International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Life-saving equipment and boating

Life-saving equipment and boating at the Exhibition Paris 1867

In 1824, Thomas Wilson, a member of the English Parliament, founded the first lifeboat society: but the new institution did not develop fully until 1849, under the energetic and charitable leadership of Prince Albert and the Duke of Northumberland. Thanks to the progress of the art of shipbuilding, the competition opened in 1852 resulted in a model of an unsinkable boat, self-righting and emptying in a few seconds when the sea had filled it, and soon numerous rescues, by demonstrating the usefulness of the work, encouraged public benevolence and contributed much to the development of the institution, which soon extended its ramifications into the counties. On April 24, 1860, a Royal Charter was granted under the name of the Royal National Lifeboat Institution, which now possesses one hundred and eighty-eight lifeboats, two hundred and thirty-nine life-saving appliances, one hundred and eighty-one stations supplied with lines, first aid boxes, and seven hundred and ninety-two lifebelts.

Until 1861, no attention was paid to rescue in France, but at that time the Minister of Public Works provoked the formation of a mixed commission which decided to create two hundred and twenty-three stations, seventy-four of which were equipped with boats, and the formation of thirty-five local societies. A central society, indispensable for stimulating and enlivening all the elements of the work, was soon constituted under the protection of Her Majesty the Empress, and by the care of Mr. Behic and Admiral Rigault de Genouilly, who was appointed president. An imperial decree of 17 November 1865 recognised it as an establishment of public utility, and by the end of 1866, twenty-three stations had been completed and eleven others were in the process of being formed.

The stations are all based on the same type, reproduced very exactly on the bank of the Seine, at the Champ de Mars Exhibition. They consist of a shelter house twelve metres long and five and a half metres wide, containing the lifeboat mounted on a trolley, which allows it to be transported quickly to the vicinity of the ship in distress and to be launched on all beaches and in all weathers. All the life-saving equipment and first aid boxes for drowning victims are also housed in these houses. There is the Delvigne mooring line carrier, which has already rendered and will continue to render such great services. The problem solved by Mr. Delvigne consists of launching wooden or metal mooring arrows from the coast to the ship in distress, using three types of firearms, rifles or muskets from the customs, perrier or espingole, depending on the size of the rope and the distance from the ship, thus allowing the shipwrecked vessel to be brought to the coast. Finally, the society, under the active impulse of Admiral Rigault de Genouilly, so well assisted by the devotion of M. de Criscnoy, is doing its utmost to hasten the creation of new stations, and, before long, if public charity continues to support it, on all the coasts of France and Algeria, the life of the sailor will be protected against the fortune of the sea; but lifeboats and life-saving appliances are expensive; they must be kept in good condition and trained crews must be provided for. For a single boat, fifteen thousand francs are necessary. Let the numerous visitors, attracted by curiosity to the shelter house on the bank of the Seine, not forget the trunk placed there, under the guard of a quartermaster of the Imperial Navy; the humblest offering will be the most welcome, and who knows if the widow's obeisance, by allowing the boat to be sent earlier to one of the designated points on the coast, will not save the life of the sailor in distress?

If you are ever curious to visit the depths of the waters and penetrate the mysteries of the sea, the Champ de Mars Exhibition provides you with all the means to do so. - Our drawing shows you these multiple devices with the help of which one walks in the company of fish, hunting for shells, tearing sponges and coral from the rock where they are attached; and, when the night becomes too dark, when you want to penetrate into some cave, to search its recesses, the double current of air lamp of M. Cabirol, fed by a special air pump, will give you a brilliant light.

The main devices exhibited are those of Mr. Cabirol, and of Mr. Rouquavrol-Denayrouse. M. Cabirol is the well-known manufacturer of the diving suit and, by the perfection of his products, has been able to earn the confidence of the navy and the trade, which now employs them for coral fishing: but their operation is often delicate, and requires trained men. The Rouquayrol-Denavrouse apparatus which operates every day before the eyes of the public, in this large iron tower, filled with water, where the divers descend and remain for long hours, seems destined for a very bright future. It allows the employment of the first sailor who comes, provided he is in good health; for thanks to the regulating tank which forms an important part of this system, breathing is easy and the air is always fresh. - This is how the French Navy's battleship ram, the Taureau, was able to completely clean its hull with only the help of its crew in one hundred and nine hours of underwater work.

There is no telling where the improvements and inventions will end. Another effort, and one will spend one's hours of rest at the bottom of the sea, as one is now going to take the freshness in these delightful boats, which Mr. Searle and Son of Lambeth, in London, exhibit on the English pontoon. You may safely choose from these ten or twelve different models. - If, however, you are not a skilful swimmer, a first-rate gymnast, or a remarkable balancing act, beware of some of them, which seem to be cut like fish and made to glide on the water, and even in the water, if the person who rides them loses his centre of gravity for a second. Do you want a wherry, a skiff, a funny, an out-rigger or a skiff? Everything is of a stinging solidity, witness this little Rob-roy, the glorious walnut shell which has carried its master over all the rivers of Europe, from the Thames to the Sambre, the Meuse, the Rhine, the Danube, the Reuss, the Aar, the Ill, the Moselle, the Meurthe, the Marne, the Seine and coming to admire its glorious scars here.

England has only one steam boat, all the other boats belong to Sweden, Belgium and France, and are assembled near the Egyptian Dahabia, against the French bank. - There are gathered together the Vauban, the canoe of the Forges et Chantiers de la Méditerranée, which the other day won the first prize in the international regatta, the steamers, the Sophie, an elegant Swedish boat worthy of the second grand prize, her sister the Mathilde, fine, elegant and cheerful like her, the Éole of M. Durène, the Mouche, belonging to the French company, and the M. Mourinho. It was a great pleasure to see the "Sophie", an elegant Swedish steamer worthy of the second prize, her sister the "Mathilde", fine, elegant and graceful like her, the "Éole" of Mr. Durène, the "Mouche", belonging to Prince Napoleon, and the "Fille des ondes" (Habléany), a pretty paddle-steamer with the power of six horses, which left from Pesth to come up the Danube and the rivers of Germany and France, to the Paris Exhibition.

Nothing can paint the animation and gaiety of this river, criss-crossed from minute to minute by the Mouches and the large boats going to Meudon and Saint-Cloud. - The curious, very surprised by these marine devices to which their eyes are not accustomed, are interested in all these unknown instruments, which speak to them of a new world, and stop in front of the nets of Broquant et Cie of Dunkerque, the fishing devices of Dérieu Camus of Paimpol, or the luminous globe of H. Dubois, of Nantes, which is lowered to the bottom of the water to attract fish. The Exhibition of French boating, so well organised by Mr. Benoît Champy, arouses admiration. Finally, there is an abundant harvest at the water's edge, for those who want to learn, and for those who want to be entertained. On your way to the World's Fair, don't fail to go there, and you won't regret the time spent on this charming errand.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Matériel de sauvetage et Navigation de plaisance

Matériel de sauvetage et Navigation de plaisance à l'exposition de Paris 1867

En 1824, Thomas Wilson, membre du parlement anglais, fondait la première société de sauvetage : mais l’institution nouvelle ne prit tout son développement qu’en 1849, sous l’énergique et charitable impulsion du prince Albert et du duc de Northumberland. Grâce au progrès de l’art des constructions navales, le concours ouvert en 1852 eut pour résultat un modèle d’embarcation insubmersible, se redressant d’elle-même et se vidant en quelques secondes lorsque la mer l’avait remplie, bientôt de nombreux sauvetages, en démontrant l’utilité de l’œuvre, encouragèrent la bienfaisance publique et contribuèrent beaucoup au développement de l’institution, qui ne tarda point à étendre ses ramifications dans les comtés. Le 24 avril 1860, une charte royale consacrait, sous le nom de Royal national life boat institution, cette œuvre si éminemment utile qui possède maintenant cent quatre-vingt-huit bateaux de sauvetage, deux cent trente-neuf appareils porte-amarres, cent quatre-vingt-une stations approvisionnées de lignes, de boîtes de secours et de sept cent quatre-vingt-douze ceintures de sauvetage.

Jusqu’en 1861, on ne s’occupa point en France des sauvetages, mais à cette époque le ministre des travaux publics provoqua la formation d’une commission mixte qui décida la création de deux cent vingt-trois stations, dont soixante-quatorze munies d’embarcations, et la formation de trente-cinq sociétés locales. Une société centrale, indispensable pour stimuler et vivifier tous les éléments de l’œuvre, ne tarda point à se constituer sous la protection de S. M. l’Impératrice, et par les soins de M. Behic et de l’amiral Rigault de Genouilly, nommé président. Un décret impérial du 17 novembre 1865 la reconnaissait comme établissement d’utilité publique, et, à la fin de l’année 1866, vingt-trois stations étaient achevées, onze autres en voie de formation.

Les stations sont toutes établies sur le même type, reproduit très-exactement sur la berge de la Seine, à l’Exposition du Champ de Mars. Elles se composent d’une maison-abri de douze mètres de long sur cinq mètres soixante de large, renfermant le canot de sauvetage monté sur un chariot, qui permet de le transporter rapidement à proximité du navire en détresse et de le lancer sur toutes les plages et par tous les temps. Tous les engins de sauvetage et les boîtes de secours pour les noyés sont également réunis dans ces maisons. Là se trouve le porte-amarre Delvigne, qui a rendu déjà et qui rendra encore de si grands services. On sait, en effet, que le problème résolu par M. Delvigne consiste à lancer de la côte au navire en détresse, à l’aide de trois espèces de bouches à feu, carabines ou mousquetons de la douane, perrier ou espingole, selon la grosseur de la corde et la distance où se trouve le navire, des flèches porte-amarres en bois ou en métal qui permettent ainsi d’établir un va-et-vient du bâtiment naufragé à la côte. La société, enfin, sous l’active impulsion de l’amiral Rigault de Genouilly, si bien secondé par le dévouement de M. de Criscnoy, ne néglige rien pour hâter la création de stations nouvelles, et, avant peu d’années, si la bienfaisance publique continue à la soutenir, sur toutes les côtes de France et d’Algérie, la vie du matelot sera protégée contre la fortune de la mer; mais les canots et les engins de sauvetage coûtent cher; il faut les maintenir en bon état et pourvoir à l’entretien d’équipages exercés. Pour une seule embarcation, quinze mille francs sont nécessaires. Que les nombreux visiteurs, attirés par la curiosité dans la maison-abri de la berge de la Seine, n’oublient donc pas le tronc déposé là, sous la garde d’un quartier-maître de la marine impériale; la plus humble offrande sera la bien accueillie, et qui sait si l’obole de la veuve, en permettant d’envoyer plus tôt l’embarcation sur un des points désignés du littoral, ne sauvera pas la vie du matelot en détresse?

Si vous êtes jamais curieux de visiter les profondeurs des eaux et de pénétrer les mystères de la mer, l’Exposition du Champ de Mars vous en fournit tous les moyens. — Notre dessin vous montre ces appareils multiples à l’aide desquels on se promène en compagnie des poissons, faisant la chasse au coquillage, arrachant les éponges et le corail du rocher- où ils sont attachés ; et, quand la nuit se fait trop noire, lorsque vous voudrez pénétrer dans quelque grotte, en fouiller les recoins, la lampe à double courant d’air de M. Cabirol, alimentée par une pompe à air spécial, vous donnera une lumière éclatante.

Les principaux appareils exposés sont ceux de M. Cabirol, et de M. Rouquavrol-Denayrouse. M. Cabirol est le constructeur bien connu du scaphandre et, par la perfection de ses produits, a su mériter la confiance de la. marine et du commerce qui les emploie maintenant pour la pêche du corail : mais leur manœuvre est souvent délicate, et demande des hommes exercés. L’appareil Rouquayrol-Denavrouse qui fonctionne chaque jour sous les yeux du public, dans cette grande tour de fer, remplie d’eau, où les plongeurs descendent et stationnent durant de longues heures, paraît appelé à un très-brillant avenir. Il permet d’employer le premier matelot venu, pourvu qu’il soit d’une bonne santé; car grâce au réservoir régulateur qui forme une partie importante de ce système, la respiration est aisée et l’air est toujours frais. — C’est ainsi qu’en cent neuf heures de travail sous l’eau le bélier cuirassé de la marine française, le Taureau, a pu complètement nettoyer sa carène, à l’aide seule de son équipage.

L’on ne sait vraiment où s’arrêteront les perfectionnements et les inventions. Encore un effort, et, l’on ira passer ses heures de repos au fond de la mer, comme maintenant l’on s’en va prendre le frais dans ces ravissantes embarcations, que M. Searle et Son de Lambeth, à Londres, exposent sur le ponton anglais. Vous pouvez choisir en toute sûreté parmi ces dix ou douze modèles différents. — Si pourtant vous n’êtes pas un habile nageur, un gymnaste de première force, un remarquable équilibriste, méfiez-vous de quelques-unes, qui semblent taillées comme des poissons et laites pour glisser sur l’eau, et même dans l’eau, si celui qui les monte, perd durant une seconde le centre de gravité. Voulez-vous un wherry, un skiff un funny un out-Rigger ou une yole? Tout est d’une solidité raie, témoin ce petit Rob-roy, la glorieuse coquille de noix qui a porté son maître sur toutes les rivières et fleuves de l’Europe, allant de la Tamise à la Sambre, la Meuse, le Rhin, le Mein, le Danube, la Reuss, l’Aar, l'Ill, la Moselle, la Meurthe, la Marne, la Seine et venant-faire admirer ici ses glorieuses cicatrices.

L’Angleterre n’a qu’une embarcation à vapeur, toutes les autres chaloupes appartiennent à la Suède, à la Belgique et à la France, et sont rassemblées près de la Dahabié égyptienne, contre la berge française. — Là se trouvent réunis, le Vauban, le canot des forges et chantiers de la Méditerranée, qui a remporté l’autre jour le premier prix aux régates internationales, des chaloupes à vapeur, la Sophie, élégante suédoise bien digne du deuxième grand prix, sa sœur la Mathilde, fine, élégante et accorte comme elle, l'Éole de M. Durène, la Mouche, appartenant au prince Napoléon, et la Fille des ondes (Habléany) coquet bateau à aubes de la force de six chevaux, parti de Pesth pour venir, en remontant le Danube et les fleuves de l’Allemagne et de la France, à l’Exposition de Paris.

Rien ne saurait peindre l’animation et la gaieté de ce fleuve sillonné de minutes en minutes par les Mouches et les grands bateaux allant à Meudon et à Saint-Cloud. — Les curieux, très-étonnés de ces engins de marine auxquels leurs regards ne sont point, accoutumés, s’intéressent à tous ces instruments inconnus, qui leur parlent d’un monde nouveau, et s’arrêtent devant les filets de Broquant et Cie de Dunkerque, les appareils pour la pêche de Dérieu Camus de Paimpol, ou le globe lumineux de H. Dubois, de Nantes, que l’on descend au fond des eaux pour attirer les poissons. L’Exposition de la navigation de plaisance française, si bien organisée par M. Benoît Champy, excite les admirations. Enfin, il y a là au bord de l’eau, pour ceux qui veulent s’instruire, et pour ceux qui veulent se distraire, une moisson abondante. En allant à l’Exposition universelle, ne manquez pas de vous y rendre, et vous ne regretterez pas le temps consacré à cette course charmante.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée