International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Tea Flow

Tea Flow at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

The Exhibition of 1867 promised us a specimen in action of all the populations of the globe. The Chinese, coming from further afield, are also the exhibitors who have best complied with the programme. We have already shown how they grow tea: we now show how they sell it.

This does not lend itself to a long description, but only to a nice genre picture, which Mr. Gaildrau's pencil has rendered very well. We must often sacrifice the pleasure of the eyes in the Champ de Mars: the road we are travelling would be too tiring if we did not linger from time to time in the distractions of the journey.

Ah! if, instead of the Chinese selling tea, we had to talk about the lamentable death of the Emperor Maximilian, we would want to glorify the victim in order to better flout the traitor and the executioner!

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Débit de Thé

Débit de Thé à l'exposition de Paris 1867

L’Exposition de 1867 nous avait promis un spécimen en action de toutes les populations du globe. Les Chinois, venant de plus loin, sont aussi les exposants qui se sont le mieux conformés au programme. Nous avons déjà montré comment ils cultivent le thé : nous montrons aujourd’hui comment ils le vendent.

Cela ne prête pas à une longue description, mais seulement à un joli tableau de genre, que le crayon de M. Gaildrau a très-bien rendu. Il faut souvent sacrifier au plaisir des yeux dans le Champ de Mars : la route que nous parcourons serait trop fatigante, si nous ne nous attardions pas de temps à autre aux distractions du voyage.

Ah! si, en place des Chinois qui vendent du thé, nous avions à parler de la mort lamentable de l’empereur Maximilien, nous voudrions glorifier la victime pour mieux flétri; le traître et le bourreau !

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée