International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Imperial Porcelain Factory in St. Petersburg

Imperial Porcelain Factory in St. Petersburg at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1867

Light does not come to us from the north, as Voltaire claimed, but it radiates there and spreads with astonishing ease. The Russians, who in the eyes of many people are considered incorrigible barbarians, are superior to all the peoples of the world in their special ability to appropriate the conquests they have not made. They do not innovate, but they imitate marvellously, and their faculty of assimilation supplements their initiative. Russia had neither Böttcher to discover hard porcelain nor Morin to invent soft porcelain; but as soon as it saw factories established in Meissen and Sèvres, it wanted to have its own, and in 174-4, Peter the Great's daughter, Elisabeth Petrowna, set up the imperial porcelain factory on the banks of the Neva.

Place a stranger unexpectedly in front of the products on display and ask him where they come from. He is almost certain to answer: "from Sèvres. "If he is asked to assign a date, he will hesitate between the Restoration and the reign of Louis-Philippe. Nothing will suggest to him that the models are current, and that they come directly from Saint Petersburg.

In the centre of the sumptuous shelf stands a vase about two metres high, which the catalogue, printed by the Russian commission, refers to as a band vase. It is glittering with gold, the handles curved like a crozier rest on two bull heads; on the band is on one side the portrait of Rubens, on the other his painting of The Abduction of Europa, which is one of the most precious treasures of the Escorial Palace. These copies are largely executed, they have a vigour of tone, which does the greatest honour to the palette of the St Petersburg factory, and to the skill with which it is employed. It was to be feared that such an energetic painting would, so to speak, make a hole in the mass of porcelain; but the artists have succeeded in bringing the surround into harmony with the two paintings. This vase is estimated at six thousand roubles (twenty-four thousand francs).

Another vase, described in the Russian catalogue as a spindle-shaped vase, is decorated with an excellent copy of an interior by Gerard Dow.

The rich palette of St. Petersburg artists is shown in all its brilliance in the copy, on hard porcelain plate, of a Madonna in bust by Murillo. It is a work of powerful colouring, equal to the finest produced by the Sèvres factory during the time it was governed by M. Brongniart, the learned historian of ceramic art.

A soft porcelain cabaret is dedicated to famous lovers: they are gathered, on the plateau, in a garden which must be that of the Champs Elysées dreamed of by paganism. There they meet Dante and Beatrice, Petrarch and Laure, Heloise and Abeilard, Torquato Tasso and Eleanor of Este, Horace and Lydia. We even see the whole novel mingled with history, Saint-Preux and Julie, Desgrieux and Manon Lescaut. Their adventures are reproduced on the vases with a great lightness of touch. Another service is embellished with flowers and garlands, and with small Amours painted in monochrome, which would have been signed by Boucher and Carie Vanloo. The tea and coffee services from the St Petersburg factory take us far away from Russia. On one of them, however, Russian scenes are depicted; but serfs and peasants have received the baptism of emancipation, to the point of having acquired a distinction of bearing, a gentleness of countenance, which they were not supposed to have in the past.

Let us also mention, in painted biscuit, a very curious collection of animals, despite its small size.

Two statuettes, a fruit merchant and a gleaner, have been removed from the shelf of the imperial manufactory, and placed next to the exhibits by Mr. Paul Gardner of Verbilh, Dmitrow district, Moscow government. Did they come from his workshops, or from the imperial workshops? That we cannot decide; but in any case, they are in good taste, and free from the gaudy shades that so often mar the figures.

The imperial factory of St. Petersburg employs two hundred and thirty workers, and produces annually for a sum of one hundred thousand roubles (4 00 000 fr). It draws the raw materials it needs from various parts of Russia. The kaolin is found near the village of Gjel, in the government of Moscow, and at Glukhow, in the government of Chernigow. The Olonetz and Novogorod mines provide fireclay; feldspar and quartz come from Finland.

The State Customs Administration of the Tauride Government, with its headquarters in Simferopol, sent pottery made by the Crimean Tartars to the 1867 Exhibition. Caucasian pottery was collected by the Tiflis Agricultural Society. Both serve to demonstrate that the taste for ceramics is innate, and that it is susceptible of rapid development, even among peoples who have stopped* at a lower degree of civilisation.

The rich candelabra which spreads its branches beside the Russian porcelains is a monolith of rhodonite marble, called in Russian oretza. The branches are made of gilt bronze.

Our readers are familiar with the beautiful Roman mosaics and Florentine furniture, the ebony of which is enriched with inlays representing strawberries, cherries, currants and branches of fruit trees. Russia competes with Rome and Florence. The imperial mosaic establishment in St. Petersburg has executed mosaics of a grandiose character based on the cartoons of Professor Neff. Under the active and enlightened direction of Mr. Jafimowitch, the imperial factory in Péterhof has created cupboards and sideboards that are second only to those of the Italian factories. This is further proof of the ability to assimilate that we mentioned at the beginning of this article.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Manufacture impériale de porcelaines à Saint-Pétersbourg

Manufacture impériale de porcelaines à Saint-Pétersbourg à l'exposition de Paris 1867

La lumière ne nous vient pas du nord, comme le prétendait Voltaire, mais elle y rayonne et s’y propage avec une étonnante facilité. Les Russes qui passent aux yeux de bien des gens pour d’incorrigibles barbares, l’emportent sur tous les peuples du monde par une aptitude spéciale à s’approprier les conquêtes qu’ils n’ont pas faites. Ils n’innovent point, mais ils imitent à merveille, et leur faculté d’assimilation suppléée à l’initiative. La Russie n’a eu ni Böttcher pour découvrir la porcelaine dure, ni Morin pour inventer la porcelaine tendre; mais dès qu’elle a vu des fabriques s’établir à Meissen et à Sèvres, elle a voulu avoir la sienne, et en 174-4, la fille de Pierre le Grand, Élisabeth Petrowna, installait sur les bords de la Néva la manufacture impériale de porcelaine.

Placez à l’improviste un étranger devant les produits qu’elle expose, et demandez-lui d’où ils proviennent. Il est presque certain qu’il répondra : « de Sèvres. » Si on l’invite à en assigner la date, il hésitera entre la Restauration et le règne de Louis-Philippe. Rien ne lui suggérera l’idée que les modèles sont actuels, et qu’ils arrivent en droite ligne de Saint-Pétersbourg.

Au centre de la somptueuse étagère s’élève un vase d’environ deux mètres de hauteur, que le catalogue, imprimé par les soins de la commission russe, désigne sous le nom de vase en forme de bandeau. Il est étincelant d’or, les anses recourbées en crosse reposent sur deux têtes de taureau ; sur le bandeau est d’un côté le portrait de Rubens, de l’autre son tableau de Y Enlèvement d’Europe, qui est un des plus précieux trésors du palais de l’Escurial. Ces copies sont largement exécutées, elles ont une vigueur de ton, qui fait le plus grand honneur à la palette de la manufacture de Saint-Pétersbourg, et à l’habileté avec laquelle elle est employée. Il était à craindre qu’une peinture aussi énergique ne fît pour ainsi dire un trou dans la masse de porcelaine do-rée; mais les artistes ont su mettre l’entourage en harmonie avec les deux tableaux. Ce vase est estimé six mille roubles (vingt-quatre mille francs).

Un autre vase qualifié par le catalogue russe de vase en forme de fuseau, est orné d’une excellente copie d’un intérieur de Gérard Dow.

La riche palette des artistes de Saint-Pétersbourg se montre, avec tout son éclat, dans la copie, sur plaque de porcelaine dure, d’une madone en buste de Murillo. C’est une œuvre d’un coloris puissant, égale aux plus belles qu’ait produites la manufacture de Sèvres, du temps où elle était gouvernée par M. Brongniart, le savant historien de l’art céramique.

Un cabaret en porcelaine tendre est dédié aux amoureux célèbres : ils sont réunis, sur le plateau, dans un jardin qui doit être celui des Champs élyséens rêvés par le paganisme. Là se rencontrent le Dante et Béatrice, Pétrarque et Laure, Héloïse et Abeilard, Torquato Tasso et Eléonore d’Este, Horace et Lydie. On y voit même tout le roman se mêler à l'histoire, Saint-Preux et Julie, Desgrieux et Manon Lescaut. Leurs aventures sont reproduites sur les vases avec une grande légèreté de touche. Un autre service est enjolivé de fleurs et de guirlandes, et de petits Amours peints en camaïeu, qu’aurait signés Boucher et Carie Vanloo. Les services à thé et à café de la manufacture de Saint-Pétersbourg, nous transportent bien loin de la Russie. Sur l’un d'eux pourtant sont représentés des scènes russes; mais serfs et paysans ont reçu le baptême de l’émancipation, au point d’avoir acquis une distinction d’allures, une douceur de physionomie, qu’ils ne devaient pas avoir jadis.

Citons encore, en biscuit peint, une collection très-curieuse d’animaux, malgré l’exiguïté de ses dimensions.

Deux statuettes, un marchand de fruits et une glaneuse, ont été enlevés de l’étagère de la manufacture impériale, et placés à ôté des objets exposés par M. Paul Gardner de Verbilh, district de Dmitrow, gouvernement de Moscou. Sortent-ils de ses ateliers, ou des ateliers impériaux? C’est ce que nous ne saurions décider; mais quoi qu’il en soit, ils sont de bon goût, et exempts des nuances criardes qui déparent si souvent les figurines.

La manufacture impériale de Saint-Pétersbourg occupe deux cent trente ouvriers, et produit annuellement pour une somme de cent mille roubles (4 00 000 fr). Elle tire de diverses parties delà Russie les matières premières qui lui sont nécessaires. Le kaolin se trouve près du village de Gjel, dans le gouvernement de Moscou, et à Glukhow, dans le gouvernement de Tchernigow. Ceux d'Olonetz et de Novogorod fournissent l’argile réfractaire ; le feldspath et le quartz viennent de la Finlande.

L’administration des douanes de l’État du gouvernement de Tauride, dont le siège est Simféropol, a envoyé à l’Exposition de 1867, des poteries fabriquées par les Tartares de Crimée. Des poteries caucasiennes ont été recueillies par la société agricole de Tiflis. Les unes et les autres servent à démontrer que le goût de la céramique est inné, et qu’il est susceptible d’un prompt développement, même chez les peuples qui se sont arrêtés* à un degré inférieur de civilisation.

Le riche candélabre qui étend ses rameaux auprès des porcelaines russes est un monolithe de marbre rhodonite, appelé en langue russe oretza. Les branches sont en bronze doré.

Nos lecteurs connaissent les belles mosaïques romaines et les meubles florentins dont l’ébène est enrichi d’incrustations qui représentent des fraises, des cerises, des groseilles, des branches d’arbres fruitiers. La Russie rivalise avec Rome et Florence. L’établissement impérial de mosaïques à Saint-Pétersbourg a exécuté, d’après les cartons du professeur Neff, des mosaïques qui ont un caractère grandiose. Sous la direction active et éclairée de M. Jafimowitch, la fabrique impériale de Péterhof a créé des armoires et des buffets qui ne le cèdent en rien à ceux des fabriques italiennes. C’est une preuve de plus de la faculté d’assimilation que nous signalions au commencement de cet article.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée