International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Indian Shawl Kiosk

Indian Shawl Kiosk at the Exhibition Paris 1867

A charming kiosk, modestly hidden in one of the shadiest groves of the Parc du Champ de Mars, contains the fantastically rich fabrics that are made in Kashmyr.

The architect who built it is a talented man whose abilities have often been used at the Universal Exhibition, abilities that have just been recognised by a promotion to the Legion of Honour.

To quote M. Hochereau is to praise his work; it is to sum up the science of style and the grace of design.

The tasteful exhibitors who gave such an artist the mission of creating a frame suitable for surrounding the sparkling designs of Indian fabrics are called Messrs Frainais and Gramagnac.

But why did they bury one of the most beautiful private exhibitions in a corner of the Park? We address this question to the Imperial Commission, and, in order to guide the visitor as well as to repair this little defect in classification, let us quickly say that this kiosk is situated near the perimeter of the Palais, in the Champagne alley near the workers' house.

The supporters of Lyon's industry who, moved by their patriotism, cast an envious glance at the marvels made by Indian weavers, exalting the superiority of French industry, often wonder why French importers place so high a value on foreign arts. Beauty has no homeland, or rather it is at home everywhere; the power of our machines, the skilful mechanisms of our looms are certainly capable of producing such beautiful things, but here a question of price arises which certainly has its importance, and which would have a much more considerable one without the intervention of heavy customs tariffs.

What does it matter? Let us take advantage of the gifts of nature; and nature makes these pretty little goats grow in India, of which we see a few samples in the Garden of Acclimatization; their long, silky hair protects a fine down which is used for making shawls. It is true that one can try to acclimatise them in France; but what cannot be acclimatised are these workers, unique in the world, who are dressed by the climate itself, fed with a little rice, satisfied with a minimal salary, if one can apply this word to a sum of 20 centimes per day, and who from generation to generation pass on to each other, in front of the same looms and in front of the same processes, the art of weaving shawls pushed to perfection.

The superiority of India has always been recognised, from the Romans, who, according to Pliny, brought them fifty million sesterces every year, to the present day, when modern sesterces amount to millions even more.

A shawl from India, which can be bought for 2000 francs in the valley of Kashmyr, would cost no less than 25 to 30,000 francs to make in France. Now, here is how it is done: women spin the down of Kashmyrian goats; the yarn is then delivered to the dyer who gives it, with the help of processes that are naive by dint of their simplicity, and of which we have no idea in France, the splendid colours whose solidity and richness we admire.

The weaver arrives and executes the design given to him; each weaver makes a piece of shawl; then a contractor, who must lack neither taste nor talent, has the most skilful workers assemble the different parts which then form the whole shawl.

The finished shawl is dry-cleaned, coated with rice glue, and then delivered to the European buyer who has directed its manufacture.

MESSRS. Frainais and Gramagnac, who have exhibited shawls of an admirable variety of designs, some of which are embellished with gold embroidery of unprecedented delicacy, have their workshops in a large centre of the Punjab, at Umritsir; In another part of the Palace, they also exhibit laces of great beauty, whose factories are located in Alençon, Bayeux and Brussels; they thus bring together the most delicate types of fabric, and for the execution of which it is necessary to combine the power of industry with the inspirations of art.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Kiosque des Châles indiens

Kiosque des Châles indiens à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Un kiosque charmant, modestement caché dans un des bosquets les plus ombreux du Parc du Champ de Mars, renferme les tissus d’une richesse fantastique qui se fabriquent à Kashmyr.

L’architecte qui l’a construit est un homme de talent dont l’Exposition universelle a souvent employé les capacités, capacités qu’on vient de reconnaître par une promotion dans la Légion d’honneur.

Citer M. Hochereau, c’est faire l’éloge de son œuvre; c’est résumer la science du style et la grâce du dessin.

Les exposants de goût qui ont donné à un tel artiste la mission de créer un cadre propre à entourer dignement les dessins étincelants des tissus indiens, se nomment MM. Frainais et Gramagnac.

Mais pourquoi donc avoir ainsi enterré dans un coin du Parc une des plus jolies expositions particulières? Nous adressons cette question à la Commission impériale, et, pour guider le visiteur aussi bien que pour réparer ce petit défaut de classement, disons vite que ce kiosque est situé près du pourtour du Palais, dans l’allée de Champagne à proximité de la maison ouvrière.

Les partisans de l’industrie lyonnaise qui, mus par leur patriotisme, jettent un regard d’envie sur les merveilles fabriquées par les tisseurs indiens, en exaltant la supériorité de l'industrie française, se demandent souvent pourquoi des importateurs français placent si haut dos arts étrangers. Le beau n’a pas de patrie, ou plutôt il est chez lui partout; la puissance de nos machines, les savants mécanismes de nos métiers sont certainement aptes à produire d’aussi belles choses, mais ici se place une question de prix qui a certainement son importance, et qui en aurait une bien plus considérable sans l’intervention des lourds tarifs de douane.

Qu’importe! Profitons des dons de la nature; or la nature fait croître dans l'Inde ces jolies petites chèvres doit nous voyons quelques échantillons au jardin d’acclimatation ; leur poil long et soyeux protège un fin duvet qui sert à la fabrication des châles. On peut, il est vrai, tenter de les acclimater en France; mais ce que l’on ne saurait acclimater, ce sont ces ouvriers uniques au monde qui sont vêtus par le climat lui-même, nourris d’un peu de riz, contents d’un salaire minime, si l’on peut appliquer ce mot à une somme de 20 centimes par jour, et qui de génération en génération se transmettent devant les mêmes métiers et en face des mêmes procédés, l'art poussé à la perfection du tissage des châles.

De tout temps, la supériorité indienne a été reconnue, depuis les Romains qui, au dire de Pline, leur portaient chaque année cinquante millions de sesterces, jusqu’à nos jours où les sesterces modernes se chiffrent par des millions bien plus considérables encore.

Un châle de l’Inde qu’on achète 2000 fr. dans la vallée de Kashmyr, ne coûterait pas moins de 25 à 30 000 francs pour être fabriqué en France. Or, voici comment on procède : des femmes filent le duvet des chèvres kashmyriennes ; le fil est ensuite livré au teinturier qui lui donne, à l’aide de procédés naïfs à force de simplicité, et dont nous n’avons aucune idée en France, les splendides couleurs dont nous admirons la solidité et la richesse.

Arrive le tisserand qui exécute le dessin qu’on lui remet ; chaque tisserand fabrique un morceau de châle ; puis un entrepreneur, qui ne doit manquer ni de goût ni de talent, fait assembler par les ouvriers les plus habiles les différentes parties qui forment ensuite le châle tout entier.

Le châle terminé est nettoyé à sec, enduit d’une colle de riz, et livré ensuite à l’acheteur européen qui en a fait diriger la fabrication.

MM. Frainais et Gramagnac, qui ont exposé des châles d’une variété de dessins admirable, dont quelques-uns sont rehaussés de broderies d’or d’une délicatesse inouïe, ont leurs ateliers dans un grand centre du Punjâb, à Umritsir ; dans une autre partie du Palais, ils exposent aussi des dentelles d’une très-grande beauté, dont les fabriques sont situées à Alençon, Bayeux et Bruxelles ; ils réunissent ainsi les genres de tissus les plus délicats, et pour l’exécution desquels il faut à la puissance de l’industrie allier les inspirations de l’art.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée