention.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée