International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

Italy

Italy at the Exhibition Paris 1867

Italy found herself in the most unfavourable conditions to prepare for the great international competition of 1867. During the first years of its new existence, a foreign army encamped in Veneto, and the difficulties caused by the sudden changes in the Peninsula, had not left it with the security indispensable for the development of industry and enterprise; and in 1866, at the last moments, the war held the country's destiny in abeyance. If, therefore, despite some shortcomings, the Italian Exhibition is remarkable, it is undoubtedly due to the vitality of the race, to the prodigious wealth of a land favoured above all others, and to that creative faculty which seems to be a particular gift of its inhabitants. In no country is the link between art and industry, the fusion of these two elements and the tendency of the worker to raise and ennoble matter, so marked; and, after having admired the statues filling the great gallery which separates the Palais du. After admiring the statues that fill the great gallery separating the Kingdom of Italy from the Empire of Russia, after passing through the elegant porticoes designed by the architect Cipolla and covered with arabesques and graceful ornaments by the Roman painter Samodjia, you will understand, as you pass through the halls and see the individual effort shown in each product, the future that awaits Italy, when the collective action it still lacks and the unity of impulse will be given to it entirely.

The present generation, whose twenties are beginning to claim their share of active life, and whose habits do not tie them to the old state of things, is destined to complete the work of national unity, at the very moment when the piercing of the Suez Isthmus brings back to the ports of Italy the commercial movement of Asia which once enriched it. There is, however, a long way to go from the present situation to that which existed in 1859, and from the 1472 kilometres of railways, almost all concentrated in the north, to the 4840 kilometres which now radiate outwards and link the most distant parts to a common centre. 13,986 kilometres of telegraph wires are at the service of commerce, and the ceaseless flow of electricity, transmitting from one end of the Peninsula to the other movement and life, will soon complete the transformation so happily begun, all the elements of which are to be found together at the Exhibition Palace. The arts, industry and the earth show their splendour and wealth there in turn.

In the first gallery, Vela's Last Days of Napoleon I, which attracts and holds the crowd, Dupré's admirable Piety, Miglioretti's Charlotte Corday and the Neapolitan Kid, Barzachi's Phryne, Pierre Magni's Reader, Lazzerini's Innocence, Tabacchi's Ugo Foscolo, The Vanity of Tantardini, and so many others, which should be mentioned in this collection of works of rare merit, worthily uphold the ancient fame of Italian sculpture, and one finds it difficult to leave this beautiful spectacle to seek out the hard work of industry and, to pass, without transition, from the anatomical preparations of Dr. Brunetti, professor at the University of Padua, - true masterpieces which have earned him, if we are to believe the indiscretions of the grand jury, a great prize, but which are no less for the profane than for those who are not consumed by the sacred fire of science, to the graceful and elegant jewels of Castellani, or to the cellular magnaneries of Dr. del Prino, who contains these poor worms and raises them in isolation to the great advantage, it seems, of silk production.

Printing and bookselling are in the forefront of the liberal arts, and although Italian printers are far from the fame of their predecessors and no longer undertake those great and beautiful publications, which in the fifteenth century made the name of the Venetian Helpers illustrious among all, the name of the Helpers of Venice, there are in Italy not less than six hundred typographers, employing from eight to ten thousand workers, and having together more than two thousand presses from which a great number of editions of good authors have come out, very correct and remarkable for the extreme modesty of their prices. The Monnier of Florence presents several remarkable copies, and the publisher Edouard Sonzogno of Milan, exhibits specimens of some of the illustrated newspapers he publishes. Next door, the Mechitarist Fathers of St. Lazarus in Venice show us the Armenian translation of the Emperor's life of Julius Caesar. The printing is beautiful and worthy of this renowned establishment. The parchments of Foligno, Arpino and Salmona in the ancient kingdom of Naples, which are almost all sold in Rome, form a singular contrast with the endless papers of modern factories; but as long as Rome is the sovereign city of Catholicism, Foligno and Salmona will see the sale of their products maintained, for in the eternal city traditions are preserved unchanged.

Some parts of Italy, and sometimes the wildest, have remained faithful to certain industries; and the harmonic strings, the manufacture of which was introduced into France, about 1766 by a Neapolitan workman named Savarese, are still the heritage of the villages of Abruzzi. Bologna and Venice still make masks of a thousand different shapes that are exported all over the world. Florence has kept the deserved reputation earned by the skill of its wood carvers and the talent with which workers, or rather true artists, execute these mosaics in hard stone which form admirable paintings. The Last Supper of Emmaus, sent by the royal factory, and the tables and other works of Bosi, give interesting models of these products, worthy in every respect of the work done in the sixteenth century under Grand Duke Ferdinand I. - The carved frames by Giusli, Aegisto Gaiani and Diotisalvi Dolce should be viewed with care. The same room contains furniture in ivory and ebony of great effect, such as that of Louis Antoni and Jean Brambilla, from Milan, and Luigi Annoni. The carved wooden sideboard by Nicodemus Ferri and Charles Bartolozzi, from Siena, deserves special mention, as does the ivory reproduction of the Fountain of Jaia, by Giusti, and the Triumph of Themis, an ivory bas-relief by Gaetano Scotti.

Let's talk about the filigree goldsmith's art of Emile Forte. Everyone who has passed through Genoa has been tempted by the Rue des Orfèvres, and now the most graceful models of this gold and silver foam are coming to seduce and provoke the desire of buyers. Fortunately, at the Palais de l'Exposition, temptation fights temptation, for there is no lack of it; one even meets the most ruinous of all, the one that reason invokes, the temptation of the cheap, and would you not feel it, when you see these straw gloves from the factory in Naples at fourteen francs a dozen in lambskin, and at seventeen francs in kid? The hats made from this Tuscan straw, famous among all the straws in the world, are nearby, and when you see these pieces so fine you cannot believe that they have come from the fingers of a peasant woman who has woven them with the March wheat sown on purpose. Before the wheat is ripe, the straw has been cut and then left for a few days exposed to the dew in order to whiten it, then it is put into sheaves; the ears are removed, the strands are matched by means of a very ingenious machine, and soon it is transformed into these fabrics (for it is difficult to use any other expression) which reach, according to the degree of fineness, very high prices.

As for the products of the Marquis Ginori's factory, one of the glories of Tuscany, the beauty of the work justifies the praise they receive. The boxes with figures in relief, imitation of the famous factory of Capo-di-Monte in Naples, the large bas-reliefs, the copy of the ancient faiences of Faenza and Urbino, have renewed these manufactures and proved, like the mosaics and the Venetian glasses of the Salviati knight, placed in the same room, that an energetic will supported by science and by taste, manages to overcome all difficulties.

Venice owes to the knight Salviati the rebirth of one of its most justly famous industries. The manufacture of pearls, which were exported to Africa and the Indies, had always been preserved, but that of blown glass and mosaics had disappeared. Seeing these chandeliers, these girandoles, the glasses and the cups of a thousand shapes of an airy lightness, made only two months ago, who would not take them for those pieces taken from an old collection that amateurs fight for at a high price. In addition to all their beauty, they have the rare merit of being modestly priced and within everyone's reach.

I wish I could say the same about the jewellery exhibited by the famous goldsmith Castellani. There are necklaces and earrings, bracelets and rings, tiaras, of the purest style and an elegance that nothing can equal, but, alas! the price he attaches to all the objects that come out of his hands is so great, that only the richest can afford this almost royal luxury. Alongside these splendours, Italy has wished to prove the extent to which taste has been preserved in her countryside, and she exhibits the silver and gold ornaments which the peasant women of the various provinces still wear. - They are there, those silver balls and pins which shine like stars in the black hair of the women of the vicinity of Verceil and Novara, the large gold necklaces of the Roman countryside, the large earrings which accompany so well the brightly coloured costume of that superb race of women who are to be found in the Marche, in the vicinity of Loreto. Each of these jewels of the peasant woman could serve as the subject of a long story, for most of these women are beautiful and each of these races has a physiognomy which is quite particular to it. - It is a happy idea to have brought together this curious ensemble, and the public proves it by always crowding to this showcase, while it neglects other objects of greater price, but which are far from having the same character.

The streams of silk in the same room, the white and the yellow, golden like ripe wheat, also attract them. Accustomed to seeing the fabric woven and ready to be transformed into a garment of a thousand colours, according to the shade with which it has pleased the manufacturer to clothe it, the women of the North remain astonished and surprised in front of these threads with their brilliant reflections, so supple and so strong, which are in themselves an elegance. Before the disease which has been raging for several years among silkworms, their harvest was a real manna for the whole country. In a fortnight, without changing the other products of the land, silkworm rearing brought in more than two hundred million for the peasants and landlords who generally shared the product. - Since the disease, the harvest has fallen to eighty millions; but the mulberry trees are still numerous, and, as last year the native breeds succeeded better than the seeds of foreign importation, it is hoped to see the disease disappear within a few years, and this production, the most fruitful for the country, resume its original activity. It is to Roger, King of Sicily, that Italy owes the introduction of silkworms in 140. After the conquest of Athens, he brought to Sicily from Greece, where the art of rearing silkworms, brought from China, had been introduced under Justinian, around the year 525 A.D., and had been preserved as a secret for seven centuries, seeds of silkworms and a few hundred workers from Pagan; they soon passed to Calabria and to several Italian cities. In 1400 Florence had large silk factories, and soon Europe was dependent on Italy. Her factories have since had to give up the struggle with the factories of France, Switzerland, Germany, and England; but she now prepares the greater part of the silks which she formerly shipped in the raw state, and the local industry derives great benefit from them. - Cotton has also been in recent years the source of a very considerable movement of business in the southern provinces, amounting to over sixty millions annually.

The subterranean products, those of the interior of the soil, are no less important for Italy than the fruits of the earth: In some provinces the breeding of cattle and pigs, whose quality is equal to that of the most renowned breeds, provides for local consumption and for export those famous cured meats Coppe or Capocolli (selected parts of the shoulder or thigh), sausages from Milan, Florence, Verona and Ferrara, Mortadella from Bologna, Coteghini, Zamponi, Cappelletti from Modena, so sought after by gourmets. - As they have been more neglected up to now, the results will be all the more considerable, and on many points will provoke profound changes. There are buried treasures in the Apennines and in southern Italy, which await only arms and capital to become a new source of wealth. Some of these mines have already been exploited. The sulphur of Romagna and Sicily, the copper, lignite and soffioni (bellows) of Tuscany, whose volcanic vapours produce the boric acid so much sought after by commerce, the peat which, treated by a process of compression and drying, is already replacing, in many industries, the very expensive English coal; The marbles, whose beauty and infinite variety are now in demand all over Europe, and which benefit from the ease of the present modes of transport; the iron mines of Sardinia and Elba; the silver lead; the cast iron and irons so remarkable in Lombardy; the oil which is beginning to be exploited in the vicinity of Parma and in the Abruzzi, near Chieti, from which a very active and intelligent industrialist, M. Ribighini, has already succeeded in exploiting it. Ribighini, who has already succeeded in extracting excellent products, are represented in the machine gallery by samples which should be a subject of study for scientists, economists and businessmen, who, from different points of view, can draw valuable lessons from them. The results of their examination will not be in doubt, for the Italian soil contains all the riches that work and willpower can wrest from it.

One cannot leave Italy without mentioning the gigantic hemp plants of the Romagna region, sometimes five metres high; the cheeses of Lombardy and the oils whose trade is so considerable in the southern provinces and in the Genoa river. Milan, Lodi, Pavia, Cremona, Mantua, exchange nearly seventy-five million francs in butter and cheese, the most famous of which, without doubt, Parmesan, known throughout the world, is made only in the part of the territory subject to irrigation.

When better manufacturing processes have made the excellent wines of Piedmont and the light vintages of the Romagna region transportable, where in certain years a litre of wine, produced by the great vines which run and entwine themselves along the trees placed at the edge of each field, sells for barely two sous, Northern Italy will see its vineyards, like Sicily, become the object of considerable export to foreign countries. - Finally, Italy has a coastline larger than England itself, and a population of 16,000 fishermen who engage in small-scale fishing with 9,522 boats of 29,976 tons. When, in addition, a fleet is sent out to search for coral every year, with profits amounting to nearly nine million francs, one has the right to consider the sea as a heritage that should give children the same resources that it provided for their fathers.

The success of Italy at the Palace of the Universal Exhibition is very remarkable, and we must congratulate Mr. Giordano, who was in charge of the thousand details of such a complex organization, for having been able to carry out his delicate and difficult mission. Little by little, doubts are dissipating, and every day we see the immense resources of a privileged land, which has received from Providence water and sunshine, the two great elements of prosperity, and we appreciate more fairly the important role that the future holds for it.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italie

Italie à l'exposition de Paris 1867

L’Italie s’est trouvée dans les conditions les plus défavorables pour se préparer au grand concours international de 1867. Durant les premières années de son existence nouvelle, une armée étrangère campée en Vénétie, et les difficultés provoquées par les brusques changements survenus dans la Péninsule ne lui avaient point laissé la sécurité indispensable au développement de l’industrie et de l'esprit d’entreprise; et, en 1866, aux derniers moments la guerre tenait en suspens les destinées du pays. Si donc, malgré quelques lacunes, l’Exposition italienne est remarquable, elle le doit incontestablement à la vitalité de la race, à la prodigieuse richesse d’une terre favorisée entre toutes et à cette faculté créatrice qui semble un don particulier de ses habitants. Dans aucun pays le lien entre les arts et l’industrie, la fusion de ces deux éléments et la tendance du travailleur à relever et à ennoblir la matière, n’est aussi marquée ; et, après avoir admiré les statues remplissant la grande galerie qui sépare au Palais du.Champ de Mars le royaume d’Italie de l’empire de Russie, après avoir franchi ces élégants portiques dessinés par l’architecte Cipolla, et couverts d’arabesques et d’ornements pleins de grâce par le peintre romain Samodjia, vous comprenez, en traversant les salles et en constatant l’effort individuel dont témoigne chaque produit, l’avenir réservé à l’Italie, lorsque l’action collective qui lui fait encore défaut et l’unité d’impulsion lui seront entièrement données.

La génération actuelle, celle dont les vingt ans commencent à réclamer sa part de la vie active et que ses habitudes ne rattachent point à l’ancien état de choses, est destinée à compléter ainsi l’œuvre de l’unité nationale, au moment même où le percement de l’isthme de Suez ramène vers les ports d’Italie le mouvement commercial de l’Asie qui l’enrichissait autrefois. Il y a loin cependant déjà de la situation actuelle à celle qui existait en 1859, et des 1472 kilomètres de chemins de fer, presque tous concentrés dans le nord, aux 4840 kilomètres qui rayonnent de toutes parts et relient maintenant les parties les plus éloignées à un centre commun. 13 986 kilomètres de fils télégraphiques sont au service du commerce, et le parcours incessant de l’électricité, transmettant d’une extrémité à l’autre de la Péninsule le mouvement et la vie, achèvera bientôt la transformation si heureusement commencée dont tous les éléments se trouvent réunis au palais de l’Exposition. Les arts, l’industrie, la terre montrent là tour à four leurs splendeurs et leurs richesses.

Dans la première galerie, les Derniers jours de Napoléon Ier de Véla, qui attire et retient la foule, l’admirable Piété de Dupré, la Charlotte Corday et le Gamin napolitain de Miglioretti, la Phryné de Barzachi, la Lectrice de Pierre Magni, l'Innocence de Lazzerini, l'Ugo Foscolo de Tabacchi, la Vanité de Tantardini, et tant d’autres encore, qu’il faudrait citer dans cette réunion d’œuvres d’un rare mérite, soutiennent dignement l’antique renommée de la sculpture italienne, et l’on a peine à quitter ce beau spectacle pour aller chercher les rudes labeurs de l’industrie et, passer, sans transition, des préparations anatomiques du docteur Brunetti, professeur à l’université de Padoue, — véritables chefs-d'œuvre qui lui ont valu, si l’on en croit les indiscrétions du grand jury, un grand prix, mais qui n’en sont pas moins pour les profanes que le feu sacré de la science ne dévore pas, une contemplation des plus sombres, — aux gracieux et élégants bijoux de Castellani ou bien encore aux magnaneries cellulaires du docteur del Prino, qui renferme ces pauvres vers et les élève dans l’isolement au grand avantage, paraît-il, de la production de la soie.

L’imprimerie et la librairie se trouvent aux premiers rangs dans la galerie des arts libéraux, et bien que les imprimeurs italiens soient loin de la célébrité de leurs devanciers et n’entreprennent plus ces grandes et belles publications, qui avaient rendu illustres entre tous, au quinzième siècle, le nom des Aide de Venise, l’on ne compte pas en Italie moins de six cents typographies, occupant de huit à dix mille employés, et ayant ensemble plus de deux mille presses d’où sont sorties un grand nombre d’éditions de bons auteurs, très-correctes et remarquables par l’extrême modicité de leurs prix. Le Monnier de Florence présente plusieurs exemplaires remarquables, et l’éditeur Édouard Sonzogno de Milan, expose des spécimens de quelques-uns des journaux illustrés qu’il publie. Tout à côté, les pères méchitaristes de Saint-Lazare à Venise, nous font voir la traduction en arménien de la vie de Jules César par l’Empereur. L’impression est belle et digne de cet établissement renommé. Les parchemins de Foligno, d’Arpino et Salmona dans l’ancien royaume de Naples, qui se vendent presque , tous à Rome, forment non loin de là un contraste singulier avec les papiers sans fin des fabriques modernes ; mais tant que Rome sera la cité souveraine du catholicisme, Foligno et Salmona verront la vente de leurs produits se maintenir, car dans la ville éternelle les traditions se conservent immuables.

Certaines parties de l’Italie, et les plus sauvages parfois, sont restées fidèles à quelques industries; et les cordes harmoniques, dont la fabrication a été introduite en France, vers 1766 par un ouvrier napolitain nommé Savarese, sont encore le patrimoine des villages des Abruzzes. Bologne et Venise fabriquent toujours des masques de mille formes diverses qui s’exportent dans le monde entier. Florence a conservé le renom mérité que lui ont valu l’habileté de ses sculpteurs en bois et le talent avec lequel des ouvriers, ou plutôt de véritables artistes, exécutent ces mosaïques en pierre dure qui forment d’admirables tableaux. La Cène d'Emmaüs, envoyée par la fabrique royale, et les tables et les autres ouvrages de Bosi, donnent d’intéressants modèles de ces produits dignes en tous points des travaux qui s’exécutaient au seizième siècle, sous le grand-duc Ferdinand Ier. — Les cadres sculptés de Giusli, d’Égiste Gaiani et de Diotisalvi Dolce doivent être regardés avec soin. Cette même salle renferme des meubles en ivoire et en ébène d’un grand effet, comme celui de Louis Antoni et de Jean Brambilla, de Milan, et de Luigi Annoni. Le buffet en bois sculpté de Nicodème Ferri et Charles Bartolozzi, de Sienne, mérite une mention particulière, ainsi que la reproduction en ivoire de la fontaine de Jaia, par Giusti, et le Triomphe de Thélis, bas-relief en ivoire de Gaetano Scotti.

Parlons bien vite de l’orfèvrerie en filigrane d’Émile Forte. Tous ceux qui ont traversé Gênes se sont laissé tenter dans la rue des Orfèvres, et voici que les plus gracieux modèles de cette mousse d’or et d’argent viennent maintenant séduire et provoquer le désir des acheteurs. Heureusement qu’au Palais de l’Exposition, la tentation combat la tentation, car pas une ne manque; on y rencontre même la plus ruineuse de toute, celle que la raison invoque, la tentation du bon marché, et ne l’éprouveriez-vous pas, en voyant ces gants paille de la fabrique de Naples à quatorze francs la douzaine en peau d’agneau, et, à dix-sept francs en chevreau? Les chapeaux fabriqués avec cette paille de Toscane, célèbre entre toutes les pailles du monde se trouvent tout auprès, et en voyant ces pièces si fines on ne peut croire qu’elles soient sorties des doigts d’une paysanne qui les a tressées avec le blé de mars semé tout exprès. Avant que le blé soit mûr, la paille a été coupée et laissée ensuite pendant quelques jours exposée à la rosée afin de la blanchir, puis elle est mise en gerbes ; on enlève les épis, on appareille les brins au moyen d’une machine très-ingénieuse, et bientôt elle se transforme en ces tissus (car il est difficile d’employer une autre expression) qui atteignent, selon le degré de finesse, des prix très-élevés.

Quant aux produits de la manufacture du marquis Ginori, l’une des gloires de la Toscane, la beauté du travail justifie les éloges dont ils sont l’objet. Les coffrets avec figures en reliefs, imitation de la célèbre fabrique de Capo-di-Monte à Naples, les grands bas-reliefs, la copie des anciennes faïences de Faenza et d’Urbino, ont renouvelé ces fabrications et prouvé, comme les mosaïques et les verres de Venise du chevalier Salviati, placés dans la même salle, qu’une volonté énergique secondée par la science et par le goût, parvient à surmonter toutes les difficultés.

Venise doit au chevalier Salviati la renaissance d’une de ses industries les plus justement célèbres. La fabrication des perles que l’on exporte en Afrique et aux Indes, s’était toujours conservée, mais celle des verres soufflés et des mosaïques avait disparu. En voyant ces lustres, ces girandoles, les verres et les coupes de mille formes d’une légèreté aérienne, fabriqués il y a deux mois à peine, qui ne les prendrait pour ces pièces tirées d’une ancienne collection que les amateurs se disputent à prix d’or. A toutes leurs beautés elles joignent en outre le mérite rare d’un prix modeste, et à la portée de tous.

Je voudrais bien pouvoir en dire autant des parures exposées par le célèbre orfèvre Castellani. Il y a là, des colliers et des boucles d’oreilles, des bracelets et des bagues, des diadèmes, du style le plus pur et d’une élégance que rien ne saurait égaler, mais, hélas! le prix qu’il attache à tous les objets qui sortent de ses mains est si grand, que les plus riches seuls peuvent se permettre ce luxe presque royal. A côté de ces splendeurs, l’Italie a voulu prouver à quel point le goût s’est conservé dans ses campagnes, et elle expose les parures d’argent et d'or que les paysannes des différentes provinces portent encore. — Elles sont là, ces boules et ces épingles d argent qui rayonnent comme des étoiles dans la noire chevelure des femmes des environs de Verceil et de Novare, les gros colliers d’or de la campagne romaine, les larges boucles d’oreilles qui accompagnent si bien le costume aux couleurs éclatantes de cette race superbe de femmes que l’on rencontre dans les Marches, aux environs de Lorette. Chacun de ces joyaux de la paysanne pourrait servir de sujet à une longue histoire, car, la plupart de ces femmes sont belles et chacune de ces races a une physionomie qui lui est bien particulière. — C’est une heureuse idée d avoir réuni cet ensemble curieux, et le public le prouve en se pressant toujours auprès de cette vitrine, pendant qu il délaisse d’autres objets d’un plus grand prix, mais qui sont loin d’avoir le même caractère.

Les flots de soie que renferme la même salle, la blanche et la jaune, dorée comme le blé mûr, l’attirent également. Habituées à voir l’étoffe tissée et prête à se transformer en vêtement aux mille couleurs, selon la nuance dont il a plu au fabricant de la revêtir, les femmes du Nord restent étonnées et surprises devant ces fils aux reflets brillants, si souples et si forts, qui sont par eux-mêmes une élégance. Leur récolte était avant la maladie qui sévit depuis plusieurs années sur les vers à soie, une véritable manne pour le pays entier. En quinze jours, sans changer en rien les autres produits de la terre, l’élevage des vers à soie rapportait aux paysans et aux propriétaires qui se partageaient généralement le produit, plus de deux cents millions. — Depuis la maladie, la récolte est tombée à quatre-vingt millions; mais les mûriers sont toujours nombreux, et, comme l’année dernière les races indigènes ont mieux réussi que les semences d’importation étrangère, on espère voir le mal disparaître d’ici à quelques années, et cette production, la plus fructueuse pour le pays, reprendre son activité première. C’est à Roger, roi de Sicile, que l’Italie doit, enl 140, l’introduction des vers à soie. Après la conquête d’Athènes, il amena en Sicile de Grèce, — où l’art d’élever les vers à soie, rapportés de la Chine, avait été introduit sous Justinien, vers l’année 525 de l’ère nouvelle, et s’était conservé comme un secret pendant sept siècles,—des semences de vers et quelques centaines d’ouvriers de Païenne; ils passèrent bientôt en Calabre et dans plusieurs villes d Italie. En 1400, Florence avait de grandes fabriques de soieries, et bientôt l’Europe fut tributaire de l’Italie. Ses fabriques ont dû renoncer depuis lors à lutter avec les fabriques de la France, de la Suisse, de l’Allemagne et de l’Angleterre ; mais elle prépare maintenant la plus grande partie des soies qu’elle expédiait autrefois à l’état brut, et l’industrie locale en retire des bénéfices importants. — Le coton a été également dans ces dernières années la source d’un mouvement d’affaires très-considérables dans les provinces méridionales et qui s’élèvent à plus de soixante millions annuellement.

Les produits souterrains, ceux de l’intérieur du sol, ne sont pas moins importants pour l’Italie que les fruits de la terre : dans certaines provinces l’élevage du bétail et du porc, dont la qualité est é^aie à celle des races les plus renommées, fournit à la consommation locale et à l’exportation ces salaisons célèbres Coppe ou Capocolli (parties choisies de l’épaule ou de la cuisse), saucissons de Milan, de Florence, de Vérone et de Ferrare, Mortadelle de Bologne, Coteghini, Zamponi, Cappelletti de Modène, si recherchés des gourmands. — Gomme ils ont été jusqu’ici plus négligés, les résultats seront d’autant plus considérables, et sur bien des points provoqueront des modifications profondes. Il y a dans les flancs de l’Apennin et dans l’Italie méridionale des trésors enfouis, qui n’attendent que des bras et des capitaux pour devenir une source nouvelle de richesses. Quelques-unes de ces mines sont déjà exploitées. Les soufres de la Romagne et de la Sicile, le cuivre, le lignite et les soffioni (soufflets) de la Toscane, dont les vapeurs volcaniques, produisent l’acide borique si recherché du commerce, les tourbes qui, traitées par un procédé de compression et de dessiccation, remplacent déjà, dans beaucoup d’industries, le charbon de terre anglais d’un prix très-élevé; les marbres que leur beauté et leur variété infinie font demander maintenant dans toute l'Europe et qui profitent de la facilité des modes actuels de transport; les mines de fer de la Sardaigne et de l’île d’Elbe ; le plomb argentifère; les fontes et les fers si remarquables de la Lombardie; le pétrole que l’on commence à exploiter dans les environs de Parme et dans les Abruzzes, près de Chieti, d’où un industriel, très-actif et très-intelligent, M. Ribighini, est déjà parvenu à extraire d’excellents produits— sont représentés, auprès de la galerie des machines, par des échantillons qui doivent être un sujet d’étude pour les savants, les économistes et les hommes d’affaires, — les uns et les autres, à des points de vue bien différents, peuvent y puiser des enseignements précieux. Les résultats de leur examen ne seront pas douteux, car la terre italienne renferme toutes les richesses que le travail et la volonté sauront bien lui arracher.

On ne peut quitter l'Italie sans parler des chanvres gigantesques des Romagnes, hauts parfois de cinq mètres; des fromages de la Lombardie et des huiles dont le commerce est si considérable dans les provinces méridionales et dans la rivière de Gênes. Milan, Lodi, Pavie, Crémone, Mantoue, échangent ainsi près de soixante-quinze millions de francs en beurre et en fromage, dont le plus illustre, sans contredit, le Parmesan, connu du monde entier, ne se fabrique que dans la partie du territoire soumise à l’irrigation.

Lorsque des procédés meilleurs de fabrication auront rendu transportables les excellents vins du Piémont et les crus légers des Romagnes, où, certaines années, un litre de vin, produit par les grandes vignes qui courent et s’enlacent le long des arbres placés à la limite de chaque champ, se vend deux sous à peine, l’Italie du nord verra comme la Sicile ses vignobles devenir l’objet d’une exportation considérable pour les pays étrangers.— L’Italie possède enfin une étendue de côte plus considérable que l’Angleterre elle-même, et une population de 16 000 pêcheurs qui se livrent à la petite pêche avec 9522 bateaux jaugeant 29 976 tonneaux. Quand en outre on envoie comme elle chaque année à la recherche du corail une flottille dont les profits s’élèvent à près de neuf millions de francs, on a le droit de regarder la mer comme un patrimoine qui doit donner aux enfants les mêmes ressources qu’elle assurait à leurs pères.

Le succès de l’Italie au Palais de l’Exposition universelle est très-remarquable, et l’on doit féliciter M. Giordano, chargé des mille détails d’une organisation aussi complexe, d’avoir pu mener à bien sa délicate et difficile mission. Peu à peu les doutes se dissipent, et chaque jour l’on constate les ressources immenses d’une terre privilégiée, qui a reçu de la Providence l’eau et le soleil, ces deux grands éléments de prospérité, et l'on apprécie avec plus d'équité le rôle important que l’avenir lui réserve.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée